NCT00027846 · CITED IN SOURCE DOCUMENTS
Observation or Radiation Therapy and/or Chemotherapy and Second Surgery in Treating Children Who Have Undergone Surgery for Ependymoma
An NCI or FDA source cites this study. A citation does not establish that it applies to an individual diagnosis.
- Phase
- PHASE2
- Status at capture
- COMPLETED
- Registry last update
- 2019-08-07
RATIONALE: Specialized radiation therapy that delivers a high dose of radiation directly to the tumor may kill more tumor cells and cause less damage to normal tissue. Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Giving chemotherapy before surgery may shrink the tumor so that it can be removed during surgery. PURPOSE: Phase II trial to determine the effectiveness of specialized radiation therapy either alone or after chemotherapy and second surgery in treating children who have undergone surgery for localized ependymoma.
Open the original ClinicalTrials.gov record → · Download preserved record
What did the study report?
Outcomes, safety and baseline populations are separate source sections. Quality-of-life measures appear under their original outcome titles.
Participant flow
Baseline characteristics
Event-free Survival
Overall Survival
Rate of Gross-total or Near-total Resection and Second Surgery After Chemotherapy
Event-free Survival (EFS)
Event-free Survival (EFS)
Local Control and Patterns of Failure
Adverse events
Limitations, agreements, and source contact
Who could take part
- eligibility Criteria
- DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: * Histologically confirmed intracranial ependymoma * Differentiated ependymoma or anaplastic ependymoma * No primary spinal cord ependymoma, myxopapillary ependymoma, subependymoma, ependymoblastoma, or mixed glioma * No evidence of noncontiguous spread beyond primary site * Initial surgical resection within the past 56 days PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: * 1 to 21 Performance status: * No restrictions Life expectancy: * At least 2 months Hematopoietic: * Not specified Hepatic: * Not specified Renal: * Not specified Other: * Able to undergo MRI * Not pregnant or nursing * Negative pregnancy test * Fertile patients must use effective contraception PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: * Not specified Chemotherapy: * No prior chemotherapy Endocrine therapy: * Prior or concurrent corticosteroids allowed Radiotherapy: * No prior radiotherapy Surgery: * See Disease Characteristics * More than 1 prior surgery allowed Other: * No other prior treatment for ependymoma
- healthy Volunteers
- false
- maximum Age
- 21 Years
- minimum Age
- 1 Year
- sex
- ALL
- std Ages
- CHILD
- ADULT
Treatment arms and interventions
- arm Groups
- description
- Patients undergo observation.
- label
- GTR1 Differentiated Histology Supratentorial (Group 1)
- type
- NO_INTERVENTION
- description
- Supratentorial Anaplastic Ependymoma (GTR1, GTR2, NTR) and Anaplastic or Differentiated Infratentorial Ependymoma (GTR1, GTR2, NTR) and Supratentorial Differentiated Ependymoma(GTR2, NTR). Patients undergo conformal radiation therapy to the brain once daily 5 days a week for 6-6½ weeks.
- intervention Names
- Radiation: radiation therapy
- label
- Radiation (Group 2)
- type
- EXPERIMENTAL
- description
- Patients receive an initial course of chemotherapy comprising vincristine sulfate IV on days 1 and 8, carboplatin IV over 1 hour on day 1, and cyclophosphamide IV over 1 hour on days 1 and 2. Patients also receive filgrastim (G-CSF) subcutaneously or IV beginning on day 3 and continuing until blood counts recover. Patients then receive a second course of chemotherapy comprising vincristine sulfate IV on days 1 and 8, carboplatin IV over 1 hour on day 1, and oral etoposide on days 1-21. After completion of chemotherapy, patients are evaluated for second therapeutic conventional surgery. Patients who have unresectable disease undergo conformal radiation therapy. Patients who have resectable disease undergo second surgery followed by conformal radiotherapy.
- intervention Names
- Biological: filgrastim
- Drug: carboplatin
- Drug: cyclophosphamide
- Drug: etoposide
- Drug: vincristine sulfate
- Radiation: radiation therapy
- Drug: Mesna
- Procedure: therapeutic conventional surgery
- label
- Sub-Total Resection Any Histology or Location (STR) (Group 3)
- type
- EXPERIMENTAL
- interventions
- arm Group Labels
- Sub-Total Resection Any Histology or Location (STR) (Group 3)
- description
- Given IV or SC (5mcg/kg/day) start on Day 3 and continue until ANC \>1500/μl given subcutaneously or intravenously.
- name
- filgrastim
- other Names
- G CSF, G-CSF, granulocyte colony stimulating factor, granulocyte colony-stimulating factor
- type
- BIOLOGICAL
- arm Group Labels
- Sub-Total Resection Any Histology or Location (STR) (Group 3)
- description
- Given IV (375 mg/m2/day) Day 1 given as an IV infusion over one hour. For patients with BSA \<0.45m2 the dose is 12.5 mg/kg/day.
- name
- carboplatin
- other Names
- Blastocarb, Carboplat, Carboplatin Hexal, Carboplatino, Carbosin, Carbosol, Carbotec, CBDCA,
- type
- DRUG
- arm Group Labels
- Sub-Total Resection Any Histology or Location (STR) (Group 3)
- description
- Given IV (1000mg/m2/day) Day 1 and 2 given as an IV infusion over one hour following carboplatin administration. For patients with BSA\<0.45m2 the dose is 33mg/kg/day on Day 1 and 2.
- name
- cyclophosphamide
- other Names
- Neosar, Procytox, Sendoxan, Syklofosfamid, WR-138719, Zytoxan
- type
- DRUG
- arm Group Labels
- Sub-Total Resection Any Histology or Location (STR) (Group 3)
- description
- Given orally (50 mg/m2/day) orally once daily on Days 1 through 21. For patients with BSA \< 0.45 m2, the dosage is 1.7 mg/kg/day on Days 1 through 21.
- name
- etoposide
- other Names
- Demethyl Epipodophyllotoxin Ethylidine Glucoside, EPEG, epipodophyllotoxin, Lastet, Toposar, VePesid
- type
- DRUG
- arm Group Labels
- Sub-Total Resection Any Histology or Location (STR) (Group 3)
- description
- Given IV or orally (1.5mg/m2/day) (maximum dose 2 mg) Day 1 and 8 given as IV bolus. For patients with BSA\<0.45m2 the dose is 0.05mg/kg.
- name
- vincristine sulfate
- other Names
- 22-oxovincaleukoblastine, 57-22-7, leurocristine sulfate, VCR, Vincasar PFS
- type
- DRUG
- arm Group Labels
- Radiation (Group 2)
- Sub-Total Resection Any Histology or Location (STR) (Group 3)
- description
- Given once daily 5 days a week for 6-6½ weeks
- name
- radiation therapy
- other Names
- irradiation, radiotherapy, therapy, radiation
- type
- RADIATION
- arm Group Labels
- Sub-Total Resection Any Histology or Location (STR) (Group 3)
- description
- Mesna (200mg/m2/dose) Day 1 and 2. For patients with BSA\<0.45m2 the dose is (7mg/kg/dose). Combine mesna (200mg/m2) with cyclophosphamide and administer intravenously over one hour followed by mesna (200mg/m2) in 375 cc/m2 D5-1/2NS and run intravenously over 3 hours at 125cc/m2/hr. After 3 hour mesna, administer mesna (200 mg/m2/dose) IV over 15 minutes at hour 5.
- name
- Mesna
- type
- DRUG
- arm Group Labels
- Sub-Total Resection Any Histology or Location (STR) (Group 3)
- name
- therapeutic conventional surgery
- type
- PROCEDURE
Study design
- allocation
- NON_RANDOMIZED
- intervention Model
- SINGLE_GROUP
- masking Info
- masking
- NONE
- primary Purpose
- TREATMENT
Enrollment
- count
- 378
- type
- ACTUAL
Registered outcome plans (not posted results)
- primary Outcomes
- description
- Event-free survival is calculated from the date of study enrollment to the date of disease progression, disease relapse, occurrence of second neoplasm, or death from any cause. The product-limit (Kaplan-Meier) estimate is for estimation of Event -free survival (EFS) probability at 5 years.
- measure
- Event-free Survival
- time Frame
- Up to 5 years after completion of study treatment
- secondary Outcomes
- description
- Overall survival (OS) is measured from the date of study enrollment to the date to death. The product-limit (Kaplan-Meier) estimate is for estimation of OS probability at 5 years.
- measure
- Overall Survival
- time Frame
- Up to 5 years after completion of study treatment
- description
- The Rate Of Gross-Total or Near-Total Resection With Second Surgery After Chemotherapy Treatment.
- measure
- Rate of Gross-total or Near-total Resection and Second Surgery After Chemotherapy
- time Frame
- At the time of second surgery
- description
- EFS between centrally reviewed differentiated ependymoma and anaplastic ependymoma for the patients who had sub-total resection initially. The event-free survival (EFS) defined as the date of disease progression, disease relapse, occurrence of a second neoplasm, or death from any cause, measured from the start date of radiation therapy. The product-limit (Kaplan-Meier) estimate is for estimation of EFS probability.
- measure
- Event-free Survival (EFS)
- time Frame
- At 5 years since the time of radiation therapy.
- description
- EFS between centrally reviewed differentiated ependymoma and anaplastic ependymoma for the patients who were treated with radiation therapy only. The event-free survival (EFS) defined as the time to disease progression, disease relapse, occurrence of a second neoplasm, or death from any cause, measured from the start of radiation therapy. The product-limit (Kaplan-Meier) estimate is for estimation of EFS probability at 5 years.
- measure
- Event-free Survival (EFS)
- time Frame
- At 5 years since the time of radiation therapy
- description
- Documented and analyzed qualitatively and quantitatively.
- measure
- Local Control and Patterns of Failure
- time Frame
- Up to 5 years after completion of study treatment
Full study description
- brief Summary
- RATIONALE: Specialized radiation therapy that delivers a high dose of radiation directly to the tumor may kill more tumor cells and cause less damage to normal tissue. Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Giving chemotherapy before surgery may shrink the tumor so that it can be removed during surgery. PURPOSE: Phase II trial to determine the effectiveness of specialized radiation therapy either alone or after chemotherapy and second surgery in treating children who have undergone surgery for localized ependymoma.
- detailed Description
- OBJECTIVES: * Determine the local control and pattern of failure in children with completely resected, differentiated, supratentorial localized ependymoma after initial surgical resection alone. * Determine the rate of complete resection with second surgery after chemotherapy in patients with initially incompletely resected localized ependymoma. * Determine the local control and pattern of failure in patients treated with conformal radiotherapy. * Determine the influence of histologic grade on the time to progression in patients after treatment with conformal radiotherapy. OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to extent of prior surgical resection. * Group 1 (patients with supratentorial differentiated ependymoma who have undergone gross total resection and have no visible residual tumor): Patients undergo observation. * Group 2 (patients with supratentorial anaplastic ependymoma or infratentorial anaplastic or differentiated ependymoma who have undergone gross total resection or near total resection): Patients undergo conformal radiotherapy to the brain once daily 5 days a week for 6-6½ weeks. * Group 3 (patients with tumor of any histology or location who have undergone subtotal resection): Patients receive an initial course of chemotherapy comprising vincristine IV on days 1 and 8, carboplatin IV over 1 hour on day 1, and cyclophosphamide IV over 1 hour on days 1 and 2. Patients also receive filgrastim (G-CSF) subcutaneously or IV beginning on day 3 and continuing until blood counts recover. Patients then receive a second course of chemotherapy comprising vincristine IV on days 1 and 8, carboplatin IV over 1 hour on day 1, and oral etoposide on days 1-21. After completion of chemotherapy, patients are evaluated for second surgery. Patients who have unresectable disease undergo conformal radiotherapy. Patients who have resectable disease undergo second surgery followed by conformal radiotherapy. Patients are followed every 4 months for 3 years, every 6 months for 2 years, and then annually thereafter. PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 250-350 patients will be accrued for this study within 5 years.
Source references
Source notices and limitations
Discovery and provenance
- release id
- ctgov-registry-7ad944f6deaf1f5cd6122126
- edge id
- nct-edge-1a6ff7766b93bfd976c4
- requested nct id
- NCT00027846
- primary nct id
- NCT00027846
- source kind
- nci_explicit_reference_or_link
- source record id
- Source null
- source file sha256
- 38c24293d77035737c36f373ad34727063c379ad0f1689b82e0576633709aa6e
- payload sha256
- 1ea038dc5a1b85758135b9125233e039c4014547fec75c404bfde0e10d65df36
- payload
- clinical indication matching status
- not_inferred
- end exclusive
- true
- id
- nct-edge-1a6ff7766b93bfd976c4
- link basis
- explicit_NCT_identifier_in_acquired_source
- nct id
- NCT00027846
- occurrences
- context exact
- ce of avoiding or deferring radiation in children younger than 3 years. In a prospective Children’s Oncology Group (COG) trial (<a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00027846">ACNS0121 [NCT00027846]</a>), immediate postoperative radiation therapy was given to all children older than 1 year after gross-total resection or near-total
- end
- 31899
- exact text
- NCT00027846
- start
- 31888
- context exact
- ring radiation in children younger than 3 years. In a prospective Children’s Oncology Group (COG) trial (<a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00027846">ACNS0121 [NCT00027846]</a>), immediate postoperative radiation therapy was given to all children older than 1 year after gross-total resection or near-total resection. The study
- end
- 31922
- exact text
- NCT00027846
- start
- 31911
- context exact
- class="pdq-content-list"><ol id="_1841"><li>A prospective multi-institutional cooperative group trial (Children's Oncology Group [COG] <a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00027846">ACNS0121 [NCT00027846]</a>) included patients with newly diagnosed intracranial ependymomas (N = 356). Surgery alone was used for the treatment of supratentor
- end
- 130529
- exact text
- NCT00027846
- start
- 130518
- context exact
- "><ol id="_1841"><li>A prospective multi-institutional cooperative group trial (Children's Oncology Group [COG] <a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00027846">ACNS0121 [NCT00027846]</a>) included patients with newly diagnosed intracranial ependymomas (N = 356). Surgery alone was used for the treatment of supratentorial, WHO grade 2, gross
- end
- 130552
- exact text
- NCT00027846
- start
- 130541
- context exact
- 59.4 Gy to the tumor bed for children aged 3 years and older.[<a href="#cit/section_8.5">5</a>,<a href="#cit/section_8.14">14</a>] The <a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00027846">ACNS0121 (NCT00027846)</a> study extended the use of radiation therapy (54 Gy) to patients as young as 1 year, resulting in similar EFS and OS rates when comp
- end
- 132433
- exact text
- NCT00027846
- start
- 132422
- context exact
- d for children aged 3 years and older.[<a href="#cit/section_8.5">5</a>,<a href="#cit/section_8.14">14</a>] The <a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00027846">ACNS0121 (NCT00027846)</a> study extended the use of radiation therapy (54 Gy) to patients as young as 1 year, resulting in similar EFS and OS rates when compared with children olde
- end
- 132456
- exact text
- NCT00027846
- start
- 132445
- context exact
- ="pdq-content-list"><ul id="_318"><li>The 7-year EFS rate was 76.9% (± 13.5%).</li></ul></div> </li><li>A COG prospective study (<a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00027846">ACNS0121 [NCT00027846]</a>) enrolled 356 patients between the ages of 1 and 21 years with newly diagnosed ependymoma into four strata.[<a href="#cit/section_8
- end
- 134594
- exact text
- NCT00027846
- start
- 134583
- context exact
- id="_318"><li>The 7-year EFS rate was 76.9% (± 13.5%).</li></ul></div> </li><li>A COG prospective study (<a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00027846">ACNS0121 [NCT00027846]</a>) enrolled 356 patients between the ages of 1 and 21 years with newly diagnosed ependymoma into four strata.[<a href="#cit/section_8.8">8</a>][<a href="/Co
- end
- 134617
- exact text
- NCT00027846
- start
- 134606
- context exact
- hose for children achieving a gross-total resection followed by radiation therapy.[<a href="#cit/section_8.28">28</a>]</li><li>The COG <a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00027846">ACNS0121 (NCT00027846)</a> trial included two cycles of preirradiation chemotherapy for children with residual disease after up-front surgery (n = 64).[<a hre
- end
- 146313
- exact text
- NCT00027846
- start
- 146302
- context exact
- ving a gross-total resection followed by radiation therapy.[<a href="#cit/section_8.28">28</a>]</li><li>The COG <a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00027846">ACNS0121 (NCT00027846)</a> trial included two cycles of preirradiation chemotherapy for children with residual disease after up-front surgery (n = 64).[<a href="#cit/section_8.8">8<
- end
- 146336
- exact text
- NCT00027846
- start
- 146325
- context exact
- ically, postoperative radiation therapy was omitted for children younger than 3 years with ependymomas. Two COG studies (POG-9233 and <a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00027846">ACNS0121 [NCT00027846]</a>) and many subsequent trials have lowered the age limit for postoperative radiation therapy to 1 year in an effort to improve outcom
- end
- 153538
- exact text
- NCT00027846
- start
- 153527
- context exact
- adiation therapy was omitted for children younger than 3 years with ependymomas. Two COG studies (POG-9233 and <a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00027846">ACNS0121 [NCT00027846]</a>) and many subsequent trials have lowered the age limit for postoperative radiation therapy to 1 year in an effort to improve outcomes for these younger ch
- end
- 153561
- exact text
- NCT00027846
- start
- 153550
- offset unit
- unicode_code_points
- source file
- /tmp/cancer-full-research/nci/raw/0a7d16ec0a90d008ac.html
- source file sha256
- 38c24293d77035737c36f373ad34727063c379ad0f1689b82e0576633709aa6e
- source json pointer
- Source null
- source kind
- nci_explicit_reference_or_link
- source record id
- Source null
- source retrieved at
- 2026-09-09T23:21:33.171240+00:00
- source string basis
- UTF-8_text_with_universal_newline_translation
- source string sha256
- 5d2ee80edd757a2d8dac89105101cf4b01f94cfb1ae99fdb55ae34213559c647
- source title
- Childhood Ependymoma Treatment (PDQ®)–Health Professional Version
- source update dates
- context
- Updated: January 6, 2025
- datetime
- 2025-01-06T12:00:00Z
- display
- January 6, 2025
Preserved source evidence · Not medical advice
Triangle