Skip to content
← Study library

NCT00003636 · CITED IN SOURCE DOCUMENTS

Chemotherapy Plus Surgery in Treating Patients With Stage III or Stage IV Ovarian, Peritoneal, or Fallopian Tube Cancer

An NCI or FDA source cites this study. A citation does not establish that it applies to an individual diagnosis.

Phase
PHASE3
Status at capture
COMPLETED
Registry last update
2015-08-05

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining surgery with chemotherapy may kill more tumor cells. It is not yet known whether chemotherapy before surgery is more effective than chemotherapy after surgery in treating ovarian, peritoneal, or fallopian tube cancer. PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying chemotherapy given before surgery to see how well it works compared to chemotherapy given after surgery with or without additional surgery in treating patients with stage III or stage IV ovarian cancer, peritoneal cancer, or fallopian tube cancer.

Open the original ClinicalTrials.gov record → · Download preserved record

What did the study report?

Outcomes, safety and baseline populations are separate source sections. Quality-of-life measures appear under their original outcome titles.

No posted result sections were captured. Registered plans do not establish that a treatment works.

Who could take part
eligibility Criteria
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: * Histologically proven stage IIIC or IV ovarian epithelial carcinoma, peritoneal carcinoma, or fallopian tube carcinoma * If biopsy is not available, evidence of adenocarcinoma by fine needle aspiration allowed if all of the following are true: * Presence of pelvic ovarian mass * Omental cake or other metastasis larger than 2 cm in the upper abdomen and/or regional lymph node metastasis * CA 125/carcinoembryonic antigen ratio greater than 25 (if ratio less than 25, barium enema or colonoscopy AND gastroscopy or radiological examination of the stomach must be negative for primary tumor) * Normal mammography (if CA 125/carcinoembryonic antigen ratio less than 25) * Tumor greater than 2 cm, excluding ovaries, on laparoscopy or CT scan * No brain or leptomeningeal metastases PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: * Not specified Performance status: * WHO 0-2 Life expectancy: * Not specified Hematopoietic: * WBC greater than 3,000/mm\^3 * Platelet count greater than 100,000/mm\^3 Hepatic: * Bilirubin less than 1.25 times upper limit of normal (ULN) Renal: * Creatinine less than 1.25 times ULN Other: * No other serious disabling diseases contraindicating primary cytoreductive surgery or primary platin-based chemotherapy * No other prior primary malignancies except carcinoma in situ of the cervix or basal cell carcinoma of the skin * No psychological, familial, sociological, or geographical condition potentially preventing protocol compliance or follow-up PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy * Not specified Chemotherapy * Not specified Endocrine therapy * Not specified Radiotherapy * Not specified Surgery * No other prior procedures except diagnostic biopsy by laparotomy or laparoscopy
healthy Volunteers
false
sex
FEMALE
std Ages
  1. CHILD
  2. ADULT
  3. OLDER_ADULT
Treatment arms and interventions
interventions
  1. name
    carboplatin
    type
    DRUG
  2. name
    cisplatin
    type
    DRUG
  3. name
    conventional surgery
    type
    PROCEDURE
  4. name
    neoadjuvant therapy
    type
    PROCEDURE
Study design
allocation
RANDOMIZED
primary Purpose
TREATMENT
Enrollment
count
704
type
ACTUAL
Registered outcome plans (not posted results)
primary Outcomes
  1. measure
    Overall survival as measured by Kaplan Meier every 3 months for 2 years, every 6 months for 3 years, and then annually
secondary Outcomes
  1. measure
    Progression-free survival as measured by Kaplan Meier and RECIST every 3 months for 2 years, every 6 months for 3 years, and then annually
  2. measure
    Health-related quality of life as measured by Quality of Life Questionnaire-C30 after courses 1, 3 and 6, then at 6 and 12 months
  3. measure
    Toxicity as measured by NCIC Common Toxicity Criteria v2.0 within 4 weeks of surgery
Full study description
brief Summary
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining surgery with chemotherapy may kill more tumor cells. It is not yet known whether chemotherapy before surgery is more effective than chemotherapy after surgery in treating ovarian, peritoneal, or fallopian tube cancer. PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying chemotherapy given before surgery to see how well it works compared to chemotherapy given after surgery with or without additional surgery in treating patients with stage III or stage IV ovarian cancer, peritoneal cancer, or fallopian tube cancer.
detailed Description
OBJECTIVES: * Compare the overall survival and progression-free survival in patients with stage IIIC or IV ovarian epithelial, peritoneal, or fallopian tube carcinoma treated with neoadjuvant chemotherapy followed by interval debulking surgery versus upfront cytoreductive surgery followed by chemotherapy with or without interval debulking surgery. * Compare the quality of life of patients treated with these regimens. * Compare the different treatment complications in patients treated with these regimens. OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to participating center, method of biopsy, stage, largest tumor size before surgery, and intent to also randomize on EORTC-55012. Patients are randomized to one of two treatment arms. * Arm I: Patients undergo upfront maximal cytoreductive surgery followed by cisplatin or carboplatin IV every 3 weeks for 3 courses. Patients with non-optimal primary debulking may undergo interval debulking surgery at the physician's discretion. All patients then receive an additional 3 courses of the same regimen of chemotherapy. * Arm II: Patients receive chemotherapy as in arm I. Patients with stable or responding disease undergo interval debulking surgery followed by an additional 3 courses of the same regimen of chemotherapy. Second-look surgery is allowed for both arms if clinically indicated. Quality of life (QOL) is assessed prior to treatment, after the third and sixth course of chemotherapy, and at 6 and 12 months after study. Patients who are also randomized on EORTC-55012 follow the QOL assessment schedule for EORTC-55012 only. Patients are followed every 3 months for 2 years, every 6 months for 3 years, and then annually thereafter. PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 704 patients will be accrued for this study within 4 years.
Source references
references
  1. citation
    Chi DS, Musa F, Dao F, Zivanovic O, Sonoda Y, Leitao MM, Levine DA, Gardner GJ, Abu-Rustum NR, Barakat RR. An analysis of patients with bulky advanced stage ovarian, tubal, and peritoneal carcinoma treated with primary debulking surgery (PDS) during an identical time period as the randomized EORTC-NCIC trial of PDS vs neoadjuvant chemotherapy (NACT). Gynecol Oncol. 2012 Jan;124(1):10-4. doi: 10.1016/j.ygyno.2011.08.014. Epub 2011 Sep 13.
    pmid
    21917306
    type
    BACKGROUND
  2. citation
    Verleye L, Ottevanger PB, Kristensen GB, Ehlen T, Johnson N, van der Burg ME, Reed NS, Verheijen RH, Gaarenstroom KN, Mosgaard B, Seoane JM, van der Velden J, Lotocki R, van der Graaf W, Penninckx B, Coens C, Stuart G, Vergote I. Quality of pathology reports for advanced ovarian cancer: are we missing essential information? An audit of 479 pathology reports from the EORTC-GCG 55971/NCIC-CTG OV13 neoadjuvant trial. Eur J Cancer. 2011 Jan;47(1):57-64. doi: 10.1016/j.ejca.2010.08.008. Epub 2010 Sep 16.
    pmid
    20850296
    type
    RESULT
  3. citation
    Vergote I, Trope CG, Amant F, Kristensen GB, Ehlen T, Johnson N, Verheijen RH, van der Burg ME, Lacave AJ, Panici PB, Kenter GG, Casado A, Mendiola C, Coens C, Verleye L, Stuart GC, Pecorelli S, Reed NS; European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer-Gynaecological Cancer Group; NCIC Clinical Trials Group. Neoadjuvant chemotherapy or primary surgery in stage IIIC or IV ovarian cancer. N Engl J Med. 2010 Sep 2;363(10):943-53. doi: 10.1056/NEJMoa0908806.
    pmid
    20818904
    type
    RESULT
  4. citation
    Fruehauf JP, Yu I, Parker R: In vitro drug response and biomarker profiles for ovarian cancer specimens obtained at initial debulking or after neoadjuvant chemotherapy (EORTC 55971). [Abstract] Proceedings of the American Society of Clinical Oncology 21: A-2177, 2002.
    type
    RESULT
  5. citation
    Tajik P, van de Vrie R, Zafarmand MH, Coens C, Buist MR, Vergote I, Bossuyt PMM, Kenter GG. The FIGO Stage IVA Versus IVB of Ovarian Cancer: Prognostic Value and Predictive Value for Neoadjuvant Chemotherapy. Int J Gynecol Cancer. 2018 Mar;28(3):453-458. doi: 10.1097/IGC.0000000000001186.
    pmid
    29324537
    type
    DERIVED
  6. citation
    Vizzielli G, Fanfani F, Chiantera V, Tortorella L, Lucidi A, Petrillo M, Costantini B, Scambia G, Fagotti A. Does the diagnosis center influence the prognosis of ovarian cancer patients submitted to neoadjuvant chemotherapy? Anticancer Res. 2015 May;35(5):3027-32.
    pmid
    25964591
    type
    DERIVED
  7. citation
    van Meurs HS, Tajik P, Hof MH, Vergote I, Kenter GG, Mol BW, Buist MR, Bossuyt PM. Which patients benefit most from primary surgery or neoadjuvant chemotherapy in stage IIIC or IV ovarian cancer? An exploratory analysis of the European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer 55971 randomised trial. Eur J Cancer. 2013 Oct;49(15):3191-201. doi: 10.1016/j.ejca.2013.06.013. Epub 2013 Jul 11.
    pmid
    23850170
    type
    DERIVED
Source notices and limitations
    Discovery and provenance
    1. release id
      ctgov-registry-7ad944f6deaf1f5cd6122126
      edge id
      nct-edge-caab547678da7c11c541
      requested nct id
      NCT00003636
      primary nct id
      NCT00003636
      source kind
      nci_explicit_reference_or_link
      source record id
      Source null
      source file sha256
      d626fa717739cf3dda8aebd26e3ffaf109ec1e006da0173aee8007b288898b2c
      payload sha256
      7e641adb0df6337ba705db063f5788ca634edeefef159c0e65aa60103bc14bcf
      payload
      clinical indication matching status
      not_inferred
      end exclusive
      true
      id
      nct-edge-caab547678da7c11c541
      link basis
      explicit_NCT_identifier_in_acquired_source
      nct id
      NCT00003636
      occurrences
      1. context exact
        Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) Gynecological Cancer Group, together with the National Cancer Institute of Canada Clinical Trials Group (<a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00003636">EORTC-55971</a> [NCT00003636]), included 670 women with stages IIIC and IV ovarian epithelial cancer, FTC, and PPC.[<a href="#cit/section_7.42">42</a>][<a hre
        end
        178826
        exact text
        NCT00003636
        start
        178815
      2. context exact
        ynecological Cancer Group, together with the National Cancer Institute of Canada Clinical Trials Group (<a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00003636">EORTC-55971</a> [NCT00003636]), included 670 women with stages IIIC and IV ovarian epithelial cancer, FTC, and PPC.[<a href="#cit/section_7.42">42</a>][<a href="/Common/PopUps/popDefinitio
        end
        178856
        exact text
        NCT00003636
        start
        178845
      offset unit
      unicode_code_points
      source file
      /tmp/cancer-full-research/nci/raw/ff9ceeeae0fbdc33fd.html
      source file sha256
      d626fa717739cf3dda8aebd26e3ffaf109ec1e006da0173aee8007b288898b2c
      source json pointer
      Source null
      source kind
      nci_explicit_reference_or_link
      source record id
      Source null
      source retrieved at
      2026-09-09T23:22:10.059252+00:00
      source string basis
      UTF-8_text_with_universal_newline_translation
      source string sha256
      2a71979c192f62071168507c9e3b23e31a4e8fe2e21ca0f7ee294555ff0250c9
      source title
      Ovarian Epithelial, Fallopian Tube, and Primary Peritoneal Cancer Treatment (PDQ®)–Health Professional Version
      source update dates
      1. context
        Updated: May 14, 2025
        datetime
        2025-05-14T12:00:00Z
        display
        May 14, 2025

    Preserved source evidence · Not medical advice