NCT00002995 · CITED IN SOURCE DOCUMENTS
Combination Chemotherapy With or Without Radiation Therapy in Treating Patients With Newly Diagnosed Rhabdomyosarcoma
An NCI or FDA source cites this study. A citation does not establish that it applies to an individual diagnosis.
- Phase
- PHASE3
- Status at capture
- COMPLETED
- Registry last update
- 2014-02-14
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. It is not yet known whether chemotherapy is more effective with or without radiation therapy in treating patients who have rhabdomyosarcoma. PURPOSE: Phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of chemotherapy with or without radiation therapy in treating patients who have newly-diagnosed rhabdomyosarcoma.
Open the original ClinicalTrials.gov record → · Download preserved record
What did the study report?
Outcomes, safety and baseline populations are separate source sections. Quality-of-life measures appear under their original outcome titles.
No posted result sections were captured. Registered plans do not establish that a treatment works.
Who could take part
- eligibility Criteria
- DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: * Histologically confirmed embryonal (EMB) rhabdomyosarcoma (RMS) or botryoid or spindle cell variants of EMB RMS or embryonal ectomesenchymoma meeting 1 of the following criteria: * Stage 1, no clinical group IV: Tumor in favorable site (orbit, head and neck \[excluding parameningeal\], genitourinary \[not bladder/prostate\], or biliary tract) and no metastatic disease * Stage 2 or 3, clinical group I or II: Tumor in unfavorable site (bladder/prostate, extremity, cranial parameningeal, trunk, retroperitoneum, pelvis, perineal/perianal, intrathoracic, gastrointestinal, or liver), no gross residual disease after initial surgery, and no metastatic disease * Must have ipsilateral lymph node dissection if age 10 or over with primary paratesticular cancer OR under age 10 with clinically positive regional lymph nodes * Low risk of recurrence * Previously untreated disease * No alveolar RMS or undifferentiated sarcoma * No intermediate-risk disease * No metastatic disease at diagnosis PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: * Under 50 Performance status: * Not specified Hematopoietic: * Not specified Hepatic: * Bilirubin elevation secondary to biliary or hepatic primaries allowed Renal: * Creatinine elevation secondary to tumor obstruction allowed Other: * No uncontrolled infection * Not pregnant or nursing * Fertile patients must use effective contraception PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy * Not specified Chemotherapy * Not specified Endocrine therapy * Not specified Radiotherapy * Not specified Surgery * Not specified
- healthy Volunteers
- false
- maximum Age
- 49 Years
- sex
- ALL
- std Ages
- CHILD
- ADULT
Treatment arms and interventions
- interventions
- name
- dactinomycin
- type
- BIOLOGICAL
- name
- filgrastim
- type
- BIOLOGICAL
- name
- sargramostim
- type
- BIOLOGICAL
- name
- cyclophosphamide
- type
- DRUG
- name
- vincristine sulfate
- type
- DRUG
- name
- radiation therapy
- type
- RADIATION
Study design
- masking Info
- masking
- NONE
- primary Purpose
- TREATMENT
Enrollment
- count
- 483
- type
- ACTUAL
Registered outcome plans (not posted results)
- primary Outcomes
- measure
- Failure-free survival
Full study description
- brief Summary
- RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. It is not yet known whether chemotherapy is more effective with or without radiation therapy in treating patients who have rhabdomyosarcoma. PURPOSE: Phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of chemotherapy with or without radiation therapy in treating patients who have newly-diagnosed rhabdomyosarcoma.
- detailed Description
- OBJECTIVES: * Determine the failure-free survival (FFS) rate in patients with newly diagnosed low-risk rhabdomyosarcoma of embryonal or botryoid subtype meeting criteria for group I after treatment with dactinomycin and vincristine with or without radiotherapy. * Determine the FFS rate in these patients meeting criteria for group II after treatment with dactinomycin, vincristine, and cyclophosphamide with or without radiotherapy. * Determine the FFS rate in patients with ectomesenchymomas containing rhabdomyosarcomatous elements (embryonal histiotype) who receive one of the above treatments. * Determine new molecular markers specific to embryonal and botryoid tumor histologies which are of diagnostic and prognostic significance in patients treated with these regimens. OUTLINE: Patients are assigned to 1 of 2 groups, depending on histology and site of disease. * Group I (favorable tumor site, negative lymph nodes, stage 1, clinical group I, IIA, or III (orbit only), node negative \[N0\] OR unfavorable tumor site, negative or unknown lymph nodes, stage 2, clinical group I): Patients receive vincristine IV over 1 minute weekly for 8 weeks and dactinomycin IV over 1 minute once every 3 weeks for 4 doses. Treatment repeats every 12 weeks for 4 courses. Radiotherapy is administered to patients with clinical group II or III disease on weeks 3-8. * Group II (favorable tumor site, positive lymph nodes, stage 1, clinical group III (orbit only), node positive \[N1\] OR favorable tumor site except orbit, any lymph nodes, stage 1, clinical group III OR unfavorable tumor site, stage 2, clinical group II OR unfavorable tumor site, stage 3, clinical group I or II): Patients receive vincristine and dactinomycin as in group I. Patients also receive cyclophosphamide IV over 30-60 minutes and filgrastim (G-CSF) or sargramostim (GM-CSF) subcutaneously once daily beginning 24 hours after completion of chemotherapy and continuing for 10 days or until blood counts recover. Radiotherapy is administered on weeks 3-8, 12-17, or 28-33, if clinically indicated as in group I. Patients are followed every 3-4 months for 3 years (4 years after diagnosis), every 6 months for 1 year, and then annually thereafter. PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 254 patients for group I will be accrued for this study within 6 years. Approximately 12 patients per year will be accrued for group II.
Source references
- references
- citation
- Malempati S, Rodeberg DA, Donaldson SS, Lyden ER, Anderson JR, Hawkins DS, Arndt CA. Rhabdomyosarcoma in infants younger than 1 year: a report from the Children's Oncology Group. Cancer. 2011 Aug 1;117(15):3493-501. doi: 10.1002/cncr.25887. Epub 2011 Jan 24.
- pmid
- 21264837
- type
- BACKGROUND
- citation
- Walterhouse DO, Meza JL, Breneman JC, Donaldson SS, Hayes-Jordan A, Pappo AS, Arndt C, Raney RB, Meyer WH, Hawkins DS. Local control and outcome in children with localized vaginal rhabdomyosarcoma: a report from the Soft Tissue Sarcoma committee of the Children's Oncology Group. Pediatr Blood Cancer. 2011 Jul 15;57(1):76-83. doi: 10.1002/pbc.22928. Epub 2011 Feb 4.
- pmid
- 21298768
- type
- BACKGROUND
- citation
- Breneman J, Meza J, Donaldson SS, Raney RB, Wolden S, Michalski J, Laurie F, Rodeberg DA, Meyer W, Walterhouse D, Hawkins DS. Local control with reduced-dose radiotherapy for low-risk rhabdomyosarcoma: a report from the Children's Oncology Group D9602 study. Int J Radiat Oncol Biol Phys. 2012 Jun 1;83(2):720-6. doi: 10.1016/j.ijrobp.2011.06.2011. Epub 2011 Nov 19.
- pmid
- 22104356
- type
- RESULT
- citation
- Raney RB, Walterhouse DO, Meza JL, Andrassy RJ, Breneman JC, Crist WM, Maurer HM, Meyer WH, Parham DM, Anderson JR. Results of the Intergroup Rhabdomyosarcoma Study Group D9602 protocol, using vincristine and dactinomycin with or without cyclophosphamide and radiation therapy, for newly diagnosed patients with low-risk embryonal rhabdomyosarcoma: a report from the Soft Tissue Sarcoma Committee of the Children's Oncology Group. J Clin Oncol. 2011 Apr 1;29(10):1312-8. doi: 10.1200/JCO.2010.30.4469. Epub 2011 Feb 28.
- pmid
- 21357783
- type
- RESULT
Source notices and limitations
Discovery and provenance
- release id
- ctgov-registry-7ad944f6deaf1f5cd6122126
- edge id
- nct-edge-378441561729f8f48d9c
- requested nct id
- NCT00002995
- primary nct id
- NCT00002995
- source kind
- nci_explicit_reference_or_link
- source record id
- Source null
- source file sha256
- 3e253a588554150bd5ae5ac665bdef96fb4f453120bd18f9dde0221d2dbf3739
- payload sha256
- 5b7df6bde8d7f66a9cf3f5ed7838d57427ea2fd5ecea68e3e955a624ce12169c
- payload
- clinical indication matching status
- not_inferred
- end exclusive
- true
- id
- nct-edge-378441561729f8f48d9c
- link basis
- explicit_NCT_identifier_in_acquired_source
- nct id
- NCT00002995
- occurrences
- context exact
- tion_6.9">9</a>] Subsequently, delayed primary excision was evaluated by the Soft Tissue Sarcoma Committee of the COG (COG-STS) in the <a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00002995">D9602</a> and <a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00003958">D9803</a> studies.[<a href="#cit/section_6.8">8</a>] Delayed primary excision at week 12 after induction
- end
- 249966
- exact text
- NCT00002995
- start
- 249955
- context exact
- ive margins (R0 resection), and 41.4 Gy if the margins were microscopically involved (R1 resection) or the nodes were positive. In the <a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00002995">COG-D9602</a> study, a limited number of low-risk patients had a greater than 85% likelihood of local control with 36 Gy.[<a href="#cit/section_6.9">9</a>] Si
- end
- 267840
- exact text
- NCT00002995
- start
- 267829
- context exact
- 2 patients with low-risk orbital rhabdomyosarcoma (clinical groups I–III with mostly embryonal histology treated on the low-risk <a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00002995">D9602</a> and <a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00075582">ARST0331</a> studies) had 10-year EFS and OS rates of 85.5% (95% CI, 77.0%–94.0%) and 95.6% (95% CI,
- end
- 288619
- exact text
- NCT00002995
- start
- 288608
- context exact
- chemotherapy and delayed surgery.</li></ul></div></li><li>A COG analysis of 17 patients enrolled in two consecutive low-risk studies (<a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00002995">D9602</a> and <a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00075582">ARST0331</a>) reported the following results:[<a href="#cit/section_6.114">114</a>]<div class="pdq-content
- end
- 315993
- exact text
- NCT00002995
- start
- 315982
- context exact
- ></ul></div></li><li>The COG reviewed 279 patients with localized paratesticular rhabdomyosarcoma enrolled in one of four COG studies (<a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00002995">D9602</a>, <a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00075582">ARST0331</a>, <a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00003958">D9803</a>, or <a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00354835">ARST0
- end
- 331046
- exact text
- NCT00002995
- start
- 331035
- context exact
- le outcomes have typically been excellent, some subgroups of low-risk patients have received relatively aggressive therapy. In the COG <a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00002995">D9602</a> and <a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00075582">ARST0331</a> studies, low-risk patients had localized (nonmetastatic) embryonal histology tumors in favo
- end
- 358541
- exact text
- NCT00002995
- start
- 358530
- context exact
- 1" tabindex="-1">Evidence (chemotherapy for low-risk Group patients):</p> <div class="pdq-content-list"><ol id="_2071"><li>The <a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00002995">COG-D9602</a> study stratified 388 patients with low-risk embryonal rhabdomyosarcoma into two groups.[<a href="#cit/section_6.173">173</a>] Treatment for sub
- end
- 359826
- exact text
- NCT00002995
- start
- 359815
- context exact
- up III orbital tumors. This noninferiority trial used a fixed outcome on the basis of expected FFS for similar patients treated in the <a href="/clinicaltrials/NCT00002995">D9602</a> trial.[<a href="#cit/section_6.55">55</a>]<div class="pdq-content-list"><ul id="_1980"><li>There were 35 treatment failures observed (48.8 expected)
- end
- 363338
- exact text
- NCT00002995
- start
- 363327
- offset unit
- unicode_code_points
- source file
- /tmp/cancer-full-research/nci/raw/63d8e64beb9c88f092.html
- source file sha256
- 3e253a588554150bd5ae5ac665bdef96fb4f453120bd18f9dde0221d2dbf3739
- source json pointer
- Source null
- source kind
- nci_explicit_reference_or_link
- source record id
- Source null
- source retrieved at
- 2026-09-09T23:22:20.508284+00:00
- source string basis
- UTF-8_text_with_universal_newline_translation
- source string sha256
- 6f71654db32394dcd1834a8ce9f674ddb7f238c7b083f23eec93a3611ef198a7
- source title
- Childhood Rhabdomyosarcoma Treatment (PDQ®)–Health Professional Version
- source update dates
- context
- Updated: April 11, 2025
- datetime
- 2025-04-11T12:00:00Z
- display
- April 11, 2025
Preserved source evidence · Not medical advice
Triangle