NCT00797732 · STUDY IN CONTEXT
A Pilot Study of Acupuncture Treatment for Dysphagia
Draft scope assessment: narrower. Linked by condition-string match at the cancer-entity level. The study's eligibility - stage, biomarker, treatment line and prior therapy - has not been reconciled against this page's definition, so its population is narrower than this page in ways not yet recorded. The condition was transformed or resolved through the terminology hierarchy to reach this cancer type, so the link itself is a candidate a reviewer must confirm. Found by searching ClinicalTrials.gov for this cancer type, restricted to studies that have posted results to the registry. No FDA notice, FDA label or NCI summary held by this site cites this study. Because the search asked for posted results, studies without posted results were never looked for, so their absence from this page means nothing.
Read the full study record and all posted results →
Linked outcomes
Outcome compliance rate is the percentage of enrolled participants who completed the primary study assessments (at baseline and in long-term follow-up 6 months post acupuncture treatment).
Treatment compliance rate is the percentage of enrolled participants who completed at least 80% of treatment (10 of 12 acupuncture sessions).
The M.D. Anderson Dysphagia Inventory (MDADI) is a validated, self-administered questionnaire established as the best measure of dysphagia-related quality of life in HNC patients. (Carlsson S, et al Dysphagia 2012; 27: 361-369). MDADI has two summary scores: 1) global (1 item) and 2) composite (19 items). Each item is scored on a 5 point Likert scale (strongly disagree, disagree, no opinion, agree, strongly agree). The composite MDADI score is a weighted average of the physical, emotional, and functional subscale questions. Scores are normalized to range from 20 (extremely low functioning) to 100 (high functioning). A minimal clinically important within group difference was a 10% change from baseline.
The M.D. Anderson Dysphagia Inventory (MDADI) is a validated, self-administered questionnaire established as the best measure of dysphagia-related quality of life in HNC patients. (Carlsson S, et al Dysphagia 2012; 27: 361-369). MDADI has two summary scores: 1) global (1 item) and 2) composite (19 items). Each item is scored on a 5 point Likert scale (strongly disagree, disagree, no opinion, agree, strongly agree). The composite MDADI score is a weighted average of the physical, emotional, and functional subscale questions. Scores are normalized to range from 20 (extremely low functioning) to 100 (high functioning). A minimal clinically important within group difference was a 10% change from baseline.
Reported safety
Quality of life and patient-reported measures
Unnamed quality-of-life measure · MDADI Change From Baseline to 12 Months Post Chemoradiation Therapy (CRT)
Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-squamous-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00797732
- qol key
- qol-0002
- source section id
- NCT00797732-om-0002
- source outcome index
- 2
- instrument
- Unnamed quality-of-life measure
- instrument basis
- matched 'quality of life' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- MDADI Change From Baseline to 12 Months Post Chemoradiation Therapy (CRT)
- measure definition
- The M.D. Anderson Dysphagia Inventory (MDADI) is a validated, self-administered questionnaire established as the best measure of dysphagia-related quality of life in HNC patients. (Carlsson S, et al Dysphagia 2012; 27: 361-369). MDADI has two summary scores: 1) global (1 item) and 2) composite (19 items). Each item is scored on a 5 point Likert scale (strongly disagree, disagree, no opinion, agree, strongly agree). The composite MDADI score is a weighted average of the physical, emotional, and functional subscale questions. Scores are normalized to range from 20 (extremely low functioning) to 100 (high functioning). A minimal clinically important within group difference was a 10% change from baseline.
- time frame
- Assessed at baseline and 6 months post acupuncture which parallels 12 months post-CRT
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- The analysis population represents the subset of participants evaluable at baseline and 12 months post CRT/6 months post acupuncture
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
Unnamed quality-of-life measure · MDADI Scores
Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-squamous-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00797732
- qol key
- qol-0003
- source section id
- NCT00797732-om-0003
- source outcome index
- 3
- instrument
- Unnamed quality-of-life measure
- instrument basis
- matched 'quality of life' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- MDADI Scores
- measure definition
- The M.D. Anderson Dysphagia Inventory (MDADI) is a validated, self-administered questionnaire established as the best measure of dysphagia-related quality of life in HNC patients. (Carlsson S, et al Dysphagia 2012; 27: 361-369). MDADI has two summary scores: 1) global (1 item) and 2) composite (19 items). Each item is scored on a 5 point Likert scale (strongly disagree, disagree, no opinion, agree, strongly agree). The composite MDADI score is a weighted average of the physical, emotional, and functional subscale questions. Scores are normalized to range from 20 (extremely low functioning) to 100 (high functioning). A minimal clinically important within group difference was a 10% change from baseline.
- time frame
- Assessed at baseline, 20 weeks post chemoradiation therapy and 6 months post acupuncture
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- The analysis population is comprised of all randomized participants. At each timepoint, a subset of participants were evaluable for quality of life assessment.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
Full draft applicability and source-link record
- trial
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-squamous-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00797732
- trial label
- A Pilot Study of Acupuncture Treatment for Dysphagia
- applicability
- narrower
- applicability note
- Linked by condition-string match at the cancer-entity level. The study's eligibility - stage, biomarker, treatment line and prior therapy - has not been reconciled against this page's definition, so its population is narrower than this page in ways not yet recorded. The condition was transformed or resolved through the terminology hierarchy to reach this cancer type, so the link itself is a candidate a reviewer must confirm.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- provenance class
- registry-condition-search
- discovery note
- Found by searching ClinicalTrials.gov for this cancer type, restricted to studies that have posted results to the registry. No FDA notice, FDA label or NCI summary held by this site cites this study. Because the search asked for posted results, studies without posted results were never looked for, so their absence from this page means nothing.
- outcome Count
- 4
- harms Count
- 2
- qol Count
- 2
- outcomes
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-squamous-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00797732
- outcome key
- om-0000
- source section id
- NCT00797732-om-0000
- source outcome index
- 0
- endpoint
- Outcome Compliance Rate
- endpoint definition
- Outcome compliance rate is the percentage of enrolled participants who completed the primary study assessments (at baseline and in long-term follow-up 6 months post acupuncture treatment).
- time origin
- Assessed at baseline and at 6 months post acupuncture treatment
- analysis role
- primary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- The analysis population is comprised of all randomized participants.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-squamous-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00797732
- outcome key
- om-0001
- source section id
- NCT00797732-om-0001
- source outcome index
- 1
- endpoint
- Treatment Compliance Rate
- endpoint definition
- Treatment compliance rate is the percentage of enrolled participants who completed at least 80% of treatment (10 of 12 acupuncture sessions).
- time origin
- Assessed throughout the 6 month treatment period (12 acupuncture treatments every 2 weeks)
- analysis role
- primary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- The analysis population is comprised of all randomized participants.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-squamous-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00797732
- outcome key
- om-0002
- source section id
- NCT00797732-om-0002
- source outcome index
- 2
- endpoint
- MDADI Change From Baseline to 12 Months Post Chemoradiation Therapy (CRT)
- endpoint definition
- The M.D. Anderson Dysphagia Inventory (MDADI) is a validated, self-administered questionnaire established as the best measure of dysphagia-related quality of life in HNC patients. (Carlsson S, et al Dysphagia 2012; 27: 361-369). MDADI has two summary scores: 1) global (1 item) and 2) composite (19 items). Each item is scored on a 5 point Likert scale (strongly disagree, disagree, no opinion, agree, strongly agree). The composite MDADI score is a weighted average of the physical, emotional, and functional subscale questions. Scores are normalized to range from 20 (extremely low functioning) to 100 (high functioning). A minimal clinically important within group difference was a 10% change from baseline.
- time origin
- Assessed at baseline and 6 months post acupuncture which parallels 12 months post-CRT
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- The analysis population represents the subset of participants evaluable at baseline and 12 months post CRT/6 months post acupuncture
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-squamous-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00797732
- outcome key
- om-0003
- source section id
- NCT00797732-om-0003
- source outcome index
- 3
- endpoint
- MDADI Scores
- endpoint definition
- The M.D. Anderson Dysphagia Inventory (MDADI) is a validated, self-administered questionnaire established as the best measure of dysphagia-related quality of life in HNC patients. (Carlsson S, et al Dysphagia 2012; 27: 361-369). MDADI has two summary scores: 1) global (1 item) and 2) composite (19 items). Each item is scored on a 5 point Likert scale (strongly disagree, disagree, no opinion, agree, strongly agree). The composite MDADI score is a weighted average of the physical, emotional, and functional subscale questions. Scores are normalized to range from 20 (extremely low functioning) to 100 (high functioning). A minimal clinically important within group difference was a 10% change from baseline.
- time origin
- Assessed at baseline, 20 weeks post chemoradiation therapy and 6 months post acupuncture
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- The analysis population is comprised of all randomized participants. At each timepoint, a subset of participants were evaluable for quality of life assessment.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- arms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-squamous-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00797732
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Active Acupuncture
- regimen
- Both active and sham acupuncture were administered by 5 experienced staff acupuncturists employing a traditional Chinese medicine (TCM) style, once every 2 weeks for 24 weeks, starting 2 weeks into CRT and ending at 20 weeks after CRT.
- analyzed count
- 21
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00797732-om-0000#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-squamous-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00797732
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Sham Acupuncture
- regimen
- Both active and sham acupuncture were administered by 5 experienced staff acupuncturists employing a traditional Chinese medicine (TCM) style, once every 2 weeks for 24 weeks, starting 2 weeks into CRT and ending at 20 weeks after CRT.
- analyzed count
- 21
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00797732-om-0000#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-squamous-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00797732
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Active Acupuncture
- regimen
- Both active and sham acupuncture were administered by 5 experienced staff acupuncturists employing a traditional Chinese medicine (TCM) style, once every 2 weeks for 24 weeks, starting 2 weeks into CRT and ending at 20 weeks after CRT.
- analyzed count
- 21
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00797732-om-0001#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-squamous-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00797732
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Sham Acupuncture
- regimen
- Both active and sham acupuncture were administered by 5 experienced staff acupuncturists employing a traditional Chinese medicine (TCM) style, once every 2 weeks for 24 weeks, starting 2 weeks into CRT and ending at 20 weeks after CRT.
- analyzed count
- 21
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00797732-om-0001#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-squamous-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00797732
- outcome key
- om-0002
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Active Acupuncture
- regimen
- Both active and sham acupuncture were administered by 5 experienced staff acupuncturists employing a traditional Chinese medicine (TCM) style, once every 2 weeks for 24 weeks, starting 2 weeks into CRT and ending at 20 weeks after CRT.
- analyzed count
- 16
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00797732-om-0002#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-squamous-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00797732
- outcome key
- om-0002
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Sham Acupuncture
- regimen
- Both active and sham acupuncture were administered by 5 experienced staff acupuncturists employing a traditional Chinese medicine (TCM) style, once every 2 weeks for 24 weeks, starting 2 weeks into CRT and ending at 20 weeks after CRT.
- analyzed count
- 18
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00797732-om-0002#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-squamous-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00797732
- outcome key
- om-0003
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Active Acupuncture
- regimen
- Both active and sham acupuncture were administered by 5 experienced staff acupuncturists employing a traditional Chinese medicine (TCM) style, once every 2 weeks for 24 weeks, starting 2 weeks into CRT and ending at 20 weeks after CRT.
- analyzed count
- 21
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00797732-om-0003#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-squamous-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00797732
- outcome key
- om-0003
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Sham Acupuncture
- regimen
- Both active and sham acupuncture were administered by 5 experienced staff acupuncturists employing a traditional Chinese medicine (TCM) style, once every 2 weeks for 24 weeks, starting 2 weeks into CRT and ending at 20 weeks after CRT.
- analyzed count
- 21
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00797732-om-0003#groups/OG001
- harms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-squamous-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00797732
- harm key
- EG000
- source section id
- NCT00797732-ae
- event group key
- EG000
- event group label
- Active Acupuncture
- serious affected
- 0
- serious at risk
- 21
- other affected
- 1
- other at risk
- 21
- frequency threshold
- 0
- collection period
- Adverse events were evaluated throughout treatment at each visit up to end of treatment week 20 after CRT.
- event definition
- Source null
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-squamous-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00797732
- harm key
- EG001
- source section id
- NCT00797732-ae
- event group key
- EG001
- event group label
- Sham Acupuncture
- serious affected
- 0
- serious at risk
- 21
- other affected
- 0
- other at risk
- 21
- frequency threshold
- 0
- collection period
- Adverse events were evaluated throughout treatment at each visit up to end of treatment week 20 after CRT.
- event definition
- Source null
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- quality of life
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-squamous-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00797732
- qol key
- qol-0002
- source section id
- NCT00797732-om-0002
- source outcome index
- 2
- instrument
- Unnamed quality-of-life measure
- instrument basis
- matched 'quality of life' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- MDADI Change From Baseline to 12 Months Post Chemoradiation Therapy (CRT)
- measure definition
- The M.D. Anderson Dysphagia Inventory (MDADI) is a validated, self-administered questionnaire established as the best measure of dysphagia-related quality of life in HNC patients. (Carlsson S, et al Dysphagia 2012; 27: 361-369). MDADI has two summary scores: 1) global (1 item) and 2) composite (19 items). Each item is scored on a 5 point Likert scale (strongly disagree, disagree, no opinion, agree, strongly agree). The composite MDADI score is a weighted average of the physical, emotional, and functional subscale questions. Scores are normalized to range from 20 (extremely low functioning) to 100 (high functioning). A minimal clinically important within group difference was a 10% change from baseline.
- time frame
- Assessed at baseline and 6 months post acupuncture which parallels 12 months post-CRT
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- The analysis population represents the subset of participants evaluable at baseline and 12 months post CRT/6 months post acupuncture
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-squamous-cell-carcinoma
- nct id
- NCT00797732
- qol key
- qol-0003
- source section id
- NCT00797732-om-0003
- source outcome index
- 3
- instrument
- Unnamed quality-of-life measure
- instrument basis
- matched 'quality of life' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- MDADI Scores
- measure definition
- The M.D. Anderson Dysphagia Inventory (MDADI) is a validated, self-administered questionnaire established as the best measure of dysphagia-related quality of life in HNC patients. (Carlsson S, et al Dysphagia 2012; 27: 361-369). MDADI has two summary scores: 1) global (1 item) and 2) composite (19 items). Each item is scored on a 5 point Likert scale (strongly disagree, disagree, no opinion, agree, strongly agree). The composite MDADI score is a weighted average of the physical, emotional, and functional subscale questions. Scores are normalized to range from 20 (extremely low functioning) to 100 (high functioning). A minimal clinically important within group difference was a 10% change from baseline.
- time frame
- Assessed at baseline, 20 weeks post chemoradiation therapy and 6 months post acupuncture
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- The analysis population is comprised of all randomized participants. At each timepoint, a subset of participants were evaluable for quality of life assessment.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- setting source links
Preserved source evidence · Not medical advice
Triangle