Skip to content
← Malignant Fallopian Tube Neoplasm

NCT00565851 · STUDY IN CONTEXT

Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Gemcitabine Hydrochloride With or Without Bevacizumab After Surgery in Treating Patients With Recurrent Ovarian, Epithelial, Primary Peritoneal, or Fall

Draft scope assessment: narrower. Linked by condition-string match at the cancer-entity level. The study's eligibility - stage, biomarker, treatment line and prior therapy - has not been reconciled against this page's definition, so its population is narrower than this page in ways not yet recorded. The condition was transformed or resolved through the terminology hierarchy to reach this cancer type, so the link itself is a candidate a reviewer must confirm. Found because this study's registry identifier is printed in an FDA approval notice, an FDA product label or an NCI summary held by this site. The citing document and the exact position of the identifier inside it are recorded. Being cited is not a statement that the study supports this treatment.

Read the full study record and all posted results →

Linked outcomes

Measures are not ranked. Open each original source section for treatment groups, denominators, units and results.

primary · POSTED

The treatment regimens will be compared with a logrank procedure which includes all of the patients categorized by their randomly assigned treatment. The logrank test will be stratified by the secondary surgical debulking status (randomized to undergo cytoreduction, vs randomized to not undergo secondary cytoreduction vs not a candidate or did not consent to secondary surgical cytoreduction) and the duration of treatment free-interval prior to enrolling onto this study (6-12 months vs \> 12 months). The median duration of follow-up is calculated by the reverse Kaplan-Meier method.

All patients who were eligible for the surgery analysis (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized surgical assignment, regardless of chemotherapy regimen, as pre-specified in the study protocol)

→

primary · POSTED

The treatment regimens will be compared with a logrank procedure which includes all of the patients categorized by their randomly assigned treatment. The logrank test will be stratified by the secondary surgical debulking status (randomized to undergo cytoreduction, vs randomized to not undergo secondary cytoreduction vs not a candidate or did not consent to secondary surgical cytoreduction) and the duration of treatment free-interval prior to enrolling onto this study (6-12 months vs \> 12 months). The median duration of follow-up is calculated by the reverse Kaplan-Meier method.

All patients who were enrolled between December 10, 2007 and August 26, 2011 and received paclitaxel and carboplatin (with or without bevacizumab) (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized chemotherapy regimen, regardless of surgical assignment, as pre-specified in the study protocol).

→

secondary · POSTED

Progression-free survival was defined as the time from randomization to cancer progression as shown on radiography, according to the RECIST version 1.0 criteria, an increase in the CA125 level according to Gynecologic Cancer InterGroup (GCIG) criteria, global deterioration of health, or death from any cause.

All patients who were enrolled and eligible for the chemotherapy analysis (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized chemotherapy regimen, regardless of surgical assignment, as pre-specified in the study protocol).

→

secondary · POSTED

Progression-free survival was defined as the time from randomization to cancer progression as shown on radiography, according to the RECIST version 1.0 criteria, an increase in the CA125 level according to Gynecologic Cancer InterGroup (GCIG) criteria, global deterioration of health, or death from any cause.

All randomized patients who were eligible for the surgery analysis (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized surgical assignment, regardless of chemotherapy regimen, as pre-specified in the study protocol).

→

secondary · POSTED

Number of treated patients with at least one adverse event reported (assessed by Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (version 4.0))

Eligible and treated participants

→

secondary · POSTED

Patient reported quality of life was measured with the Treatment Outcome Index (TOI) of the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy for ovarian cancer (FACT-O TOI). The FACT-O TOI is a scale for assessing general QOL of ovarian cancer patients. It consists of three subscales: Physical Well Being (7 items), Functional Well Being (7 items), and Ovarian Cancer subscale (11 items). Each item in the FACT-O TOI was scored using a 5-point scale (0=not at all; 1=a little bit; 2=somewhat; 3=quite a bit; 4=very much). The FACT-O TOI score ranges 0-100 with a large score suggests better QOL.

Provided baseline and at least one follow-up assessment (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized chemotherapy regimen, regardless of surgical assignment, as pre-specified in the study protocol).

→

Reported safety

Serious events are not the same as severe events. Compare the original safety groups and their at-risk populations.

Open the study safety table →

Quality of life and patient-reported measures

FACT · Patient Reported Quality of Life (Chemotherapy Analysis)

Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.

release id
clinical-indications-draft-1
disease state id
ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
nct id
NCT00565851
qol key
qol-0005
source section id
NCT00565851-om-0005
source outcome index
5
instrument
FACT
instrument basis
matched 'fact-o' in the study's own wording
scale title
Patient Reported Quality of Life (Chemotherapy Analysis)
measure definition
Patient reported quality of life was measured with the Treatment Outcome Index (TOI) of the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy for ovarian cancer (FACT-O TOI). The FACT-O TOI is a scale for assessing general QOL of ovarian cancer patients. It consists of three subscales: Physical Well Being (7 items), Functional Well Being (7 items), and Ovarian Cancer subscale (11 items). Each item in the FACT-O TOI was scored using a 5-point scale (0=not at all; 1=a little bit; 2=somewhat; 3=quite a bit; 4=very much). The FACT-O TOI score ranges 0-100 with a large score suggests better QOL.
time frame
1. Prior to cycle 1 (baseline), 2. Prior to cycle 3 (6 weeks post cycle 1), 3. Prior to cycle 6 (15 weeks post cycle 1), 4. 6 months post cycle 1, 5. 12 months post cycle 1.
analysis role
secondary
reporting status
POSTED
higher is better
Source null
direction quote
Source null
population note
Provided baseline and at least one follow-up assessment (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized chemotherapy regimen, regardless of surgical assignment, as pre-specified in the study protocol).
curation status
draft
reviewed by
Source null
reviewed at
Source null
created at
2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
Open the exact result →
SF-36 / SF-12 · Patient Reported Physical Function (Chemotherapy Analysis)

Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.

release id
clinical-indications-draft-1
disease state id
ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
nct id
NCT00565851
qol key
qol-0006
source section id
NCT00565851-om-0006
source outcome index
6
instrument
SF-36 / SF-12
instrument basis
matched 'sf-36' in the study's own wording
scale title
Patient Reported Physical Function (Chemotherapy Analysis)
measure definition
Patient reported physical functioning was measured with physical functioning subscale of the RAND SF-36. The Physical Functioning Subscale consists of 10 items concerning activities of daily living: walking, climbing stairs, bathing, dressing, and performance of physical activities. Each item is rated on a three-point scale of limitation of activity due to the patients' health from 1=limited a lot to 3=not limited. The total PF score is the summation of item scores and then rescaled to 0-100. A larger score suggests better physical functioning.
time frame
1. Prior to cycle 1 (baseline), 2. Prior to cycle 3 (6 weeks post cycle 1), 3. Prior to cycle 6 (15 weeks post cycle 1), 4. 6 months post cycle 1, 5. 12 months post cycle 1.
analysis role
secondary
reporting status
POSTED
higher is better
Source null
direction quote
Source null
population note
Provided baseline and at least one follow-up assessments (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized chemotherapy regimen, regardless of surgical assignment, as pre-specified in the study protocol).
curation status
draft
reviewed by
Source null
reviewed at
Source null
created at
2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
Open the exact result →
FACT · Patient Reported Quality of Life (Surgery Analysis)

Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.

release id
clinical-indications-draft-1
disease state id
ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
nct id
NCT00565851
qol key
qol-0007
source section id
NCT00565851-om-0007
source outcome index
7
instrument
FACT
instrument basis
matched 'fact-o' in the study's own wording
scale title
Patient Reported Quality of Life (Surgery Analysis)
measure definition
Patient reported quality of life was measured with the Treatment Outcome Index (TOI) of the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy for ovarian cancer (FACT-O TOI). The FACT-O TOI is a scale for assessing general QOL of ovarian cancer patients. It consists of three subscales: Physical Well Being (7 items), Functional Well Being (7 items), and Ovarian Cancer subscale (11 items). Each item in the FACT-O TOI was scored using a 5-point scale (0=not at all; 1=a little bit; 2=somewhat; 3=quite a bit; 4=very much). The FACT-O TOI score ranges 0-100 with a large score suggests better QOL.
time frame
1. Prior to surgery, 2. 6 weeks post-surgery, 3. 15 weeks post-surgery, 4. 6 months post-surgery, 5. 12 months post-surgery.
analysis role
secondary
reporting status
POSTED
higher is better
Source null
direction quote
Source null
population note
Provided baseline and at least one follow-up assessment (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized surgical assignment, regardless of chemotherapy regimen, as pre-specified in the study protocol).
curation status
draft
reviewed by
Source null
reviewed at
Source null
created at
2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
Open the exact result →
SF-36 / SF-12 · Patient Reported Physical Functioning (Surgery Analysis)

Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.

release id
clinical-indications-draft-1
disease state id
ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
nct id
NCT00565851
qol key
qol-0008
source section id
NCT00565851-om-0008
source outcome index
8
instrument
SF-36 / SF-12
instrument basis
matched 'sf-36' in the study's own wording
scale title
Patient Reported Physical Functioning (Surgery Analysis)
measure definition
Patient reported physical functioning was measured with physical functioning subscale of the RAND SF-36. The Physical Functioning subscale consists of 10 items concerning activities of daily living: walking, climbing stairs, bathing, dressing, and performance of physical activities. Each item is rated on a three-point scale of limitation of activity due to the patients' health from 1=limited a lot to 3=not limited. The total PF score is the summation of item scores and then rescaled to 0-100. A larger score suggests better physical functioning. This measure was completed by US patients only.
time frame
1. Prior to surgery (baseline), 2. 6 weeks post-surgery, 3. 15 weeks post-surgery 4. 6 months post-surgery, 5. 12 months post-surgery
analysis role
secondary
reporting status
POSTED
higher is better
Source null
direction quote
Source null
population note
US patients who provided baseline and ≥ 1 follow-up assessments (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized surgical assignment, regardless of chemotherapy regimen, as pre-specified in the study protocol).
curation status
draft
reviewed by
Source null
reviewed at
Source null
created at
2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
Open the exact result →
Full draft applicability and source-link record
trial
release id
clinical-indications-draft-1
disease state id
ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
nct id
NCT00565851
trial label
Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Gemcitabine Hydrochloride With or Without Bevacizumab After Surgery in Treating Patients With Recurrent Ovarian, Epithelial, Primary Peritoneal, or Fall
applicability
narrower
applicability note
Linked by condition-string match at the cancer-entity level. The study's eligibility - stage, biomarker, treatment line and prior therapy - has not been reconciled against this page's definition, so its population is narrower than this page in ways not yet recorded. The condition was transformed or resolved through the terminology hierarchy to reach this cancer type, so the link itself is a candidate a reviewer must confirm.
curation status
draft
reviewed by
Source null
reviewed at
Source null
created at
2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
provenance class
regulator-cited
discovery note
Found because this study's registry identifier is printed in an FDA approval notice, an FDA product label or an NCI summary held by this site. The citing document and the exact position of the identifier inside it are recorded. Being cited is not a statement that the study supports this treatment.
outcome Count
6
harms Count
8
qol Count
4
outcomes
  1. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    outcome key
    om-0000
    source section id
    NCT00565851-om-0000
    source outcome index
    0
    endpoint
    To Determine if Surgical Secondary Cytoreduction in Addition to Adjuvant Chemotherapy Increases the Duration of Overall Survival in Patients With Recurrent Platinum Sensitive Epithelial Ovarian Cancer, Peritoneal Primary or Fallopian Tube Cancer
    endpoint definition
    The treatment regimens will be compared with a logrank procedure which includes all of the patients categorized by their randomly assigned treatment. The logrank test will be stratified by the secondary surgical debulking status (randomized to undergo cytoreduction, vs randomized to not undergo secondary cytoreduction vs not a candidate or did not consent to secondary surgical cytoreduction) and the duration of treatment free-interval prior to enrolling onto this study (6-12 months vs \> 12 months). The median duration of follow-up is calculated by the reverse Kaplan-Meier method.
    time origin
    The time frame is 82.5 months (median duration of follow-up)
    analysis role
    primary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    data cutoff
    Source null
    population note
    All patients who were eligible for the surgery analysis (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized surgical assignment, regardless of chemotherapy regimen, as pre-specified in the study protocol)
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  2. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    outcome key
    om-0001
    source section id
    NCT00565851-om-0001
    source outcome index
    1
    endpoint
    To Determine if the Addition of Bevacizumab Increases the Duration of Overall Survival Relative to Second-line Paclitaxel and Carboplatin Alone in Patients With Recurrent Platinum Sensitive Epithelial Ovarian, Peritoneal Primary or Fallopian Tube Cancer
    endpoint definition
    The treatment regimens will be compared with a logrank procedure which includes all of the patients categorized by their randomly assigned treatment. The logrank test will be stratified by the secondary surgical debulking status (randomized to undergo cytoreduction, vs randomized to not undergo secondary cytoreduction vs not a candidate or did not consent to secondary surgical cytoreduction) and the duration of treatment free-interval prior to enrolling onto this study (6-12 months vs \> 12 months). The median duration of follow-up is calculated by the reverse Kaplan-Meier method.
    time origin
    The time frame is 82.5 months (median duration of follow-up).
    analysis role
    primary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    data cutoff
    Source null
    population note
    All patients who were enrolled between December 10, 2007 and August 26, 2011 and received paclitaxel and carboplatin (with or without bevacizumab) (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized chemotherapy regimen, regardless of surgical assignment, as pre-specified in the study protocol).
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  3. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    outcome key
    om-0002
    source section id
    NCT00565851-om-0002
    source outcome index
    2
    endpoint
    Progression-free Survival (Chemotherapy Analysis)
    endpoint definition
    Progression-free survival was defined as the time from randomization to cancer progression as shown on radiography, according to the RECIST version 1.0 criteria, an increase in the CA125 level according to Gynecologic Cancer InterGroup (GCIG) criteria, global deterioration of health, or death from any cause.
    time origin
    Radiographic assessment of disease was conducted during chemotherapy and then every 6 months during the maintenance / surveillance phase
    analysis role
    secondary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    data cutoff
    Source null
    population note
    All patients who were enrolled and eligible for the chemotherapy analysis (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized chemotherapy regimen, regardless of surgical assignment, as pre-specified in the study protocol).
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  4. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    outcome key
    om-0003
    source section id
    NCT00565851-om-0003
    source outcome index
    3
    endpoint
    Progression Free Survival (Surgery Analysis)
    endpoint definition
    Progression-free survival was defined as the time from randomization to cancer progression as shown on radiography, according to the RECIST version 1.0 criteria, an increase in the CA125 level according to Gynecologic Cancer InterGroup (GCIG) criteria, global deterioration of health, or death from any cause.
    time origin
    Radiographic assessment of disease (in patients with measurable and non-measurable disease) was conducted Every three months for two years and then every 6 months after completion of chemotherapy during the maintenance/surveillance phase.
    analysis role
    secondary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    data cutoff
    Source null
    population note
    All randomized patients who were eligible for the surgery analysis (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized surgical assignment, regardless of chemotherapy regimen, as pre-specified in the study protocol).
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  5. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    outcome key
    om-0004
    source section id
    NCT00565851-om-0004
    source outcome index
    4
    endpoint
    Summary of Adverse Events (CTCAE Version 4.0)
    endpoint definition
    Number of treated patients with at least one adverse event reported (assessed by Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (version 4.0))
    time origin
    During treatment period and up to 100 days after stopping the study treatment, a median duration of 82.5 months
    analysis role
    secondary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    data cutoff
    Source null
    population note
    Eligible and treated participants
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  6. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    outcome key
    om-0005
    source section id
    NCT00565851-om-0005
    source outcome index
    5
    endpoint
    Patient Reported Quality of Life (Chemotherapy Analysis)
    endpoint definition
    Patient reported quality of life was measured with the Treatment Outcome Index (TOI) of the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy for ovarian cancer (FACT-O TOI). The FACT-O TOI is a scale for assessing general QOL of ovarian cancer patients. It consists of three subscales: Physical Well Being (7 items), Functional Well Being (7 items), and Ovarian Cancer subscale (11 items). Each item in the FACT-O TOI was scored using a 5-point scale (0=not at all; 1=a little bit; 2=somewhat; 3=quite a bit; 4=very much). The FACT-O TOI score ranges 0-100 with a large score suggests better QOL.
    time origin
    1. Prior to cycle 1 (baseline), 2. Prior to cycle 3 (6 weeks post cycle 1), 3. Prior to cycle 6 (15 weeks post cycle 1), 4. 6 months post cycle 1, 5. 12 months post cycle 1.
    analysis role
    secondary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    data cutoff
    Source null
    population note
    Provided baseline and at least one follow-up assessment (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized chemotherapy regimen, regardless of surgical assignment, as pre-specified in the study protocol).
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
arms
  1. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    outcome key
    om-0000
    arm key
    OG000
    arm label
    No Cytoreductive Surgery
    regimen
    All patients enrolled in the study who did not receive cytoreductive surgery and included in the surgery analysis
    analyzed count
    245
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT00565851-om-0000#groups/OG000
  2. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    outcome key
    om-0000
    arm key
    OG001
    arm label
    Cytoreductive Surgery
    regimen
    All patients enrolled in the study who received secondary cytoreductive surgery and were included in the surgery analysis
    analyzed count
    240
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT00565851-om-0000#groups/OG001
  3. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    outcome key
    om-0001
    arm key
    OG000
    arm label
    Paclitaxel and Carboplatin Chemotherapy
    regimen
    All patients who received paclitaxel and carboplatin chemotherapy and were included in the chemotherapy analysis
    analyzed count
    337
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT00565851-om-0001#groups/OG000
  4. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    outcome key
    om-0001
    arm key
    OG001
    arm label
    Paclitaxel and Carboplatin Chemotherapy With Bevacizumab
    regimen
    All patients who received paclitaxel and carboplatin chemotherapy with bevacizumab followed by bevacizumab maintenance therapy and were included in the chemotherapy analysis
    analyzed count
    337
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT00565851-om-0001#groups/OG001
  5. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    outcome key
    om-0002
    arm key
    OG000
    arm label
    Paclitaxel and Carboplatin Chemotherapy
    regimen
    All patients who received paclitaxel and carboplatin chemotherapy and were included in the chemotherapy analysis
    analyzed count
    337
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT00565851-om-0002#groups/OG000
  6. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    outcome key
    om-0002
    arm key
    OG001
    arm label
    Paclitaxel and Carboplatin Chemotherapy With Bevacizumab
    regimen
    All patients who received paclitaxel and carboplatin chemotherapy with bevacizumab followed by bevacizumab maintenance therapy and were included in the chemotherapy analysis
    analyzed count
    337
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT00565851-om-0002#groups/OG001
  7. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    outcome key
    om-0003
    arm key
    OG000
    arm label
    No Cytoreductive Surgery
    regimen
    All patients enrolled in the study who did not receive cytoreductive surgery and included in the surgery analysis
    analyzed count
    245
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT00565851-om-0003#groups/OG000
  8. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    outcome key
    om-0003
    arm key
    OG001
    arm label
    Cytoreductive Surgery
    regimen
    All patients enrolled in the study who received secondary cytoreductive surgery and were included in the surgery analysis
    analyzed count
    240
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT00565851-om-0003#groups/OG001
  9. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    outcome key
    om-0004
    arm key
    OG000
    arm label
    Arm I (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel)
    regimen
    Patients receive paclitaxel IV over 3 hours or docetaxel IV over 1 hour and carboplatin over 30 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days. Patients are not in secondary cytoreductive surgery portion of study. Carboplatin: Given IV Docetaxel: Given IV Laboratory Biomarker Analysis: Correlative studies Paclitaxel: Given IV Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies
    analyzed count
    316
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT00565851-om-0004#groups/OG000
  10. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    outcome key
    om-0004
    arm key
    OG001
    arm label
    Arm II (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab)
    regimen
    Patients receive chemotherapy as in arm I and bevacizumab IV over 30-90 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days. Patients are not in secondary cytoreductive surgery portion of study. Bevacizumab: Given IV Carboplatin: Given IV Docetaxel: Given IV Laboratory Biomarker Analysis: Correlative studies Paclitaxel: Given IV Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies
    analyzed count
    456
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT00565851-om-0004#groups/OG001
  11. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    outcome key
    om-0004
    arm key
    OG002
    arm label
    Arm III (Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel)
    regimen
    Patients receive paclitaxel IV over 3 hours or docetaxel IV over 1 hour and carboplatin over 30 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days. Patients receive secondary cytoreductive surgery. Carboplatin: Given IV Laboratory Biomarker Analysis: Correlative studies Paclitaxel: Given IV Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies
    analyzed count
    33
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT00565851-om-0004#groups/OG002
  12. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    outcome key
    om-0004
    arm key
    OG003
    arm label
    Arm IV (Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab)
    regimen
    Patients receive paclitaxel IV over 3 hours or docetaxel IV over 1 hour and carboplatin over 30 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days. Patients receive secondary cytoreductive surgery. Bevacizumab: Given IV Carboplatin: Given IV Docetaxel: Given IV Laboratory Biomarker Analysis: Correlative studies Paclitaxel: Given IV Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies
    analyzed count
    165
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT00565851-om-0004#groups/OG003
harms
  1. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    harm key
    EG000
    source section id
    NCT00565851-ae
    event group key
    EG000
    event group label
    Arm I (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel)
    serious affected
    37
    serious at risk
    316
    other affected
    304
    other at risk
    316
    frequency threshold
    0
    collection period
    During treatment period and up to 100 days after stopping the study treatment, a median duration of 82.5 months.
    event definition
    Eligible and treated participants were affected if they experienced grade 1 - 5 adverse event. Adverse events were not collected in a manner that allow them to be attributed to an intervention (i.e. surgery or chemotherapy).
    undenominated note
    Source null
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  2. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    harm key
    EG001
    source section id
    NCT00565851-ae
    event group key
    EG001
    event group label
    Arm II (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab)
    serious affected
    104
    serious at risk
    456
    other affected
    376
    other at risk
    456
    frequency threshold
    0
    collection period
    During treatment period and up to 100 days after stopping the study treatment, a median duration of 82.5 months.
    event definition
    Eligible and treated participants were affected if they experienced grade 1 - 5 adverse event. Adverse events were not collected in a manner that allow them to be attributed to an intervention (i.e. surgery or chemotherapy).
    undenominated note
    Source null
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  3. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    harm key
    EG002
    source section id
    NCT00565851-ae
    event group key
    EG002
    event group label
    Arm III (Surgery; Carboplatin and Paclitaxel)
    serious affected
    1
    serious at risk
    33
    other affected
    29
    other at risk
    33
    frequency threshold
    0
    collection period
    During treatment period and up to 100 days after stopping the study treatment, a median duration of 82.5 months.
    event definition
    Eligible and treated participants were affected if they experienced grade 1 - 5 adverse event. Adverse events were not collected in a manner that allow them to be attributed to an intervention (i.e. surgery or chemotherapy).
    undenominated note
    Source null
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  4. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    harm key
    EG003
    source section id
    NCT00565851-ae
    event group key
    EG003
    event group label
    Arm IV (Surgery; Carboplatin, Paclitaxel and Bevacizumab)
    serious affected
    24
    serious at risk
    165
    other affected
    77
    other at risk
    165
    frequency threshold
    0
    collection period
    During treatment period and up to 100 days after stopping the study treatment, a median duration of 82.5 months.
    event definition
    Eligible and treated participants were affected if they experienced grade 1 - 5 adverse event. Adverse events were not collected in a manner that allow them to be attributed to an intervention (i.e. surgery or chemotherapy).
    undenominated note
    Source null
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  5. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    harm key
    EG004
    source section id
    NCT00565851-ae
    event group key
    EG004
    event group label
    Arm V (no Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine)
    serious affected
    0
    serious at risk
    6
    other affected
    3
    other at risk
    6
    frequency threshold
    0
    collection period
    During treatment period and up to 100 days after stopping the study treatment, a median duration of 82.5 months.
    event definition
    Eligible and treated participants were affected if they experienced grade 1 - 5 adverse event. Adverse events were not collected in a manner that allow them to be attributed to an intervention (i.e. surgery or chemotherapy).
    undenominated note
    Source null
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  6. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    harm key
    EG005
    source section id
    NCT00565851-ae
    event group key
    EG005
    event group label
    Arm VI (no Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab)
    serious affected
    1
    serious at risk
    34
    other affected
    9
    other at risk
    34
    frequency threshold
    0
    collection period
    During treatment period and up to 100 days after stopping the study treatment, a median duration of 82.5 months.
    event definition
    Eligible and treated participants were affected if they experienced grade 1 - 5 adverse event. Adverse events were not collected in a manner that allow them to be attributed to an intervention (i.e. surgery or chemotherapy).
    undenominated note
    Source null
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  7. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    harm key
    EG006
    source section id
    NCT00565851-ae
    event group key
    EG006
    event group label
    Arm VII (Surgery; Carboplatin and Gemcitabine)
    serious affected
    2
    serious at risk
    5
    other affected
    3
    other at risk
    5
    frequency threshold
    0
    collection period
    During treatment period and up to 100 days after stopping the study treatment, a median duration of 82.5 months.
    event definition
    Eligible and treated participants were affected if they experienced grade 1 - 5 adverse event. Adverse events were not collected in a manner that allow them to be attributed to an intervention (i.e. surgery or chemotherapy).
    undenominated note
    Source null
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  8. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    harm key
    EG007
    source section id
    NCT00565851-ae
    event group key
    EG007
    event group label
    Arm VIII (Surgery; Carboplatin, Gemcitabine and Bevacizumab)
    serious affected
    2
    serious at risk
    37
    other affected
    9
    other at risk
    37
    frequency threshold
    0
    collection period
    During treatment period and up to 100 days after stopping the study treatment, a median duration of 82.5 months.
    event definition
    Eligible and treated participants were affected if they experienced grade 1 - 5 adverse event. Adverse events were not collected in a manner that allow them to be attributed to an intervention (i.e. surgery or chemotherapy).
    undenominated note
    Source null
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
quality of life
  1. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    qol key
    qol-0005
    source section id
    NCT00565851-om-0005
    source outcome index
    5
    instrument
    FACT
    instrument basis
    matched 'fact-o' in the study's own wording
    scale title
    Patient Reported Quality of Life (Chemotherapy Analysis)
    measure definition
    Patient reported quality of life was measured with the Treatment Outcome Index (TOI) of the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy for ovarian cancer (FACT-O TOI). The FACT-O TOI is a scale for assessing general QOL of ovarian cancer patients. It consists of three subscales: Physical Well Being (7 items), Functional Well Being (7 items), and Ovarian Cancer subscale (11 items). Each item in the FACT-O TOI was scored using a 5-point scale (0=not at all; 1=a little bit; 2=somewhat; 3=quite a bit; 4=very much). The FACT-O TOI score ranges 0-100 with a large score suggests better QOL.
    time frame
    1. Prior to cycle 1 (baseline), 2. Prior to cycle 3 (6 weeks post cycle 1), 3. Prior to cycle 6 (15 weeks post cycle 1), 4. 6 months post cycle 1, 5. 12 months post cycle 1.
    analysis role
    secondary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    higher is better
    Source null
    direction quote
    Source null
    population note
    Provided baseline and at least one follow-up assessment (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized chemotherapy regimen, regardless of surgical assignment, as pre-specified in the study protocol).
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  2. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    qol key
    qol-0006
    source section id
    NCT00565851-om-0006
    source outcome index
    6
    instrument
    SF-36 / SF-12
    instrument basis
    matched 'sf-36' in the study's own wording
    scale title
    Patient Reported Physical Function (Chemotherapy Analysis)
    measure definition
    Patient reported physical functioning was measured with physical functioning subscale of the RAND SF-36. The Physical Functioning Subscale consists of 10 items concerning activities of daily living: walking, climbing stairs, bathing, dressing, and performance of physical activities. Each item is rated on a three-point scale of limitation of activity due to the patients' health from 1=limited a lot to 3=not limited. The total PF score is the summation of item scores and then rescaled to 0-100. A larger score suggests better physical functioning.
    time frame
    1. Prior to cycle 1 (baseline), 2. Prior to cycle 3 (6 weeks post cycle 1), 3. Prior to cycle 6 (15 weeks post cycle 1), 4. 6 months post cycle 1, 5. 12 months post cycle 1.
    analysis role
    secondary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    higher is better
    Source null
    direction quote
    Source null
    population note
    Provided baseline and at least one follow-up assessments (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized chemotherapy regimen, regardless of surgical assignment, as pre-specified in the study protocol).
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  3. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    qol key
    qol-0007
    source section id
    NCT00565851-om-0007
    source outcome index
    7
    instrument
    FACT
    instrument basis
    matched 'fact-o' in the study's own wording
    scale title
    Patient Reported Quality of Life (Surgery Analysis)
    measure definition
    Patient reported quality of life was measured with the Treatment Outcome Index (TOI) of the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy for ovarian cancer (FACT-O TOI). The FACT-O TOI is a scale for assessing general QOL of ovarian cancer patients. It consists of three subscales: Physical Well Being (7 items), Functional Well Being (7 items), and Ovarian Cancer subscale (11 items). Each item in the FACT-O TOI was scored using a 5-point scale (0=not at all; 1=a little bit; 2=somewhat; 3=quite a bit; 4=very much). The FACT-O TOI score ranges 0-100 with a large score suggests better QOL.
    time frame
    1. Prior to surgery, 2. 6 weeks post-surgery, 3. 15 weeks post-surgery, 4. 6 months post-surgery, 5. 12 months post-surgery.
    analysis role
    secondary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    higher is better
    Source null
    direction quote
    Source null
    population note
    Provided baseline and at least one follow-up assessment (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized surgical assignment, regardless of chemotherapy regimen, as pre-specified in the study protocol).
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  4. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-malignant-fallopian-tube-neoplasm
    nct id
    NCT00565851
    qol key
    qol-0008
    source section id
    NCT00565851-om-0008
    source outcome index
    8
    instrument
    SF-36 / SF-12
    instrument basis
    matched 'sf-36' in the study's own wording
    scale title
    Patient Reported Physical Functioning (Surgery Analysis)
    measure definition
    Patient reported physical functioning was measured with physical functioning subscale of the RAND SF-36. The Physical Functioning subscale consists of 10 items concerning activities of daily living: walking, climbing stairs, bathing, dressing, and performance of physical activities. Each item is rated on a three-point scale of limitation of activity due to the patients' health from 1=limited a lot to 3=not limited. The total PF score is the summation of item scores and then rescaled to 0-100. A larger score suggests better physical functioning. This measure was completed by US patients only.
    time frame
    1. Prior to surgery (baseline), 2. 6 weeks post-surgery, 3. 15 weeks post-surgery 4. 6 months post-surgery, 5. 12 months post-surgery
    analysis role
    secondary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    higher is better
    Source null
    direction quote
    Source null
    population note
    US patients who provided baseline and ≥ 1 follow-up assessments (data were combined and analyzed according to randomized surgical assignment, regardless of chemotherapy regimen, as pre-specified in the study protocol).
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
setting source links

    Preserved source evidence · Not medical advice