NCT01523587 · STUDY IN CONTEXT
LUX-Lung 8: A Phase III Trial of Afatinib (BIBW 2992) Versus Erlotinib for the Treatment of Squamous Cell Lung Cancer After at Least One Prior Platinum Based Chemotherapy
Draft scope assessment: unclear. Attached because the study's own record describes locally advanced disease. The study was not selected for this indication by its sponsor, and its eligibility has not been reconciled against this page in full. Found because this study's registry identifier is printed in an FDA approval notice, an FDA product label or an NCI summary held by this site. The citing document and the exact position of the identifier inside it are recorded. Being cited is not a statement that the study supports this treatment.
Read the full study record and all posted results →
Linked outcomes
Progression Free Survival (PFS) was defined as the time from randomization to disease progression (or death if the patient died before progression) by central independent review according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumours (RECIST) version 1.1. RECIST is a set of published rules that define when tumors in cancer patients improve ("respond"), stay the same ("stabilize") or worsen ("progress") during treatment. Per RECIST v1.1 for target lesions and assessed by MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR.
Overall Survival is defined as the time from randomisation to death. It was a key secondary endpoint.
A patient with a best overall response of Complete Responder (CR) or Partial Responder (PR) was considered to show objective response to study medication. For patients with an objective response, time to objective response was defined as the time from randomization to the first objective response; duration of objective response was defined as the time from the first objective response to progression (or death if the patient died before progression). Per RECIST v1.1 for target lesions and assessed by MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR.
Disease control was assessed based on Independent Radiologic Review (IRR) and investigator assessment. A patient with a best overall response of CR, PR, or Stable Disease (SD) was considered to have disease control. Patients with no baseline target lesions who had no evidence of disease progression in their non-target lesions and had no new lesions were considered to have disease control. Per RECIST v1.1 for target lesions and assessed by MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR.
Maximum percentage decrease from baseline in the sum of target lesion diameters following independent review. The change in the size (i.e. the sum of diameters (SOD)) of target lesions from baseline was derived. Tumour shrinkage for each patient was measured (based on Independent Radiologic Review (IRR)) as the minimum SOD of target lesions after randomisation. A negative percentage indicates decrease from baseline; positive numbers indicate an increase of tumour size. The mean maximum decrease from baseline of +5 and +9.4 reflect an average increase in tumour size. Post-baseline mean is adjusted for baseline sum of diameters and race.
Health-related quality of life (HRQoL) was measured with the following multi-dimensional questionnaires: the european organization for research and treatment of cancer (eortc) quality of life questionnaire (QLQ-C30) questionnaire and its lung cancer specific supplementary module EORTC QLQ-LC13 and the EQ-5D health status self-assessment questionnaire. The questionnaires were assessed at the first visit of each treatment course, at end of treatment (EOT) and follow up prior to clinical assessment. The results displayed show number of patients with improvement in the relevant criteria. For each of the summary scales and items measuring cough, dyspnoea and pain, the two treatment arms were compared in terms of: The number of patients that were improved: Change in cough; dyspnoea and pain scores over time.
Reported safety
Quality of life and patient-reported measures
EORTC QLQ · Number of Participants With Status Change in Cough, Dyspnoea and Pain Related Items Over Time in Health Related Quality of Life Questionnaire
Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-locally-advanced-c478f41c
- nct id
- NCT01523587
- qol key
- qol-0005
- source section id
- NCT01523587-om-0005
- source outcome index
- 5
- instrument
- EORTC QLQ
- instrument basis
- matched 'eortc' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Number of Participants With Status Change in Cough, Dyspnoea and Pain Related Items Over Time in Health Related Quality of Life Questionnaire
- measure definition
- Health-related quality of life (HRQoL) was measured with the following multi-dimensional questionnaires: the european organization for research and treatment of cancer (eortc) quality of life questionnaire (QLQ-C30) questionnaire and its lung cancer specific supplementary module EORTC QLQ-LC13 and the EQ-5D health status self-assessment questionnaire. The questionnaires were assessed at the first visit of each treatment course, at end of treatment (EOT) and follow up prior to clinical assessment. The results displayed show number of patients with improvement in the relevant criteria. For each of the summary scales and items measuring cough, dyspnoea and pain, the two treatment arms were compared in terms of: The number of patients that were improved: Change in cough; dyspnoea and pain scores over time.
- time frame
- From first drug administration from 9 April 2012 until study closure on 27 Dec 2017 (approximately 2089 days).
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- RS
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
EORTC QLQ · Summary of Time to Deterioration in Coughing, Dyspnoea and Pain.
Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-locally-advanced-c478f41c
- nct id
- NCT01523587
- qol key
- qol-0006
- source section id
- NCT01523587-om-0006
- source outcome index
- 6
- instrument
- EORTC QLQ
- instrument basis
- matched 'eortc' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Summary of Time to Deterioration in Coughing, Dyspnoea and Pain.
- measure definition
- Health-related quality of life (HRQoL) was measured with the following multi-dimensional questionnaires: the EORTC QLQ-C30. The questionnaires were assessed at the first visit of each treatment course. For each of the summary scales and items measuring cough, dyspnoea and pain, the two treatment arms were compared in terms of: Time to deterioration.
- time frame
- From first drug administration from 9 April 2012 until study closure on 27 Dec 2017 (approximately 2089 days).
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- RS
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
EORTC QLQ · Change in Score Over Time in Coughing,Dyspnoea and Pain
Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-locally-advanced-c478f41c
- nct id
- NCT01523587
- qol key
- qol-0007
- source section id
- NCT01523587-om-0007
- source outcome index
- 7
- instrument
- EORTC QLQ
- instrument basis
- matched 'eortc' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Change in Score Over Time in Coughing,Dyspnoea and Pain
- measure definition
- Health related quality of life (HRQoL) was measured with the following multi dimensional questionnaires: the EORTC QLQ-C30. The questionnaires were assessed at the first visit of each treatment course. For each of the summary scales and items measuring cough, dyspnoea and pain, the two treatment arms were compared in terms of change in score over time, adjusted for baseline score and race. Questionnaires have items relating to Cough, Dyspnoea and Pain. Overall Scores are transformed to a standardised scale of 0 to 100 with the larger value indicating a worse outcome. A change of (+/-) 10 points is considered to be relevant. The change in cough, dyspnea and pain will be assessed using a mixed effects growth curve model with the average profile over time for each endpoint described by a piecewise linear model (presented as post baseline in data table). Post-baseline mean is adjusted for baseline and race.
- time frame
- From first drug administration from 9 April 2012 until study closure on 27 Dec 2017 (approximately 2089 days).
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- RS
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
Full draft applicability and source-link record
- trial
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-locally-advanced-c478f41c
- nct id
- NCT01523587
- trial label
- LUX-Lung 8: A Phase III Trial of Afatinib (BIBW 2992) Versus Erlotinib for the Treatment of Squamous Cell Lung Cancer After at Least One Prior Platinum Based Chemotherapy
- applicability
- unclear
- applicability note
- Attached because the study's own record describes locally advanced disease. The study was not selected for this indication by its sponsor, and its eligibility has not been reconciled against this page in full.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- provenance class
- regulator-cited
- discovery note
- Found because this study's registry identifier is printed in an FDA approval notice, an FDA product label or an NCI summary held by this site. The citing document and the exact position of the identifier inside it are recorded. Being cited is not a statement that the study supports this treatment.
- outcome Count
- 6
- harms Count
- 2
- qol Count
- 3
- outcomes
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-locally-advanced-c478f41c
- nct id
- NCT01523587
- outcome key
- om-0000
- source section id
- NCT01523587-om-0000
- source outcome index
- 0
- endpoint
- Progression-free Survival, Based on Central Independent Review as Determined by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumours 1.1
- endpoint definition
- Progression Free Survival (PFS) was defined as the time from randomization to disease progression (or death if the patient died before progression) by central independent review according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumours (RECIST) version 1.1. RECIST is a set of published rules that define when tumors in cancer patients improve ("respond"), stay the same ("stabilize") or worsen ("progress") during treatment. Per RECIST v1.1 for target lesions and assessed by MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR.
- time origin
- First treatment administration up until cut off date of 02 March 2015 (up to 1058 days).
- analysis role
- primary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Randomized Set (RS): All patients who were randomized, regardless of whether they received investigational treatment.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-locally-advanced-c478f41c
- nct id
- NCT01523587
- outcome key
- om-0001
- source section id
- NCT01523587-om-0001
- source outcome index
- 1
- endpoint
- Overall Survival
- endpoint definition
- Overall Survival is defined as the time from randomisation to death. It was a key secondary endpoint.
- time origin
- From first drug administration from 9 April 2012 until study closure on 27 Dec 2017 (approximately 2089 days).
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- RS
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-locally-advanced-c478f41c
- nct id
- NCT01523587
- outcome key
- om-0002
- source section id
- NCT01523587-om-0002
- source outcome index
- 2
- endpoint
- Number of Participants With Objective Response According to RECIST 1.1
- endpoint definition
- A patient with a best overall response of Complete Responder (CR) or Partial Responder (PR) was considered to show objective response to study medication. For patients with an objective response, time to objective response was defined as the time from randomization to the first objective response; duration of objective response was defined as the time from the first objective response to progression (or death if the patient died before progression). Per RECIST v1.1 for target lesions and assessed by MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR.
- time origin
- First treatment administration up until cut off date of 02 March 2015 (up to 1058 days).
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- RS
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-locally-advanced-c478f41c
- nct id
- NCT01523587
- outcome key
- om-0003
- source section id
- NCT01523587-om-0003
- source outcome index
- 3
- endpoint
- Number of Participants With Disease Control According to RECIST 1.1
- endpoint definition
- Disease control was assessed based on Independent Radiologic Review (IRR) and investigator assessment. A patient with a best overall response of CR, PR, or Stable Disease (SD) was considered to have disease control. Patients with no baseline target lesions who had no evidence of disease progression in their non-target lesions and had no new lesions were considered to have disease control. Per RECIST v1.1 for target lesions and assessed by MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR.
- time origin
- First treatment administration up until cut off date of 02 March 2015 (up to 1058 days).
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- RS
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-locally-advanced-c478f41c
- nct id
- NCT01523587
- outcome key
- om-0004
- source section id
- NCT01523587-om-0004
- source outcome index
- 4
- endpoint
- Tumour Shrinkage
- endpoint definition
- Maximum percentage decrease from baseline in the sum of target lesion diameters following independent review. The change in the size (i.e. the sum of diameters (SOD)) of target lesions from baseline was derived. Tumour shrinkage for each patient was measured (based on Independent Radiologic Review (IRR)) as the minimum SOD of target lesions after randomisation. A negative percentage indicates decrease from baseline; positive numbers indicate an increase of tumour size. The mean maximum decrease from baseline of +5 and +9.4 reflect an average increase in tumour size. Post-baseline mean is adjusted for baseline sum of diameters and race.
- time origin
- First treatment administration up until cut off date of 02 March 2015 (up to 1058 days).
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Patients from the randomised set with tumour assessments are considered for the analysis of this endpoint.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-locally-advanced-c478f41c
- nct id
- NCT01523587
- outcome key
- om-0005
- source section id
- NCT01523587-om-0005
- source outcome index
- 5
- endpoint
- Number of Participants With Status Change in Cough, Dyspnoea and Pain Related Items Over Time in Health Related Quality of Life Questionnaire
- endpoint definition
- Health-related quality of life (HRQoL) was measured with the following multi-dimensional questionnaires: the european organization for research and treatment of cancer (eortc) quality of life questionnaire (QLQ-C30) questionnaire and its lung cancer specific supplementary module EORTC QLQ-LC13 and the EQ-5D health status self-assessment questionnaire. The questionnaires were assessed at the first visit of each treatment course, at end of treatment (EOT) and follow up prior to clinical assessment. The results displayed show number of patients with improvement in the relevant criteria. For each of the summary scales and items measuring cough, dyspnoea and pain, the two treatment arms were compared in terms of: The number of patients that were improved: Change in cough; dyspnoea and pain scores over time.
- time origin
- From first drug administration from 9 April 2012 until study closure on 27 Dec 2017 (approximately 2089 days).
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- RS
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- arms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-locally-advanced-c478f41c
- nct id
- NCT01523587
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Afatinib
- regimen
- Patients administered 40 milligram (mg) film-coated tablet once daily orally for the first 28-day treatment course. Dose escalation to 50 mg once daily was allowed at the beginning of the second 28-day treatment course, if patients met specified safety and compliance criteria. Dose reduction to 40 mg/day (if applicable), 30 mg/day, or 20 mg/day, was required in the presence of known drug-related adverse events.
- analyzed count
- 398
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01523587-om-0000#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-locally-advanced-c478f41c
- nct id
- NCT01523587
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Erlotinib
- regimen
- Patients administered 150 mg film-coated tablet once daily orally, with dose reduction to 100 mg/day or 50 mg/day in the presence of known drug-related adverse events.
- analyzed count
- 397
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01523587-om-0000#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-locally-advanced-c478f41c
- nct id
- NCT01523587
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Afatinib
- regimen
- Patients administered 40 milligram (mg) film-coated tablet once daily orally for the first 28-day treatment course. Dose escalation to 50 mg once daily was allowed at the beginning of the second 28-day treatment course, if patients met specified safety and compliance criteria. Dose reduction to 40 mg/day (if applicable), 30 mg/day, or 20 mg/day, was required in the presence of known drug-related adverse events.
- analyzed count
- 398
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01523587-om-0001#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-locally-advanced-c478f41c
- nct id
- NCT01523587
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Erlotinib
- regimen
- Patients administered 150 mg film-coated tablet once daily orally, with dose reduction to 100 mg/day or 50 mg/day in the presence of known drug-related adverse events.
- analyzed count
- 397
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01523587-om-0001#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-locally-advanced-c478f41c
- nct id
- NCT01523587
- outcome key
- om-0002
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Afatinib
- regimen
- Patients administered 40 milligram (mg) film-coated tablet once daily orally for the first 28-day treatment course. Dose escalation to 50 mg once daily was allowed at the beginning of the second 28-day treatment course, if patients met specified safety and compliance criteria. Dose reduction to 40 mg/day (if applicable), 30 mg/day, or 20 mg/day, was required in the presence of known drug-related adverse events.
- analyzed count
- 398
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01523587-om-0002#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-locally-advanced-c478f41c
- nct id
- NCT01523587
- outcome key
- om-0002
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Erlotinib
- regimen
- Patients administered 150 mg film-coated tablet once daily orally, with dose reduction to 100 mg/day or 50 mg/day in the presence of known drug-related adverse events.
- analyzed count
- 397
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01523587-om-0002#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-locally-advanced-c478f41c
- nct id
- NCT01523587
- outcome key
- om-0003
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Afatinib
- regimen
- Patients administered 40 milligram (mg) film-coated tablet once daily orally for the first 28-day treatment course. Dose escalation to 50 mg once daily was allowed at the beginning of the second 28-day treatment course, if patients met specified safety and compliance criteria. Dose reduction to 40 mg/day (if applicable), 30 mg/day, or 20 mg/day, was required in the presence of known drug-related adverse events.
- analyzed count
- 398
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01523587-om-0003#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-locally-advanced-c478f41c
- nct id
- NCT01523587
- outcome key
- om-0003
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Erlotinib
- regimen
- Patients administered 150 mg film-coated tablet once daily orally, with dose reduction to 100 mg/day or 50 mg/day in the presence of known drug-related adverse events.
- analyzed count
- 397
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01523587-om-0003#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-locally-advanced-c478f41c
- nct id
- NCT01523587
- outcome key
- om-0004
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Afatinib
- regimen
- Patients administered 40 milligram (mg) film-coated tablet once daily orally for the first 28-day treatment course. Dose escalation to 50 mg once daily was allowed at the beginning of the second 28-day treatment course, if patients met specified safety and compliance criteria. Dose reduction to 40 mg/day (if applicable), 30 mg/day, or 20 mg/day, was required in the presence of known drug-related adverse events.
- analyzed count
- 307
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01523587-om-0004#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-locally-advanced-c478f41c
- nct id
- NCT01523587
- outcome key
- om-0004
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Erlotinib
- regimen
- Patients administered 150 mg film-coated tablet once daily orally, with dose reduction to 100 mg/day or 50 mg/day in the presence of known drug-related adverse events.
- analyzed count
- 311
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01523587-om-0004#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-locally-advanced-c478f41c
- nct id
- NCT01523587
- outcome key
- om-0005
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Afatinib
- regimen
- Patients administered 40 milligram (mg) film-coated tablet once daily orally for the first 28-day treatment course. Dose escalation to 50 mg once daily was allowed at the beginning of the second 28-day treatment course, if patients met specified safety and compliance criteria. Dose reduction to 40 mg/day (if applicable), 30 mg/day, or 20 mg/day, was required in the presence of known drug-related adverse events.
- analyzed count
- 398
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01523587-om-0005#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-locally-advanced-c478f41c
- nct id
- NCT01523587
- outcome key
- om-0005
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Erlotinib
- regimen
- Patients administered 150 mg film-coated tablet once daily orally, with dose reduction to 100 mg/day or 50 mg/day in the presence of known drug-related adverse events.
- analyzed count
- 397
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01523587-om-0005#groups/OG001
- harms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-locally-advanced-c478f41c
- nct id
- NCT01523587
- harm key
- EG000
- source section id
- NCT01523587-ae
- event group key
- EG000
- event group label
- Afatinib
- serious affected
- 174
- serious at risk
- 392
- other affected
- 383
- other at risk
- 392
- frequency threshold
- 5
- collection period
- From first drug administration from 9 April 2012 until study closure on 27 Dec 2017 (approximately 2089 days).
- event definition
- All adverse events (AEs) reported for this trial are on treatment AEs.
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-locally-advanced-c478f41c
- nct id
- NCT01523587
- harm key
- EG001
- source section id
- NCT01523587-ae
- event group key
- EG001
- event group label
- Erlotinib
- serious affected
- 175
- serious at risk
- 395
- other affected
- 371
- other at risk
- 395
- frequency threshold
- 5
- collection period
- From first drug administration from 9 April 2012 until study closure on 27 Dec 2017 (approximately 2089 days).
- event definition
- All adverse events (AEs) reported for this trial are on treatment AEs.
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- quality of life
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-locally-advanced-c478f41c
- nct id
- NCT01523587
- qol key
- qol-0005
- source section id
- NCT01523587-om-0005
- source outcome index
- 5
- instrument
- EORTC QLQ
- instrument basis
- matched 'eortc' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Number of Participants With Status Change in Cough, Dyspnoea and Pain Related Items Over Time in Health Related Quality of Life Questionnaire
- measure definition
- Health-related quality of life (HRQoL) was measured with the following multi-dimensional questionnaires: the european organization for research and treatment of cancer (eortc) quality of life questionnaire (QLQ-C30) questionnaire and its lung cancer specific supplementary module EORTC QLQ-LC13 and the EQ-5D health status self-assessment questionnaire. The questionnaires were assessed at the first visit of each treatment course, at end of treatment (EOT) and follow up prior to clinical assessment. The results displayed show number of patients with improvement in the relevant criteria. For each of the summary scales and items measuring cough, dyspnoea and pain, the two treatment arms were compared in terms of: The number of patients that were improved: Change in cough; dyspnoea and pain scores over time.
- time frame
- From first drug administration from 9 April 2012 until study closure on 27 Dec 2017 (approximately 2089 days).
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- RS
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-locally-advanced-c478f41c
- nct id
- NCT01523587
- qol key
- qol-0006
- source section id
- NCT01523587-om-0006
- source outcome index
- 6
- instrument
- EORTC QLQ
- instrument basis
- matched 'eortc' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Summary of Time to Deterioration in Coughing, Dyspnoea and Pain.
- measure definition
- Health-related quality of life (HRQoL) was measured with the following multi-dimensional questionnaires: the EORTC QLQ-C30. The questionnaires were assessed at the first visit of each treatment course. For each of the summary scales and items measuring cough, dyspnoea and pain, the two treatment arms were compared in terms of: Time to deterioration.
- time frame
- From first drug administration from 9 April 2012 until study closure on 27 Dec 2017 (approximately 2089 days).
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- RS
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-locally-advanced-c478f41c
- nct id
- NCT01523587
- qol key
- qol-0007
- source section id
- NCT01523587-om-0007
- source outcome index
- 7
- instrument
- EORTC QLQ
- instrument basis
- matched 'eortc' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Change in Score Over Time in Coughing,Dyspnoea and Pain
- measure definition
- Health related quality of life (HRQoL) was measured with the following multi dimensional questionnaires: the EORTC QLQ-C30. The questionnaires were assessed at the first visit of each treatment course. For each of the summary scales and items measuring cough, dyspnoea and pain, the two treatment arms were compared in terms of change in score over time, adjusted for baseline score and race. Questionnaires have items relating to Cough, Dyspnoea and Pain. Overall Scores are transformed to a standardised scale of 0 to 100 with the larger value indicating a worse outcome. A change of (+/-) 10 points is considered to be relevant. The change in cough, dyspnea and pain will be assessed using a mixed effects growth curve model with the average profile over time for each endpoint described by a piecewise linear model (presented as post baseline in data table). Post-baseline mean is adjusted for baseline and race.
- time frame
- From first drug administration from 9 April 2012 until study closure on 27 Dec 2017 (approximately 2089 days).
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- RS
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- setting source links
Preserved source evidence · Not medical advice
Triangle