NCT00064116 · CITED IN SOURCE DOCUMENTS
Combination Chemotherapy With or Without Rituximab in Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma
An NCI or FDA source cites this study. A citation does not establish that it applies to an individual diagnosis.
- Phase
- PHASE3
- Status at capture
- COMPLETED
- Registry last update
- 2020-04-01
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Monoclonal antibodies such as rituximab can locate cancer cells and either kill them or deliver cancer-killing substances to them without harming normal cells. It is not yet known whether combination chemotherapy is more effective with or without rituximab in treating patients with non-Hodgkin's lymphoma. PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying four different combination chemotherapy regimens and rituximab to see how well they work compared to four different combination chemotherapy regimens alone in treating patients with non-Hodgkin's lymphoma.
Open the original ClinicalTrials.gov record → · Download preserved record
What did the study report?
Outcomes, safety and baseline populations are separate source sections. Quality-of-life measures appear under their original outcome titles.
No posted result sections were captured. Registered plans do not establish that a treatment works.
Who could take part
- eligibility Criteria
- DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: * Histologically confirmed diffuse large B-cell non-Hodgkin's lymphoma according to REAL classification * Diagnosed within the past 6 weeks * CD20+ disease * Ann Arbor stage II, III, or IV disease or stage I bulky disease * International Prognostic Index (IPI) score of 0 or 1 * Score 0 defined by all of the following: * Stage I or II disease * ECOG performance status of 0 or 1 * Lactic dehydrogenase (LDH) no greater than upper limit of normal (ULN) * Score 1 defined by 1 of the following: * Stage I or II disease; ECOG performance status of 0 or 1; and LDH greater than ULN * Stage I or II disease; ECOG performance status 2 or 3; and LDH no greater than ULN * Stage III or IV disease; ECOG performance status 0 or 1; and LDH no greater than ULN * Previously untreated disease * Mediastinal B-cell lymphoma allowed * No secondary lymphoma after prior chemotherapy or radiotherapy for other malignancies * No transformed lymphoma * No primary CNS lymphoma * No primary gastrointestinal (MALT) lymphoma * No post-transplant lymphoproliferative disorder PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age * 18 to 60 Performance status * See Disease Characteristics * ECOG 0-3 Life expectancy * At least 3 months Hematopoietic * Not specified Hepatic * Bilirubin no greater than 2.0 mg/dL\* * Transaminases no greater than 3 times normal\* * No active chronic hepatitis B or C infection NOTE: \*Unless related to lymphoma Renal * Creatinine no greater than 2 times normal\* NOTE: \*Unless related to lymphoma Cardiovascular * No myocardial infarction within the past 6 months * No uncompensated heart failure * No dilatative cardiomyopathy * No coronary heart disease with ST segment depression on ECG * No severe uncompensated hypertension Pulmonary * No chronic lung disease with hypoxemia Other * Not pregnant or nursing * Negative pregnancy test * Fertile patients must use effective contraception * HIV negative * No known allergic reactions against foreign proteins * No other prior malignancy except basal cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix * No concurrent disease that would preclude study treatment * No active infections requiring systemic antibiotics or antiviral medications * No severe uncompensated diabetes mellitus * No clinical signs of cerebral dysfunction * No severe psychiatric disease PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy * No prior murine antibodies Chemotherapy * No other concurrent anticancer chemotherapy Endocrine therapy * Not specified Radiotherapy * No concurrent response-adapted (slow response or unconfirmed complete response) radiotherapy Surgery * Not specified Other * No prior lymphoma-specific treatment * More than 12 weeks since prior participation in another clinical trial * No prior participation in this study * No other concurrent study medication
- healthy Volunteers
- false
- maximum Age
- 60 Years
- minimum Age
- 18 Years
- sex
- ALL
- std Ages
- ADULT
Treatment arms and interventions
- arm Groups
- description
- Cyclophosphamide 750 mg/m² i.v. day 1 Doxorubicin 50 mg/m² i.v. day 1 Vincristine 2 mg (abs.) i.v. day 1 Prednisone 100 mg/d p.o. days 1 to 5 Recycle: day 22 Total number of cycles 6
- intervention Names
- Drug: CHOP regimen
- label
- Arm A: CHOP-21
- type
- ACTIVE_COMPARATOR
- description
- Rituximab 375 mg/m² i.v. day 1\* Cyclophosphamide 750 mg/m² i.v. day 1 Doxorubicin 50 mg/m² i.v. day 1 Vincristine 2 mg (abs.) i.v. day 1 Prednisone 100 mg/d p.o. days 1 to 5 Recycle day 22 Total number of cycles: 6
- intervention Names
- Biological: rituximab
- Drug: CHOP regimen
- label
- Arm B: CHOP-21 + Rituximab
- type
- ACTIVE_COMPARATOR
- interventions
- arm Group Labels
- Arm B: CHOP-21 + Rituximab
- description
- Rituximab 375 mg/m² i.v. day 1
- name
- rituximab
- type
- BIOLOGICAL
- arm Group Labels
- Arm A: CHOP-21
- Arm B: CHOP-21 + Rituximab
- description
- Cyclophosphamide 750 mg/m² i.v. day 1 Doxorubicin 50 mg/m² i.v. day 1 Vincristine 2 mg (abs.) i.v. day 1 Prednisone 100 mg/d p.o. days 1 to 5 Recycle day 22 Total number of cycles: 6
- name
- CHOP regimen
- type
- DRUG
Study design
- allocation
- RANDOMIZED
- intervention Model
- SINGLE_GROUP
- masking Info
- masking
- NONE
- primary Purpose
- TREATMENT
Enrollment
- count
- 824
- type
- ACTUAL
Registered outcome plans (not posted results)
- primary Outcomes
- measure
- Time to treatment failure (TTF) at 3 years
- time Frame
- 3 years
- secondary Outcomes
- measure
- Complete remission rate after completion of treatment
- time Frame
- 3 years
- measure
- Overall survival at 3 years
- time Frame
- 3 years
- measure
- Tumor control measured by TTF with non-tumor events censored at 3 years
- time Frame
- 3 years
- measure
- Disease-free survival (DFS) measured by TTF after an event during and directly after treatment at 3 years
- time Frame
- 3 years
- measure
- Progression rate determined by dividing the number of patients with disease progression by number of patients with evaluable outcome at 3 years
- time Frame
- 3 years
- measure
- Time to progression measured at 3 years
- time Frame
- 3 years
- measure
- Toxicity assessed by NCI CTC v2.0 after completion of treatment
- time Frame
- 3 years
Full study description
- brief Summary
- RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Monoclonal antibodies such as rituximab can locate cancer cells and either kill them or deliver cancer-killing substances to them without harming normal cells. It is not yet known whether combination chemotherapy is more effective with or without rituximab in treating patients with non-Hodgkin's lymphoma. PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying four different combination chemotherapy regimens and rituximab to see how well they work compared to four different combination chemotherapy regimens alone in treating patients with non-Hodgkin's lymphoma.
- detailed Description
- OBJECTIVES: * Compare the time to treatment failure in patients with CD20-positive diffuse large B-cell non-Hodgkin's lymphoma treated with CHOP (cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, vincristine, and prednisone)-like chemotherapy with vs without rituximab. * Compare the tumor control, progression rate, and complete remission rate in patients treated with these regimens. * Compare the disease-free and overall survival rate of patients treated with these regimens. * Compare the toxicity of these regimens in these patients. OUTLINE: This is a randomized, open-label, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to participating center, bulky disease (no vs yes), International Prognostic Index score (0 vs 1), and chemotherapy (CHOP vs CHOEP vs PMitCEBO vs MACOP-B). Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms. * Arm I: Patients receive 1 of the following chemotherapy regimens according to participating country: * CHOP: Patients receive cyclophosphamide IV, doxorubicin IV, and vincristine IV on day 1 and oral prednisone or prednisolone on days 1-5. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. * CHOEP-21: Patients receive cyclophosphamide IV, doxorubicin IV, and vincristine IV on day 1; etoposide IV on days 1-3; and oral prednisone on days 1-5. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. * PMitCEBO: Patients receive mitoxantrone IV, cyclophosphamide IV, and etoposide IV on day 1; vincristine IV and bleomycin IV on day 8; and oral prednisolone daily during weeks 1-4 and every other day during week 5. Treatment repeats every 14 days for 6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. * MACOP-B: Patients receive cyclophosphamide IV and doxorubicin IV on days 1, 15, 29, 43, 57, and 71; methotrexate IV and vincristine IV on days 8, 36, and 64; bleomycin IV and vincristine IV on days 22, 50, and 78; and oral or intramuscular prednisone on days 1-84. Treatment continues in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. * Arm II: Patients receive arm I regimens (according to participating country) and rituximab as follows: * CHOP and rituximab: Patients receive CHOP as in arm I and rituximab IV on day 1. * CHOEP-21 and rituximab: Patients receive CHOEP-21 as in arm I and rituximab IV on day 1. * PMitCEBO and rituximab: Patients receive PMitCEBO as in arm I and rituximab IV on day 1 during courses 1 and 4; on day 8 during courses 2 and 5; and on day 1 at 1 and 4 weeks after completion of the last course of PMitCEBO chemotherapy. * MACOP-B and rituximab: Patients receive MACOP-B as in arm I and rituximab IV on days 1, 22, 43, 64, 85, and 106. Patients are followed every 3 months for 2 years, every 6 months for 3 years, and then annually thereafter. PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 820 patients will be accrued for this study within approximately 2 years.
Source references
- references
- citation
- Pfreundschuh M, Ho AD, Cavallin-Stahl E, Wolf M, Pettengell R, Vasova I, Belch A, Walewski J, Zinzani PL, Mingrone W, Kvaloy S, Shpilberg O, Jaeger U, Hansen M, Corrado C, Scheliga A, Loeffler M, Kuhnt E; MabThera International Trial (MInT) Group. Prognostic significance of maximum tumour (bulk) diameter in young patients with good-prognosis diffuse large-B-cell lymphoma treated with CHOP-like chemotherapy with or without rituximab: an exploratory analysis of the MabThera International Trial Group (MInT) study. Lancet Oncol. 2008 May;9(5):435-44. doi: 10.1016/S1470-2045(08)70078-0. Epub 2008 Apr 8.
- pmid
- 18400558
- type
- RESULT
- citation
- Pfreundschuh M, Trumper L, Osterborg A, Pettengell R, Trneny M, Imrie K, Ma D, Gill D, Walewski J, Zinzani PL, Stahel R, Kvaloy S, Shpilberg O, Jaeger U, Hansen M, Lehtinen T, Lopez-Guillermo A, Corrado C, Scheliga A, Milpied N, Mendila M, Rashford M, Kuhnt E, Loeffler M; MabThera International Trial Group. CHOP-like chemotherapy plus rituximab versus CHOP-like chemotherapy alone in young patients with good-prognosis diffuse large-B-cell lymphoma: a randomised controlled trial by the MabThera International Trial (MInT) Group. Lancet Oncol. 2006 May;7(5):379-91. doi: 10.1016/S1470-2045(06)70664-7.
- pmid
- 16648042
- type
- RESULT
Source notices and limitations
Discovery and provenance
- release id
- ctgov-registry-7ad944f6deaf1f5cd6122126
- edge id
- nct-edge-591e5ab26c07350fecf8
- requested nct id
- NCT00064116
- primary nct id
- NCT00064116
- source kind
- fda_spl_label
- source record id
- 3a716937-c2af-4bf9-976c-c34746b22ff0
- source file sha256
- d918de6bede8f776ad4fea2bc639292f8454d9733fbbdfdd7fd4414b6200e571
- payload sha256
- 5d7a5a5f91062ad56a0c9937fd76a7b08e3676a3e9b66dd2f41f2c8d0b475a71
- payload
- application numbers
- BLA103705
- clinical indication matching status
- not_inferred
- end exclusive
- true
- id
- nct-edge-591e5ab26c07350fecf8
- link basis
- explicit_NCT_identifier_in_acquired_source
- nct id
- NCT00064116
- occurrences
- context exact
- Grade 3 or 4 adverse reactions occurring more frequently among patients receiving R-CHOP were viral infection (NHL Study 8), neutropenia (NHL Studies 8 and 9 (NCT00064116)), and anemia (NHL Study 9). Pediatric Patients with DLBCL/BL/BLL/B-AL The safety of RITUXAN administered in combination with LMB chemotherapy in pediatric pat
- end
- 12433
- exact text
- NCT00064116
- start
- 12422
- offset unit
- unicode_code_points
- source file
- /tmp/cancer-full-research/indications/raw/labels-00200.json
- source file sha256
- d918de6bede8f776ad4fea2bc639292f8454d9733fbbdfdd7fd4414b6200e571
- source json pointer
- /results/17/adverse_reactions/0
- source kind
- fda_spl_label
- source record id
- 3a716937-c2af-4bf9-976c-c34746b22ff0
- source string basis
- parsed_JSON_string_unmodified
- source string sha256
- f4209b90335733b4411ec0abee940fdab2c8957fe8de9faa3224cc4fdb66f74c
- spl effective time
- 20250106
- spl set id
- b172773b-3905-4a1c-ad95-bab4b6126563
- release id
- ctgov-registry-7ad944f6deaf1f5cd6122126
- edge id
- nct-edge-93056f6bb458f0117af7
- requested nct id
- NCT00064116
- primary nct id
- NCT00064116
- source kind
- fda_spl_label
- source record id
- a284d45e-6142-4bfa-b716-7f2b976ffb0b
- source file sha256
- 424ccf5bc67db0a96ee2c35ed913dd5894642716182773d81ca19cdfb9ba32f3
- payload sha256
- f5160912f93158a9a3629591a0d0e2e4bec98a78d8fbc13451e48021b72209d7
- payload
- application numbers
- BLA761088
- clinical indication matching status
- not_inferred
- end exclusive
- true
- id
- nct-edge-93056f6bb458f0117af7
- link basis
- explicit_NCT_identifier_in_acquired_source
- nct id
- NCT00064116
- occurrences
- context exact
- Grade 3 or 4 adverse reactions occurring more frequently among patients receiving R-CHOP were viral infection (NHL Study 8), neutropenia (NHL Studies 8 and 9 ( NCT00064116 )), and anemia (NHL Study 9). CLL The data below reflect exposure to rituximab in combination with fludarabine and cyclophosphamide in 676 patients with CLL in
- end
- 11539
- exact text
- NCT00064116
- start
- 11528
- offset unit
- unicode_code_points
- source file
- /tmp/cancer-full-research/indications/raw/labels-00500.json
- source file sha256
- 424ccf5bc67db0a96ee2c35ed913dd5894642716182773d81ca19cdfb9ba32f3
- source json pointer
- /results/78/adverse_reactions/0
- source kind
- fda_spl_label
- source record id
- a284d45e-6142-4bfa-b716-7f2b976ffb0b
- source string basis
- parsed_JSON_string_unmodified
- source string sha256
- 83c50817a11780f3355d3b4c8b93f6fda0a172e5f9c6358bb651eb718122e544
- spl effective time
- 20260713
- spl set id
- 9af3ddc7-4217-417a-ac89-8704edc5bc44
- release id
- ctgov-registry-7ad944f6deaf1f5cd6122126
- edge id
- nct-edge-d5dd9bae340cb5d1ed06
- requested nct id
- NCT00064116
- primary nct id
- NCT00064116
- source kind
- fda_spl_label
- source record id
- 7e0a4bc5-9a5f-4b66-ab41-a4417988ccc2
- source file sha256
- a4bef6778baed183e5bcf581938b0b23d3576dfd9eb6150f2904934a750c5fef
- payload sha256
- 31d6d5499d25f77509c6979e95a927e232a76332cead9c1717ed4c8245d99e8a
- payload
- application numbers
- BLA761140
- clinical indication matching status
- not_inferred
- end exclusive
- true
- id
- nct-edge-d5dd9bae340cb5d1ed06
- link basis
- explicit_NCT_identifier_in_acquired_source
- nct id
- NCT00064116
- occurrences
- context exact
- Grade 3 or 4 adverse reactions occurring more frequently among patients receiving R-CHOP were viral infection (NHL Study 8), neutropenia (NHL Studies 8 and 9 (NCT00064116)), and anemia (NHL Study 9). CLL The data below reflect exposure to rituximab in combination with fludarabine and cyclophosphamide in 676 patients with CLL in
- end
- 11850
- exact text
- NCT00064116
- start
- 11839
- offset unit
- unicode_code_points
- source file
- /tmp/cancer-full-research/indications/raw/labels-00400.json
- source file sha256
- a4bef6778baed183e5bcf581938b0b23d3576dfd9eb6150f2904934a750c5fef
- source json pointer
- /results/83/adverse_reactions/0
- source kind
- fda_spl_label
- source record id
- 7e0a4bc5-9a5f-4b66-ab41-a4417988ccc2
- source string basis
- parsed_JSON_string_unmodified
- source string sha256
- f1260d729d603b1d2ba2b7fd5d0659e74e2d05ef2ce3cf5923d1955445a55bfd
- spl effective time
- 20260722
- spl set id
- da1c4de7-0e5b-4f72-97ec-7a8d368f085f
- release id
- ctgov-registry-7ad944f6deaf1f5cd6122126
- edge id
- nct-edge-d6eaa2e64c4ee8ecaf7e
- requested nct id
- NCT00064116
- primary nct id
- NCT00064116
- source kind
- fda_spl_label
- source record id
- 1f47d28b-1604-4e95-a668-46d81e4b5b27
- source file sha256
- fc39a8c5cf96bf95ca20b85578140167b66b2741f7d9217f500d9ba0847ac058
- payload sha256
- 1c37ab1b13fb277a6db8aeb91ec311fa54848758fc7a0b3995b1e59f6e3d8dae
- payload
- application numbers
- BLA761103
- clinical indication matching status
- not_inferred
- end exclusive
- true
- id
- nct-edge-d6eaa2e64c4ee8ecaf7e
- link basis
- explicit_NCT_identifier_in_acquired_source
- nct id
- NCT00064116
- occurrences
- context exact
- Grade 3 or 4 adverse reactions occurring more frequently among patients receiving R-CHOP were viral infection (NHL Study 8), neutropenia (NHL Studies 8 and 9 (NCT00064116)), and anemia (NHL Study 9). CLL The data below reflect exposure to rituximab in combination with fludarabine and cyclophosphamide in 676 patients with CLL in
- end
- 11848
- exact text
- NCT00064116
- start
- 11837
- offset unit
- unicode_code_points
- source file
- /tmp/cancer-full-research/indications/raw/labels-00100.json
- source file sha256
- fc39a8c5cf96bf95ca20b85578140167b66b2741f7d9217f500d9ba0847ac058
- source json pointer
- /results/7/adverse_reactions/0
- source kind
- fda_spl_label
- source record id
- 1f47d28b-1604-4e95-a668-46d81e4b5b27
- source string basis
- parsed_JSON_string_unmodified
- source string sha256
- ad434821b48db0bd93218601caff40ceedf4d8394d6209f92767ee70d6884b9e
- spl effective time
- 20260826
- spl set id
- f941fc61-f7a3-4e4a-ab7c-87c1667fa05b
Preserved source evidence · Not medical advice
Triangle