NCT00003150 · CITED IN SOURCE DOCUMENTS
Combination Chemotherapy With or Without Monoclonal Antibody Therapy in Treating Older Patients With Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma
An NCI or FDA source cites this study. A citation does not establish that it applies to an individual diagnosis.
- Phase
- PHASE3
- Status at capture
- COMPLETED
- Registry last update
- 2013-06-21
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Monoclonal antibodies such as rituximab can locate tumor cells and either kill them or deliver tumor-killing substances to them without harming normal cells. It is not yet known if combination chemotherapy is more effective with or without rituximab for non-Hodgkin's lymphoma. PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy with or without rituximab in treating older patients who have non-Hodgkin's lymphoma.
Open the original ClinicalTrials.gov record → · Download preserved record
What did the study report?
Outcomes, safety and baseline populations are separate source sections. Quality-of-life measures appear under their original outcome titles.
No posted result sections were captured. Registered plans do not establish that a treatment works.
Who could take part
- eligibility Criteria
- DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically proven intermediate or high grade B-cell non-Hodgkin's lymphoma (other than Burkitt's, non-Burkitt's, undifferentiated, or lymphoblastic lymphoma) B-cell non-Hodgkin's lymphoma positive for CD19 and/or CD20 by slide-based immunohistochemistry or flow cytometry No mantle cell or follicular lymphoma Measurable disease, defined by at least one of the following: Physical examination Radiographic findings of at least 2 dimensions Bidimensional measurable defect or mass measuring at least 2 cm in diameter on radionuclide or CT scan Enlarged spleen extending at least 2 cm below the costal margin provided that there is no other likely explanation besides lymphomatous involvement Enlarged liver extending at least 5 cm below the costal margin along with biopsy-proven lymphomatous hepatic involvement No history of transformed lymphoma No known posttransplantation lymphoproliferative disorder No CNS involvement CALGB patients 60-65 years of age must not be eligible for any other study of higher priority A new classification scheme for adult non-Hodgkin's lymphoma has been adopted by PDQ. The terminology of "indolent" or "aggressive" lymphoma will replace the former terminology of "low", "intermediate", or "high" grade lymphoma. However, this protocol uses the former terminology. PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: See Disease Characteristics 60 and over Performance status: ECOG 0-3 Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: Absolute granulocyte count at least 1,500/mm3 (unless due to lymphoma) Platelet count greater than 100,000/mm3 (unless due to lymphoma) Hepatic: Bilirubin no greater than 3.0 mg/dL Renal: Creatinine less than 2.1 mg/dL OR Creatinine clearance at least 60 mL/min Cardiovascular: No active heart disease including congestive heart failure, myocardial infarction within the past 3 months, or symptomatic ventricular arrhythmia LVEF at least 45% if prior history of heart disease exists Other: HIV negative No other malignancy within the past 5 years except squamous cell or basal cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: See Disease Characteristics No prior biologic response modifier therapy No prior immunotherapy No prior rituximab Chemotherapy: No prior cytotoxic chemotherapy No concurrent dexrazoxane Endocrine therapy: Prior corticosteroids allowed Radiotherapy: No prior radiotherapy No prior radioimmunotherapy Surgery: Not specified
- healthy Volunteers
- false
- minimum Age
- 60 Years
- sex
- ALL
- std Ages
- ADULT
- OLDER_ADULT
Treatment arms and interventions
- interventions
- name
- rituximab
- type
- BIOLOGICAL
- name
- CHOP regimen
- type
- DRUG
- name
- cyclophosphamide
- type
- DRUG
- name
- doxorubicin hydrochloride
- type
- DRUG
- name
- prednisone
- type
- DRUG
- name
- vincristine sulfate
- type
- DRUG
Study design
- allocation
- RANDOMIZED
- primary Purpose
- TREATMENT
Enrollment
- count
- 630
- type
- ESTIMATED
Registered outcome plans (not posted results)
Full study description
- brief Summary
- RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Monoclonal antibodies such as rituximab can locate tumor cells and either kill them or deliver tumor-killing substances to them without harming normal cells. It is not yet known if combination chemotherapy is more effective with or without rituximab for non-Hodgkin's lymphoma. PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy with or without rituximab in treating older patients who have non-Hodgkin's lymphoma.
- detailed Description
- OBJECTIVES: I. Compare the efficacy of CHOP (cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, vincristine, and prednisone) with or without rituximab in older patients with diffuse mixed, diffuse large, or immunoblastic large cell non-Hodgkin's lymphoma of B-cell lineage with respect to the response rate, time to treatment failure, toxicity, and survival. II. Compare the efficacy of maintenance therapy consisting of rituximab vs observation alone after initial therapy with respect to the time to treatment failure, duration of response, toxicity, and survival of this patient population. III. Determine if maintenance therapy with rituximab results in the conversion of any partial response to complete response. OUTLINE: This is a randomized study. For the first randomization, patients are stratified according to the number of risk factors (0-1 vs 2-4). For the second randomization, in addition to the number of risk factors, patients are stratified according to objective response to initial induction therapy (partial response vs complete response) and induction therapy (CHOP vs CHOP and rituximab). Patients are randomized to one of two treatment arms. Arm I: Patients receive CHOP chemotherapy comprising cyclophosphamide IV, doxorubicin IV, and vincristine IV on day 1 and oral prednisone on days 1-5. Treatment repeats every 21 days in the absence of unacceptable toxicity. Arm II: Patients receive treatment as in arm I. Patients also receive rituximab IV on days -7,-3, 41, and 83. Patients who achieve complete response (CR) after 4 courses of CHOP and remain in CR after 6 courses of CHOP are further randomized to one of two arms. Arm I (Maintenance therapy): Patients receive rituximab IV weekly for 4 weeks. Courses repeat every 6 months for 2 years in the absence of unacceptable toxicity. Arm II: Patients are observed. Patients who achieve partial response (PR) after 6 courses OR PR after 4 courses and then CR after 6 courses receive 2 additional courses of CHOP therapy. Patients are then also randomized to receive either maintenance therapy or observation as above. Patients with stable disease or disease progression are removed from the study. Patients are followed every 3 months for 2 years, every 6 months for 3 years, and then annually thereafter. PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Approximately 630 patients will be accrued for this study within 4 years.
Source references
- references
- citation
- Advani RH, Chen H, Habermann TM, Morrison VA, Weller EA, Fisher RI, Peterson BA, Gascoyne RD, Horning SJ; Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group; Cancer and Leukemia Group B; Southwest Oncology Group. Comparison of conventional prognostic indices in patients older than 60 years with diffuse large B-cell lymphoma treated with R-CHOP in the US Intergroup Study (ECOG 4494, CALGB 9793): consideration of age greater than 70 years in an elderly prognostic index (E-IPI). Br J Haematol. 2010 Oct;151(2):143-51. doi: 10.1111/j.1365-2141.2010.08331.x.
- pmid
- 20735398
- type
- RESULT
- citation
- Winter JN, Li S, Aurora V, Variakojis D, Nelson B, Krajewska M, Zhang L, Habermann TM, Fisher RI, Macon WR, Chhanabhai M, Felgar RE, Hsi ED, Medeiros LJ, Weick JK, Weller EA, Melnick A, Reed JC, Horning SJ, Gascoyne RD. Expression of p21 protein predicts clinical outcome in DLBCL patients older than 60 years treated with R-CHOP but not CHOP: a prospective ECOG and Southwest Oncology Group correlative study on E4494. Clin Cancer Res. 2010 Apr 15;16(8):2435-42. doi: 10.1158/1078-0432.CCR-09-1219. Epub 2010 Apr 6.
- pmid
- 20371683
- type
- RESULT
- citation
- Aurora V, Li S, Horning SJ, et al.: Prognostic significance of p53/p21 expression in DLBCL treated with CHOP or R-CHOP: a correlative study of E4494. [Abstract] J Clin Oncol 25 (Suppl 18): A-8038, 450s, 2007.
- type
- RESULT
- citation
- Morrison VA, Weller EA, Habermann TM, et al.: Maintenance rituximab (MR) compared to observation (OBS) after R-CHOP or CHOP in older patients (pts) with diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL): an Intergroup E4494/C9793 update. [Abstract] J Clin Oncol 25 (Suppl 18): A-8011, 443s, 2007.
- type
- RESULT
- citation
- Advani RH, Chen H, Habermann TM, et al.: Prognostic indices in older DLBCL patients receiving R-CHOP: an analysis of the U.S. Intergroup study (E4494, CALGB 9793). [Abstract] Blood 108 (11): A-813, 2006.
- type
- RESULT
- citation
- Habermann TM, Weller EA, Morrison VA, Gascoyne RD, Cassileth PA, Cohn JB, Dakhil SR, Woda B, Fisher RI, Peterson BA, Horning SJ. Rituximab-CHOP versus CHOP alone or with maintenance rituximab in older patients with diffuse large B-cell lymphoma. J Clin Oncol. 2006 Jul 1;24(19):3121-7. doi: 10.1200/JCO.2005.05.1003. Epub 2006 Jun 5.
- pmid
- 16754935
- type
- RESULT
- citation
- Winter JN, Weller EA, Horning SJ, Krajewska M, Variakojis D, Habermann TM, Fisher RI, Kurtin PJ, Macon WR, Chhanabhai M, Felgar RE, Hsi ED, Medeiros LJ, Weick JK, Reed JC, Gascoyne RD. Prognostic significance of Bcl-6 protein expression in DLBCL treated with CHOP or R-CHOP: a prospective correlative study. Blood. 2006 Jun 1;107(11):4207-13. doi: 10.1182/blood-2005-10-4222. Epub 2006 Jan 31.
- pmid
- 16449523
- type
- RESULT
- citation
- Morrison V, Weller E, Habermann T, et al.: Dose intensity of CHOP alone or with rituximab in diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL) in patients >60 years of age: an analysis of the intergroup trial ( CALGB 9793, ECOG-SWOG 4494). [Abstract] Ann Oncol 16 (Suppl 5): A-224, v102, 2005.
- type
- RESULT
- citation
- Habermann TM, Weller E, Morrison VA, et al.: Rituximab-CHOP versus CHOP with or without maintenance rituximab in patients 60 years of age or older with diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL): an update. [Abstract] Blood 104 (11): A-127, 2004.
- type
- RESULT
- citation
- Morrison VA, Weller EA, Habermann TM, Li S, Fisher RI, Cheson BD, Peterson BA. Patterns of growth factor usage and febrile neutropenia among older patients with diffuse large B-cell non-Hodgkin lymphoma treated with CHOP or R-CHOP: the Intergroup experience (CALGB 9793; ECOG-SWOG 4494). Leuk Lymphoma. 2017 Aug;58(8):1814-1822. doi: 10.1080/10428194.2016.1265111. Epub 2016 Dec 14.
- pmid
- 27967294
- type
- RESULT
Source notices and limitations
Discovery and provenance
- release id
- ctgov-registry-7ad944f6deaf1f5cd6122126
- edge id
- nct-edge-110d165cd1cec8bdf68a
- requested nct id
- NCT00003150
- primary nct id
- NCT00003150
- source kind
- fda_spl_label
- source record id
- 7e0a4bc5-9a5f-4b66-ab41-a4417988ccc2
- source file sha256
- a4bef6778baed183e5bcf581938b0b23d3576dfd9eb6150f2904934a750c5fef
- payload sha256
- 72451c6c1f61d7777129121dd9c6dd1f1d3595fef3e3fbdc7521b0165b94b84b
- payload
- application numbers
- BLA761140
- clinical indication matching status
- not_inferred
- end exclusive
- true
- id
- nct-edge-110d165cd1cec8bdf68a
- link basis
- explicit_NCT_identifier_in_acquired_source
- nct id
- NCT00003150
- occurrences
- context exact
- n or equal to 2%) in the rituximab arm compared with those who received no further therapy (4% vs. 1%) [see Clinical Studies (14.3) ] . DLBCL In NHL Studies 7 (NCT00003150) and 8 [see Clinical Studies (14.3) ] , the following adverse reactions, regardless of severity, were reported more frequently (greater than or equal to 5%) in
- end
- 10776
- exact text
- NCT00003150
- start
- 10765
- offset unit
- unicode_code_points
- source file
- /tmp/cancer-full-research/indications/raw/labels-00400.json
- source file sha256
- a4bef6778baed183e5bcf581938b0b23d3576dfd9eb6150f2904934a750c5fef
- source json pointer
- /results/83/adverse_reactions/0
- source kind
- fda_spl_label
- source record id
- 7e0a4bc5-9a5f-4b66-ab41-a4417988ccc2
- source string basis
- parsed_JSON_string_unmodified
- source string sha256
- f1260d729d603b1d2ba2b7fd5d0659e74e2d05ef2ce3cf5923d1955445a55bfd
- spl effective time
- 20260722
- spl set id
- da1c4de7-0e5b-4f72-97ec-7a8d368f085f
- release id
- ctgov-registry-7ad944f6deaf1f5cd6122126
- edge id
- nct-edge-1998a0ff10468f7ebc17
- requested nct id
- NCT00003150
- primary nct id
- NCT00003150
- source kind
- fda_spl_label
- source record id
- 3a716937-c2af-4bf9-976c-c34746b22ff0
- source file sha256
- d918de6bede8f776ad4fea2bc639292f8454d9733fbbdfdd7fd4414b6200e571
- payload sha256
- 4c78ca1838ff498079d35fe62792c35d5658104390bcf0edd1342313afa9cbdf
- payload
- application numbers
- BLA103705
- clinical indication matching status
- not_inferred
- end exclusive
- true
- id
- nct-edge-1998a0ff10468f7ebc17
- link basis
- explicit_NCT_identifier_in_acquired_source
- nct id
- NCT00003150
- occurrences
- context exact
- an or equal to 2%) in the RITUXAN arm compared with those who received no further therapy (4% vs. 1%). [see Clinical Studies (14.3) ] . DLBCL In NHL Studies 7 (NCT00003150) and 8, [see Clinical Studies (14.3) ] , the following adverse reactions, regardless of severity, were reported more frequently ( greater than or equal to 5%)
- end
- 11357
- exact text
- NCT00003150
- start
- 11346
- offset unit
- unicode_code_points
- source file
- /tmp/cancer-full-research/indications/raw/labels-00200.json
- source file sha256
- d918de6bede8f776ad4fea2bc639292f8454d9733fbbdfdd7fd4414b6200e571
- source json pointer
- /results/17/adverse_reactions/0
- source kind
- fda_spl_label
- source record id
- 3a716937-c2af-4bf9-976c-c34746b22ff0
- source string basis
- parsed_JSON_string_unmodified
- source string sha256
- f4209b90335733b4411ec0abee940fdab2c8957fe8de9faa3224cc4fdb66f74c
- spl effective time
- 20250106
- spl set id
- b172773b-3905-4a1c-ad95-bab4b6126563
- release id
- ctgov-registry-7ad944f6deaf1f5cd6122126
- edge id
- nct-edge-46e20337bbd8dbc5c8fb
- requested nct id
- NCT00003150
- primary nct id
- NCT00003150
- source kind
- fda_spl_label
- source record id
- 1f47d28b-1604-4e95-a668-46d81e4b5b27
- source file sha256
- fc39a8c5cf96bf95ca20b85578140167b66b2741f7d9217f500d9ba0847ac058
- payload sha256
- 46713f61807420e115e4d7187da7ee9d8f88087a3ce724826630f4cdf4445e6b
- payload
- application numbers
- BLA761103
- clinical indication matching status
- not_inferred
- end exclusive
- true
- id
- nct-edge-46e20337bbd8dbc5c8fb
- link basis
- explicit_NCT_identifier_in_acquired_source
- nct id
- NCT00003150
- occurrences
- context exact
- n or equal to 2%) in the rituximab arm compared with those who received no further therapy (4% vs. 1%) [see Clinical Studies (14.3) ] . DLBCL In NHL Studies 7 (NCT00003150) and 8, [see Clinical Studies (14.3) ] , the following adverse reactions, regardless of severity, were reported more frequently (greater than or equal to 5%) i
- end
- 10773
- exact text
- NCT00003150
- start
- 10762
- offset unit
- unicode_code_points
- source file
- /tmp/cancer-full-research/indications/raw/labels-00100.json
- source file sha256
- fc39a8c5cf96bf95ca20b85578140167b66b2741f7d9217f500d9ba0847ac058
- source json pointer
- /results/7/adverse_reactions/0
- source kind
- fda_spl_label
- source record id
- 1f47d28b-1604-4e95-a668-46d81e4b5b27
- source string basis
- parsed_JSON_string_unmodified
- source string sha256
- ad434821b48db0bd93218601caff40ceedf4d8394d6209f92767ee70d6884b9e
- spl effective time
- 20260826
- spl set id
- f941fc61-f7a3-4e4a-ab7c-87c1667fa05b
- release id
- ctgov-registry-7ad944f6deaf1f5cd6122126
- edge id
- nct-edge-a5df0b502a4224d22ece
- requested nct id
- NCT00003150
- primary nct id
- NCT00003150
- source kind
- fda_spl_label
- source record id
- a284d45e-6142-4bfa-b716-7f2b976ffb0b
- source file sha256
- 424ccf5bc67db0a96ee2c35ed913dd5894642716182773d81ca19cdfb9ba32f3
- payload sha256
- b53a8fcd63736852aee44e04bf8360bce9f616b97d07bfb871ead52257f7d581
- payload
- application numbers
- BLA761088
- clinical indication matching status
- not_inferred
- end exclusive
- true
- id
- nct-edge-a5df0b502a4224d22ece
- link basis
- explicit_NCT_identifier_in_acquired_source
- nct id
- NCT00003150
- occurrences
- context exact
- frequently (≥2%) in the rituximab arm compared with those who received no further therapy (4% vs. 1%) [see Clinical Studies (14.3) ]. DLBCL In NHL Studies 7 ( NCT00003150 ) and 8, [ see Clinical Studies (14.3) ], the following adverse reactions, regardless of severity, were reported more frequently (≥5%) in patients age ≥60 year
- end
- 10510
- exact text
- NCT00003150
- start
- 10499
- offset unit
- unicode_code_points
- source file
- /tmp/cancer-full-research/indications/raw/labels-00500.json
- source file sha256
- 424ccf5bc67db0a96ee2c35ed913dd5894642716182773d81ca19cdfb9ba32f3
- source json pointer
- /results/78/adverse_reactions/0
- source kind
- fda_spl_label
- source record id
- a284d45e-6142-4bfa-b716-7f2b976ffb0b
- source string basis
- parsed_JSON_string_unmodified
- source string sha256
- 83c50817a11780f3355d3b4c8b93f6fda0a172e5f9c6358bb651eb718122e544
- spl effective time
- 20260713
- spl set id
- 9af3ddc7-4217-417a-ac89-8704edc5bc44
Preserved source evidence · Not medical advice
Triangle