NCT00565851 · STUDY IN CONTEXT
Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Gemcitabine Hydrochloride With or Without Bevacizumab After Surgery in Treating Patients With Recurrent Ovarian, Epithelial, Primary Peritoneal, or Fall
Draft scope assessment: narrower. Linked by condition-string match at the cancer-entity level. The study's eligibility - stage, biomarker, treatment line and prior therapy - has not been reconciled against this page's definition, so its population is narrower than this page in ways not yet recorded. The condition was transformed or resolved through the terminology hierarchy to reach this cancer type, so the link itself is a candidate a reviewer must confirm. Found because this study's registry identifier is printed in an FDA approval notice, an FDA product label or an NCI summary held by this site. The citing document and the exact position of the identifier inside it are recorded. Being cited is not a statement that the study supports this treatment.
Read the full study record and all posted results →
Linked outcomes
The treatment regimens will be compared with a logrank procedure which includes all of the patients categorized by their randomly assigned treatment. The logrank test will be stratified by the secondary surgical debulking status (randomized to undergo cytoreduction, vs randomized to not undergo secondary cytoreduction vs not a candidate or did not consent to secondary surgical cytoreduction) and the duration of treatment free-interval prior to enrolling onto this study (6-12 months vs \> 12 months). The median duration of follow-up is calculated by the reverse Kaplan-Meier method.
The treatment regimens will be compared with a logrank procedure which includes all of the patients categorized by their randomly assigned treatment. The logrank test will be stratified by the secondary surgical debulking status (randomized to undergo cytoreduction, vs randomized to not undergo secondary cytoreduction vs not a candidate or did not consent to secondary surgical cytoreduction) and the duration of treatment free-interval prior to enrolling onto this study (6-12 months vs \> 12 months). The median duration of follow-up is calculated by the reverse Kaplan-Meier method.
Progression-free survival was defined as the time from randomization to cancer progression as shown on radiography, according to the RECIST version 1.0 criteria, an increase in the CA125 level according to Gynecologic Cancer InterGroup (GCIG) criteria, global deterioration of health, or death from any cause.
Progression-free survival was defined as the time from randomization to cancer progression as shown on radiography, according to the RECIST version 1.0 criteria, an increase in the CA125 level according to Gynecologic Cancer InterGroup (GCIG) criteria, global deterioration of health, or death from any cause.
Number of treated patients with at least one adverse event reported (assessed by Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (version 4.0))
Patient reported quality of life was measured with the Treatment Outcome Index (TOI) of the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy for ovarian cancer (FACT-O TOI). The FACT-O TOI is a scale for assessing general QOL of ovarian cancer patients. It consists of three subscales: Physical Well Being (7 items), Functional Well Being (7 items), and Ovarian Cancer subscale (11 items). Each item in the FACT-O TOI was scored using a 5-point scale (0=not at all; 1=a little bit; 2=somewhat; 3=quite a bit; 4=very much). The FACT-O TOI score ranges 0-100 with a large score suggests better QOL.
Reported safety
Quality of life and patient-reported measures
FACT · Patient Reported Quality of Life (Chemotherapy Analysis)
Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- qol key
- qol-0005
- source section id
- NCT00565851-om-0005
- source outcome index
- 5
- instrument
- FACT
- instrument basis
- matched 'fact-o' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Patient Reported Quality of Life (Chemotherapy Analysis)
- measure definition
- Patient reported quality of life was measured with the Treatment Outcome Index (TOI) of the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy for ovarian cancer (FACT-O TOI). The FACT-O TOI is a scale for assessing general QOL of ovarian cancer patients. It consists of three subscales: Physical Well Being (7 items), Functional Well Being (7 items), and Ovarian Cancer subscale (11 items). Each item in the FACT-O TOI was scored using a 5-point scale (0=not at all; 1=a little bit; 2=somewhat; 3=quite a bit; 4=very much). The FACT-O TOI score ranges 0-100 with a large score suggests better QOL.
- time frame
- 1. Prior to cycle 1 (baseline), 2. Prior to cycle 3 (6 weeks post cycle 1), 3. Prior to cycle 6 (15 weeks post cycle 1), 4. 6 months post cycle 1, 5. 12 months post cycle 1.
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- Provided baseline and at least one follow-up assessment (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized chemotherapy regimen, regardless of surgical assignment, as pre-specified in the study protocol).
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
SF-36 / SF-12 · Patient Reported Physical Function (Chemotherapy Analysis)
Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- qol key
- qol-0006
- source section id
- NCT00565851-om-0006
- source outcome index
- 6
- instrument
- SF-36 / SF-12
- instrument basis
- matched 'sf-36' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Patient Reported Physical Function (Chemotherapy Analysis)
- measure definition
- Patient reported physical functioning was measured with physical functioning subscale of the RAND SF-36. The Physical Functioning Subscale consists of 10 items concerning activities of daily living: walking, climbing stairs, bathing, dressing, and performance of physical activities. Each item is rated on a three-point scale of limitation of activity due to the patients' health from 1=limited a lot to 3=not limited. The total PF score is the summation of item scores and then rescaled to 0-100. A larger score suggests better physical functioning.
- time frame
- 1. Prior to cycle 1 (baseline), 2. Prior to cycle 3 (6 weeks post cycle 1), 3. Prior to cycle 6 (15 weeks post cycle 1), 4. 6 months post cycle 1, 5. 12 months post cycle 1.
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- Provided baseline and at least one follow-up assessments (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized chemotherapy regimen, regardless of surgical assignment, as pre-specified in the study protocol).
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
FACT · Patient Reported Quality of Life (Surgery Analysis)
Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- qol key
- qol-0007
- source section id
- NCT00565851-om-0007
- source outcome index
- 7
- instrument
- FACT
- instrument basis
- matched 'fact-o' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Patient Reported Quality of Life (Surgery Analysis)
- measure definition
- Patient reported quality of life was measured with the Treatment Outcome Index (TOI) of the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy for ovarian cancer (FACT-O TOI). The FACT-O TOI is a scale for assessing general QOL of ovarian cancer patients. It consists of three subscales: Physical Well Being (7 items), Functional Well Being (7 items), and Ovarian Cancer subscale (11 items). Each item in the FACT-O TOI was scored using a 5-point scale (0=not at all; 1=a little bit; 2=somewhat; 3=quite a bit; 4=very much). The FACT-O TOI score ranges 0-100 with a large score suggests better QOL.
- time frame
- 1. Prior to surgery, 2. 6 weeks post-surgery, 3. 15 weeks post-surgery, 4. 6 months post-surgery, 5. 12 months post-surgery.
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- Provided baseline and at least one follow-up assessment (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized surgical assignment, regardless of chemotherapy regimen, as pre-specified in the study protocol).
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
SF-36 / SF-12 · Patient Reported Physical Functioning (Surgery Analysis)
Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- qol key
- qol-0008
- source section id
- NCT00565851-om-0008
- source outcome index
- 8
- instrument
- SF-36 / SF-12
- instrument basis
- matched 'sf-36' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Patient Reported Physical Functioning (Surgery Analysis)
- measure definition
- Patient reported physical functioning was measured with physical functioning subscale of the RAND SF-36. The Physical Functioning subscale consists of 10 items concerning activities of daily living: walking, climbing stairs, bathing, dressing, and performance of physical activities. Each item is rated on a three-point scale of limitation of activity due to the patients' health from 1=limited a lot to 3=not limited. The total PF score is the summation of item scores and then rescaled to 0-100. A larger score suggests better physical functioning. This measure was completed by US patients only.
- time frame
- 1. Prior to surgery (baseline), 2. 6 weeks post-surgery, 3. 15 weeks post-surgery 4. 6 months post-surgery, 5. 12 months post-surgery
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- US patients who provided baseline and ≥ 1 follow-up assessments (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized surgical assignment, regardless of chemotherapy regimen, as pre-specified in the study protocol).
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
Full draft applicability and source-link record
- trial
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- trial label
- Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Gemcitabine Hydrochloride With or Without Bevacizumab After Surgery in Treating Patients With Recurrent Ovarian, Epithelial, Primary Peritoneal, or Fall
- applicability
- narrower
- applicability note
- Linked by condition-string match at the cancer-entity level. The study's eligibility - stage, biomarker, treatment line and prior therapy - has not been reconciled against this page's definition, so its population is narrower than this page in ways not yet recorded. The condition was transformed or resolved through the terminology hierarchy to reach this cancer type, so the link itself is a candidate a reviewer must confirm.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- provenance class
- regulator-cited
- discovery note
- Found because this study's registry identifier is printed in an FDA approval notice, an FDA product label or an NCI summary held by this site. The citing document and the exact position of the identifier inside it are recorded. Being cited is not a statement that the study supports this treatment.
- outcome Count
- 6
- harms Count
- 8
- qol Count
- 4
- outcomes
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- outcome key
- om-0000
- source section id
- NCT00565851-om-0000
- source outcome index
- 0
- endpoint
- To Determine if Surgical Secondary Cytoreduction in Addition to Adjuvant Chemotherapy Increases the Duration of Overall Survival in Patients With Recurrent Platinum Sensitive Epithelial Ovarian Cancer, Peritoneal Primary or Fallopian Tube Cancer
- endpoint definition
- The treatment regimens will be compared with a logrank procedure which includes all of the patients categorized by their randomly assigned treatment. The logrank test will be stratified by the secondary surgical debulking status (randomized to undergo cytoreduction, vs randomized to not undergo secondary cytoreduction vs not a candidate or did not consent to secondary surgical cytoreduction) and the duration of treatment free-interval prior to enrolling onto this study (6-12 months vs \> 12 months). The median duration of follow-up is calculated by the reverse Kaplan-Meier method.
- time origin
- The time frame is 82.5 months (median duration of follow-up)
- analysis role
- primary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- All patients who were eligible for the surgery analysis (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized surgical assignment, regardless of chemotherapy regimen, as pre-specified in the study protocol)
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- outcome key
- om-0001
- source section id
- NCT00565851-om-0001
- source outcome index
- 1
- endpoint
- To Determine if the Addition of Bevacizumab Increases the Duration of Overall Survival Relative to Second-line Paclitaxel and Carboplatin Alone in Patients With Recurrent Platinum Sensitive Epithelial Ovarian, Peritoneal Primary or Fallopian Tube Cancer
- endpoint definition
- The treatment regimens will be compared with a logrank procedure which includes all of the patients categorized by their randomly assigned treatment. The logrank test will be stratified by the secondary surgical debulking status (randomized to undergo cytoreduction, vs randomized to not undergo secondary cytoreduction vs not a candidate or did not consent to secondary surgical cytoreduction) and the duration of treatment free-interval prior to enrolling onto this study (6-12 months vs \> 12 months). The median duration of follow-up is calculated by the reverse Kaplan-Meier method.
- time origin
- The time frame is 82.5 months (median duration of follow-up).
- analysis role
- primary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- All patients who were enrolled between December 10, 2007 and August 26, 2011 and received paclitaxel and carboplatin (with or without bevacizumab) (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized chemotherapy regimen, regardless of surgical assignment, as pre-specified in the study protocol).
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- outcome key
- om-0002
- source section id
- NCT00565851-om-0002
- source outcome index
- 2
- endpoint
- Progression-free Survival (Chemotherapy Analysis)
- endpoint definition
- Progression-free survival was defined as the time from randomization to cancer progression as shown on radiography, according to the RECIST version 1.0 criteria, an increase in the CA125 level according to Gynecologic Cancer InterGroup (GCIG) criteria, global deterioration of health, or death from any cause.
- time origin
- Radiographic assessment of disease was conducted during chemotherapy and then every 6 months during the maintenance / surveillance phase
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- All patients who were enrolled and eligible for the chemotherapy analysis (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized chemotherapy regimen, regardless of surgical assignment, as pre-specified in the study protocol).
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- outcome key
- om-0003
- source section id
- NCT00565851-om-0003
- source outcome index
- 3
- endpoint
- Progression Free Survival (Surgery Analysis)
- endpoint definition
- Progression-free survival was defined as the time from randomization to cancer progression as shown on radiography, according to the RECIST version 1.0 criteria, an increase in the CA125 level according to Gynecologic Cancer InterGroup (GCIG) criteria, global deterioration of health, or death from any cause.
- time origin
- Radiographic assessment of disease (in patients with measurable and non-measurable disease) was conducted Every three months for two years and then every 6 months after completion of chemotherapy during the maintenance/surveillance phase.
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- All randomized patients who were eligible for the surgery analysis (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized surgical assignment, regardless of chemotherapy regimen, as pre-specified in the study protocol).
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- outcome key
- om-0004
- source section id
- NCT00565851-om-0004
- source outcome index
- 4
- endpoint
- Summary of Adverse Events (CTCAE Version 4.0)
- endpoint definition
- Number of treated patients with at least one adverse event reported (assessed by Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (version 4.0))
- time origin
- During treatment period and up to 100 days after stopping the study treatment, a median duration of 82.5 months
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Eligible and treated participants
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- outcome key
- om-0005
- source section id
- NCT00565851-om-0005
- source outcome index
- 5
- endpoint
- Patient Reported Quality of Life (Chemotherapy Analysis)
- endpoint definition
- Patient reported quality of life was measured with the Treatment Outcome Index (TOI) of the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy for ovarian cancer (FACT-O TOI). The FACT-O TOI is a scale for assessing general QOL of ovarian cancer patients. It consists of three subscales: Physical Well Being (7 items), Functional Well Being (7 items), and Ovarian Cancer subscale (11 items). Each item in the FACT-O TOI was scored using a 5-point scale (0=not at all; 1=a little bit; 2=somewhat; 3=quite a bit; 4=very much). The FACT-O TOI score ranges 0-100 with a large score suggests better QOL.
- time origin
- 1. Prior to cycle 1 (baseline), 2. Prior to cycle 3 (6 weeks post cycle 1), 3. Prior to cycle 6 (15 weeks post cycle 1), 4. 6 months post cycle 1, 5. 12 months post cycle 1.
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Provided baseline and at least one follow-up assessment (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized chemotherapy regimen, regardless of surgical assignment, as pre-specified in the study protocol).
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- arms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- No Cytoreductive Surgery
- regimen
- All patients enrolled in the study who did not receive cytoreductive surgery and included in the surgery analysis
- analyzed count
- 245
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00565851-om-0000#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Cytoreductive Surgery
- regimen
- All patients enrolled in the study who received secondary cytoreductive surgery and were included in the surgery analysis
- analyzed count
- 240
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00565851-om-0000#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Paclitaxel and Carboplatin Chemotherapy
- regimen
- All patients who received paclitaxel and carboplatin chemotherapy and were included in the chemotherapy analysis
- analyzed count
- 337
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00565851-om-0001#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Paclitaxel and Carboplatin Chemotherapy With Bevacizumab
- regimen
- All patients who received paclitaxel and carboplatin chemotherapy with bevacizumab followed by bevacizumab maintenance therapy and were included in the chemotherapy analysis
- analyzed count
- 337
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00565851-om-0001#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- outcome key
- om-0002
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Paclitaxel and Carboplatin Chemotherapy
- regimen
- All patients who received paclitaxel and carboplatin chemotherapy and were included in the chemotherapy analysis
- analyzed count
- 337
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00565851-om-0002#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- outcome key
- om-0002
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Paclitaxel and Carboplatin Chemotherapy With Bevacizumab
- regimen
- All patients who received paclitaxel and carboplatin chemotherapy with bevacizumab followed by bevacizumab maintenance therapy and were included in the chemotherapy analysis
- analyzed count
- 337
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00565851-om-0002#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- outcome key
- om-0003
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- No Cytoreductive Surgery
- regimen
- All patients enrolled in the study who did not receive cytoreductive surgery and included in the surgery analysis
- analyzed count
- 245
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00565851-om-0003#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- outcome key
- om-0003
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Cytoreductive Surgery
- regimen
- All patients enrolled in the study who received secondary cytoreductive surgery and were included in the surgery analysis
- analyzed count
- 240
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00565851-om-0003#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- outcome key
- om-0004
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Arm I (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel)
- regimen
- Patients receive paclitaxel IV over 3 hours or docetaxel IV over 1 hour and carboplatin over 30 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days. Patients are not in secondary cytoreductive surgery portion of study. Carboplatin: Given IV Docetaxel: Given IV Laboratory Biomarker Analysis: Correlative studies Paclitaxel: Given IV Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies
- analyzed count
- 316
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00565851-om-0004#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- outcome key
- om-0004
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Arm II (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab)
- regimen
- Patients receive chemotherapy as in arm I and bevacizumab IV over 30-90 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days. Patients are not in secondary cytoreductive surgery portion of study. Bevacizumab: Given IV Carboplatin: Given IV Docetaxel: Given IV Laboratory Biomarker Analysis: Correlative studies Paclitaxel: Given IV Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies
- analyzed count
- 456
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00565851-om-0004#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- outcome key
- om-0004
- arm key
- OG002
- arm label
- Arm III (Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel)
- regimen
- Patients receive paclitaxel IV over 3 hours or docetaxel IV over 1 hour and carboplatin over 30 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days. Patients receive secondary cytoreductive surgery. Carboplatin: Given IV Laboratory Biomarker Analysis: Correlative studies Paclitaxel: Given IV Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies
- analyzed count
- 33
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00565851-om-0004#groups/OG002
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- outcome key
- om-0004
- arm key
- OG003
- arm label
- Arm IV (Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab)
- regimen
- Patients receive paclitaxel IV over 3 hours or docetaxel IV over 1 hour and carboplatin over 30 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days. Patients receive secondary cytoreductive surgery. Bevacizumab: Given IV Carboplatin: Given IV Docetaxel: Given IV Laboratory Biomarker Analysis: Correlative studies Paclitaxel: Given IV Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies
- analyzed count
- 165
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00565851-om-0004#groups/OG003
- harms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- harm key
- EG000
- source section id
- NCT00565851-ae
- event group key
- EG000
- event group label
- Arm I (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel)
- serious affected
- 37
- serious at risk
- 316
- other affected
- 304
- other at risk
- 316
- frequency threshold
- 0
- collection period
- During treatment period and up to 100 days after stopping the study treatment, a median duration of 82.5 months.
- event definition
- Eligible and treated participants were affected if they experienced grade 1 - 5 adverse event. Adverse events were not collected in a manner that allow them to be attributed to an intervention (i.e. surgery or chemotherapy).
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- harm key
- EG001
- source section id
- NCT00565851-ae
- event group key
- EG001
- event group label
- Arm II (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab)
- serious affected
- 104
- serious at risk
- 456
- other affected
- 376
- other at risk
- 456
- frequency threshold
- 0
- collection period
- During treatment period and up to 100 days after stopping the study treatment, a median duration of 82.5 months.
- event definition
- Eligible and treated participants were affected if they experienced grade 1 - 5 adverse event. Adverse events were not collected in a manner that allow them to be attributed to an intervention (i.e. surgery or chemotherapy).
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- harm key
- EG002
- source section id
- NCT00565851-ae
- event group key
- EG002
- event group label
- Arm III (Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel)
- serious affected
- 1
- serious at risk
- 33
- other affected
- 29
- other at risk
- 33
- frequency threshold
- 0
- collection period
- During treatment period and up to 100 days after stopping the study treatment, a median duration of 82.5 months.
- event definition
- Eligible and treated participants were affected if they experienced grade 1 - 5 adverse event. Adverse events were not collected in a manner that allow them to be attributed to an intervention (i.e. surgery or chemotherapy).
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- harm key
- EG003
- source section id
- NCT00565851-ae
- event group key
- EG003
- event group label
- Arm IV (Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab)
- serious affected
- 24
- serious at risk
- 165
- other affected
- 77
- other at risk
- 165
- frequency threshold
- 0
- collection period
- During treatment period and up to 100 days after stopping the study treatment, a median duration of 82.5 months.
- event definition
- Eligible and treated participants were affected if they experienced grade 1 - 5 adverse event. Adverse events were not collected in a manner that allow them to be attributed to an intervention (i.e. surgery or chemotherapy).
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- harm key
- EG004
- source section id
- NCT00565851-ae
- event group key
- EG004
- event group label
- Arm V (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine)
- serious affected
- 0
- serious at risk
- 6
- other affected
- 3
- other at risk
- 6
- frequency threshold
- 0
- collection period
- During treatment period and up to 100 days after stopping the study treatment, a median duration of 82.5 months.
- event definition
- Eligible and treated participants were affected if they experienced grade 1 - 5 adverse event. Adverse events were not collected in a manner that allow them to be attributed to an intervention (i.e. surgery or chemotherapy).
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- harm key
- EG005
- source section id
- NCT00565851-ae
- event group key
- EG005
- event group label
- Arm VI (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab)
- serious affected
- 1
- serious at risk
- 34
- other affected
- 9
- other at risk
- 34
- frequency threshold
- 0
- collection period
- During treatment period and up to 100 days after stopping the study treatment, a median duration of 82.5 months.
- event definition
- Eligible and treated participants were affected if they experienced grade 1 - 5 adverse event. Adverse events were not collected in a manner that allow them to be attributed to an intervention (i.e. surgery or chemotherapy).
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- harm key
- EG006
- source section id
- NCT00565851-ae
- event group key
- EG006
- event group label
- Arm VII (Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine)
- serious affected
- 2
- serious at risk
- 5
- other affected
- 3
- other at risk
- 5
- frequency threshold
- 0
- collection period
- During treatment period and up to 100 days after stopping the study treatment, a median duration of 82.5 months.
- event definition
- Eligible and treated participants were affected if they experienced grade 1 - 5 adverse event. Adverse events were not collected in a manner that allow them to be attributed to an intervention (i.e. surgery or chemotherapy).
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- harm key
- EG007
- source section id
- NCT00565851-ae
- event group key
- EG007
- event group label
- Arm VIII (Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab)
- serious affected
- 2
- serious at risk
- 37
- other affected
- 9
- other at risk
- 37
- frequency threshold
- 0
- collection period
- During treatment period and up to 100 days after stopping the study treatment, a median duration of 82.5 months.
- event definition
- Eligible and treated participants were affected if they experienced grade 1 - 5 adverse event. Adverse events were not collected in a manner that allow them to be attributed to an intervention (i.e. surgery or chemotherapy).
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- quality of life
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- qol key
- qol-0005
- source section id
- NCT00565851-om-0005
- source outcome index
- 5
- instrument
- FACT
- instrument basis
- matched 'fact-o' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Patient Reported Quality of Life (Chemotherapy Analysis)
- measure definition
- Patient reported quality of life was measured with the Treatment Outcome Index (TOI) of the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy for ovarian cancer (FACT-O TOI). The FACT-O TOI is a scale for assessing general QOL of ovarian cancer patients. It consists of three subscales: Physical Well Being (7 items), Functional Well Being (7 items), and Ovarian Cancer subscale (11 items). Each item in the FACT-O TOI was scored using a 5-point scale (0=not at all; 1=a little bit; 2=somewhat; 3=quite a bit; 4=very much). The FACT-O TOI score ranges 0-100 with a large score suggests better QOL.
- time frame
- 1. Prior to cycle 1 (baseline), 2. Prior to cycle 3 (6 weeks post cycle 1), 3. Prior to cycle 6 (15 weeks post cycle 1), 4. 6 months post cycle 1, 5. 12 months post cycle 1.
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- Provided baseline and at least one follow-up assessment (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized chemotherapy regimen, regardless of surgical assignment, as pre-specified in the study protocol).
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- qol key
- qol-0006
- source section id
- NCT00565851-om-0006
- source outcome index
- 6
- instrument
- SF-36 / SF-12
- instrument basis
- matched 'sf-36' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Patient Reported Physical Function (Chemotherapy Analysis)
- measure definition
- Patient reported physical functioning was measured with physical functioning subscale of the RAND SF-36. The Physical Functioning Subscale consists of 10 items concerning activities of daily living: walking, climbing stairs, bathing, dressing, and performance of physical activities. Each item is rated on a three-point scale of limitation of activity due to the patients' health from 1=limited a lot to 3=not limited. The total PF score is the summation of item scores and then rescaled to 0-100. A larger score suggests better physical functioning.
- time frame
- 1. Prior to cycle 1 (baseline), 2. Prior to cycle 3 (6 weeks post cycle 1), 3. Prior to cycle 6 (15 weeks post cycle 1), 4. 6 months post cycle 1, 5. 12 months post cycle 1.
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- Provided baseline and at least one follow-up assessments (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized chemotherapy regimen, regardless of surgical assignment, as pre-specified in the study protocol).
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- qol key
- qol-0007
- source section id
- NCT00565851-om-0007
- source outcome index
- 7
- instrument
- FACT
- instrument basis
- matched 'fact-o' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Patient Reported Quality of Life (Surgery Analysis)
- measure definition
- Patient reported quality of life was measured with the Treatment Outcome Index (TOI) of the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy for ovarian cancer (FACT-O TOI). The FACT-O TOI is a scale for assessing general QOL of ovarian cancer patients. It consists of three subscales: Physical Well Being (7 items), Functional Well Being (7 items), and Ovarian Cancer subscale (11 items). Each item in the FACT-O TOI was scored using a 5-point scale (0=not at all; 1=a little bit; 2=somewhat; 3=quite a bit; 4=very much). The FACT-O TOI score ranges 0-100 with a large score suggests better QOL.
- time frame
- 1. Prior to surgery, 2. 6 weeks post-surgery, 3. 15 weeks post-surgery, 4. 6 months post-surgery, 5. 12 months post-surgery.
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- Provided baseline and at least one follow-up assessment (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized surgical assignment, regardless of chemotherapy regimen, as pre-specified in the study protocol).
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-transitional-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00565851
- qol key
- qol-0008
- source section id
- NCT00565851-om-0008
- source outcome index
- 8
- instrument
- SF-36 / SF-12
- instrument basis
- matched 'sf-36' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Patient Reported Physical Functioning (Surgery Analysis)
- measure definition
- Patient reported physical functioning was measured with physical functioning subscale of the RAND SF-36. The Physical Functioning subscale consists of 10 items concerning activities of daily living: walking, climbing stairs, bathing, dressing, and performance of physical activities. Each item is rated on a three-point scale of limitation of activity due to the patients' health from 1=limited a lot to 3=not limited. The total PF score is the summation of item scores and then rescaled to 0-100. A larger score suggests better physical functioning. This measure was completed by US patients only.
- time frame
- 1. Prior to surgery (baseline), 2. 6 weeks post-surgery, 3. 15 weeks post-surgery 4. 6 months post-surgery, 5. 12 months post-surgery
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- US patients who provided baseline and ≥ 1 follow-up assessments (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized surgical assignment, regardless of chemotherapy regimen, as pre-specified in the study protocol).
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- setting source links
Preserved source evidence · Not medical advice
Triangle