NCT01903993 · STUDY IN CONTEXT
A Randomized Phase 2 Study of Atezolizumab (an Engineered Anti-PDL1 Antibody) Compared With Docetaxel in Participants With Locally Advanced or Metastatic Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Draft scope assessment: unclear. Attached because the study's own record names PD-L1. The study was not selected for this indication by its sponsor, and its eligibility has not been reconciled against this page in full. Found because this study's registry identifier is printed in an FDA approval notice, an FDA product label or an NCI summary held by this site. The citing document and the exact position of the identifier inside it are recorded. Being cited is not a statement that the study supports this treatment.
Read the full study record and all posted results →
Linked outcomes
Overall Survival (OS) was defined as the time from the date of randomization to the date of death due to any cause. Data for participants who were not reported as dead at the time of analysis was censored at the date when they were last known to be alive.
ORR was defined as the percentage of participants with confirmed objective tumor response, complete response (CR) or partial response (PR), as determined by investigator using RECIST v1.1 criteria. CR: disappearance of all target lesions. Any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have reduction in short axis to \< 10 mm. PR: at least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum of diameters.
PFS was defined as the time (in months) between the date of randomization and the date of first documented disease progression or death, whichever occurs first. Disease progression was determined based on investigator assessment using response evaluation criteria In solid tumors (RECIST) v1.1. Progressive disease (PD): at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions including baseline In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm. The appearance of one or more new lesions is also considered progression.
DOR was defined as the duration from the first tumor assessment that supports the participant's objective response (CR or PR, whichever is first recorded) to disease progression or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first.
ORR was defined as the percentage of participants with confirmed objective tumor response, CR or PR, as determined by investigator using modified RECIST criteria. CR: disappearance of all target lesions. Any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have reduction in short axis to l\< 10 mm. PR: at least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum of diameters.
PFS was defined as the time (in months) between the date of randomization and the date of first documented disease progression or death, whichever occurs first. Disease progression was determined based on investigator assessment using modified RECIST criteria. PD: at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions. In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm. The appearance of one or more new lesions is also considered progression.
Reported safety
Quality of life and patient-reported measures
No linked quality-of-life measure is recorded for this setting and study.
Full draft applicability and source-link record
- trial
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-tecentriq-hybreza-cba0c696
- nct id
- NCT01903993
- trial label
- A Randomized Phase 2 Study of Atezolizumab (an Engineered Anti-PDL1 Antibody) Compared With Docetaxel in Participants With Locally Advanced or Metastatic Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
- applicability
- unclear
- applicability note
- Attached because the study's own record names PD-L1. The study was not selected for this indication by its sponsor, and its eligibility has not been reconciled against this page in full.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- provenance class
- regulator-cited
- discovery note
- Found because this study's registry identifier is printed in an FDA approval notice, an FDA product label or an NCI summary held by this site. The citing document and the exact position of the identifier inside it are recorded. Being cited is not a statement that the study supports this treatment.
- outcome Count
- 6
- harms Count
- 2
- qol Count
- 0
- outcomes
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-tecentriq-hybreza-cba0c696
- nct id
- NCT01903993
- outcome key
- om-0000
- source section id
- NCT01903993-om-0000
- source outcome index
- 0
- endpoint
- Overall Survival (OS)
- endpoint definition
- Overall Survival (OS) was defined as the time from the date of randomization to the date of death due to any cause. Data for participants who were not reported as dead at the time of analysis was censored at the date when they were last known to be alive.
- time origin
- From the time of randomization to the date of death due to any cause or up to data cut off date: 01 Dec 2015 (up to 28 months)
- analysis role
- primary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- ITT population for efficacy analyses included all randomized participants, regardless of whether they received any study drug. In the efficacy analyses, the ITT population, participants were grouped according to the treatment arm to which they were assigned.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-tecentriq-hybreza-cba0c696
- nct id
- NCT01903993
- outcome key
- om-0001
- source section id
- NCT01903993-om-0001
- source outcome index
- 1
- endpoint
- Objective Response Rate (ORR)
- endpoint definition
- ORR was defined as the percentage of participants with confirmed objective tumor response, complete response (CR) or partial response (PR), as determined by investigator using RECIST v1.1 criteria. CR: disappearance of all target lesions. Any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have reduction in short axis to \< 10 mm. PR: at least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum of diameters.
- time origin
- Baseline until date of death due to any cause or up to data cut off date: 01 Dec 2015 (up to 28 months)
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- ITT population for efficacy analyses included all randomized participants, regardless of whether they received any study drug. In the efficacy analyses, the ITT population, participants were grouped according to the treatment arm to which they were assigned.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-tecentriq-hybreza-cba0c696
- nct id
- NCT01903993
- outcome key
- om-0002
- source section id
- NCT01903993-om-0002
- source outcome index
- 2
- endpoint
- Progression-Free Survival (PFS)
- endpoint definition
- PFS was defined as the time (in months) between the date of randomization and the date of first documented disease progression or death, whichever occurs first. Disease progression was determined based on investigator assessment using response evaluation criteria In solid tumors (RECIST) v1.1. Progressive disease (PD): at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions including baseline In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm. The appearance of one or more new lesions is also considered progression.
- time origin
- From the time of randomization to the date of death due to any cause or up to data cut off date: 01 Dec 2015 (up to 28 months)
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- ITT population for efficacy analyses included all randomized participants, regardless of whether they received any study drug. In the efficacy analyses, the ITT population, participants were grouped according to the treatment arm to which they were assigned.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-tecentriq-hybreza-cba0c696
- nct id
- NCT01903993
- outcome key
- om-0003
- source section id
- NCT01903993-om-0003
- source outcome index
- 3
- endpoint
- Duration of Response (DOR)
- endpoint definition
- DOR was defined as the duration from the first tumor assessment that supports the participant's objective response (CR or PR, whichever is first recorded) to disease progression or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first.
- time origin
- From the time of randomization to the date of death due to any cause or up to data cut off date: 01 Dec 2015 (up to 28 months)
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- ITT population for efficacy analyses included all randomized participants, regardless of whether they received any study drug. Here, number of participants analyzed signifies the number of participants who were evaluable for this outcome measure.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-tecentriq-hybreza-cba0c696
- nct id
- NCT01903993
- outcome key
- om-0004
- source section id
- NCT01903993-om-0004
- source outcome index
- 4
- endpoint
- ORR (Modified RECIST)
- endpoint definition
- ORR was defined as the percentage of participants with confirmed objective tumor response, CR or PR, as determined by investigator using modified RECIST criteria. CR: disappearance of all target lesions. Any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have reduction in short axis to l\< 10 mm. PR: at least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum of diameters.
- time origin
- From the time of randomization to the date of death due to any cause or up to data cut off date: 08 May 2015 (up to 21 months)
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- ITT population for efficacy analyses included all randomized participants, regardless of whether they received any study drug. In the efficacy analyses, the ITT population, participants were grouped according to the treatment arm to which they were assigned. The data was planned to be reported for Atezolizumab arm only
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-tecentriq-hybreza-cba0c696
- nct id
- NCT01903993
- outcome key
- om-0005
- source section id
- NCT01903993-om-0005
- source outcome index
- 5
- endpoint
- PFS (Modified RECIST)
- endpoint definition
- PFS was defined as the time (in months) between the date of randomization and the date of first documented disease progression or death, whichever occurs first. Disease progression was determined based on investigator assessment using modified RECIST criteria. PD: at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions. In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm. The appearance of one or more new lesions is also considered progression.
- time origin
- From the time of randomization to the date of death due to any cause or up to data cut off date: 08 May 2015 (up to 21 months)
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- ITT population for efficacy analyses included all randomized participants, regardless of whether they received any study drug. In the efficacy analyses, the ITT population, participants were grouped according to the treatment arm to which they were assigned. The data was planned to be reported for Atezolizumab arm only
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- arms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-tecentriq-hybreza-cba0c696
- nct id
- NCT01903993
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Docetaxel
- regimen
- Participants received docetaxel 75 milligram per squared meters (mg/m\^2) administered intravenously on Day 1 of each 21 day cycle until disease progression or unacceptable toxicity or death.
- analyzed count
- 143
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01903993-om-0000#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-tecentriq-hybreza-cba0c696
- nct id
- NCT01903993
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Atezolizumab
- regimen
- Participants were administered atezolizumab intravenously on Day 1 of each 21 day cycle at a fixed dose of 1200 mg. Atezolizumab treatment were to continued as long as participants were experiencing clinical benefit as assessed by the investigator.
- analyzed count
- 144
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01903993-om-0000#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-tecentriq-hybreza-cba0c696
- nct id
- NCT01903993
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Docetaxel
- regimen
- Participants received docetaxel 75 milligram per squared meters (mg/m\^2) administered intravenously on Day 1 of each 21 day cycle until disease progression or unacceptable toxicity or death.
- analyzed count
- 143
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01903993-om-0001#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-tecentriq-hybreza-cba0c696
- nct id
- NCT01903993
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Atezolizumab
- regimen
- Participants were administered atezolizumab intravenously on Day 1 of each 21 day cycle at a fixed dose of 1200 mg. Atezolizumab treatment were to continued as long as participants were experiencing clinical benefit as assessed by the investigator.
- analyzed count
- 144
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01903993-om-0001#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-tecentriq-hybreza-cba0c696
- nct id
- NCT01903993
- outcome key
- om-0002
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Docetaxel
- regimen
- Participants received docetaxel 75 milligram per squared meters (mg/m\^2) administered intravenously on Day 1 of each 21 day cycle until disease progression or unacceptable toxicity or death.
- analyzed count
- 143
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01903993-om-0002#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-tecentriq-hybreza-cba0c696
- nct id
- NCT01903993
- outcome key
- om-0002
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Atezolizumab
- regimen
- Participants were administered atezolizumab intravenously on Day 1 of each 21 day cycle at a fixed dose of 1200 mg. Atezolizumab treatment were to continued as long as participants were experiencing clinical benefit as assessed by the investigator.
- analyzed count
- 144
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01903993-om-0002#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-tecentriq-hybreza-cba0c696
- nct id
- NCT01903993
- outcome key
- om-0003
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Docetaxel
- regimen
- Participants received docetaxel 75 milligram per squared meters (mg/m\^2) administered intravenously on Day 1 of each 21 day cycle until disease progression or unacceptable toxicity or death.
- analyzed count
- 21
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01903993-om-0003#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-tecentriq-hybreza-cba0c696
- nct id
- NCT01903993
- outcome key
- om-0003
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Atezolizumab
- regimen
- Participants were administered atezolizumab intravenously on Day 1 of each 21 day cycle at a fixed dose of 1200 mg. Atezolizumab treatment were to continued as long as participants were experiencing clinical benefit as assessed by the investigator.
- analyzed count
- 21
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01903993-om-0003#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-tecentriq-hybreza-cba0c696
- nct id
- NCT01903993
- outcome key
- om-0004
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Atezolizumab
- regimen
- Participants were administered atezolizumab intravenously on Day 1 of each 21 day cycle at a fixed dose of 1200 mg. Atezolizumab treatment were to continued as long as participants were experiencing clinical benefit as assessed by the investigator.
- analyzed count
- 144
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01903993-om-0004#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-tecentriq-hybreza-cba0c696
- nct id
- NCT01903993
- outcome key
- om-0005
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Atezolizumab
- regimen
- Participants were administered atezolizumab intravenously on Day 1 of each 21 day cycle at a fixed dose of 1200 mg. Atezolizumab treatment were to continued as long as participants were experiencing clinical benefit as assessed by the investigator.
- analyzed count
- 144
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01903993-om-0005#groups/OG000
- harms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-tecentriq-hybreza-cba0c696
- nct id
- NCT01903993
- harm key
- EG000
- source section id
- NCT01903993-ae
- event group key
- EG000
- event group label
- Docetaxel
- serious affected
- 46
- serious at risk
- 135
- other affected
- 125
- other at risk
- 135
- frequency threshold
- 5
- collection period
- From the first study drug to the data cutoff date: 31 August 2018
- event definition
- Treatment-emergent adverse events are reported here and they include all adverse events that occurred on or after first dose of study drug until 30 days after last administration of study drug or initiation of another non-protocol anti-cancer therapy after the last administration of study drug, or clinical data cutoff date, whichever occurs first. Adverse Events reporting is for the Safety Evaluable Population, defined as patients who received any amount of any component of study treatment.
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-tecentriq-hybreza-cba0c696
- nct id
- NCT01903993
- harm key
- EG001
- source section id
- NCT01903993-ae
- event group key
- EG001
- event group label
- Atezolizumab
- serious affected
- 53
- serious at risk
- 142
- other affected
- 127
- other at risk
- 142
- frequency threshold
- 5
- collection period
- From the first study drug to the data cutoff date: 31 August 2018
- event definition
- Treatment-emergent adverse events are reported here and they include all adverse events that occurred on or after first dose of study drug until 30 days after last administration of study drug or initiation of another non-protocol anti-cancer therapy after the last administration of study drug, or clinical data cutoff date, whichever occurs first. Adverse Events reporting is for the Safety Evaluable Population, defined as patients who received any amount of any component of study treatment.
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- quality of life
- setting source links
Preserved source evidence · Not medical advice
Triangle