NCT01243944 · STUDY IN CONTEXT
Study of Efficacy and Safety in Polycythemia Vera Subjects Who Are Resistant to or Intolerant of Hydroxyurea: JAK Inhibitor INC424 (INCB018424) Tablets Versus Best Available Care:
Draft scope assessment: narrower. Linked by condition-string match at the cancer-entity level. The study's eligibility - stage, biomarker, treatment line and prior therapy - has not been reconciled against this page's definition, so its population is narrower than this page in ways not yet recorded. The condition was transformed or resolved through the terminology hierarchy to reach this cancer type, so the link itself is a candidate a reviewer must confirm. Found because this study's registry identifier is printed in an FDA approval notice, an FDA product label or an NCI summary held by this site. The citing document and the exact position of the identifier inside it are recorded. Being cited is not a statement that the study supports this treatment.
Read the full study record and all posted results →
Linked outcomes
Primary response was defined as having achieved hematocrit control (the absence of phlebotomy eligibility beginning at the Week 8 visit and continuing through Week 32) and Spleen Volume Reduction (a greater than or equal to 35% reduction from baseline in spleen volume at Week 32).
Durable Primary Response was defined as any participant who achieved the primary outcome measure and who maintained their response up to 48 weeks after randomization.
Complete Hematological Remission at Week 32 was defined as any participant who achieved hematocrit control with a platelet count less than or equal to 400 X 10\^9/L and a white blood cell count less than or equal to 10 X 10\^9/L.
Durable Complete Hematological Remission was defined as any participant who achieved Complete Hematological Remission at Week 32 and maintained their response up to 48 weeks after randomization.
Durable Hematocrit Control was defined as any participant who achieved phlebotomy eligibility independence from Week 8 to Week 32 and maintained hematocrit control up to 48 weeks after randomization.
Durable Spleen Volume Reduction was defined as a participant who achieved at least 35% reduction from baseline in spleen volume at Week 32 and maintained that response 48 weeks after randomization.
Reported safety
Quality of life and patient-reported measures
No linked quality-of-life measure is recorded for this setting and study.
Full draft applicability and source-link record
- trial
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-myeloid-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01243944
- trial label
- Study of Efficacy and Safety in Polycythemia Vera Subjects Who Are Resistant to or Intolerant of Hydroxyurea: JAK Inhibitor INC424 (INCB018424) Tablets Versus Best Available Care:
- applicability
- narrower
- applicability note
- Linked by condition-string match at the cancer-entity level. The study's eligibility - stage, biomarker, treatment line and prior therapy - has not been reconciled against this page's definition, so its population is narrower than this page in ways not yet recorded. The condition was transformed or resolved through the terminology hierarchy to reach this cancer type, so the link itself is a candidate a reviewer must confirm.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- provenance class
- regulator-cited
- discovery note
- Found because this study's registry identifier is printed in an FDA approval notice, an FDA product label or an NCI summary held by this site. The citing document and the exact position of the identifier inside it are recorded. Being cited is not a statement that the study supports this treatment.
- outcome Count
- 6
- harms Count
- 3
- qol Count
- 0
- outcomes
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-myeloid-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01243944
- outcome key
- om-0000
- source section id
- NCT01243944-om-0000
- source outcome index
- 0
- endpoint
- The Percentage of Participants Achieving a Primary Response at Week 32
- endpoint definition
- Primary response was defined as having achieved hematocrit control (the absence of phlebotomy eligibility beginning at the Week 8 visit and continuing through Week 32) and Spleen Volume Reduction (a greater than or equal to 35% reduction from baseline in spleen volume at Week 32).
- time origin
- 32 Weeks
- analysis role
- primary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Full Analysis Set (FAS) comprises all participants to whom study treatment had been assigned by randomization.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-myeloid-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01243944
- outcome key
- om-0001
- source section id
- NCT01243944-om-0001
- source outcome index
- 1
- endpoint
- The Percentage of Participants Achieving a Durable Primary Response at Week 48
- endpoint definition
- Durable Primary Response was defined as any participant who achieved the primary outcome measure and who maintained their response up to 48 weeks after randomization.
- time origin
- 48 Weeks
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Full Analysis Set (FAS) comprises all participants to whom study treatment had been assigned by randomization.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-myeloid-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01243944
- outcome key
- om-0002
- source section id
- NCT01243944-om-0002
- source outcome index
- 2
- endpoint
- The Percentage of Participants Achieving Complete Hematological Remission at Week 32
- endpoint definition
- Complete Hematological Remission at Week 32 was defined as any participant who achieved hematocrit control with a platelet count less than or equal to 400 X 10\^9/L and a white blood cell count less than or equal to 10 X 10\^9/L.
- time origin
- 32 Weeks
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Full Analysis Set (FAS) comprises all participants to whom study treatment had been assigned by randomization.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-myeloid-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01243944
- outcome key
- om-0003
- source section id
- NCT01243944-om-0003
- source outcome index
- 3
- endpoint
- The Percentage of Participants Who Achieved a Durable Complete Hematological Remission at Week 48
- endpoint definition
- Durable Complete Hematological Remission was defined as any participant who achieved Complete Hematological Remission at Week 32 and maintained their response up to 48 weeks after randomization.
- time origin
- 48 Weeks
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Full Analysis Set (FAS) comprises all participants to whom study treatment had been assigned by randomization.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-myeloid-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01243944
- outcome key
- om-0004
- source section id
- NCT01243944-om-0004
- source outcome index
- 4
- endpoint
- The Percentage of Participants Who Achieved a Durable Hematocrit Control at Week 48
- endpoint definition
- Durable Hematocrit Control was defined as any participant who achieved phlebotomy eligibility independence from Week 8 to Week 32 and maintained hematocrit control up to 48 weeks after randomization.
- time origin
- 48 Weeks
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Full Analysis Set (FAS) comprises all participants to whom study treatment had been assigned by randomization.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-myeloid-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01243944
- outcome key
- om-0005
- source section id
- NCT01243944-om-0005
- source outcome index
- 5
- endpoint
- The Percentage of Participants Who Achieved Durable Spleen Volume Reduction at Week 48
- endpoint definition
- Durable Spleen Volume Reduction was defined as a participant who achieved at least 35% reduction from baseline in spleen volume at Week 32 and maintained that response 48 weeks after randomization.
- time origin
- 48 Weeks
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Full Analysis Set (FAS) comprises all participants to whom study treatment had been assigned by randomization.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- arms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-myeloid-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01243944
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Ruxolitinib
- regimen
- Starting dose of 10 mg BID with individualized dose titration ranging from 5 mg QD to 25 mg BID based on safety and efficacy
- analyzed count
- 110
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01243944-om-0000#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-myeloid-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01243944
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Best Available Therapy
- regimen
- Best Available Therapy (BAT) will be selected by the Investigator for each participant. BAT may not include experimental agents (i.e. those not approved for the treatment of any indication) as well as a limited number of other selected drugs in accordance with the protocol-defined requirements.
- analyzed count
- 112
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01243944-om-0000#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-myeloid-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01243944
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Ruxolitinib
- regimen
- Starting dose of 10 mg BID with individualized dose titration ranging from 5 mg QD to 25 mg BID based on safety and efficacy
- analyzed count
- 110
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01243944-om-0001#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-myeloid-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01243944
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Best Available Therapy
- regimen
- Best Available Therapy (BAT) will be selected by the Investigator for each participant. BAT may not include experimental agents (i.e. those not approved for the treatment of any indication) as well as a limited number of other selected drugs in accordance with the protocol-defined requirements.
- analyzed count
- 112
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01243944-om-0001#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-myeloid-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01243944
- outcome key
- om-0002
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Ruxolitinib
- regimen
- Starting dose of 10 mg BID with individualized dose titration ranging from 5 mg QD to 25 mg BID based on safety and efficacy
- analyzed count
- 110
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01243944-om-0002#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-myeloid-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01243944
- outcome key
- om-0002
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Best Available Therapy
- regimen
- Best Available Therapy (BAT) will be selected by the Investigator for each participant. BAT may not include experimental agents (i.e. those not approved for the treatment of any indication) as well as a limited number of other selected drugs in accordance with the protocol-defined requirements.
- analyzed count
- 112
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01243944-om-0002#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-myeloid-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01243944
- outcome key
- om-0003
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Ruxolitinib
- regimen
- Starting dose of 10 mg BID with individualized dose titration ranging from 5 mg QD to 25 mg BID based on safety and efficacy
- analyzed count
- 110
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01243944-om-0003#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-myeloid-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01243944
- outcome key
- om-0003
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Best Available Therapy
- regimen
- Best Available Therapy (BAT) will be selected by the Investigator for each participant. BAT may not include experimental agents (i.e. those not approved for the treatment of any indication) as well as a limited number of other selected drugs in accordance with the protocol-defined requirements.
- analyzed count
- 112
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01243944-om-0003#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-myeloid-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01243944
- outcome key
- om-0004
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Ruxolitinib
- regimen
- Starting dose of 10 mg BID with individualized dose titration ranging from 5 mg QD to 25 mg BID based on safety and efficacy
- analyzed count
- 110
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01243944-om-0004#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-myeloid-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01243944
- outcome key
- om-0004
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Best Available Therapy
- regimen
- Best Available Therapy (BAT) will be selected by the Investigator for each participant. BAT may not include experimental agents (i.e. those not approved for the treatment of any indication) as well as a limited number of other selected drugs in accordance with the protocol-defined requirements.
- analyzed count
- 112
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01243944-om-0004#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-myeloid-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01243944
- outcome key
- om-0005
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Ruxolitinib
- regimen
- Starting dose of 10 mg BID with individualized dose titration ranging from 5 mg QD to 25 mg BID based on safety and efficacy
- analyzed count
- 110
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01243944-om-0005#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-myeloid-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01243944
- outcome key
- om-0005
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Best Available Therapy
- regimen
- Best Available Therapy (BAT) will be selected by the Investigator for each participant. BAT may not include experimental agents (i.e. those not approved for the treatment of any indication) as well as a limited number of other selected drugs in accordance with the protocol-defined requirements.
- analyzed count
- 112
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01243944-om-0005#groups/OG001
- harms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-myeloid-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01243944
- harm key
- EG000
- source section id
- NCT01243944-ae
- event group key
- EG000
- event group label
- Ruxolitinib - Through Week 32
- serious affected
- 15
- serious at risk
- 110
- other affected
- 105
- other at risk
- 110
- frequency threshold
- 5
- collection period
- The initial data reported was for the study up to Week 32. This time frame defines the comparative phase of the study where the majority of participants remained on their original randomized assignment and exposure between ruxolitinib and best available therapy was similar. Data inclusive of end of study was reported up to week 256 for Ruxolitinib group. Long term Follow Up for BAT was not reported as all patients have completed the study or crossed over to Ruxolitinib group by week 80.
- event definition
- Safety population: All participants who were enrolled and took at least 1 dose of study medication. The initial data reported at Week 32 was based on MedDRA 15.1; the remaining data reported for end of study was based on MedDRA 20.1.
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-myeloid-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01243944
- harm key
- EG001
- source section id
- NCT01243944-ae
- event group key
- EG001
- event group label
- Best Available Therapy - Through Week 32
- serious affected
- 10
- serious at risk
- 111
- other affected
- 104
- other at risk
- 111
- frequency threshold
- 5
- collection period
- The initial data reported was for the study up to Week 32. This time frame defines the comparative phase of the study where the majority of participants remained on their original randomized assignment and exposure between ruxolitinib and best available therapy was similar. Data inclusive of end of study was reported up to week 256 for Ruxolitinib group. Long term Follow Up for BAT was not reported as all patients have completed the study or crossed over to Ruxolitinib group by week 80.
- event definition
- Safety population: All participants who were enrolled and took at least 1 dose of study medication. The initial data reported at Week 32 was based on MedDRA 15.1; the remaining data reported for end of study was based on MedDRA 20.1.
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-myeloid-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01243944
- harm key
- EG002
- source section id
- NCT01243944-ae
- event group key
- EG002
- event group label
- Ruxolitinib - Week 256 Close Out
- serious affected
- 44
- serious at risk
- 110
- other affected
- 107
- other at risk
- 110
- frequency threshold
- 5
- collection period
- The initial data reported was for the study up to Week 32. This time frame defines the comparative phase of the study where the majority of participants remained on their original randomized assignment and exposure between ruxolitinib and best available therapy was similar. Data inclusive of end of study was reported up to week 256 for Ruxolitinib group. Long term Follow Up for BAT was not reported as all patients have completed the study or crossed over to Ruxolitinib group by week 80.
- event definition
- Safety population: All participants who were enrolled and took at least 1 dose of study medication. The initial data reported at Week 32 was based on MedDRA 15.1; the remaining data reported for end of study was based on MedDRA 20.1.
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- quality of life
- setting source links
Preserved source evidence · Not medical advice
Triangle