NCT02485691 · STUDY IN CONTEXT
Cabazitaxel Versus the Switch to Alternative AR-targeted Agent (Enzalutamide or Abiraterone) in Metastatic Castration-resistant Prostate Cancer (mCRPC) Patients Previously Treated
Draft scope assessment: unclear. Attached because the study's own record describes metastatic disease. The study was not selected for this indication by its sponsor, and its eligibility has not been reconciled against this page in full. Found because this study's registry identifier is printed in an FDA approval notice, an FDA product label or an NCI summary held by this site. The citing document and the exact position of the identifier inside it are recorded. Being cited is not a statement that the study supports this treatment.
Read the full study record and all posted results →
Linked outcomes
Radiographic progression-free survival: time (in months) from randomization to occurrence of any one of following: radiological tumor progressions using response evaluation criteria in solid tumors (RECIST 1.1), progression of bone lesions using Prostate Cancer Working Group 2 (PCWG2) criteria or occurrence of death due to any cause. Progression as per RECIST 1.1: at least a 20 percent (%) increase in sum of diameters of target lesions, unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions. Progression of bone lesions (PCWG2 criteria): first bone scan with \>= 2 new lesions compared to Baseline observed less than (\<) 12 weeks from randomization and confirmed by a second bone scan performed \>=6 weeks; first bone scan with \>=2 new lesions compared to Baseline observed \>=12 weeks from randomization. In accordance with protocol, data cut-off date for final analysis of this endpoint was the date when 196 rPFS events had occurred. Analysis done by Kaplan-Meier method.
Overall survival was defined as the time interval (in months) from the date of randomization to the date of death due to any cause. In the absence of confirmation of death, survival time was censored at the last date participant was known to be alive, or at the cut-off date whichever comes first. Analysis was performed by Kaplan-Meier method.
PFS:time duration (in months) from date of randomization to date of first occurrence of any of following events: radiological tumor progression (RECIST 1.1); progression of bone lesions (PCWG2); symptomatic progression (developing urinary or bowel symptoms; need to change anti-cancer therapy), pain progression or death due to any cause. Tumor Progression(RECIST 1.1): at least 20% increase in sum of diameters of target lesions, unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions. Progression of bone lesion (PCWG2 criteria): first bone scan with \>=2 new lesions compared to Baseline and confirmed by second bone scan performed \>=6 weeks later; pain progression: increase by \>=30% from Baseline in pain intensity score (calculated using scale ranged from 0=no pain to 5=extreme pain) or increase in analgesic usage score \>=30% (calculated from analgesic use data, non-narcotic medications assigned value of 1 point and narcotic medications assigned 4 points). Analyzed by Kaplan-Meier method.
PSA response was defined as \>= 50% decrease from baseline in serum PSA levels, confirmed by a second PSA value at least 3 weeks later.
Overall objective tumor response was defined as having a partial response (PR) or complete response (CR) according to the RECIST version 1.1. CR was defined as disappearance of all target and non-target lesions and normalization of tumor marker level. Any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have reduction in short axis to \<10 mm. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters.
TTPP was defined as the time duration (in months) between the date of randomization and the date of first documented PSA progression. PSA progression (as per PCWG 2) was defined as: 1) If decline from Baseline value: an increase of \>=25% (at least 2 ng/mL) over the nadir value, confirmed by a second PSA value at least 3 weeks apart; 2) If no decline from Baseline value: an increase of \>=25% (at least 2 ng/mL) over the baseline value after 12 weeks of treatment, confirmed by a second PSA value at least 3 weeks apart. Analysis performed by Kaplan-Meier method.
Reported safety
Quality of life and patient-reported measures
Brief Pain Inventory · Percentage of Participants Achieving Pain Response Assessed Using Brief Pain Inventory-Short Form (BPI-SF) Pain Intensity Score
Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-prostate-cancer-xtandi-532fb7f0
- nct id
- NCT02485691
- qol key
- qol-0007
- source section id
- NCT02485691-om-0007
- source outcome index
- 7
- instrument
- Brief Pain Inventory
- instrument basis
- matched 'brief pain inventory' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Percentage of Participants Achieving Pain Response Assessed Using Brief Pain Inventory-Short Form (BPI-SF) Pain Intensity Score
- measure definition
- Pain response as per BPI-SF was defined as a decrease of at least 30% from Baseline in the average of BPI-SF pain intensity score observed at 2 consecutive evaluations \>=3 weeks apart without increase in analgesic usage score (calculated from analgesic use data, with non-narcotic medications assigned value of 1 point and narcotic medications assigned 4 points). The BPI-SF is a self-administered questionnaire developed to assess the severity of pain on a 0-10 categorical scale where 0=no pain, 10=pain as bad as you can imagine. Higher scores indicated worst outcomes. Percentage of Participants Achieving Pain Response assessed using BPI-SF Pain Intensity Score were reported.
- time frame
- Baseline until pain progression, first further anticancer therapy, or data cut-off whichever comes first (maximum duration: up to 141 weeks)
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- Analysis was performed on subset of ITT population (any participant who had been allocated to a randomized treatment, analyzed according to group allocated) with baseline assessment and at least one post-baseline assessment before any further anti-cancer therapy for specified outcome measure.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
Brief Pain Inventory · Time to Pain Progression
Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-prostate-cancer-xtandi-532fb7f0
- nct id
- NCT02485691
- qol key
- qol-0008
- source section id
- NCT02485691-om-0008
- source outcome index
- 8
- instrument
- Brief Pain Inventory
- instrument basis
- matched 'bpi' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Time to Pain Progression
- measure definition
- Time to pain progression was defined as the time duration (in months) between the date of randomization and the date of first documented pain progression. Pain progression, in participants with no pain or stable pain at Baseline was defined as increase of \>=30% from baseline in the BPI-SF pain intensity score observed at 2 consecutive evaluations \>=3 weeks apart without decrease in analgesic usage score or increase in analgesic usage score (calculated from analgesic use data, with non-narcotic medications assigned value of 1 point and narcotic medications assigned 4 points) \>=30%. The BPI-SF is a self-administered questionnaire developed to assess the severity of pain on a 0-10 categorical scale where 0=no pain, 10=pain as bad as you can imagine. Higher scores indicated worst outcomes. Analysis was performed by Kaplan-Meier method.
- time frame
- Baseline until pain progression or data cut-off whichever comes first (maximum duration: up to 141 weeks)
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- Analysis was performed on subset of ITT population (any participant who had been allocated to a randomized treatment, analyzed according to group allocated) with baseline assessment and at least one post-baseline assessment before any further anti-cancer therapy for BPI-SF pain intensity score.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
FACT · Health-Related Quality of Life (HRQOL): Change From Baseline in Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy-Prostate (FACT-P) Total Score at Cycle 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and End of Treatment
Score direction: Higher is better, according to the source. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-prostate-cancer-xtandi-532fb7f0
- nct id
- NCT02485691
- qol key
- qol-0011
- source section id
- NCT02485691-om-0011
- source outcome index
- 11
- instrument
- FACT
- instrument basis
- matched 'fact-p' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Health-Related Quality of Life (HRQOL): Change From Baseline in Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy-Prostate (FACT-P) Total Score at Cycle 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and End of Treatment
- measure definition
- Health-related quality of life (HRQOL) evaluation was performed using the FACT-P questionnaire (Version 4). FACT-P was a 39-item participant rated questionnaire that measures the concerns of participants with prostate cancer. It consisted of 5 sub-scales assessing physical well-being (7 items), social/family well-being (7 items), emotional well-being (6 items), functional well-being (7 items), and prostate-specific concerns (12 items). FACT-P total score was the sum of all 5 subscale scores. It ranged from 0 to156 with higher score indicated better quality of life with fewer symptoms. Baseline corresponded to last evaluable assessment before treatment administration.
- time frame
- Baseline, Day 1 of each Cycle 2, Cycle 3, Cycle 4, Cycle 5, Cycle 6, Cycle 7, Cycle 8 and at End of Treatment (any time up to 141 weeks)
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- 1
- direction quote
- higher score indicated better
- population note
- Analysis was performed on HRQOL population which included participants who received at least one dose of the study drug and with an evaluable FACT-P questionnaire at baseline and at least one post-baseline evaluable FACT-P. Here 'Number analyzed' signifies participants with available data for each specified category.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
EQ-5D · Change From Baseline in European Quality of Life Working Group Health Status Measure 5 Dimensions, 5 Levels (EQ-5D-5L) Utility Single Index and Visual Analogue Scale (VAS) Scores at Cycle 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and End of Treatment
Score direction: Higher is better, according to the source. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-prostate-cancer-xtandi-532fb7f0
- nct id
- NCT02485691
- qol key
- qol-0012
- source section id
- NCT02485691-om-0012
- source outcome index
- 12
- instrument
- EQ-5D
- instrument basis
- matched 'eq-5d' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Change From Baseline in European Quality of Life Working Group Health Status Measure 5 Dimensions, 5 Levels (EQ-5D-5L) Utility Single Index and Visual Analogue Scale (VAS) Scores at Cycle 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and End of Treatment
- measure definition
- EQ-5D was a standardized HRQOL questionnaire consisting of EQ-5D descriptive system and Visual Analogue Scale (VAS). EQ-5D descriptive system comprised of 5 dimensions: mobility, self-care, usual activities, pain/discomfort and anxiety/depression measured on 3 levels (no problem, some problems \& severe problems) within a particular EQ-5D dimension. 5 dimensional 3-level system was converted into single index utility score. Possible values for single index utility score ranged from -0.594 (severe problems in all dimensions) to 1.0 (no problem in all dimensions) on scale where 1 represented best possible health state. EQ-5D VAS was used to record a participant's rating for his/her current health-related quality of life state and captured on a vertical VAS scale ranging from 0-100, where 0=worst imaginable health state and 100=best imaginable health state, where higher states indicated better outcomes. Baseline corresponded to last evaluable assessment before treatment administration.
- time frame
- Baseline, Day 1 of each Cycle 2, Cycle 3, Cycle 4, Cycle 5, Cycle 6, Cycle 7, Cycle 8 and at End of Treatment (any time up to: 141 weeks)
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- 1
- direction quote
- higher states indicated better
- population note
- Analysis was performed on Health status population which included participants who received at least one dose of the study drug and with an evaluable EQ-5D-5L at baseline and with at least one post-baseline evaluable EQ-5D-5L. Here 'Number analyzed' signifies participants with available data for each specified category.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
Full draft applicability and source-link record
- trial
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-prostate-cancer-xtandi-532fb7f0
- nct id
- NCT02485691
- trial label
- Cabazitaxel Versus the Switch to Alternative AR-targeted Agent (Enzalutamide or Abiraterone) in Metastatic Castration-resistant Prostate Cancer (mCRPC) Patients Previously Treated
- applicability
- unclear
- applicability note
- Attached because the study's own record describes metastatic disease. The study was not selected for this indication by its sponsor, and its eligibility has not been reconciled against this page in full.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- provenance class
- regulator-cited
- discovery note
- Found because this study's registry identifier is printed in an FDA approval notice, an FDA product label or an NCI summary held by this site. The citing document and the exact position of the identifier inside it are recorded. Being cited is not a statement that the study supports this treatment.
- outcome Count
- 6
- harms Count
- 2
- qol Count
- 4
- outcomes
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-prostate-cancer-xtandi-532fb7f0
- nct id
- NCT02485691
- outcome key
- om-0000
- source section id
- NCT02485691-om-0000
- source outcome index
- 0
- endpoint
- Radiographic Progression-Free Survival (rPFS)
- endpoint definition
- Radiographic progression-free survival: time (in months) from randomization to occurrence of any one of following: radiological tumor progressions using response evaluation criteria in solid tumors (RECIST 1.1), progression of bone lesions using Prostate Cancer Working Group 2 (PCWG2) criteria or occurrence of death due to any cause. Progression as per RECIST 1.1: at least a 20 percent (%) increase in sum of diameters of target lesions, unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions. Progression of bone lesions (PCWG2 criteria): first bone scan with \>= 2 new lesions compared to Baseline observed less than (\<) 12 weeks from randomization and confirmed by a second bone scan performed \>=6 weeks; first bone scan with \>=2 new lesions compared to Baseline observed \>=12 weeks from randomization. In accordance with protocol, data cut-off date for final analysis of this endpoint was the date when 196 rPFS events had occurred. Analysis done by Kaplan-Meier method.
- time origin
- From randomization until tumor progression or bone lesion progression, death due to any cause, or data cut-off date whichever comes first (maximum duration: up to 141 weeks)
- analysis role
- primary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Analysis was performed on ITT population.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-prostate-cancer-xtandi-532fb7f0
- nct id
- NCT02485691
- outcome key
- om-0001
- source section id
- NCT02485691-om-0001
- source outcome index
- 1
- endpoint
- Overall Survival (OS)
- endpoint definition
- Overall survival was defined as the time interval (in months) from the date of randomization to the date of death due to any cause. In the absence of confirmation of death, survival time was censored at the last date participant was known to be alive, or at the cut-off date whichever comes first. Analysis was performed by Kaplan-Meier method.
- time origin
- From randomization to death due to any cause, or data cut-off date whichever comes first (maximum duration: up to 141 weeks)
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Analysis was performed on ITT population.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-prostate-cancer-xtandi-532fb7f0
- nct id
- NCT02485691
- outcome key
- om-0002
- source section id
- NCT02485691-om-0002
- source outcome index
- 2
- endpoint
- Progression Free Survival (PFS)
- endpoint definition
- PFS:time duration (in months) from date of randomization to date of first occurrence of any of following events: radiological tumor progression (RECIST 1.1); progression of bone lesions (PCWG2); symptomatic progression (developing urinary or bowel symptoms; need to change anti-cancer therapy), pain progression or death due to any cause. Tumor Progression(RECIST 1.1): at least 20% increase in sum of diameters of target lesions, unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions. Progression of bone lesion (PCWG2 criteria): first bone scan with \>=2 new lesions compared to Baseline and confirmed by second bone scan performed \>=6 weeks later; pain progression: increase by \>=30% from Baseline in pain intensity score (calculated using scale ranged from 0=no pain to 5=extreme pain) or increase in analgesic usage score \>=30% (calculated from analgesic use data, non-narcotic medications assigned value of 1 point and narcotic medications assigned 4 points). Analyzed by Kaplan-Meier method.
- time origin
- From randomization until tumor progression or bone lesion progression, pain progression, death due to any cause, or data cut-off date whichever comes first (maximum duration: up to 141 weeks)
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Analysis was performed on ITT population.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-prostate-cancer-xtandi-532fb7f0
- nct id
- NCT02485691
- outcome key
- om-0003
- source section id
- NCT02485691-om-0003
- source outcome index
- 3
- endpoint
- Percentage of Participants With Prostate Specific Antigen (PSA) Response
- endpoint definition
- PSA response was defined as \>= 50% decrease from baseline in serum PSA levels, confirmed by a second PSA value at least 3 weeks later.
- time origin
- Baseline up to PSA response, death due to any cause or data cut-off date whichever comes first (maximum duration: up to 141 weeks)
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Analysis was performed on subset of ITT population (any participant who had been allocated to a randomized treatment, analyzed according to group allocated) with PSA level \>2 ng/mL at baseline, and with at least two post-baseline assessments before any further anti-cancer therapy for specified outcome measure.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-prostate-cancer-xtandi-532fb7f0
- nct id
- NCT02485691
- outcome key
- om-0004
- source section id
- NCT02485691-om-0004
- source outcome index
- 4
- endpoint
- Percentage of Participants With Overall Objective Tumor Response
- endpoint definition
- Overall objective tumor response was defined as having a partial response (PR) or complete response (CR) according to the RECIST version 1.1. CR was defined as disappearance of all target and non-target lesions and normalization of tumor marker level. Any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have reduction in short axis to \<10 mm. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters.
- time origin
- From randomization until disease progression, death due to any cause or data cut-off date whichever comes first (maximum duration: up to 141 weeks)
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Analysis was performed on subset of ITT population (any participant who had been allocated to a randomized treatment, analyzed according to group allocated) with measurable disease at baseline and at least one post-baseline assessment before any further anti-cancer therapy for specified outcome measure.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-prostate-cancer-xtandi-532fb7f0
- nct id
- NCT02485691
- outcome key
- om-0005
- source section id
- NCT02485691-om-0005
- source outcome index
- 5
- endpoint
- Time to PSA Progression (TTPP)
- endpoint definition
- TTPP was defined as the time duration (in months) between the date of randomization and the date of first documented PSA progression. PSA progression (as per PCWG 2) was defined as: 1) If decline from Baseline value: an increase of \>=25% (at least 2 ng/mL) over the nadir value, confirmed by a second PSA value at least 3 weeks apart; 2) If no decline from Baseline value: an increase of \>=25% (at least 2 ng/mL) over the baseline value after 12 weeks of treatment, confirmed by a second PSA value at least 3 weeks apart. Analysis performed by Kaplan-Meier method.
- time origin
- From time from randomization until PSA progression, death due to any cause or data cut-off whichever comes first (maximum duration: up to 141 weeks)
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Analysis was performed on subset of ITT population (any participant who had been allocated to a randomized treatment, analyzed according to group allocated) with PSA level \> 2ng/mL at baseline, and with at least two post-baseline assessments before any further anti-cancer therapy for specified outcome measure.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- arms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-prostate-cancer-xtandi-532fb7f0
- nct id
- NCT02485691
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Cabazitaxel
- regimen
- Participants received Cabazitaxel 25 mg/m\^2 IV infusion for over 1 hour on Day 1 of each 3 week treatment cycle in combination with Prednisone 10 mg orally once daily and primary prophylactic G-CSF as per investigator decision, until radiographic disease progression, unacceptable toxicity, or participant's refusal of further study treatment (median duration = 22 weeks).
- analyzed count
- 129
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT02485691-om-0000#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-prostate-cancer-xtandi-532fb7f0
- nct id
- NCT02485691
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Abiraterone Acetate or Enzalutamide
- regimen
- Participants received either abiraterone acetate 1000 mg orally once daily from Day 1 to Day 21 of each 3 week treatment cycle in combination with prednisone 5 mg orally twice daily; or enzalutamide 160 mg orally once daily continuously from Day 1 to Day 21 of each 3 week treatment cycle, until radiographic disease progression, unacceptable toxicity, or participant's refusal of further study treatment (median duration = 12.5 weeks).
- analyzed count
- 126
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT02485691-om-0000#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-prostate-cancer-xtandi-532fb7f0
- nct id
- NCT02485691
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Cabazitaxel
- regimen
- Participants received Cabazitaxel 25 mg/m\^2 IV infusion for over 1 hour on Day 1 of each 3 week treatment cycle in combination with Prednisone 10 mg orally once daily and primary prophylactic G-CSF as per investigator decision, until radiographic disease progression, unacceptable toxicity, or participant's refusal of further study treatment (median duration = 22 weeks).
- analyzed count
- 129
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT02485691-om-0001#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-prostate-cancer-xtandi-532fb7f0
- nct id
- NCT02485691
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Abiraterone Acetate or Enzalutamide
- regimen
- Participants received either abiraterone acetate 1000 mg orally once daily from Day 1 to Day 21 of each 3 week treatment cycle in combination with prednisone 5 mg orally twice daily; or enzalutamide 160 mg orally once daily continuously from Day 1 to Day 21 of each 3 week treatment cycle, until radiographic disease progression, unacceptable toxicity, or participant's refusal of further study treatment (median duration = 12.5 weeks).
- analyzed count
- 126
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT02485691-om-0001#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-prostate-cancer-xtandi-532fb7f0
- nct id
- NCT02485691
- outcome key
- om-0002
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Cabazitaxel
- regimen
- Participants received Cabazitaxel 25 mg/m\^2 IV infusion for over 1 hour on Day 1 of each 3 week treatment cycle in combination with Prednisone 10 mg orally once daily and primary prophylactic G-CSF as per investigator decision, until radiographic disease progression, unacceptable toxicity, or participant's refusal of further study treatment (median duration = 22 weeks).
- analyzed count
- 129
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT02485691-om-0002#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-prostate-cancer-xtandi-532fb7f0
- nct id
- NCT02485691
- outcome key
- om-0002
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Abiraterone Acetate or Enzalutamide
- regimen
- Participants received either abiraterone acetate 1000 mg orally once daily from Day 1 to Day 21 of each 3 week treatment cycle in combination with prednisone 5 mg orally twice daily; or enzalutamide 160 mg orally once daily continuously from Day 1 to Day 21 of each 3 week treatment cycle, until radiographic disease progression, unacceptable toxicity, or participant's refusal of further study treatment (median duration = 12.5 weeks).
- analyzed count
- 126
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT02485691-om-0002#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-prostate-cancer-xtandi-532fb7f0
- nct id
- NCT02485691
- outcome key
- om-0003
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Cabazitaxel
- regimen
- Participants received Cabazitaxel 25 mg/m\^2 IV infusion for over 1 hour on Day 1 of each 3 week treatment cycle in combination with Prednisone 10 mg orally once daily and primary prophylactic G-CSF as per investigator decision, until radiographic disease progression, unacceptable toxicity, or participant's refusal of further study treatment (median duration = 22 weeks).
- analyzed count
- 113
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT02485691-om-0003#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-prostate-cancer-xtandi-532fb7f0
- nct id
- NCT02485691
- outcome key
- om-0003
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Abiraterone Acetate or Enzalutamide
- regimen
- Participants received either abiraterone acetate 1000 mg orally once daily from Day 1 to Day 21 of each 3 week treatment cycle in combination with prednisone 5 mg orally twice daily; or enzalutamide 160 mg orally once daily continuously from Day 1 to Day 21 of each 3 week treatment cycle, until radiographic disease progression, unacceptable toxicity, or participant's refusal of further study treatment (median duration = 12.5 weeks).
- analyzed count
- 105
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT02485691-om-0003#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-prostate-cancer-xtandi-532fb7f0
- nct id
- NCT02485691
- outcome key
- om-0004
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Cabazitaxel
- regimen
- Participants received Cabazitaxel 25 mg/m\^2 IV infusion for over 1 hour on Day 1 of each 3 week treatment cycle in combination with Prednisone 10 mg orally once daily and primary prophylactic G-CSF as per investigator decision, until radiographic disease progression, unacceptable toxicity, or participant's refusal of further study treatment (median duration = 22 weeks).
- analyzed count
- 63
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT02485691-om-0004#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-prostate-cancer-xtandi-532fb7f0
- nct id
- NCT02485691
- outcome key
- om-0004
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Abiraterone Acetate or Enzalutamide
- regimen
- Participants received either abiraterone acetate 1000 mg orally once daily from Day 1 to Day 21 of each 3 week treatment cycle in combination with prednisone 5 mg orally twice daily; or enzalutamide 160 mg orally once daily continuously from Day 1 to Day 21 of each 3 week treatment cycle, until radiographic disease progression, unacceptable toxicity, or participant's refusal of further study treatment (median duration = 12.5 weeks).
- analyzed count
- 52
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT02485691-om-0004#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-prostate-cancer-xtandi-532fb7f0
- nct id
- NCT02485691
- outcome key
- om-0005
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Cabazitaxel
- regimen
- Participants received Cabazitaxel 25 mg/m\^2 IV infusion for over 1 hour on Day 1 of each 3 week treatment cycle in combination with Prednisone 10 mg orally once daily and primary prophylactic G-CSF as per investigator decision, until radiographic disease progression, unacceptable toxicity, or participant's refusal of further study treatment (median duration = 22 weeks).
- analyzed count
- 113
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT02485691-om-0005#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-prostate-cancer-xtandi-532fb7f0
- nct id
- NCT02485691
- outcome key
- om-0005
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Abiraterone Acetate or Enzalutamide
- regimen
- Participants received either abiraterone acetate 1000 mg orally once daily from Day 1 to Day 21 of each 3 week treatment cycle in combination with prednisone 5 mg orally twice daily; or enzalutamide 160 mg orally once daily continuously from Day 1 to Day 21 of each 3 week treatment cycle, until radiographic disease progression, unacceptable toxicity, or participant's refusal of further study treatment (median duration = 12.5 weeks).
- analyzed count
- 105
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT02485691-om-0005#groups/OG001
- harms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-prostate-cancer-xtandi-532fb7f0
- nct id
- NCT02485691
- harm key
- EG000
- source section id
- NCT02485691-ae
- event group key
- EG000
- event group label
- Cabazitaxel
- serious affected
- 49
- serious at risk
- 126
- other affected
- 114
- other at risk
- 126
- frequency threshold
- 5
- collection period
- Adverse event (AE) data was collected from Baseline up to 30 days after the last treatment administration (up to 197 weeks), deaths were collected from baseline up to end of study (up to 197 weeks).
- event definition
- Reported AEs were TEAEs i.e., AEs that developed/worsened during the 'on-treatment period' (time from first dose of study drug until 30 days after last administration of study drug) assessed for safety population (i.e., all participants who received at least one dose of study drugs and analyzed according to treatment they actually received). All-Cause Mortality data collected during the study was assessed for all randomized participants. Disease progression related death were not reported as AE.
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-prostate-cancer-xtandi-532fb7f0
- nct id
- NCT02485691
- harm key
- EG001
- source section id
- NCT02485691-ae
- event group key
- EG001
- event group label
- Enzalutamide or Abiraterone
- serious affected
- 50
- serious at risk
- 124
- other affected
- 104
- other at risk
- 124
- frequency threshold
- 5
- collection period
- Adverse event (AE) data was collected from Baseline up to 30 days after the last treatment administration (up to 197 weeks), deaths were collected from baseline up to end of study (up to 197 weeks).
- event definition
- Reported AEs were TEAEs i.e., AEs that developed/worsened during the 'on-treatment period' (time from first dose of study drug until 30 days after last administration of study drug) assessed for safety population (i.e., all participants who received at least one dose of study drugs and analyzed according to treatment they actually received). All-Cause Mortality data collected during the study was assessed for all randomized participants. Disease progression related death were not reported as AE.
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- quality of life
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-prostate-cancer-xtandi-532fb7f0
- nct id
- NCT02485691
- qol key
- qol-0007
- source section id
- NCT02485691-om-0007
- source outcome index
- 7
- instrument
- Brief Pain Inventory
- instrument basis
- matched 'brief pain inventory' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Percentage of Participants Achieving Pain Response Assessed Using Brief Pain Inventory-Short Form (BPI-SF) Pain Intensity Score
- measure definition
- Pain response as per BPI-SF was defined as a decrease of at least 30% from Baseline in the average of BPI-SF pain intensity score observed at 2 consecutive evaluations \>=3 weeks apart without increase in analgesic usage score (calculated from analgesic use data, with non-narcotic medications assigned value of 1 point and narcotic medications assigned 4 points). The BPI-SF is a self-administered questionnaire developed to assess the severity of pain on a 0-10 categorical scale where 0=no pain, 10=pain as bad as you can imagine. Higher scores indicated worst outcomes. Percentage of Participants Achieving Pain Response assessed using BPI-SF Pain Intensity Score were reported.
- time frame
- Baseline until pain progression, first further anticancer therapy, or data cut-off whichever comes first (maximum duration: up to 141 weeks)
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- Analysis was performed on subset of ITT population (any participant who had been allocated to a randomized treatment, analyzed according to group allocated) with baseline assessment and at least one post-baseline assessment before any further anti-cancer therapy for specified outcome measure.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-prostate-cancer-xtandi-532fb7f0
- nct id
- NCT02485691
- qol key
- qol-0008
- source section id
- NCT02485691-om-0008
- source outcome index
- 8
- instrument
- Brief Pain Inventory
- instrument basis
- matched 'bpi' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Time to Pain Progression
- measure definition
- Time to pain progression was defined as the time duration (in months) between the date of randomization and the date of first documented pain progression. Pain progression, in participants with no pain or stable pain at Baseline was defined as increase of \>=30% from baseline in the BPI-SF pain intensity score observed at 2 consecutive evaluations \>=3 weeks apart without decrease in analgesic usage score or increase in analgesic usage score (calculated from analgesic use data, with non-narcotic medications assigned value of 1 point and narcotic medications assigned 4 points) \>=30%. The BPI-SF is a self-administered questionnaire developed to assess the severity of pain on a 0-10 categorical scale where 0=no pain, 10=pain as bad as you can imagine. Higher scores indicated worst outcomes. Analysis was performed by Kaplan-Meier method.
- time frame
- Baseline until pain progression or data cut-off whichever comes first (maximum duration: up to 141 weeks)
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- Analysis was performed on subset of ITT population (any participant who had been allocated to a randomized treatment, analyzed according to group allocated) with baseline assessment and at least one post-baseline assessment before any further anti-cancer therapy for BPI-SF pain intensity score.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-prostate-cancer-xtandi-532fb7f0
- nct id
- NCT02485691
- qol key
- qol-0011
- source section id
- NCT02485691-om-0011
- source outcome index
- 11
- instrument
- FACT
- instrument basis
- matched 'fact-p' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Health-Related Quality of Life (HRQOL): Change From Baseline in Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy-Prostate (FACT-P) Total Score at Cycle 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and End of Treatment
- measure definition
- Health-related quality of life (HRQOL) evaluation was performed using the FACT-P questionnaire (Version 4). FACT-P was a 39-item participant rated questionnaire that measures the concerns of participants with prostate cancer. It consisted of 5 sub-scales assessing physical well-being (7 items), social/family well-being (7 items), emotional well-being (6 items), functional well-being (7 items), and prostate-specific concerns (12 items). FACT-P total score was the sum of all 5 subscale scores. It ranged from 0 to156 with higher score indicated better quality of life with fewer symptoms. Baseline corresponded to last evaluable assessment before treatment administration.
- time frame
- Baseline, Day 1 of each Cycle 2, Cycle 3, Cycle 4, Cycle 5, Cycle 6, Cycle 7, Cycle 8 and at End of Treatment (any time up to 141 weeks)
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- 1
- direction quote
- higher score indicated better
- population note
- Analysis was performed on HRQOL population which included participants who received at least one dose of the study drug and with an evaluable FACT-P questionnaire at baseline and at least one post-baseline evaluable FACT-P. Here 'Number analyzed' signifies participants with available data for each specified category.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-prostate-cancer-xtandi-532fb7f0
- nct id
- NCT02485691
- qol key
- qol-0012
- source section id
- NCT02485691-om-0012
- source outcome index
- 12
- instrument
- EQ-5D
- instrument basis
- matched 'eq-5d' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Change From Baseline in European Quality of Life Working Group Health Status Measure 5 Dimensions, 5 Levels (EQ-5D-5L) Utility Single Index and Visual Analogue Scale (VAS) Scores at Cycle 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and End of Treatment
- measure definition
- EQ-5D was a standardized HRQOL questionnaire consisting of EQ-5D descriptive system and Visual Analogue Scale (VAS). EQ-5D descriptive system comprised of 5 dimensions: mobility, self-care, usual activities, pain/discomfort and anxiety/depression measured on 3 levels (no problem, some problems \& severe problems) within a particular EQ-5D dimension. 5 dimensional 3-level system was converted into single index utility score. Possible values for single index utility score ranged from -0.594 (severe problems in all dimensions) to 1.0 (no problem in all dimensions) on scale where 1 represented best possible health state. EQ-5D VAS was used to record a participant's rating for his/her current health-related quality of life state and captured on a vertical VAS scale ranging from 0-100, where 0=worst imaginable health state and 100=best imaginable health state, where higher states indicated better outcomes. Baseline corresponded to last evaluable assessment before treatment administration.
- time frame
- Baseline, Day 1 of each Cycle 2, Cycle 3, Cycle 4, Cycle 5, Cycle 6, Cycle 7, Cycle 8 and at End of Treatment (any time up to: 141 weeks)
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- 1
- direction quote
- higher states indicated better
- population note
- Analysis was performed on Health status population which included participants who received at least one dose of the study drug and with an evaluable EQ-5D-5L at baseline and with at least one post-baseline evaluable EQ-5D-5L. Here 'Number analyzed' signifies participants with available data for each specified category.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- setting source links
Preserved source evidence · Not medical advice
Triangle