NCT01121393 · STUDY IN CONTEXT
BIBW 2992 (Afatinib) vs Gemcitabine-cisplatin in 1st Line Non-small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC)
Draft scope assessment: unclear. Attached because the study's own record names EGFR. The study was not selected for this indication by its sponsor, and its eligibility has not been reconciled against this page in full. Found because this study's registry identifier is printed in an FDA approval notice, an FDA product label or an NCI summary held by this site. The citing document and the exact position of the identifier inside it are recorded. Being cited is not a statement that the study supports this treatment.
Read the full study record and all posted results →
Linked outcomes
The primary endpoint was progression-free survival (PFS) as assessed by central independent review according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumours (RECIST) version 1.1. Progression-free survival was defined as the time from randomisation to disease progression or death whichever occurs earlier. A pre-defined set of censoring rules were used for patients who did not have a PFS. Only data collected up until the analysis cut-off date (27 December 2013) were considered. Median time results from unstratified Kaplan-Meier estimates.
OR is defined as a best overall response of complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) assessed by central independent review according to RECIST version 1.1 and will be presented as the percentage of patients with OR. CR is defined as the disappearance of all target lesions and non-target lesions and no new lesions. PR is defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of longest diameter (LD) of target lesions taking as reference the baseline sum LD, non-Progressive Disease or non evaluation of all non-target lesions and no new lesions. (Exact 95% Confidence interval by Clopper and Pearson.)
DC is defined as a patient with objective response (OR) or stable disease (SD) assessed by central independent review according to RECIST version 1.1 and will be presented as the percentage of patients with DC.
OS is defined as the time from randomisation to death. For patients who had not died until 7 December 2017, the date they were last known to be alive was derived from patient status records, the trial completion record, radiological imaging assessments, the study treatment termination record, and the randomisation date. Median time results from unstratified Kaplan-Meier estimates.
OR is defined as a best of overall response of complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) assessed by central independent review according to RECIST version 1.1. For patients with an objective response, time to objective response was defined as the time from randomisation to the first objective response. Outcome data are the percentage of patients with OR by each scheduled tumour assessment.
OR is defined as a best of overall response of complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) assessed by central independent review according to RECIST version 1.1. For patients with an objective response, duration of objective response was defined as the time from the first objective response to disease progression or death whichever occurs earlier. A pre-defined set of censoring rules were used for patients who did not progress/die. The Median values are Kaplan-Meier estimates.
Reported safety
Quality of life and patient-reported measures
EORTC QLQ · Health Related Quality of Life (HRQOL): Time of Deterioration in Coughing
Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-iressa-7aece853
- nct id
- NCT01121393
- qol key
- qol-0010
- source section id
- NCT01121393-om-0010
- source outcome index
- 10
- instrument
- EORTC QLQ
- instrument basis
- matched 'eortc' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Health Related Quality of Life (HRQOL): Time of Deterioration in Coughing
- measure definition
- HRQOL as measured by standardised questionnaires (EuropeanOrganisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC)) quality of life questionaires (OLQ-C30) and its lung cancer module (QLQ-LC13). Analysis for cough: QLQ-LC13, question 1. Time to deterioration was defined as the time from randomisation to a score increase (i.e. worsened) of at least 10 points from baseline (0 to 100 point scale). Patients without deterioration (including those with disease progression) were censored at the date of the last available HRQOL assessment; patients without post-baseline assessments were censored at the date of randomisation. Patients were considered as having deteriorated at the time of death. The median is Kaplan-Meier estimates.
- time frame
- Baseline and throughout the study (every 3 weeks) until progression or death (whichever occurs first) up to 374 weeks.
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- The randomised set.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
EORTC QLQ · Health Related Quality of Life (HRQOL): Time of Deterioration in Dyspnoea
Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-iressa-7aece853
- nct id
- NCT01121393
- qol key
- qol-0011
- source section id
- NCT01121393-om-0011
- source outcome index
- 11
- instrument
- EORTC QLQ
- instrument basis
- matched 'qlq' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Health Related Quality of Life (HRQOL): Time of Deterioration in Dyspnoea
- measure definition
- HRQOL as measured by OLQ-C30 and its lung cancer module (QLQ-LC13). Analysis for dyspnoea: composite of QLQ-LC13, questions 3 to 5; individual item from QLQ-C30, question 8. Time to deterioration was defined as the time from randomisation to a score increase (i.e. worsened) of at least 10 points from baseline (0 to 100 point scale). Patients without deterioration (including those with disease progression) were censored at the date of the last available HRQOL assessment; patients without post-baseline assessments were censored at the date of randomisation. Patients were considered as having deteriorated at the time of death. The median is Kaplan-Meier estimates.
- time frame
- Baseline and throughout the study (every 3 weeks) until progression or death (whichever occurs first) up to 374 weeks.
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- The randomised set.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
EORTC QLQ · Health Related Quality of Life (HRQOL): Time of Deterioration in Pain
Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-iressa-7aece853
- nct id
- NCT01121393
- qol key
- qol-0012
- source section id
- NCT01121393-om-0012
- source outcome index
- 12
- instrument
- EORTC QLQ
- instrument basis
- matched 'qlq' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Health Related Quality of Life (HRQOL): Time of Deterioration in Pain
- measure definition
- HRQOL as measured by OLQ-C30 and its lung cancer module QLQ-LC13. Analysis for pain: composite of QLQ-C30, questions 9 and 19; individual items from QLQ-LC13, questions 10, 11 and 12. Time to deterioration was defined as the time from randomisation to a score increase (i.e. worsened) of at least 10 points from baseline (0 to 100 point scale). Patients without deterioration (including those with disease progression) were censored at the date of the last available HRQOL assessment; patients without post-baseline assessments were censored at the date of randomisation. Patients were considered as having deteriorated at the time of death. The median is Kaplan-Meier estimates.
- time frame
- Baseline and throughout the study (every 3 weeks) until progression or death (whichever occurs first) up to 374 weeks.
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- The randomised set.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
Full draft applicability and source-link record
- trial
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-iressa-7aece853
- nct id
- NCT01121393
- trial label
- BIBW 2992 (Afatinib) vs Gemcitabine-cisplatin in 1st Line Non-small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC)
- applicability
- unclear
- applicability note
- Attached because the study's own record names EGFR. The study was not selected for this indication by its sponsor, and its eligibility has not been reconciled against this page in full.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- provenance class
- regulator-cited
- discovery note
- Found because this study's registry identifier is printed in an FDA approval notice, an FDA product label or an NCI summary held by this site. The citing document and the exact position of the identifier inside it are recorded. Being cited is not a statement that the study supports this treatment.
- outcome Count
- 6
- harms Count
- 2
- qol Count
- 3
- outcomes
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-iressa-7aece853
- nct id
- NCT01121393
- outcome key
- om-0000
- source section id
- NCT01121393-om-0000
- source outcome index
- 0
- endpoint
- Progression-free Survival
- endpoint definition
- The primary endpoint was progression-free survival (PFS) as assessed by central independent review according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumours (RECIST) version 1.1. Progression-free survival was defined as the time from randomisation to disease progression or death whichever occurs earlier. A pre-defined set of censoring rules were used for patients who did not have a PFS. Only data collected up until the analysis cut-off date (27 December 2013) were considered. Median time results from unstratified Kaplan-Meier estimates.
- time origin
- Tumour assessment were performed at screening, week 6, 12, 18, 24, 30, 36, 42, 48 and then every 12 weeks until progression or death whichever occurs first up to week 168
- analysis role
- primary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- The randomised set (RS) included all patients randomised to receive treatment, whether treated or not.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-iressa-7aece853
- nct id
- NCT01121393
- outcome key
- om-0001
- source section id
- NCT01121393-om-0001
- source outcome index
- 1
- endpoint
- Objective Response (OR)
- endpoint definition
- OR is defined as a best overall response of complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) assessed by central independent review according to RECIST version 1.1 and will be presented as the percentage of patients with OR. CR is defined as the disappearance of all target lesions and non-target lesions and no new lesions. PR is defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of longest diameter (LD) of target lesions taking as reference the baseline sum LD, non-Progressive Disease or non evaluation of all non-target lesions and no new lesions. (Exact 95% Confidence interval by Clopper and Pearson.)
- time origin
- Tumour assessment were performed at screening, week 6, 12, 18, 24, 30, 36, 42, 48 and then every 12 weeks until progression or death whichever occurs first up to week 374
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- The randomised set.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-iressa-7aece853
- nct id
- NCT01121393
- outcome key
- om-0002
- source section id
- NCT01121393-om-0002
- source outcome index
- 2
- endpoint
- Disease Control (DC)
- endpoint definition
- DC is defined as a patient with objective response (OR) or stable disease (SD) assessed by central independent review according to RECIST version 1.1 and will be presented as the percentage of patients with DC.
- time origin
- Tumour assessment were performed at screening, week 6, 12, 18, 24, 30, 36, 42, 48 and then every 12 weeks until progression or death whichever occurs first up to week 374
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- The randomised set.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-iressa-7aece853
- nct id
- NCT01121393
- outcome key
- om-0003
- source section id
- NCT01121393-om-0003
- source outcome index
- 3
- endpoint
- Overall Survival (OS)
- endpoint definition
- OS is defined as the time from randomisation to death. For patients who had not died until 7 December 2017, the date they were last known to be alive was derived from patient status records, the trial completion record, radiological imaging assessments, the study treatment termination record, and the randomisation date. Median time results from unstratified Kaplan-Meier estimates.
- time origin
- From randomisation up to 374 weeks
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- The randomised set.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-iressa-7aece853
- nct id
- NCT01121393
- outcome key
- om-0004
- source section id
- NCT01121393-om-0004
- source outcome index
- 4
- endpoint
- Time to Objective Response (OR)
- endpoint definition
- OR is defined as a best of overall response of complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) assessed by central independent review according to RECIST version 1.1. For patients with an objective response, time to objective response was defined as the time from randomisation to the first objective response. Outcome data are the percentage of patients with OR by each scheduled tumour assessment.
- time origin
- Tumour assessment were performed at screening, week 6, 12, 18, 24, 30, 36, 42, 48 and then every 12 weeks until progression or death whichever occurs first up to week 374
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- The RS included all patients randomised to receive treatment, whether treated or not.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-iressa-7aece853
- nct id
- NCT01121393
- outcome key
- om-0005
- source section id
- NCT01121393-om-0005
- source outcome index
- 5
- endpoint
- Duration of Objective Response
- endpoint definition
- OR is defined as a best of overall response of complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) assessed by central independent review according to RECIST version 1.1. For patients with an objective response, duration of objective response was defined as the time from the first objective response to disease progression or death whichever occurs earlier. A pre-defined set of censoring rules were used for patients who did not progress/die. The Median values are Kaplan-Meier estimates.
- time origin
- Tumour assessment were performed at screening, week 6, 12, 18, 24, 30, 36, 42, 48 and then every 12 weeks until progression or death whichever occurs first up to week 374
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- The Randomised set with an objective response.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- arms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-iressa-7aece853
- nct id
- NCT01121393
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Afatinib 40 Milligram (mg)
- regimen
- Patients received Afatinib film-coated tablets 40 mg once daily (q.d.) orally with possible dose escalation to 50 mg q.d. and dose reduction to 40 mg q.d. (if applicable), 30 mg q.d., or 20 mg q.d. (according to the protocol-defined dose-escalation and dose-reduction scheme), if required. No dose increase was allowed after dose reduction. Each treatment course was planned to be 21 days. For afatinib, patients received continuous daily dosing until disease progression, unacceptable adverse events (AEs) occurred, or withdrawal of consent for any reason.
- analyzed count
- 242
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01121393-om-0000#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-iressa-7aece853
- nct id
- NCT01121393
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Gemcitabine / Cisplatin Chemotherapy
- regimen
- Patients received Gemcitabine (lyophilised powder) 1000 milligram per square metre (mg/m²) as an intravenous infusion over 30 minutes on day 1 and day 8, cisplatin (solution for infusion) 75 mg/m² as an intravenous infusion on Day 1 of each 21-day treatment course up to 6 cycles; Chemotherapy could be delayed or the dose could be reduced in accordance with the guidance in the current summary of product characteristics. For gemcitabine / cisplatin, patients were to receive a maximum of 6 treatment courses unless they developed disease progression, experienced unacceptable AEs, or withdrawal of consent for any reason.
- analyzed count
- 122
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01121393-om-0000#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-iressa-7aece853
- nct id
- NCT01121393
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Afatinib 40 Milligram (mg)
- regimen
- Patients received Afatinib film-coated tablets 40 mg once daily (q.d.) orally with possible dose escalation to 50 mg q.d. and dose reduction to 40 mg q.d. (if applicable), 30 mg q.d., or 20 mg q.d. (according to the protocol-defined dose-escalation and dose-reduction scheme), if required. No dose increase was allowed after dose reduction. Each treatment course was planned to be 21 days. For afatinib, patients received continuous daily dosing until disease progression, unacceptable adverse events (AEs) occurred, or withdrawal of consent for any reason.
- analyzed count
- 242
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01121393-om-0001#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-iressa-7aece853
- nct id
- NCT01121393
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Gemcitabine / Cisplatin Chemotherapy
- regimen
- Patients received Gemcitabine (lyophilised powder) 1000 milligram per square metre (mg/m²) as an intravenous infusion over 30 minutes on day 1 and day 8, cisplatin (solution for infusion) 75 mg/m² as an intravenous infusion on Day 1 of each 21-day treatment course up to 6 cycles; Chemotherapy could be delayed or the dose could be reduced in accordance with the guidance in the current summary of product characteristics. For gemcitabine / cisplatin, patients were to receive a maximum of 6 treatment courses unless they developed disease progression, experienced unacceptable AEs, or withdrawal of consent for any reason.
- analyzed count
- 122
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01121393-om-0001#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-iressa-7aece853
- nct id
- NCT01121393
- outcome key
- om-0002
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Afatinib 40 Milligram (mg)
- regimen
- Patients received Afatinib film-coated tablets 40 mg once daily (q.d.) orally with possible dose escalation to 50 mg q.d. and dose reduction to 40 mg q.d. (if applicable), 30 mg q.d., or 20 mg q.d. (according to the protocol-defined dose-escalation and dose-reduction scheme), if required. No dose increase was allowed after dose reduction. Each treatment course was planned to be 21 days. For afatinib, patients received continuous daily dosing until disease progression, unacceptable adverse events (AEs) occurred, or withdrawal of consent for any reason.
- analyzed count
- 242
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01121393-om-0002#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-iressa-7aece853
- nct id
- NCT01121393
- outcome key
- om-0002
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Gemcitabine / Cisplatin Chemotherapy
- regimen
- Patients received Gemcitabine (lyophilised powder) 1000 milligram per square metre (mg/m²) as an intravenous infusion over 30 minutes on day 1 and day 8, cisplatin (solution for infusion) 75 mg/m² as an intravenous infusion on Day 1 of each 21-day treatment course up to 6 cycles; Chemotherapy could be delayed or the dose could be reduced in accordance with the guidance in the current summary of product characteristics. For gemcitabine / cisplatin, patients were to receive a maximum of 6 treatment courses unless they developed disease progression, experienced unacceptable AEs, or withdrawal of consent for any reason.
- analyzed count
- 122
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01121393-om-0002#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-iressa-7aece853
- nct id
- NCT01121393
- outcome key
- om-0003
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Afatinib 40 Milligram (mg)
- regimen
- Patients received Afatinib film-coated tablets 40 mg once daily (q.d.) orally with possible dose escalation to 50 mg q.d. and dose reduction to 40 mg q.d. (if applicable), 30 mg q.d., or 20 mg q.d. (according to the protocol-defined dose-escalation and dose-reduction scheme), if required. No dose increase was allowed after dose reduction. Each treatment course was planned to be 21 days. For afatinib, patients received continuous daily dosing until disease progression, unacceptable adverse events (AEs) occurred, or withdrawal of consent for any reason.
- analyzed count
- 242
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01121393-om-0003#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-iressa-7aece853
- nct id
- NCT01121393
- outcome key
- om-0003
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Gemcitabine / Cisplatin Chemotherapy
- regimen
- Patients received Gemcitabine (lyophilised powder) 1000 milligram per square metre (mg/m²) as an intravenous infusion over 30 minutes on day 1 and day 8, cisplatin (solution for infusion) 75 mg/m² as an intravenous infusion on Day 1 of each 21-day treatment course up to 6 cycles; Chemotherapy could be delayed or the dose could be reduced in accordance with the guidance in the current summary of product characteristics. For gemcitabine / cisplatin, patients were to receive a maximum of 6 treatment courses unless they developed disease progression, experienced unacceptable AEs, or withdrawal of consent for any reason.
- analyzed count
- 122
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01121393-om-0003#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-iressa-7aece853
- nct id
- NCT01121393
- outcome key
- om-0004
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Afatinib 40 Milligram (mg)
- regimen
- Patients received Afatinib film-coated tablets 40 mg once daily (q.d.) orally with possible dose escalation to 50 mg q.d. and dose reduction to 40 mg q.d. (if applicable), 30 mg q.d., or 20 mg q.d. (according to the protocol-defined dose-escalation and dose-reduction scheme), if required. No dose increase was allowed after dose reduction. Each treatment course was planned to be 21 days. For afatinib, patients received continuous daily dosing until disease progression, unacceptable adverse events (AEs) occurred, or withdrawal of consent for any reason.
- analyzed count
- 242
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01121393-om-0004#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-iressa-7aece853
- nct id
- NCT01121393
- outcome key
- om-0004
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Gemcitabine / Cisplatin Chemotherapy
- regimen
- Patients received Gemcitabine (lyophilised powder) 1000 milligram per square metre (mg/m²) as an intravenous infusion over 30 minutes on day 1 and day 8, cisplatin (solution for infusion) 75 mg/m² as an intravenous infusion on Day 1 of each 21-day treatment course up to 6 cycles; Chemotherapy could be delayed or the dose could be reduced in accordance with the guidance in the current summary of product characteristics. For gemcitabine / cisplatin, patients were to receive a maximum of 6 treatment courses unless they developed disease progression, experienced unacceptable AEs, or withdrawal of consent for any reason.
- analyzed count
- 122
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01121393-om-0004#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-iressa-7aece853
- nct id
- NCT01121393
- outcome key
- om-0005
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Afatinib 40 Milligram (mg)
- regimen
- Patients received Afatinib film-coated tablets 40 mg once daily (q.d.) orally with possible dose escalation to 50 mg q.d. and dose reduction to 40 mg q.d. (if applicable), 30 mg q.d., or 20 mg q.d. (according to the protocol-defined dose-escalation and dose-reduction scheme), if required. No dose increase was allowed after dose reduction. Each treatment course was planned to be 21 days. For afatinib, patients received continuous daily dosing until disease progression, unacceptable adverse events (AEs) occurred, or withdrawal of consent for any reason.
- analyzed count
- 164
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01121393-om-0005#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-iressa-7aece853
- nct id
- NCT01121393
- outcome key
- om-0005
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Gemcitabine / Cisplatin Chemotherapy
- regimen
- Patients received Gemcitabine (lyophilised powder) 1000 milligram per square metre (mg/m²) as an intravenous infusion over 30 minutes on day 1 and day 8, cisplatin (solution for infusion) 75 mg/m² as an intravenous infusion on Day 1 of each 21-day treatment course up to 6 cycles; Chemotherapy could be delayed or the dose could be reduced in accordance with the guidance in the current summary of product characteristics. For gemcitabine / cisplatin, patients were to receive a maximum of 6 treatment courses unless they developed disease progression, experienced unacceptable AEs, or withdrawal of consent for any reason.
- analyzed count
- 28
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01121393-om-0005#groups/OG001
- harms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-iressa-7aece853
- nct id
- NCT01121393
- harm key
- EG000
- source section id
- NCT01121393-ae
- event group key
- EG000
- event group label
- Afatinib 40 Milligram (mg)
- serious affected
- 40
- serious at risk
- 239
- other affected
- 236
- other at risk
- 239
- frequency threshold
- 5
- collection period
- From first administration of study medication until 28 days after the last administration of study medication up to 374 weeks
- event definition
- The treated set (TS) included all randomised patients documented to have taken at least 1 dose of study medication. Analysis of Adverse Events (AEs) was based on the concept of treatment-emergent AEs. AEs with onset after the first administration of study drug and within 28 days after the last administration were considered to be on-treatment.
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-iressa-7aece853
- nct id
- NCT01121393
- harm key
- EG001
- source section id
- NCT01121393-ae
- event group key
- EG001
- event group label
- Gemcitabine / Cisplatin Chemotherapy
- serious affected
- 12
- serious at risk
- 113
- other affected
- 112
- other at risk
- 113
- frequency threshold
- 5
- collection period
- From first administration of study medication until 28 days after the last administration of study medication up to 374 weeks
- event definition
- The treated set (TS) included all randomised patients documented to have taken at least 1 dose of study medication. Analysis of Adverse Events (AEs) was based on the concept of treatment-emergent AEs. AEs with onset after the first administration of study drug and within 28 days after the last administration were considered to be on-treatment.
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- quality of life
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-iressa-7aece853
- nct id
- NCT01121393
- qol key
- qol-0010
- source section id
- NCT01121393-om-0010
- source outcome index
- 10
- instrument
- EORTC QLQ
- instrument basis
- matched 'eortc' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Health Related Quality of Life (HRQOL): Time of Deterioration in Coughing
- measure definition
- HRQOL as measured by standardised questionnaires (EuropeanOrganisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC)) quality of life questionaires (OLQ-C30) and its lung cancer module (QLQ-LC13). Analysis for cough: QLQ-LC13, question 1. Time to deterioration was defined as the time from randomisation to a score increase (i.e. worsened) of at least 10 points from baseline (0 to 100 point scale). Patients without deterioration (including those with disease progression) were censored at the date of the last available HRQOL assessment; patients without post-baseline assessments were censored at the date of randomisation. Patients were considered as having deteriorated at the time of death. The median is Kaplan-Meier estimates.
- time frame
- Baseline and throughout the study (every 3 weeks) until progression or death (whichever occurs first) up to 374 weeks.
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- The randomised set.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-iressa-7aece853
- nct id
- NCT01121393
- qol key
- qol-0011
- source section id
- NCT01121393-om-0011
- source outcome index
- 11
- instrument
- EORTC QLQ
- instrument basis
- matched 'qlq' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Health Related Quality of Life (HRQOL): Time of Deterioration in Dyspnoea
- measure definition
- HRQOL as measured by OLQ-C30 and its lung cancer module (QLQ-LC13). Analysis for dyspnoea: composite of QLQ-LC13, questions 3 to 5; individual item from QLQ-C30, question 8. Time to deterioration was defined as the time from randomisation to a score increase (i.e. worsened) of at least 10 points from baseline (0 to 100 point scale). Patients without deterioration (including those with disease progression) were censored at the date of the last available HRQOL assessment; patients without post-baseline assessments were censored at the date of randomisation. Patients were considered as having deteriorated at the time of death. The median is Kaplan-Meier estimates.
- time frame
- Baseline and throughout the study (every 3 weeks) until progression or death (whichever occurs first) up to 374 weeks.
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- The randomised set.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-non-small-cell-lung-cancer-iressa-7aece853
- nct id
- NCT01121393
- qol key
- qol-0012
- source section id
- NCT01121393-om-0012
- source outcome index
- 12
- instrument
- EORTC QLQ
- instrument basis
- matched 'qlq' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Health Related Quality of Life (HRQOL): Time of Deterioration in Pain
- measure definition
- HRQOL as measured by OLQ-C30 and its lung cancer module QLQ-LC13. Analysis for pain: composite of QLQ-C30, questions 9 and 19; individual items from QLQ-LC13, questions 10, 11 and 12. Time to deterioration was defined as the time from randomisation to a score increase (i.e. worsened) of at least 10 points from baseline (0 to 100 point scale). Patients without deterioration (including those with disease progression) were censored at the date of the last available HRQOL assessment; patients without post-baseline assessments were censored at the date of randomisation. Patients were considered as having deteriorated at the time of death. The median is Kaplan-Meier estimates.
- time frame
- Baseline and throughout the study (every 3 weeks) until progression or death (whichever occurs first) up to 374 weeks.
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- The randomised set.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- setting source links
Preserved source evidence · Not medical advice
Triangle