Skip to content
← ABIRATERONE ACETATE: metastatic Prostate Cancer

NCT02677896 · STUDY IN CONTEXT

A Study of Enzalutamide Plus Androgen Deprivation Therapy (ADT) Versus Placebo Plus ADT in Patients With Metastatic Hormone Sensitive Prostate Cancer (mHSPC)

Draft scope assessment: unclear. Attached because the study's own record describes metastatic disease. The study was not selected for this indication by its sponsor, and its eligibility has not been reconciled against this page in full. Found because this study's registry identifier is printed in an FDA approval notice, an FDA product label or an NCI summary held by this site. The citing document and the exact position of the identifier inside it are recorded. Being cited is not a statement that the study supports this treatment.

Read the full study record and all posted results →

Linked outcomes

Measures are not ranked. Open each original source section for treatment groups, denominators, units and results.

primary · POSTED

rPFS was calculated as the time from the date of randomization to the first objective evidence of radiographic progression disease (rPD) at any time or death up to 24 weeks after study drug discontinuation without documented radiographic progression, whichever occurred first. rPD was defined as progressive disease by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors version 1.1 for soft tissue disease or by appearance of 2 or more new lesions on bone scan compared to baseline or week 13 according to PCWG2 criteria, as assessed by ICR or death. In participants with no rPFS event, rPFS was censored on the date of last evaluable radiographic assessment prior to the data analysis cutoff date. In participants with no baseline radiographic assessment, participants with no postbaseline radiographic assessments and participants with all postbaseline radiographic assessments documented as "not evaluable (NE)," rPFS was censored on the date of randomization.

ITT population is defined as all participants who were randomized in this study.

→

primary · POSTED

rPFS was calculated as the time from the date of randomization to the first objective evidence of radiographic progression disease (rPD) at any time or death up to 24 weeks after study drug discontinuation without documented radiographic progression, whichever occurred first. rPD was defined as progressive disease by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors version 1.1 for soft tissue disease or by appearance of 2 or more new lesions on bone scan compared to baseline for week 13 or the best response on treatment for week 25 or later assessments, as assessed by ICR or death. In participants with no rPFS event, rPFS was censored on the date of last evaluable radiographic assessment prior to the data analysis cutoff date. In participants with no baseline radiographic assessment, participants with no postbaseline radiographic assessments and participants with all postbaseline radiographic assessments documented as "not evaluable (NE)," rPFS was censored on the date of randomization.

ITT

→

secondary · POSTED

OS was defined as the time from randomization to death due to any cause. In participants still alive at the date of the analysis cutoff point, OS was censored on the last date the participant was known to be alive. OS was analyzed using Kaplan-Meier estimates.

ITT population

→

secondary · POSTED

Time to PSA progression was calculated as the time from the date of randomization to the first observation of PSA progression. A PSA progression was defined as a ≥ 25% increase and an absolute increase of ≥ 2 ng/mL above the nadir, which was confirmed by a second consecutive value at least 3 weeks later. In participants with no PSA progression, time to PSA progression was censored on the date of the last PSA sample taken (or last value prior to 2 or more consecutive missed PSA assessments).

ITT

→

secondary · POSTED

In participants with a new antineoplastic therapy initiated for prostate cancer after randomization, time to start of a new antineoplastic therapy was defined as the time interval from randomization to the date of the first dose administration of the first antineoplastic therapy. In participants with no new antineoplastic therapy initiated for prostate cancer after randomization, time to start of new antineoplastic therapy was censored on the last visit date or the date of randomization, whichever occurred last. Time to start of new antineoplastic therapy was analyzed using Kaplan-Meier estimates.

ITT Population

→

secondary · POSTED

The PSA undetectable rate was defined as the percentage of participants with undetectable (\< 0.2 ng/mL) PSA values at any time during study treatment, of those participants with detectable (≥ 0.2 ng/mL) PSA values at baseline.

ITT with detectable PSA at baseline

→

Reported safety

Serious events are not the same as severe events. Compare the original safety groups and their at-risk populations.

Open the study safety table →

Quality of life and patient-reported measures

EORTC QLQ · Time to Deterioration in Urinary Symptoms

Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.

release id
clinical-indications-draft-1
disease state id
ds-prostate-cancer-abiraterone-acetate-159cbe11
nct id
NCT02677896
qol key
qol-0007
source section id
NCT02677896-om-0007
source outcome index
7
instrument
EORTC QLQ
instrument basis
matched 'qlq' in the study's own wording
scale title
Time to Deterioration in Urinary Symptoms
measure definition
In participants with deterioration, the time to deterioration was calculated as the time interval between randomization and the first deterioration in urinary symptoms at any postbaseline visit. A deterioration in urinary symptoms was defined as an increase in the Quality of Life Prostate-specific Questionnaire (QLQ-PR25) modified urinary symptoms. Subscale score by ≥ 50% of the standard deviation observed in the QLQ-PR25 modified urinary symptoms subscale score at baseline. Modified urinary symptoms subscale score consisted of 3-items (Q31 - Q33) from the QLQ-PR25, each scored from 1 (not at all) to 4 (very much). The total modified urinary symptoms subscale score ranges from 0-100, with higher scores represents a higher level of symptomatology/problems. In participants without deterioration in urinary symptoms, the time to deterioration in urinary symptoms was censored on the date the last urinary symptoms QLQ-PR25 score was calculable.
time frame
From date of randomization to the first deterioration in urinary symptoms at any postbaseline visit (maximum duration was 26.6 months)
analysis role
secondary
reporting status
POSTED
higher is better
Source null
direction quote
Source null
population note
ITT
curation status
draft
reviewed by
Source null
reviewed at
Source null
created at
2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
Open the exact result →
FACT · Time to Deterioration of Quality of Life (QoL) in Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy-Prostate (FACT-P)

Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.

release id
clinical-indications-draft-1
disease state id
ds-prostate-cancer-abiraterone-acetate-159cbe11
nct id
NCT02677896
qol key
qol-0010
source section id
NCT02677896-om-0010
source outcome index
10
instrument
FACT
instrument basis
matched 'fact-p' in the study's own wording
scale title
Time to Deterioration of Quality of Life (QoL) in Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy-Prostate (FACT-P)
measure definition
Time to deterioration of QoL was calculated as the time interval from the date of randomization to the first date a decline from baseline of 10 points or more in the FACT-P total score was recorded. The FACT-P consists of 27 core items that assess participant function in 4 domains and 12 prostate cancer-related items grouped into 5 subscales as follows: physical wellbeing, social/family wellbeing, emotional wellbeing, functional wellbeing and prostate cancer subscale. Each item is rated on a 0 to 4 Likert-type scale. The FACT-P total score is the sum of all 5 subscale scores of the FACT-P questionnaire and ranges from 0 to 156), where high score represent better quality of life. In participants without FACT-P progression, the time to deterioration of QoL was censored on the date of the last FACT-P total score was calculable.
time frame
From the date of randomization to the first date a decline from baseline of 10 points or more in the FACT-P total score (maximum duration was 26.6 months)
analysis role
secondary
reporting status
POSTED
higher is better
Source null
direction quote
Source null
population note
ITT
curation status
draft
reviewed by
Source null
reviewed at
Source null
created at
2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
Open the exact result →
Brief Pain Inventory · Time to Pain Progression Based on Brief Pain Inventory-Short Form (BPI-SF)

Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.

release id
clinical-indications-draft-1
disease state id
ds-prostate-cancer-abiraterone-acetate-159cbe11
nct id
NCT02677896
qol key
qol-0011
source section id
NCT02677896-om-0011
source outcome index
11
instrument
Brief Pain Inventory
instrument basis
matched 'brief pain inventory' in the study's own wording
scale title
Time to Pain Progression Based on Brief Pain Inventory-Short Form (BPI-SF)
measure definition
Time to pain progression was defined as time from randomization to the first pain progression event. Pain progression was defined as an increase of ≥ 30% from baseline in the average BPI-SF pain severity score. BPI-SF contains 9 questions with rating scales from 0 (no pain/no interference) to 10 (worst pain/interferes completely). Total score was calculated as the average of each question. Higher scores represent a higher level of pain or interference. In participants with no pain progression event, time to pain progression was censored on the last visit date where BPI-SF was collected.
time frame
From randomization to the first pain progression event (maximum duration was 26.6 months)
analysis role
secondary
reporting status
POSTED
higher is better
Source null
direction quote
Source null
population note
ITT
curation status
draft
reviewed by
Source null
reviewed at
Source null
created at
2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
Open the exact result →
Full draft applicability and source-link record
trial
release id
clinical-indications-draft-1
disease state id
ds-prostate-cancer-abiraterone-acetate-159cbe11
nct id
NCT02677896
trial label
A Study of Enzalutamide Plus Androgen Deprivation Therapy (ADT) Versus Placebo Plus ADT in Patients With Metastatic Hormone Sensitive Prostate Cancer (mHSPC)
applicability
unclear
applicability note
Attached because the study's own record describes metastatic disease. The study was not selected for this indication by its sponsor, and its eligibility has not been reconciled against this page in full.
curation status
draft
reviewed by
Source null
reviewed at
Source null
created at
2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
provenance class
regulator-cited
discovery note
Found because this study's registry identifier is printed in an FDA approval notice, an FDA product label or an NCI summary held by this site. The citing document and the exact position of the identifier inside it are recorded. Being cited is not a statement that the study supports this treatment.
outcome Count
6
harms Count
3
qol Count
3
outcomes
  1. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-prostate-cancer-abiraterone-acetate-159cbe11
    nct id
    NCT02677896
    outcome key
    om-0000
    source section id
    NCT02677896-om-0000
    source outcome index
    0
    endpoint
    Radiographic Progression-Free Survival (rPFS) Based on Independent Central Review (ICR) of Bone Scan According to Prostate Cancer Clinical Trials Working Group 2 (PCWG2) Criteria
    endpoint definition
    rPFS was calculated as the time from the date of randomization to the first objective evidence of radiographic progression disease (rPD) at any time or death up to 24 weeks after study drug discontinuation without documented radiographic progression, whichever occurred first. rPD was defined as progressive disease by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors version 1.1 for soft tissue disease or by appearance of 2 or more new lesions on bone scan compared to baseline or week 13 according to PCWG2 criteria, as assessed by ICR or death. In participants with no rPFS event, rPFS was censored on the date of last evaluable radiographic assessment prior to the data analysis cutoff date. In participants with no baseline radiographic assessment, participants with no postbaseline radiographic assessments and participants with all postbaseline radiographic assessments documented as "not evaluable (NE)," rPFS was censored on the date of randomization.
    time origin
    From the date of randomization to the first objective evidence of rPD at any time or death (maximum duration was 26.6 months)
    analysis role
    primary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    data cutoff
    Source null
    population note
    ITT population is defined as all participants who were randomized in this study.
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  2. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-prostate-cancer-abiraterone-acetate-159cbe11
    nct id
    NCT02677896
    outcome key
    om-0001
    source section id
    NCT02677896-om-0001
    source outcome index
    1
    endpoint
    rPFS Based on ICR of Bone Scan According to Protocol Assessment Criteria
    endpoint definition
    rPFS was calculated as the time from the date of randomization to the first objective evidence of radiographic progression disease (rPD) at any time or death up to 24 weeks after study drug discontinuation without documented radiographic progression, whichever occurred first. rPD was defined as progressive disease by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors version 1.1 for soft tissue disease or by appearance of 2 or more new lesions on bone scan compared to baseline for week 13 or the best response on treatment for week 25 or later assessments, as assessed by ICR or death. In participants with no rPFS event, rPFS was censored on the date of last evaluable radiographic assessment prior to the data analysis cutoff date. In participants with no baseline radiographic assessment, participants with no postbaseline radiographic assessments and participants with all postbaseline radiographic assessments documented as "not evaluable (NE)," rPFS was censored on the date of randomization.
    time origin
    From the date of randomization to the first objective evidence of rPD at any time or death (maximum duration was 26.6 months)
    analysis role
    primary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    data cutoff
    Source null
    population note
    ITT
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  3. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-prostate-cancer-abiraterone-acetate-159cbe11
    nct id
    NCT02677896
    outcome key
    om-0002
    source section id
    NCT02677896-om-0002
    source outcome index
    2
    endpoint
    Overall Survival (OS)
    endpoint definition
    OS was defined as the time from randomization to death due to any cause. In participants still alive at the date of the analysis cutoff point, OS was censored on the last date the participant was known to be alive. OS was analyzed using Kaplan-Meier estimates.
    time origin
    From randomization to death due to any cause (maximum duration was 58.6 months)
    analysis role
    secondary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    data cutoff
    Source null
    population note
    ITT population
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  4. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-prostate-cancer-abiraterone-acetate-159cbe11
    nct id
    NCT02677896
    outcome key
    om-0003
    source section id
    NCT02677896-om-0003
    source outcome index
    3
    endpoint
    Time to Prostate Specific Antigen (PSA) Progression
    endpoint definition
    Time to PSA progression was calculated as the time from the date of randomization to the first observation of PSA progression. A PSA progression was defined as a ≥ 25% increase and an absolute increase of ≥ 2 ng/mL above the nadir, which was confirmed by a second consecutive value at least 3 weeks later. In participants with no PSA progression, time to PSA progression was censored on the date of the last PSA sample taken (or last value prior to 2 or more consecutive missed PSA assessments).
    time origin
    From the date of randomization to the first observation of PSA progression (maximum duration was 26.6 months)
    analysis role
    secondary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    data cutoff
    Source null
    population note
    ITT
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  5. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-prostate-cancer-abiraterone-acetate-159cbe11
    nct id
    NCT02677896
    outcome key
    om-0004
    source section id
    NCT02677896-om-0004
    source outcome index
    4
    endpoint
    Time to Start of New Antineoplastic Therapy
    endpoint definition
    In participants with a new antineoplastic therapy initiated for prostate cancer after randomization, time to start of a new antineoplastic therapy was defined as the time interval from randomization to the date of the first dose administration of the first antineoplastic therapy. In participants with no new antineoplastic therapy initiated for prostate cancer after randomization, time to start of new antineoplastic therapy was censored on the last visit date or the date of randomization, whichever occurred last. Time to start of new antineoplastic therapy was analyzed using Kaplan-Meier estimates.
    time origin
    From randomization to the date of the first dose administration of the first antineoplastic therapy (maximum duration was 58.6 months)
    analysis role
    secondary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    data cutoff
    Source null
    population note
    ITT Population
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  6. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-prostate-cancer-abiraterone-acetate-159cbe11
    nct id
    NCT02677896
    outcome key
    om-0005
    source section id
    NCT02677896-om-0005
    source outcome index
    5
    endpoint
    PSA Undetectable Rate
    endpoint definition
    The PSA undetectable rate was defined as the percentage of participants with undetectable (\< 0.2 ng/mL) PSA values at any time during study treatment, of those participants with detectable (≥ 0.2 ng/mL) PSA values at baseline.
    time origin
    From baseline to detectable PSA values (maximum duration was 26.6 months)
    analysis role
    secondary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    data cutoff
    Source null
    population note
    ITT with detectable PSA at baseline
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
arms
  1. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-prostate-cancer-abiraterone-acetate-159cbe11
    nct id
    NCT02677896
    outcome key
    om-0000
    arm key
    OG000
    arm label
    Enzalutamide + Androgen Deprivation Therapy (ADT)
    regimen
    Participants received 160 mg of enzalutamide orally once daily during double-blind treatment period until radiographic progression was documented or until the participants started an investigational agent or new therapy for treatment of prostate cancer or until any other discontinuation criterion was met. Eligible participants who received enzalutamide during double-blind treatment period and provided informed consent to take part in open-label period continued to receive 160 mg enzalutamide orally once daily in open-label period until disease progression, unacceptable toxicity or any other discontinuation criteria were met. ADT (either bilateral orchiectomy or LHRH agonist/antagonist) was maintained during study treatment as per standard of care and provided by the site's pharmacy stock.
    analyzed count
    574
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT02677896-om-0000#groups/OG000
  2. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-prostate-cancer-abiraterone-acetate-159cbe11
    nct id
    NCT02677896
    outcome key
    om-0000
    arm key
    OG001
    arm label
    Placebo + Androgen Deprivation Therapy (ADT)
    regimen
    Participants received enzalutamide matching placebo orally once daily during double-blind treatment period until radiographic progression was documented or until the participants started an investigational agent or new therapy for treatment of prostate cancer or until any other discontinuation criterion was met. Eligible participants who received enzalutamide matching placebo during double-blind treatment period and provided informed consent to take part in open-label period switched to receive 160 mg enzalutamide orally once daily in open-label period until disease progression, unacceptable toxicity or any other discontinuation criteria were met. ADT (either bilateral orchiectomy or LHRH agonist/antagonist) was maintained during study treatment as per standard of care and provided by the site's pharmacy stock.
    analyzed count
    576
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT02677896-om-0000#groups/OG001
  3. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-prostate-cancer-abiraterone-acetate-159cbe11
    nct id
    NCT02677896
    outcome key
    om-0001
    arm key
    OG000
    arm label
    Enzalutamide + Androgen Deprivation Therapy (ADT)
    regimen
    Participants received 160 mg of enzalutamide orally once daily during double-blind treatment period until radiographic progression was documented or until the participants started an investigational agent or new therapy for treatment of prostate cancer or until any other discontinuation criterion was met. Eligible participants who received enzalutamide during double-blind treatment period and provided informed consent to take part in open-label period continued to receive 160 mg enzalutamide orally once daily in open-label period until disease progression, unacceptable toxicity or any other discontinuation criteria were met. ADT (either bilateral orchiectomy or LHRH agonist/antagonist) was maintained during study treatment as per standard of care and provided by the site's pharmacy stock.
    analyzed count
    574
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT02677896-om-0001#groups/OG000
  4. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-prostate-cancer-abiraterone-acetate-159cbe11
    nct id
    NCT02677896
    outcome key
    om-0001
    arm key
    OG001
    arm label
    Placebo + Androgen Deprivation Therapy (ADT)
    regimen
    Participants received enzalutamide matching placebo orally once daily during double-blind treatment period until radiographic progression was documented or until the participants started an investigational agent or new therapy for treatment of prostate cancer or until any other discontinuation criterion was met. Eligible participants who received enzalutamide matching placebo during double-blind treatment period and provided informed consent to take part in open-label period switched to receive 160 mg enzalutamide orally once daily in open-label period until disease progression, unacceptable toxicity or any other discontinuation criteria were met. ADT (either bilateral orchiectomy or LHRH agonist/antagonist) was maintained during study treatment as per standard of care and provided by the site's pharmacy stock.
    analyzed count
    576
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT02677896-om-0001#groups/OG001
  5. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-prostate-cancer-abiraterone-acetate-159cbe11
    nct id
    NCT02677896
    outcome key
    om-0002
    arm key
    OG000
    arm label
    Enzalutamide + Androgen Deprivation Therapy (ADT)
    regimen
    Participants received 160 mg of enzalutamide orally once daily during double-blind treatment period until radiographic progression was documented or until the participants started an investigational agent or new therapy for treatment of prostate cancer or until any other discontinuation criterion was met. Eligible participants who received enzalutamide during double-blind treatment period and provided informed consent to take part in open-label period continued to receive 160 mg enzalutamide orally once daily in open-label period until disease progression, unacceptable toxicity or any other discontinuation criteria were met. ADT (either bilateral orchiectomy or LHRH agonist/antagonist) was maintained during study treatment as per standard of care and provided by the site's pharmacy stock.
    analyzed count
    574
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT02677896-om-0002#groups/OG000
  6. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-prostate-cancer-abiraterone-acetate-159cbe11
    nct id
    NCT02677896
    outcome key
    om-0002
    arm key
    OG001
    arm label
    Placebo + Androgen Deprivation Therapy (ADT)
    regimen
    Participants received enzalutamide matching placebo orally once daily during double-blind treatment period until radiographic progression was documented or until the participants started an investigational agent or new therapy for treatment of prostate cancer or until any other discontinuation criterion was met. Eligible participants who received enzalutamide matching placebo during double-blind treatment period and provided informed consent to take part in open-label period switched to receive 160 mg enzalutamide orally once daily in open-label period until disease progression, unacceptable toxicity or any other discontinuation criteria were met. ADT (either bilateral orchiectomy or LHRH agonist/antagonist) was maintained during study treatment as per standard of care and provided by the site's pharmacy stock.
    analyzed count
    576
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT02677896-om-0002#groups/OG001
  7. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-prostate-cancer-abiraterone-acetate-159cbe11
    nct id
    NCT02677896
    outcome key
    om-0003
    arm key
    OG000
    arm label
    Enzalutamide + Androgen Deprivation Therapy (ADT)
    regimen
    Participants received 160 mg of enzalutamide orally once daily during double-blind treatment period until radiographic progression was documented or until the participants started an investigational agent or new therapy for treatment of prostate cancer or until any other discontinuation criterion was met. Eligible participants who received enzalutamide during double-blind treatment period and provided informed consent to take part in open-label period continued to receive 160 mg enzalutamide orally once daily in open-label period until disease progression, unacceptable toxicity or any other discontinuation criteria were met. ADT (either bilateral orchiectomy or LHRH agonist/antagonist) was maintained during study treatment as per standard of care and provided by the site's pharmacy stock.
    analyzed count
    574
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT02677896-om-0003#groups/OG000
  8. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-prostate-cancer-abiraterone-acetate-159cbe11
    nct id
    NCT02677896
    outcome key
    om-0003
    arm key
    OG001
    arm label
    Placebo + Androgen Deprivation Therapy (ADT)
    regimen
    Participants received enzalutamide matching placebo orally once daily during double-blind treatment period until radiographic progression was documented or until the participants started an investigational agent or new therapy for treatment of prostate cancer or until any other discontinuation criterion was met. Eligible participants who received enzalutamide matching placebo during double-blind treatment period and provided informed consent to take part in open-label period switched to receive 160 mg enzalutamide orally once daily in open-label period until disease progression, unacceptable toxicity or any other discontinuation criteria were met. ADT (either bilateral orchiectomy or LHRH agonist/antagonist) was maintained during study treatment as per standard of care and provided by the site's pharmacy stock.
    analyzed count
    576
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT02677896-om-0003#groups/OG001
  9. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-prostate-cancer-abiraterone-acetate-159cbe11
    nct id
    NCT02677896
    outcome key
    om-0004
    arm key
    OG000
    arm label
    Enzalutamide + Androgen Deprivation Therapy (ADT)
    regimen
    Participants received 160 mg of enzalutamide orally once daily during double-blind treatment period until radiographic progression was documented or until the participants started an investigational agent or new therapy for treatment of prostate cancer or until any other discontinuation criterion was met. Eligible participants who received enzalutamide during double-blind treatment period and provided informed consent to take part in open-label period continued to receive 160 mg enzalutamide orally once daily in open-label period until disease progression, unacceptable toxicity or any other discontinuation criteria were met. ADT (either bilateral orchiectomy or LHRH agonist/antagonist) was maintained during study treatment as per standard of care and provided by the site's pharmacy stock.
    analyzed count
    574
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT02677896-om-0004#groups/OG000
  10. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-prostate-cancer-abiraterone-acetate-159cbe11
    nct id
    NCT02677896
    outcome key
    om-0004
    arm key
    OG001
    arm label
    Placebo + Androgen Deprivation Therapy (ADT)
    regimen
    Participants received enzalutamide matching placebo orally once daily during double-blind treatment period until radiographic progression was documented or until the participants started an investigational agent or new therapy for treatment of prostate cancer or until any other discontinuation criterion was met. Eligible participants who received enzalutamide matching placebo during double-blind treatment period and provided informed consent to take part in open-label period switched to receive 160 mg enzalutamide orally once daily in open-label period until disease progression, unacceptable toxicity or any other discontinuation criteria were met. ADT (either bilateral orchiectomy or LHRH agonist/antagonist) was maintained during study treatment as per standard of care and provided by the site's pharmacy stock.
    analyzed count
    576
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT02677896-om-0004#groups/OG001
  11. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-prostate-cancer-abiraterone-acetate-159cbe11
    nct id
    NCT02677896
    outcome key
    om-0005
    arm key
    OG000
    arm label
    Enzalutamide + Androgen Deprivation Therapy (ADT)
    regimen
    Participants received 160 mg of enzalutamide orally once daily during double-blind treatment period until radiographic progression was documented or until the participants started an investigational agent or new therapy for treatment of prostate cancer or until any other discontinuation criterion was met. Eligible participants who received enzalutamide during double-blind treatment period and provided informed consent to take part in open-label period continued to receive 160 mg enzalutamide orally once daily in open-label period until disease progression, unacceptable toxicity or any other discontinuation criteria were met. ADT (either bilateral orchiectomy or LHRH agonist/antagonist) was maintained during study treatment as per standard of care and provided by the site's pharmacy stock.
    analyzed count
    511
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT02677896-om-0005#groups/OG000
  12. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-prostate-cancer-abiraterone-acetate-159cbe11
    nct id
    NCT02677896
    outcome key
    om-0005
    arm key
    OG001
    arm label
    Placebo + Androgen Deprivation Therapy (ADT)
    regimen
    Participants received enzalutamide matching placebo orally once daily during double-blind treatment period until radiographic progression was documented or until the participants started an investigational agent or new therapy for treatment of prostate cancer or until any other discontinuation criterion was met. Eligible participants who received enzalutamide matching placebo during double-blind treatment period and provided informed consent to take part in open-label period switched to receive 160 mg enzalutamide orally once daily in open-label period until disease progression, unacceptable toxicity or any other discontinuation criteria were met. ADT (either bilateral orchiectomy or LHRH agonist/antagonist) was maintained during study treatment as per standard of care and provided by the site's pharmacy stock.
    analyzed count
    506
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT02677896-om-0005#groups/OG001
harms
  1. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-prostate-cancer-abiraterone-acetate-159cbe11
    nct id
    NCT02677896
    harm key
    EG000
    source section id
    NCT02677896-ae
    event group key
    EG000
    event group label
    Enzalutamide + Androgen Deprivation Therapy (ADT)
    serious affected
    244
    serious at risk
    572
    other affected
    463
    other at risk
    572
    frequency threshold
    5
    collection period
    All-cause mortality: From randomization up to end of study duration (approximately 7 years) AEs: From first dose up to 30 days after last dose of study drug (maximum duration of treatment 7 years)
    event definition
    All-cause mortality: The at risk population included all randomized participants AEs: The at risk population included the Safety Analysis Set (SAF) consisting of all randomized participants who received at least one dose of study drug.
    undenominated note
    Source null
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  2. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-prostate-cancer-abiraterone-acetate-159cbe11
    nct id
    NCT02677896
    harm key
    EG001
    source section id
    NCT02677896-ae
    event group key
    EG001
    event group label
    Placebo + ADT
    serious affected
    128
    serious at risk
    574
    other affected
    401
    other at risk
    574
    frequency threshold
    5
    collection period
    All-cause mortality: From randomization up to end of study duration (approximately 7 years) AEs: From first dose up to 30 days after last dose of study drug (maximum duration of treatment 7 years)
    event definition
    All-cause mortality: The at risk population included all randomized participants AEs: The at risk population included the Safety Analysis Set (SAF) consisting of all randomized participants who received at least one dose of study drug.
    undenominated note
    Source null
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  3. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-prostate-cancer-abiraterone-acetate-159cbe11
    nct id
    NCT02677896
    harm key
    EG002
    source section id
    NCT02677896-ae
    event group key
    EG002
    event group label
    Placebo Cross-over Enzalutamide
    serious affected
    81
    serious at risk
    182
    other affected
    133
    other at risk
    182
    frequency threshold
    5
    collection period
    All-cause mortality: From randomization up to end of study duration (approximately 7 years) AEs: From first dose up to 30 days after last dose of study drug (maximum duration of treatment 7 years)
    event definition
    All-cause mortality: The at risk population included all randomized participants AEs: The at risk population included the Safety Analysis Set (SAF) consisting of all randomized participants who received at least one dose of study drug.
    undenominated note
    Source null
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
quality of life
  1. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-prostate-cancer-abiraterone-acetate-159cbe11
    nct id
    NCT02677896
    qol key
    qol-0007
    source section id
    NCT02677896-om-0007
    source outcome index
    7
    instrument
    EORTC QLQ
    instrument basis
    matched 'qlq' in the study's own wording
    scale title
    Time to Deterioration in Urinary Symptoms
    measure definition
    In participants with deterioration, the time to deterioration was calculated as the time interval between randomization and the first deterioration in urinary symptoms at any postbaseline visit. A deterioration in urinary symptoms was defined as an increase in the Quality of Life Prostate-specific Questionnaire (QLQ-PR25) modified urinary symptoms. Subscale score by ≥ 50% of the standard deviation observed in the QLQ-PR25 modified urinary symptoms subscale score at baseline. Modified urinary symptoms subscale score consisted of 3-items (Q31 - Q33) from the QLQ-PR25, each scored from 1 (not at all) to 4 (very much). The total modified urinary symptoms subscale score ranges from 0-100, with higher scores represents a higher level of symptomatology/problems. In participants without deterioration in urinary symptoms, the time to deterioration in urinary symptoms was censored on the date the last urinary symptoms QLQ-PR25 score was calculable.
    time frame
    From date of randomization to the first deterioration in urinary symptoms at any postbaseline visit (maximum duration was 26.6 months)
    analysis role
    secondary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    higher is better
    Source null
    direction quote
    Source null
    population note
    ITT
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  2. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-prostate-cancer-abiraterone-acetate-159cbe11
    nct id
    NCT02677896
    qol key
    qol-0010
    source section id
    NCT02677896-om-0010
    source outcome index
    10
    instrument
    FACT
    instrument basis
    matched 'fact-p' in the study's own wording
    scale title
    Time to Deterioration of Quality of Life (QoL) in Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy-Prostate (FACT-P)
    measure definition
    Time to deterioration of QoL was calculated as the time interval from the date of randomization to the first date a decline from baseline of 10 points or more in the FACT-P total score was recorded. The FACT-P consists of 27 core items that assess participant function in 4 domains and 12 prostate cancer-related items grouped into 5 subscales as follows: physical wellbeing, social/family wellbeing, emotional wellbeing, functional wellbeing and prostate cancer subscale. Each item is rated on a 0 to 4 Likert-type scale. The FACT-P total score is the sum of all 5 subscale scores of the FACT-P questionnaire and ranges from 0 to 156), where high score represent better quality of life. In participants without FACT-P progression, the time to deterioration of QoL was censored on the date of the last FACT-P total score was calculable.
    time frame
    From the date of randomization to the first date a decline from baseline of 10 points or more in the FACT-P total score (maximum duration was 26.6 months)
    analysis role
    secondary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    higher is better
    Source null
    direction quote
    Source null
    population note
    ITT
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  3. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-prostate-cancer-abiraterone-acetate-159cbe11
    nct id
    NCT02677896
    qol key
    qol-0011
    source section id
    NCT02677896-om-0011
    source outcome index
    11
    instrument
    Brief Pain Inventory
    instrument basis
    matched 'brief pain inventory' in the study's own wording
    scale title
    Time to Pain Progression Based on Brief Pain Inventory-Short Form (BPI-SF)
    measure definition
    Time to pain progression was defined as time from randomization to the first pain progression event. Pain progression was defined as an increase of ≥ 30% from baseline in the average BPI-SF pain severity score. BPI-SF contains 9 questions with rating scales from 0 (no pain/no interference) to 10 (worst pain/interferes completely). Total score was calculated as the average of each question. Higher scores represent a higher level of pain or interference. In participants with no pain progression event, time to pain progression was censored on the last visit date where BPI-SF was collected.
    time frame
    From randomization to the first pain progression event (maximum duration was 26.6 months)
    analysis role
    secondary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    higher is better
    Source null
    direction quote
    Source null
    population note
    ITT
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
setting source links

    Preserved source evidence · Not medical advice