NCT01647711 · STUDY IN CONTEXT
A Study of Intermittent, High-dose Afatinib to Determine the Maximal Tolerated Dose and Assess Activity of This Dose Against Non-small Cell Lung Cancer With T790M Mutations
Draft scope assessment: unclear. Attached because the study's own record names EGFR and names EGFR. The study record does not state Exon 19 Deletion, so it may describe a different alteration of the same gene. The study was not selected for this indication by its sponsor, and its eligibility has not been reconciled against this page in full. Found by searching ClinicalTrials.gov for this cancer type, restricted to studies that have posted results to the registry. No FDA notice, FDA label or NCI summary held by this site cites this study. Because the search asked for posted results, studies without posted results were never looked for, so their absence from this page means nothing.
Read the full study record and all posted results →
Linked outcomes
Percentage of participants with Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs), based on investigator assessment, for determination of Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD). MTD was defined as the dose in which less than 2 of up to 6 patients developed a DLT.
Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD) was defined as the dose in which less than 2 of up to 6 patients developed a Dose Limiting Toxicity (DLT).
Objective response rate for patients with Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor (EGFR) T790M mutations. Objective response was defined as Complete Response (CR): Disappearance of all target lesion or Partial Response and (PR): \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumours (RECIST) version 1.1. This endpoint was originally planned to be analysed in part B of the study, however as no participants were treated in part B the analysis was performed on the part A participants.
Maximum measured concentration (Cmax) of afatinib as determined on day 3 of course 1 for patients in Part A
Determination of dosage for expansion cohort in Part B. Dosage was the MTD or less depending on tolerability.
Reported safety
Quality of life and patient-reported measures
FACT · Objective Response Rate for Patients With EGFR T790M Mutations
Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-rybrevant-faspro-964accb6
- nct id
- NCT01647711
- qol key
- qol-0001
- source section id
- NCT01647711-om-0001
- source outcome index
- 1
- instrument
- FACT
- instrument basis
- matched 'factor' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Objective Response Rate for Patients With EGFR T790M Mutations
- measure definition
- Objective response rate for patients with Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor (EGFR) T790M mutations. Objective response was defined as Complete Response (CR): Disappearance of all target lesion or Partial Response and (PR): \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumours (RECIST) version 1.1. This endpoint was originally planned to be analysed in part B of the study, however as no participants were treated in part B the analysis was performed on the part A participants.
- time frame
- From first drug administration until last drug administration, up to 420 days
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- Treated set including participants with EGFR T790M positive mutations
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
Full draft applicability and source-link record
- trial
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-rybrevant-faspro-964accb6
- nct id
- NCT01647711
- trial label
- A Study of Intermittent, High-dose Afatinib to Determine the Maximal Tolerated Dose and Assess Activity of This Dose Against Non-small Cell Lung Cancer With T790M Mutations
- applicability
- unclear
- applicability note
- Attached because the study's own record names EGFR and names EGFR. The study record does not state Exon 19 Deletion, so it may describe a different alteration of the same gene. The study was not selected for this indication by its sponsor, and its eligibility has not been reconciled against this page in full.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- provenance class
- registry-condition-search
- discovery note
- Found by searching ClinicalTrials.gov for this cancer type, restricted to studies that have posted results to the registry. No FDA notice, FDA label or NCI summary held by this site cites this study. Because the search asked for posted results, studies without posted results were never looked for, so their absence from this page means nothing.
- outcome Count
- 5
- harms Count
- 6
- qol Count
- 1
- outcomes
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-rybrevant-faspro-964accb6
- nct id
- NCT01647711
- outcome key
- om-0000
- source section id
- NCT01647711-om-0000
- source outcome index
- 0
- endpoint
- Percentage of Participants With Dose Limiting Toxicities
- endpoint definition
- Percentage of participants with Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs), based on investigator assessment, for determination of Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD). MTD was defined as the dose in which less than 2 of up to 6 patients developed a DLT.
- time origin
- 28 days
- analysis role
- primary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Treated set including patients eligible for MTD determination
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-rybrevant-faspro-964accb6
- nct id
- NCT01647711
- outcome key
- om-0004
- source section id
- NCT01647711-om-0004
- source outcome index
- 4
- endpoint
- Maximum Tolerated Dose
- endpoint definition
- Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD) was defined as the dose in which less than 2 of up to 6 patients developed a Dose Limiting Toxicity (DLT).
- time origin
- 28 days
- analysis role
- primary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Treated set including patients eligible for MTD determination
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-rybrevant-faspro-964accb6
- nct id
- NCT01647711
- outcome key
- om-0001
- source section id
- NCT01647711-om-0001
- source outcome index
- 1
- endpoint
- Objective Response Rate for Patients With EGFR T790M Mutations
- endpoint definition
- Objective response rate for patients with Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor (EGFR) T790M mutations. Objective response was defined as Complete Response (CR): Disappearance of all target lesion or Partial Response and (PR): \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumours (RECIST) version 1.1. This endpoint was originally planned to be analysed in part B of the study, however as no participants were treated in part B the analysis was performed on the part A participants.
- time origin
- From first drug administration until last drug administration, up to 420 days
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Treated set including participants with EGFR T790M positive mutations
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-rybrevant-faspro-964accb6
- nct id
- NCT01647711
- outcome key
- om-0002
- source section id
- NCT01647711-om-0002
- source outcome index
- 2
- endpoint
- Cmax of Afatinib on Day 3 of Course 1
- endpoint definition
- Maximum measured concentration (Cmax) of afatinib as determined on day 3 of course 1 for patients in Part A
- time origin
- 47 hours (h) 55 minutes (min), 49h, 50h, 51h, 52h, 53h, 54h, 55h after first dose administration (on day 3 of course 1)
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Pharmacokinetic set which included all patients treated in part A who were documented to have taken at least one dose of afatinib and who had in addition at least one valid afatinib concentration available.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-rybrevant-faspro-964accb6
- nct id
- NCT01647711
- outcome key
- om-0003
- source section id
- NCT01647711-om-0003
- source outcome index
- 3
- endpoint
- Determination of Dosage for Expansion Cohort in Part B
- endpoint definition
- Determination of dosage for expansion cohort in Part B. Dosage was the MTD or less depending on tolerability.
- time origin
- 28 days
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Treated set including patients eligible for MTD determination
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- arms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-rybrevant-faspro-964accb6
- nct id
- NCT01647711
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Afatinib 90mg
- regimen
- Patients received oral administration of afatinib 90mg film-coated tablet once daily for three days, repeated every 14 days, during each 28-day cycle.
- analyzed count
- 6
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01647711-om-0000#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-rybrevant-faspro-964accb6
- nct id
- NCT01647711
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Afatinib 120mg
- regimen
- Patients received oral administration of afatinib 120mg film-coated tablet once daily for three days, repeated every 14 days, during each 28-day cycle.
- analyzed count
- 3
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01647711-om-0000#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-rybrevant-faspro-964accb6
- nct id
- NCT01647711
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG002
- arm label
- Afatinib 150mg
- regimen
- Patients received oral administration of afatinib 150mg film-coated tablet once daily for three days, repeated every 14 days, during each 28-day cycle.
- analyzed count
- 7
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01647711-om-0000#groups/OG002
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-rybrevant-faspro-964accb6
- nct id
- NCT01647711
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG003
- arm label
- Afatinib 160mg
- regimen
- Patients received oral administration of afatinib 160mg film-coated tablet once daily for three days, repeated every 14 days, during each 28-day cycle.
- analyzed count
- 9
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01647711-om-0000#groups/OG003
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-rybrevant-faspro-964accb6
- nct id
- NCT01647711
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG004
- arm label
- Afatinib 200mg
- regimen
- Patients received oral administration of afatinib 200mg film-coated tablet once daily for three days, repeated every 14 days, during each 28-day cycle.
- analyzed count
- 5
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01647711-om-0000#groups/OG004
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-rybrevant-faspro-964accb6
- nct id
- NCT01647711
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Afatinib 90mg
- regimen
- Patients received oral administration of afatinib 90mg film-coated tablet once daily for three days, repeated every 14 days, during each 28-day cycle.
- analyzed count
- 1
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01647711-om-0001#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-rybrevant-faspro-964accb6
- nct id
- NCT01647711
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Afatinib 120mg
- regimen
- Patients received oral administration of afatinib 120mg film-coated tablet once daily for three days, repeated every 14 days, during each 28-day cycle.
- analyzed count
- 0
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01647711-om-0001#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-rybrevant-faspro-964accb6
- nct id
- NCT01647711
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG002
- arm label
- Afatinib 150mg
- regimen
- Patients received oral administration of afatinib 150mg film-coated tablet once daily for three days, repeated every 14 days, during each 28-day cycle.
- analyzed count
- 7
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01647711-om-0001#groups/OG002
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-rybrevant-faspro-964accb6
- nct id
- NCT01647711
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG003
- arm label
- Afatinib 160mg
- regimen
- Patients received oral administration of afatinib 160mg film-coated tablet once daily for three days, repeated every 14 days, during each 28-day cycle.
- analyzed count
- 1
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01647711-om-0001#groups/OG003
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-rybrevant-faspro-964accb6
- nct id
- NCT01647711
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG004
- arm label
- Afatinib 200mg
- regimen
- Patients received oral administration of afatinib 200mg film-coated tablet once daily for three days, repeated every 14 days, during each 28-day cycle.
- analyzed count
- 4
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01647711-om-0001#groups/OG004
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-rybrevant-faspro-964accb6
- nct id
- NCT01647711
- outcome key
- om-0002
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Afatinib 90mg
- regimen
- Patients received oral administration of afatinib 90mg film-coated tablet once daily for three days, repeated every 14 days, during each 28-day cycle.
- analyzed count
- 6
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01647711-om-0002#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-rybrevant-faspro-964accb6
- nct id
- NCT01647711
- outcome key
- om-0002
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Afatinib 120mg
- regimen
- Patients received oral administration of afatinib 120mg film-coated tablet once daily for three days, repeated every 14 days, during each 28-day cycle.
- analyzed count
- 3
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01647711-om-0002#groups/OG001
- harms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-rybrevant-faspro-964accb6
- nct id
- NCT01647711
- harm key
- EG000
- source section id
- NCT01647711-ae
- event group key
- EG000
- event group label
- Afatinib 90mg
- serious affected
- 1
- serious at risk
- 6
- other affected
- 6
- other at risk
- 6
- frequency threshold
- 5
- collection period
- From first treatment administration until 28 days after the last administration, up to 448 days
- event definition
- Source null
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-rybrevant-faspro-964accb6
- nct id
- NCT01647711
- harm key
- EG001
- source section id
- NCT01647711-ae
- event group key
- EG001
- event group label
- Afatinib 120mg
- serious affected
- 1
- serious at risk
- 3
- other affected
- 3
- other at risk
- 3
- frequency threshold
- 5
- collection period
- From first treatment administration until 28 days after the last administration, up to 448 days
- event definition
- Source null
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-rybrevant-faspro-964accb6
- nct id
- NCT01647711
- harm key
- EG002
- source section id
- NCT01647711-ae
- event group key
- EG002
- event group label
- Afatinib 150mg
- serious affected
- 7
- serious at risk
- 9
- other affected
- 9
- other at risk
- 9
- frequency threshold
- 5
- collection period
- From first treatment administration until 28 days after the last administration, up to 448 days
- event definition
- Source null
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-rybrevant-faspro-964accb6
- nct id
- NCT01647711
- harm key
- EG003
- source section id
- NCT01647711-ae
- event group key
- EG003
- event group label
- Afatinib 160mg
- serious affected
- 4
- serious at risk
- 11
- other affected
- 11
- other at risk
- 11
- frequency threshold
- 5
- collection period
- From first treatment administration until 28 days after the last administration, up to 448 days
- event definition
- Source null
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-rybrevant-faspro-964accb6
- nct id
- NCT01647711
- harm key
- EG004
- source section id
- NCT01647711-ae
- event group key
- EG004
- event group label
- Afatinib 200mg
- serious affected
- 1
- serious at risk
- 6
- other affected
- 6
- other at risk
- 6
- frequency threshold
- 5
- collection period
- From first treatment administration until 28 days after the last administration, up to 448 days
- event definition
- Source null
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-rybrevant-faspro-964accb6
- nct id
- NCT01647711
- harm key
- EG005
- source section id
- NCT01647711-ae
- event group key
- EG005
- event group label
- All Participants
- serious affected
- 14
- serious at risk
- 35
- other affected
- 35
- other at risk
- 35
- frequency threshold
- 5
- collection period
- From first treatment administration until 28 days after the last administration, up to 448 days
- event definition
- Source null
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- quality of life
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-rybrevant-faspro-964accb6
- nct id
- NCT01647711
- qol key
- qol-0001
- source section id
- NCT01647711-om-0001
- source outcome index
- 1
- instrument
- FACT
- instrument basis
- matched 'factor' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Objective Response Rate for Patients With EGFR T790M Mutations
- measure definition
- Objective response rate for patients with Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor (EGFR) T790M mutations. Objective response was defined as Complete Response (CR): Disappearance of all target lesion or Partial Response and (PR): \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumours (RECIST) version 1.1. This endpoint was originally planned to be analysed in part B of the study, however as no participants were treated in part B the analysis was performed on the part A participants.
- time frame
- From first drug administration until last drug administration, up to 420 days
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- Treated set including participants with EGFR T790M positive mutations
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- setting source links
Preserved source evidence · Not medical advice
Triangle