NCT04541355 · STUDY IN CONTEXT
Sodium Thiosulfate in Preventing Ototoxicity for Squamous Cell Cancer Patients Undergoing Chemoradiation With Cisplatin
Draft scope assessment: narrower. Linked by condition-string match at the cancer-entity level. The study's eligibility - stage, biomarker, treatment line and prior therapy - has not been reconciled against this page's definition, so its population is narrower than this page in ways not yet recorded. The condition was transformed or resolved through the terminology hierarchy to reach this cancer type, so the link itself is a candidate a reviewer must confirm. Found by searching ClinicalTrials.gov for this cancer type, restricted to studies that have posted results to the registry. No FDA notice, FDA label or NCI summary held by this site cites this study. Because the search asked for posted results, studies without posted results were never looked for, so their absence from this page means nothing.
Read the full study record and all posted results →
Linked outcomes
Evaluated as the successful completion of at least 5 weekly cisplatin or 2 high dose cisplatin without any extended treatment related delays more than 7 days. Overall successful completion is defined as completion by at least 75% of patients.
The proportion of participants with a reported change of grade \>= 2 hearing impairments based on National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5.0 (for patients on a monitoring program with audiogram) will be reported.
The frequency of tinnitus will be measured by participants' worst level response at any time point on the PRO-CTCAE® question "In the last 7 days, what was the severity of ringing in your ears at its worst?". Item responses were categorized as 'None', 'Mild', 'Moderate', 'Severe', and 'Very Severe'.
The percentage of participants reporting STS specific adverse events will be measured by affirmative responses on the PRO-CTCAE® on any of the selected oral, gastrointestinal, neurologic and visual/perceptual symptoms.
The Hearing Handicap Inventory for Adults -Screener (HHIA-S), is a 10-item, self-assessment screening assessment developed to quickly determine the suggested level of hearing handicap. The participants respond to each of the items with a Yes (score of 4), Sometimes (score of 2), or No (score of 0). Total Scores are then summed for overall score (range 0-40) and then assigned a category for a suggested hearing handicap; 0-8 suggesting no handicap, 10-24 suggesting a mild-moderate handicap, and 26-40 suggesting significant hearing handicap. The frequency of participants for worse reported score will be reported
Reported safety
Quality of life and patient-reported measures
PRO-CTCAE · Number of Participants Reporting Tinnitus by Severity
Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-stage-ivc-lip-and-oral-cavity-cancer-ajcc-v8
- nct id
- NCT04541355
- qol key
- qol-0002
- source section id
- NCT04541355-om-0002
- source outcome index
- 2
- instrument
- PRO-CTCAE
- instrument basis
- matched 'pro-ctcae' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Number of Participants Reporting Tinnitus by Severity
- measure definition
- The frequency of tinnitus will be measured by participants' worst level response at any time point on the PRO-CTCAE® question "In the last 7 days, what was the severity of ringing in your ears at its worst?". Item responses were categorized as 'None', 'Mild', 'Moderate', 'Severe', and 'Very Severe'.
- time frame
- Up to 18 weeks
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
PRO-CTCAE · Percentage of Participants Reporting Sodium Thiosulfate (STS)-Specific Symptomology
Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-stage-ivc-lip-and-oral-cavity-cancer-ajcc-v8
- nct id
- NCT04541355
- qol key
- qol-0003
- source section id
- NCT04541355-om-0003
- source outcome index
- 3
- instrument
- PRO-CTCAE
- instrument basis
- matched 'pro-ctcae' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Percentage of Participants Reporting Sodium Thiosulfate (STS)-Specific Symptomology
- measure definition
- The percentage of participants reporting STS specific adverse events will be measured by affirmative responses on the PRO-CTCAE® on any of the selected oral, gastrointestinal, neurologic and visual/perceptual symptoms.
- time frame
- Up to 18 weeks
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
Full draft applicability and source-link record
- trial
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-stage-ivc-lip-and-oral-cavity-cancer-ajcc-v8
- nct id
- NCT04541355
- trial label
- Sodium Thiosulfate in Preventing Ototoxicity for Squamous Cell Cancer Patients Undergoing Chemoradiation With Cisplatin
- applicability
- narrower
- applicability note
- Linked by condition-string match at the cancer-entity level. The study's eligibility - stage, biomarker, treatment line and prior therapy - has not been reconciled against this page's definition, so its population is narrower than this page in ways not yet recorded. The condition was transformed or resolved through the terminology hierarchy to reach this cancer type, so the link itself is a candidate a reviewer must confirm.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- provenance class
- registry-condition-search
- discovery note
- Found by searching ClinicalTrials.gov for this cancer type, restricted to studies that have posted results to the registry. No FDA notice, FDA label or NCI summary held by this site cites this study. Because the search asked for posted results, studies without posted results were never looked for, so their absence from this page means nothing.
- outcome Count
- 5
- harms Count
- 1
- qol Count
- 2
- outcomes
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-stage-ivc-lip-and-oral-cavity-cancer-ajcc-v8
- nct id
- NCT04541355
- outcome key
- om-0000
- source section id
- NCT04541355-om-0000
- source outcome index
- 0
- endpoint
- Number of Participants Who Successfully Completed Planned Treatment
- endpoint definition
- Evaluated as the successful completion of at least 5 weekly cisplatin or 2 high dose cisplatin without any extended treatment related delays more than 7 days. Overall successful completion is defined as completion by at least 75% of patients.
- time origin
- Up to 7 weeks
- analysis role
- primary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-stage-ivc-lip-and-oral-cavity-cancer-ajcc-v8
- nct id
- NCT04541355
- outcome key
- om-0001
- source section id
- NCT04541355-om-0001
- source outcome index
- 1
- endpoint
- Proportion of Participants With Reported High Grade Ototoxicity
- endpoint definition
- The proportion of participants with a reported change of grade \>= 2 hearing impairments based on National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5.0 (for patients on a monitoring program with audiogram) will be reported.
- time origin
- Up to 18 weeks
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-stage-ivc-lip-and-oral-cavity-cancer-ajcc-v8
- nct id
- NCT04541355
- outcome key
- om-0002
- source section id
- NCT04541355-om-0002
- source outcome index
- 2
- endpoint
- Number of Participants Reporting Tinnitus by Severity
- endpoint definition
- The frequency of tinnitus will be measured by participants' worst level response at any time point on the PRO-CTCAE® question "In the last 7 days, what was the severity of ringing in your ears at its worst?". Item responses were categorized as 'None', 'Mild', 'Moderate', 'Severe', and 'Very Severe'.
- time origin
- Up to 18 weeks
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-stage-ivc-lip-and-oral-cavity-cancer-ajcc-v8
- nct id
- NCT04541355
- outcome key
- om-0003
- source section id
- NCT04541355-om-0003
- source outcome index
- 3
- endpoint
- Percentage of Participants Reporting Sodium Thiosulfate (STS)-Specific Symptomology
- endpoint definition
- The percentage of participants reporting STS specific adverse events will be measured by affirmative responses on the PRO-CTCAE® on any of the selected oral, gastrointestinal, neurologic and visual/perceptual symptoms.
- time origin
- Up to 18 weeks
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-stage-ivc-lip-and-oral-cavity-cancer-ajcc-v8
- nct id
- NCT04541355
- outcome key
- om-0004
- source section id
- NCT04541355-om-0004
- source outcome index
- 4
- endpoint
- Frequency of Hearing Handicap
- endpoint definition
- The Hearing Handicap Inventory for Adults -Screener (HHIA-S), is a 10-item, self-assessment screening assessment developed to quickly determine the suggested level of hearing handicap. The participants respond to each of the items with a Yes (score of 4), Sometimes (score of 2), or No (score of 0). Total Scores are then summed for overall score (range 0-40) and then assigned a category for a suggested hearing handicap; 0-8 suggesting no handicap, 10-24 suggesting a mild-moderate handicap, and 26-40 suggesting significant hearing handicap. The frequency of participants for worse reported score will be reported
- time origin
- Up to 18 weeks
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- arms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-stage-ivc-lip-and-oral-cavity-cancer-ajcc-v8
- nct id
- NCT04541355
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Cisplatin, Radiotherapy, STS
- regimen
- Participants undergo standard of care radiation therapy daily in combination with cisplatin on day 1. Between 4-5 hours after each cisplatin infusion, patients also receive sodium thiosulfate over 1-2 hours on day 1. Treatment will continue on either a 1 week or 3 week cycle per physician discretion for up to 6-7 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
- analyzed count
- 16
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT04541355-om-0000#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-stage-ivc-lip-and-oral-cavity-cancer-ajcc-v8
- nct id
- NCT04541355
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Cisplatin, Radiotherapy, STS
- regimen
- Participants undergo standard of care radiation therapy daily in combination with cisplatin on day 1. Between 4-5 hours after each cisplatin infusion, patients also receive sodium thiosulfate over 1-2 hours on day 1. Treatment will continue on either a 1 week or 3 week cycle per physician discretion for up to 6-7 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
- analyzed count
- 16
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT04541355-om-0001#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-stage-ivc-lip-and-oral-cavity-cancer-ajcc-v8
- nct id
- NCT04541355
- outcome key
- om-0002
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Cisplatin, Radiotherapy, STS
- regimen
- Participants undergo standard of care radiation therapy daily in combination with cisplatin on day 1. Between 4-5 hours after each cisplatin infusion, patients also receive sodium thiosulfate over 1-2 hours on day 1. Treatment will continue on either a 1 week or 3 week cycle per physician discretion for up to 6-7 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
- analyzed count
- 16
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT04541355-om-0002#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-stage-ivc-lip-and-oral-cavity-cancer-ajcc-v8
- nct id
- NCT04541355
- outcome key
- om-0003
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Cisplatin, Radiotherapy, STS
- regimen
- Participants undergo standard of care radiation therapy daily in combination with cisplatin on day 1. Between 4-5 hours after each cisplatin infusion, patients also receive sodium thiosulfate over 1-2 hours on day 1. Treatment will continue on either a 1 week or 3 week cycle per physician discretion for up to 6-7 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
- analyzed count
- 16
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT04541355-om-0003#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-stage-ivc-lip-and-oral-cavity-cancer-ajcc-v8
- nct id
- NCT04541355
- outcome key
- om-0004
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Cisplatin, Radiotherapy, STS
- regimen
- Participants undergo standard of care radiation therapy daily in combination with cisplatin on day 1. Between 4-5 hours after each cisplatin infusion, patients also receive sodium thiosulfate over 1-2 hours on day 1. Treatment will continue on either a 1 week or 3 week cycle per physician discretion for up to 6-7 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
- analyzed count
- 16
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT04541355-om-0004#groups/OG000
- harms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-stage-ivc-lip-and-oral-cavity-cancer-ajcc-v8
- nct id
- NCT04541355
- harm key
- EG000
- source section id
- NCT04541355-ae
- event group key
- EG000
- event group label
- Cisplatin, Radiotherapy, STS
- serious affected
- 1
- serious at risk
- 16
- other affected
- 16
- other at risk
- 16
- frequency threshold
- 0
- collection period
- Up to 18 weeks
- event definition
- Source null
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- quality of life
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-stage-ivc-lip-and-oral-cavity-cancer-ajcc-v8
- nct id
- NCT04541355
- qol key
- qol-0002
- source section id
- NCT04541355-om-0002
- source outcome index
- 2
- instrument
- PRO-CTCAE
- instrument basis
- matched 'pro-ctcae' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Number of Participants Reporting Tinnitus by Severity
- measure definition
- The frequency of tinnitus will be measured by participants' worst level response at any time point on the PRO-CTCAE® question "In the last 7 days, what was the severity of ringing in your ears at its worst?". Item responses were categorized as 'None', 'Mild', 'Moderate', 'Severe', and 'Very Severe'.
- time frame
- Up to 18 weeks
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-stage-ivc-lip-and-oral-cavity-cancer-ajcc-v8
- nct id
- NCT04541355
- qol key
- qol-0003
- source section id
- NCT04541355-om-0003
- source outcome index
- 3
- instrument
- PRO-CTCAE
- instrument basis
- matched 'pro-ctcae' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Percentage of Participants Reporting Sodium Thiosulfate (STS)-Specific Symptomology
- measure definition
- The percentage of participants reporting STS specific adverse events will be measured by affirmative responses on the PRO-CTCAE® on any of the selected oral, gastrointestinal, neurologic and visual/perceptual symptoms.
- time frame
- Up to 18 weeks
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- setting source links
Preserved source evidence · Not medical advice
Triangle