NCT00059839 · CITED IN SOURCE DOCUMENTS
Comparison of Two Combination Chemotherapy Regimens With Either Vincristine or Vinblastine in Treating Patients With Advanced Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma
An NCI or FDA source cites this study. A citation does not establish that it applies to an individual diagnosis.
- Phase
- PHASE3
- Status at capture
- COMPLETED
- Registry last update
- 2014-09-22
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more cancer cells. It is not yet known if combination chemotherapy with vinblastine is more effective than combination chemotherapy with vincristine in treating advanced anaplastic large cell lymphoma. PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of two combination chemotherapy regimens with either vinblastine or vincristine in treating patients who have newly diagnosed advanced anaplastic large cell lymphoma.
Open the original ClinicalTrials.gov record → · Download preserved record
What did the study report?
Outcomes, safety and baseline populations are separate source sections. Quality-of-life measures appear under their original outcome titles.
Who could take part
- eligibility Criteria
- DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: * Newly diagnosed advanced anaplastic large cell lymphoma * Cluster of differentiation antigen 30 (CD30+) * Murphy stage III or IV * No B-cell large cell lymphoma * No disease limited to the skin (regardless of how wide-spread) PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age * Under 21 Performance status * Not specified Life expectancy * Not specified Hematopoietic * Not specified Hepatic * Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN) * Aspartate aminotransferase (AST) or alanine transaminase (ALT) less than 2.5 times ULN (unless due to lymphoma) Renal * Not specified Cardiovascular * Shortening fraction (SF) at least 27% by echocardiogram OR * Ejection fraction (EF) at least 50% by radionuclide angiogram Other * Not pregnant or nursing * Negative pregnancy test * Fertile patients must use effective contraception PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy * Not specified Chemotherapy * Not specified Endocrine therapy * Prior steroids for management of a mediastinal mass allowed Radiotherapy * Prior limited-dose radiotherapy for a mediastinal mass allowed Surgery * Not specified
- healthy Volunteers
- false
- maximum Age
- 20 Years
- sex
- ALL
- std Ages
- CHILD
- ADULT
Treatment arms and interventions
- arm Groups
- description
- In courses 1-3, patients receive doxorubicin hydrochloride (30 mg/m2) IV over 15 minutes, vincristine sulfate (1.5 mg/m2 (maximum dose 2 mg)) IV, and methotrexate intrathecally (age-adjusted dosing) (IT) on day 1 and oral prednisone (40 mg/m2/day) three times daily and oral mercaptopurine (225 mg/m2) once daily on days 1-5. In courses 4 and 5, patients receive doxorubicin (30 mg/m2), vincristine sulfate (1.5 mg/m2 (Maximum dose 2 mg)), prednisone (120 mg/m2/day), and mercaptopurine (225 mg/m2) as in courses 1-3. In courses 6-15, patients receive vincristine sulfate (1.5 mg/m2), prednisone (120 mg/m2/day), and mercaptopurine (225 mg/m2) as in courses 1-3 and methotrexate (60 mg/m2) IV on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days for up to 15 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
- intervention Names
- Drug: doxorubicin hydrochloride
- Drug: mercaptopurine
- Drug: methotrexate
- Drug: prednisone
- Drug: vincristine sulfate
- label
- Standard APO with Vincristine (Arm I )
- type
- EXPERIMENTAL
- description
- In courses 1-3, patients receive doxorubicin hydrochloride (30 mg/m2) IV, methotrexate (age adjusted dosing) IT, prednisone (120 mg/m2/day), and mercaptopurine (225 mg/m2) as in arm I and vinblastine sulfate (4 mg/m2) IV over 1 minute on days 1, 8, and 15. In courses 4 and 5, patients receive doxorubicin hydrochloride (30 mg/m2) IV, prednisone (120 mg/m2/day), and mercaptopurine (225 mg/m2) as in arm I and vinblastine sulfate (4 mg/m2) as in arm II (courses 1-3). In courses 6-15, patients receive prednisone (120 mg/m2/day) and mercaptopurine (225 mg/m2) as in arm I, vinblastine sulfate (4 mg/m2) IV as in arm II (courses 1-3), and methotrexate (60 mg/m2) IV on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days for up to 15 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
- intervention Names
- Drug: doxorubicin hydrochloride
- Drug: mercaptopurine
- Drug: methotrexate
- Drug: prednisone
- Drug: vinblastine sulfate
- label
- Consolidation with Vinblastine
- type
- EXPERIMENTAL
- interventions
- arm Group Labels
- Consolidation with Vinblastine
- Standard APO with Vincristine (Arm I )
- description
- Given IV
- name
- doxorubicin hydrochloride
- type
- DRUG
- arm Group Labels
- Consolidation with Vinblastine
- Standard APO with Vincristine (Arm I )
- description
- Given by mouth
- name
- mercaptopurine
- type
- DRUG
- arm Group Labels
- Consolidation with Vinblastine
- Standard APO with Vincristine (Arm I )
- description
- Given IV and intrathecally
- name
- methotrexate
- type
- DRUG
- arm Group Labels
- Consolidation with Vinblastine
- Standard APO with Vincristine (Arm I )
- description
- Given by mouth
- name
- prednisone
- type
- DRUG
- arm Group Labels
- Consolidation with Vinblastine
- description
- Given IV
- name
- vinblastine sulfate
- type
- DRUG
- arm Group Labels
- Standard APO with Vincristine (Arm I )
- description
- Given IV
- name
- vincristine sulfate
- type
- DRUG
Study design
- allocation
- RANDOMIZED
- intervention Model
- PARALLEL
- masking Info
- masking
- NONE
- primary Purpose
- TREATMENT
Enrollment
- count
- 129
- type
- ACTUAL
Registered outcome plans (not posted results)
- primary Outcomes
- description
- Percentage of EFS patients. This is measured as the time from study entry until disease progression, disease recurrence, occurrence of a second malignant neoplasm, or death from any cause. To measure Event Free Survival, repeated one-sided logrank tests will be performed The upper critical values are based on the one-sided alpha-spending functions of t2 (alpha=0.05) and the lower critical values are based on testing the alternative hypothesis at 0.005 level.
- measure
- Event-free Survival (EFS)
- time Frame
- From first enrollment up to 3 years.
Full study description
- brief Summary
- RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more cancer cells. It is not yet known if combination chemotherapy with vinblastine is more effective than combination chemotherapy with vincristine in treating advanced anaplastic large cell lymphoma. PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of two combination chemotherapy regimens with either vinblastine or vincristine in treating patients who have newly diagnosed advanced anaplastic large cell lymphoma.
- detailed Description
- OBJECTIVES: * Compare the efficacy of a consolidation chemotherapy regimen comprising doxorubicin and prednisone in combination with vincristine vs vinblastine, in terms of event-free survival, in patients with advanced anaplastic large cell lymphoma. * Compare overall survival of patients treated with these regimens. * Compare the toxic effects of these regimens in these patients. * Correlate biological tumor characteristics and outcome in patients treated with these regimens. OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are randomized at enrollment to receive either Standard APO regimen or a consolidation regimen including vinblastine (VBL). * Induction therapy: All Patients receive doxorubicin IV over 15 minutes on days 1 and 22; vincristine IV on days 1, 8, 15, 22, and 29; oral prednisone 3 times daily on days 1-28; and intrathecal (IT) methotrexate on days 1, 8, and 22 (patients with central nervous system (CNS) disease at diagnosis receive additional methotrexate IT on days 15, 29, and 36). Patients undergo restaging after Induction such that consolidation therapy is started on day 43. All patients with complete response (CR), complete response unconfirmed (CRu) or partial response (PR) proceed to Consolidation based on CT or MRI scans at the end of induction (week 6). All other patients will be removed from protocol therapy and will be followed until they meet the criteria for off study. Follow-up data will be required unless consent is withdrawn. * Standard APO (Arm I): Patients receive course-specific regimens without vinblastine. * Courses 1-3: Patients receive doxorubicin IV over 15 minutes, vincristine IV, and methotrexate IT on day 1 and oral prednisone three times daily and oral mercaptopurine once daily on days 1-5. * Courses 4-5: Patients receive doxorubicin, vincristine, prednisone, and mercaptopurine as in courses 1-3. * Courses 6-15: Patients receive vincristine, prednisone, and mercaptopurine as in courses 1-3 and methotrexate IV on day 1. * Consolidation with vinblastine (Arm II): Patients receive course-specific regimens including vinblastine. * Courses 1-3: Patients receive doxorubicin, methotrexate IT, prednisone, and mercaptopurine as in arm I and vinblastine IV over 1 minute on days 1, 8, and 15. * Courses 4-5: Patients receive doxorubicin, prednisone, and mercaptopurine as in arm I and vinblastine as in arm II (courses 1-3). * Courses 6-15: Patients receive prednisone and mercaptopurine as in arm I, vinblastine as in arm II (courses 1-3), and methotrexate IV on day 1. In both arms and all courses, treatment repeats every 21 days for up to 15 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients are followed monthly for 1 year, every 3 months for 1 year, every 6 months for 1 year, and then annually thereafter. PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 200-250 patients (100-125 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study within 5 years.
Source references
- references
- citation
- Alexander S, Kraveka JM, Weitzman S, Lowe E, Smith L, Lynch JC, Chang M, Kinney MC, Perkins SL, Laver J, Gross TG, Weinstein H. Advanced stage anaplastic large cell lymphoma in children and adolescents: results of ANHL0131, a randomized phase III trial of APO versus a modified regimen with vinblastine: a report from the children's oncology group. Pediatr Blood Cancer. 2014 Dec;61(12):2236-42. doi: 10.1002/pbc.25187. Epub 2014 Aug 23.
- pmid
- 25156886
- type
- DERIVED
Source notices and limitations
Discovery and provenance
- release id
- ctgov-registry-7ad944f6deaf1f5cd6122126
- edge id
- nct-edge-27e77cceecdc34acf0ce
- requested nct id
- NCT00059839
- primary nct id
- NCT00059839
- source kind
- nci_explicit_reference_or_link
- source record id
- Source null
- source file sha256
- d1c4764cefac8f52386eb4980e6ce052c7fa381e5a566d4312d4554760d0b017
- payload sha256
- c45c7d4e89b2e852b52a3506aa95021c54c9580d8c8c0e065f9d75148b60af5a
- payload
- clinical indication matching status
- not_inferred
- end exclusive
- true
- id
- nct-edge-27e77cceecdc34acf0ce
- link basis
- explicit_NCT_identifier_in_acquired_source
- nct id
- NCT00059839
- occurrences
- context exact
- cit/section_3.66">66</a>] The prognostic implication of the small cell variant of anaplastic large cell lymphoma was also shown in the <a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00059839">COG-ANHL0131</a> (NCT00059839) study, despite using a different chemotherapy backbone.[<a href="#cit/section_3.67">67</a>]</p> </section> <p id="_
- end
- 518309
- exact text
- NCT00059839
- start
- 518298
- context exact
- rognostic implication of the small cell variant of anaplastic large cell lymphoma was also shown in the <a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00059839">COG-ANHL0131</a> (NCT00059839) study, despite using a different chemotherapy backbone.[<a href="#cit/section_3.67">67</a>]</p> </section> <p id="_1952" tabindex="-1">For informa
- end
- 518340
- exact text
- NCT00059839
- start
- 518329
- offset unit
- unicode_code_points
- source file
- /tmp/cancer-full-research/nci/raw/b5dc156ffd41aa11a5.html
- source file sha256
- d1c4764cefac8f52386eb4980e6ce052c7fa381e5a566d4312d4554760d0b017
- source json pointer
- Source null
- source kind
- nci_explicit_reference_or_link
- source record id
- Source null
- source retrieved at
- 2026-09-09T23:21:38.429497+00:00
- source string basis
- UTF-8_text_with_universal_newline_translation
- source string sha256
- 5b887c191cff63e452682b94a36f2f0fba68c8b5f3d708acb473b5c8b6453db5
- source title
- Childhood Cancer Genomics (PDQ®)–Health Professional Version
- source update dates
- context
- Updated: April 30, 2025
- datetime
- 2025-04-30T12:00:00Z
- display
- April 30, 2025
- release id
- ctgov-registry-7ad944f6deaf1f5cd6122126
- edge id
- nct-edge-a1330004c03c68ae6951
- requested nct id
- NCT00059839
- primary nct id
- NCT00059839
- source kind
- nci_explicit_reference_or_link
- source record id
- Source null
- source file sha256
- f1f1a2b5d12aecd8245482e171eae02ca47aedde6097c4c21b97855f62bb55e0
- payload sha256
- 91cd5565dab834dce9ba23ae8d18b2640bb4275a902a1eb14aeae5a92869f266
- payload
- clinical indication matching status
- not_inferred
- end exclusive
- true
- id
- nct-edge-a1330004c03c68ae6951
- link basis
- explicit_NCT_identifier_in_acquired_source
- nct id
- NCT00059839
- occurrences
- context exact
- tained its prognostic significance on multivariate analysis.[<a href="#cit/section_2.21">21</a>]</p><p id="_1925" tabindex="-1">In the <a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00059839">COG-ANHL0131</a> (NCT00059839) study, despite a different chemotherapy backbone, patients with the small cell variant of anaplastic large cell lymphoma, as we
- end
- 91847
- exact text
- NCT00059839
- start
- 91836
- context exact
- nce on multivariate analysis.[<a href="#cit/section_2.21">21</a>]</p><p id="_1925" tabindex="-1">In the <a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00059839">COG-ANHL0131</a> (NCT00059839) study, despite a different chemotherapy backbone, patients with the small cell variant of anaplastic large cell lymphoma, as well as other histological varian
- end
- 91878
- exact text
- NCT00059839
- start
- 91867
- context exact
- cit/section_8.12">12</a>] The prognostic implication of the small cell variant of anaplastic large cell lymphoma was also shown in the <a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00059839">COG-ANHL0131</a> (NCT00059839) study, despite using a different chemotherapy backbone.[<a href="#cit/section_8.13">13</a>]</p> </section> </section>
- end
- 350091
- exact text
- NCT00059839
- start
- 350080
- context exact
- rognostic implication of the small cell variant of anaplastic large cell lymphoma was also shown in the <a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00059839">COG-ANHL0131</a> (NCT00059839) study, despite using a different chemotherapy backbone.[<a href="#cit/section_8.13">13</a>]</p> </section> </section><section id="_1092"> <h3
- end
- 350122
- exact text
- NCT00059839
- start
- 350111
- context exact
- a>] This suggests that the longer therapy in the vinblastine group delayed, but did not prevent, relapse. </li></ul></div></li><li>The <a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00059839">COG-ANHL0131 (NCT00059839)</a> trial showed that the addition of vinblastine to the doxorubicin, prednisone, and vincristine (APO) regimen increased toxicity,
- end
- 356835
- exact text
- NCT00059839
- start
- 356824
- context exact
- longer therapy in the vinblastine group delayed, but did not prevent, relapse. </li></ul></div></li><li>The <a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00059839">COG-ANHL0131 (NCT00059839)</a> trial showed that the addition of vinblastine to the doxorubicin, prednisone, and vincristine (APO) regimen increased toxicity, but did not improve the su
- end
- 356862
- exact text
- NCT00059839
- start
- 356851
- offset unit
- unicode_code_points
- source file
- /tmp/cancer-full-research/nci/raw/fd36e5abb88f40b91c.html
- source file sha256
- f1f1a2b5d12aecd8245482e171eae02ca47aedde6097c4c21b97855f62bb55e0
- source json pointer
- Source null
- source kind
- nci_explicit_reference_or_link
- source record id
- Source null
- source retrieved at
- 2026-09-09T23:22:02.430571+00:00
- source string basis
- UTF-8_text_with_universal_newline_translation
- source string sha256
- 82ec317f50f4df507988e345c98b7f250d282967704c0ba2eddd7b442373575f
- source title
- Childhood Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma Treatment (PDQ®)–Health Professional Version
- source update dates
- context
- Updated: April 17, 2025
- datetime
- 2025-04-17T12:00:00Z
- display
- April 17, 2025
Preserved source evidence · Independent clinical review pending · Not medical advice
Triangle