Skip to content
← Xalkori: metastatic Non-small cell lung cancer with ALK stated without a specific alteration, ROS1 Positive, ROS1 positive

NCT01801111 · STUDY IN CONTEXT

A Study of Alectinib (RO5424802) in Participants With Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer Who Have Anaplastic Lymphoma Kinase (ALK) Mutation and Failed Crizotinib Treatment

Draft scope assessment: unclear. Attached because the study's own record names ALK. The study record does not state Positive, positive, so it may describe a different alteration of the same gene. The study was not selected for this indication by its sponsor, and its eligibility has not been reconciled against this page in full. Found because this study's registry identifier is printed in an FDA approval notice, an FDA product label or an NCI summary held by this site. The citing document and the exact position of the identifier inside it are recorded. Being cited is not a statement that the study supports this treatment.

Read the full study record and all posted results →

Linked outcomes

Measures are not ranked. Open each original source section for treatment groups, denominators, units and results.

primary · POSTED

RP2D was to be determined based on the safety and tolerability profile of the study treatment.

The endpoint was not analyzed in this study as the RP2D was confirmed in study NP28761 (NCT01871805).

→

primary · POSTED

DLTs were to be assessed based on the National Cancer Institute-Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events version 4.3 (NCI-CTCAE v 4.3). DLTs: drug-related toxicities that meet any one of the following criteria: Grade 4 thrombocytopenia; Grade 3 thrombocytopenia with bleeding; Grade 4 neutropenia continuing for greater than or equal to (\>/=) 7 consecutive days or neutropenic fever; Non-hematological toxicity of Grade 3 or higher; Adverse events that require interruption of treatment for a total of \>/=7 days.

The endpoint was not analyzed in this study as the RP2D was confirmed in study NP28761 (NCT01871805).

→

primary · POSTED

Tumor response was assessed by IRC according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors version 1.1 (RECIST v1.1). Objective response was defined as percentage of participants with a CR or PR that was confirmed by repeat assessments \>/=4 weeks after initial documentation. CR was defined as disappearance of all target, non-target lesions; normalization of tumor marker level; and reduction in all lymph nodes size to less than (\<) 10 millimeters (mm). PR was defined as \>/=30 percent (%) decrease in the sum of diameters (SoD) of target lesions (taking as reference the baseline SoD). The 95% confidence interval (CI) was computed using Clopper-Pearson method.

Analysis was performed on RE population (IRC) which included all participants with measurable disease at baseline according to the IRC, who had baseline tumor assessment and received at least one dose of alectinib.

→

primary · POSTED

Tumor response was assessed by IRC according to RECIST v1.1. Objective response was defined as percentage of participants with a CR or PR that was confirmed by repeat assessments \>/=4 weeks after initial documentation. CR was defined as disappearance of all target, non-target lesions; normalization of tumor marker level; and reduction in all lymph nodes size to \<10 mm. PR was defined as \>/=30% decrease in the SoD of target lesions (taking as reference the baseline SoD). The 95% CI was computed using Clopper-Pearson method.

Analysis was performed on RE population (IRC) participants who received prior chemotherapy.

→

secondary · POSTED

Tumor response was assessed by IRC according to RECIST v1.1. Objective response was defined as percentage of participants with a CR or PR that was confirmed by repeat assessments \>/=4 weeks after initial documentation. CR was defined as disappearance of all target, non-target lesions; normalization of tumor marker level; and reduction in all lymph nodes size to \<10 mm. PR was defined as \>/=30% decrease in the SoD of target lesions (taking as reference the baseline SoD).

Analysis was performed on RE population (IRC) participants who did not receive prior chemotherapy.

→

secondary · POSTED

Tumor response was assessed by the investigator according to RECIST v1.1. Objective response was defined as percentage of participants with a CR or PR that was confirmed by repeat assessments \>/=4 weeks after initial documentation. CR was defined as disappearance of all target, non-target lesions; normalization of tumor marker level; and reduction in all lymph nodes size to \<10 mm. PR was defined as \>/=30% decrease in the SoD of target lesions (taking as reference the baseline SoD). The 95% CI was computed using Clopper-Pearson method.

Analysis was performed on RE population (Investigator) which included all participants with measurable disease at baseline according to the investigator, who had baseline tumor assessment and received at least one dose of alectinib.

→

Reported safety

Serious events are not the same as severe events. Compare the original safety groups and their at-risk populations.

Open the study safety table →

Quality of life and patient-reported measures

No linked quality-of-life measure is recorded for this setting and study.

Full draft applicability and source-link record
trial
release id
clinical-indications-draft-1
disease state id
ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-xalkori-bf3ffec7
nct id
NCT01801111
trial label
A Study of Alectinib (RO5424802) in Participants With Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer Who Have Anaplastic Lymphoma Kinase (ALK) Mutation and Failed Crizotinib Treatment
applicability
unclear
applicability note
Attached because the study's own record names ALK. The study record does not state Positive, positive, so it may describe a different alteration of the same gene. The study was not selected for this indication by its sponsor, and its eligibility has not been reconciled against this page in full.
curation status
draft
reviewed by
Source null
reviewed at
Source null
created at
2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
provenance class
regulator-cited
discovery note
Found because this study's registry identifier is printed in an FDA approval notice, an FDA product label or an NCI summary held by this site. The citing document and the exact position of the identifier inside it are recorded. Being cited is not a statement that the study supports this treatment.
outcome Count
6
harms Count
1
qol Count
0
outcomes
  1. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-xalkori-bf3ffec7
    nct id
    NCT01801111
    outcome key
    om-0000
    source section id
    NCT01801111-om-0000
    source outcome index
    0
    endpoint
    Recommended Phase 2 Dose (RP2D) of Alectinib
    endpoint definition
    RP2D was to be determined based on the safety and tolerability profile of the study treatment.
    time origin
    Cycle 1 (up to 28 days)
    analysis role
    primary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    data cutoff
    Source null
    population note
    The endpoint was not analyzed in this study as the RP2D was confirmed in study NP28761 (NCT01871805).
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  2. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-xalkori-bf3ffec7
    nct id
    NCT01801111
    outcome key
    om-0001
    source section id
    NCT01801111-om-0001
    source outcome index
    1
    endpoint
    Percentage of Participants With Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs)
    endpoint definition
    DLTs were to be assessed based on the National Cancer Institute-Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events version 4.3 (NCI-CTCAE v 4.3). DLTs: drug-related toxicities that meet any one of the following criteria: Grade 4 thrombocytopenia; Grade 3 thrombocytopenia with bleeding; Grade 4 neutropenia continuing for greater than or equal to (\>/=) 7 consecutive days or neutropenic fever; Non-hematological toxicity of Grade 3 or higher; Adverse events that require interruption of treatment for a total of \>/=7 days.
    time origin
    Cycle 1 (up to 28 days)
    analysis role
    primary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    data cutoff
    Source null
    population note
    The endpoint was not analyzed in this study as the RP2D was confirmed in study NP28761 (NCT01871805).
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  3. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-xalkori-bf3ffec7
    nct id
    NCT01801111
    outcome key
    om-0002
    source section id
    NCT01801111-om-0002
    source outcome index
    2
    endpoint
    Percentage of Participants Achieving Objective Response (Complete Response [CR] or Partial Response [PR]) as Assessed by Independent Radiological Review Committee (IRC) in Response Evaluable (RE) Population
    endpoint definition
    Tumor response was assessed by IRC according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors version 1.1 (RECIST v1.1). Objective response was defined as percentage of participants with a CR or PR that was confirmed by repeat assessments \>/=4 weeks after initial documentation. CR was defined as disappearance of all target, non-target lesions; normalization of tumor marker level; and reduction in all lymph nodes size to less than (\<) 10 millimeters (mm). PR was defined as \>/=30 percent (%) decrease in the sum of diameters (SoD) of target lesions (taking as reference the baseline SoD). The 95% confidence interval (CI) was computed using Clopper-Pearson method.
    time origin
    Baseline; assessments every 8 weeks post-baseline until progressive disease, unacceptable toxicity, consent withdrawal, death, other reason deemed by investigator, or last tumor assessment (up to approximately 2.5 years)
    analysis role
    primary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    data cutoff
    Source null
    population note
    Analysis was performed on RE population (IRC) which included all participants with measurable disease at baseline according to the IRC, who had baseline tumor assessment and received at least one dose of alectinib.
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  4. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-xalkori-bf3ffec7
    nct id
    NCT01801111
    outcome key
    om-0003
    source section id
    NCT01801111-om-0003
    source outcome index
    3
    endpoint
    Percentage of Participants Achieving Objective Response (CR or PR) as Assessed by IRC in Chemotherapy-Pretreated Participants
    endpoint definition
    Tumor response was assessed by IRC according to RECIST v1.1. Objective response was defined as percentage of participants with a CR or PR that was confirmed by repeat assessments \>/=4 weeks after initial documentation. CR was defined as disappearance of all target, non-target lesions; normalization of tumor marker level; and reduction in all lymph nodes size to \<10 mm. PR was defined as \>/=30% decrease in the SoD of target lesions (taking as reference the baseline SoD). The 95% CI was computed using Clopper-Pearson method.
    time origin
    Baseline; assessments every 8 weeks post-baseline until progressive disease, unacceptable toxicity, consent withdrawal, death, other reason deemed by investigator, or last tumor assessment (up to approximately 2.5 years)
    analysis role
    primary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    data cutoff
    Source null
    population note
    Analysis was performed on RE population (IRC) participants who received prior chemotherapy.
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  5. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-xalkori-bf3ffec7
    nct id
    NCT01801111
    outcome key
    om-0004
    source section id
    NCT01801111-om-0004
    source outcome index
    4
    endpoint
    Percentage of Participants Achieving Objective Response (CR or PR) as Assessed by IRC in Chemotherapy-Naive Participants
    endpoint definition
    Tumor response was assessed by IRC according to RECIST v1.1. Objective response was defined as percentage of participants with a CR or PR that was confirmed by repeat assessments \>/=4 weeks after initial documentation. CR was defined as disappearance of all target, non-target lesions; normalization of tumor marker level; and reduction in all lymph nodes size to \<10 mm. PR was defined as \>/=30% decrease in the SoD of target lesions (taking as reference the baseline SoD).
    time origin
    Baseline; assessments every 8 weeks post-baseline until progressive disease, unacceptable toxicity, consent withdrawal, death, other reason deemed by investigator, or last tumor assessment (up to approximately 2.5 years)
    analysis role
    secondary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    data cutoff
    Source null
    population note
    Analysis was performed on RE population (IRC) participants who did not receive prior chemotherapy.
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  6. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-xalkori-bf3ffec7
    nct id
    NCT01801111
    outcome key
    om-0005
    source section id
    NCT01801111-om-0005
    source outcome index
    5
    endpoint
    Percentage of Participants Achieving Objective Response (CR or PR) as Assessed by Investigator in RE Population
    endpoint definition
    Tumor response was assessed by the investigator according to RECIST v1.1. Objective response was defined as percentage of participants with a CR or PR that was confirmed by repeat assessments \>/=4 weeks after initial documentation. CR was defined as disappearance of all target, non-target lesions; normalization of tumor marker level; and reduction in all lymph nodes size to \<10 mm. PR was defined as \>/=30% decrease in the SoD of target lesions (taking as reference the baseline SoD). The 95% CI was computed using Clopper-Pearson method.
    time origin
    Baseline; assessments every 8 weeks post-baseline until progressive disease, unacceptable toxicity, consent withdrawal, death, other reason deemed by investigator, or last tumor assessment (up to approximately 2.5 years)
    analysis role
    secondary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    data cutoff
    Source null
    population note
    Analysis was performed on RE population (Investigator) which included all participants with measurable disease at baseline according to the investigator, who had baseline tumor assessment and received at least one dose of alectinib.
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
arms
  1. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-xalkori-bf3ffec7
    nct id
    NCT01801111
    outcome key
    om-0000
    arm key
    OG000
    arm label
    Alectinib
    regimen
    Participants received alectinib at a dose of 600 mg via capsule, orally, twice daily, continuously starting on Day 1 Cycle 1 (in 28-day cycles) until PD, death, or withdrawal for any other reasons, whichever occurred first. After PD, participants were allowed to continue treatment with alectinib as per the discretion of the treating physician.
    analyzed count
    0
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT01801111-om-0000#groups/OG000
  2. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-xalkori-bf3ffec7
    nct id
    NCT01801111
    outcome key
    om-0001
    arm key
    OG000
    arm label
    Alectinib
    regimen
    Participants received alectinib at a dose of 600 mg via capsule, orally, twice daily, continuously starting on Day 1 Cycle 1 (in 28-day cycles) until PD, death, or withdrawal for any other reasons, whichever occurred first. After PD, participants were allowed to continue treatment with alectinib as per the discretion of the treating physician.
    analyzed count
    0
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT01801111-om-0001#groups/OG000
  3. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-xalkori-bf3ffec7
    nct id
    NCT01801111
    outcome key
    om-0002
    arm key
    OG000
    arm label
    Alectinib
    regimen
    Participants received alectinib at a dose of 600 mg via capsule, orally, twice daily, continuously starting on Day 1 Cycle 1 (in 28-day cycles) until PD, death, or withdrawal for any other reasons, whichever occurred first. After PD, participants were allowed to continue treatment with alectinib as per the discretion of the treating physician.
    analyzed count
    122
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT01801111-om-0002#groups/OG000
  4. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-xalkori-bf3ffec7
    nct id
    NCT01801111
    outcome key
    om-0003
    arm key
    OG000
    arm label
    Alectinib
    regimen
    Participants received alectinib at a dose of 600 mg via capsule, orally, twice daily, continuously starting on Day 1 Cycle 1 (in 28-day cycles) until PD, death, or withdrawal for any other reasons, whichever occurred first. After PD, participants were allowed to continue treatment with alectinib as per the discretion of the treating physician.
    analyzed count
    96
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT01801111-om-0003#groups/OG000
  5. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-xalkori-bf3ffec7
    nct id
    NCT01801111
    outcome key
    om-0004
    arm key
    OG000
    arm label
    Alectinib
    regimen
    Participants received alectinib at a dose of 600 mg via capsule, orally, twice daily, continuously starting on Day 1 Cycle 1 (in 28-day cycles) until PD, death, or withdrawal for any other reasons, whichever occurred first. After PD, participants were allowed to continue treatment with alectinib as per the discretion of the treating physician.
    analyzed count
    26
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT01801111-om-0004#groups/OG000
  6. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-xalkori-bf3ffec7
    nct id
    NCT01801111
    outcome key
    om-0005
    arm key
    OG000
    arm label
    Alectinib
    regimen
    Participants received alectinib at a dose of 600 mg via capsule, orally, twice daily, continuously starting on Day 1 Cycle 1 (in 28-day cycles) until PD, death, or withdrawal for any other reasons, whichever occurred first. After PD, participants were allowed to continue treatment with alectinib as per the discretion of the treating physician.
    analyzed count
    138
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT01801111-om-0005#groups/OG000
harms
  1. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-xalkori-bf3ffec7
    nct id
    NCT01801111
    harm key
    EG000
    source section id
    NCT01801111-ae
    event group key
    EG000
    event group label
    Alectinib
    serious affected
    39
    serious at risk
    138
    other affected
    133
    other at risk
    138
    frequency threshold
    5
    collection period
    From Baseline until 28 days after the last dose of study drug (overall up to approximately 4 years)
    event definition
    Analysis was performed on safety population.
    undenominated note
    Source null
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
quality of life
    setting source links

      Preserved source evidence · Not medical advice