NCT04505553 · STUDY IN CONTEXT
Oral Cryotherapy Plus Acupressure and Acupuncture Versus Oral Cryotherapy for Decreasing Chemotherapy-Induced Peripheral Neuropathy From Oxaliplatin-Based Chemotherapy in Patients
Draft scope assessment: narrower. Linked by condition-string match at the cancer-entity level. The study's eligibility - stage, biomarker, treatment line and prior therapy - has not been reconciled against this page's definition, so its population is narrower than this page in ways not yet recorded. The condition was transformed or resolved through the terminology hierarchy to reach this cancer type, so the link itself is a candidate a reviewer must confirm. Found by searching ClinicalTrials.gov for this cancer type, restricted to studies that have posted results to the registry. No FDA notice, FDA label or NCI summary held by this site cites this study. Because the search asked for posted results, studies without posted results were never looked for, so their absence from this page means nothing.
Read the full study record and all posted results →
Linked outcomes
Measured by the European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC)-CIPN 20. Severity of CIPN will be summarized for each treatment arm, and treatment comparisons made via linear regression model with adjustment for baseline severity level. The EORTC QLQ-CIPN20 is a 20-item questionnaire that evaluates CIPN using 3 subscales that assess sensory (9 items), motor (8 items), and autonomic (3 items) symptoms and functioning. The CIPN-20 subscale raw scores are linearly converted to a 0-100 scale such that a high score corresponds to a worse condition or more symptoms. Change in severity was measured by the difference in the converted scores from baseline to three months and the range is -100 to 100.
Measured by Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5. Incidences of CIPN (grade 2 or higher), pain, fatigue, nausea, and anxiety will be compared between treatment arms using Chi-squared or Fisher's exact tests as appropriate.
The Neuropen is used to assess pressure perception. Pressure sensation will be assessed using a 10-g monofilament on the subject's dominant foot at each of the ten different sites recorded as present or absent. The proportion present was calculated for each patient at baseline and at 3 months. The difference between these proportions from baseline to 3 months was calculated for each patient. The mean of these differences was calculated within each arm and the difference of those means was then compared between arms.
A study-specific 128-Hz tuning fork will be used to assess vibration sensation on the great toe at baseline and 3 months. The time in seconds to loss of vibration sensation was measured. Vibration sensation is lost sooner in CIPN, which means that shorter duration of vibration scores are associated with increased CIPN. The difference from baseline to 3 months in number of seconds to loss of vibration sensation was calculated for each patient. The differences were averaged across patients in each arm. The mean differences were compared between arms.
Adherence to acupuncture treatment among patients in the intervention arm will be described as a proportion with 95% confidence interval. Reasons for treatment non-adherence and delivered dose intensity of chemotherapy will be noted.
Measured by patient-reported National Cancer Institute \[NCI\] Patient Reported Outcomes \[PRO\]-CTCAE. The change in severity from baseline to 3 months was calculated and it ranged from -3 to 3. The severity was measured on a 0-3 (0=None, 3=Severe) scale with a higher value representing a worse outcome and a lower value representing a better outcome. This was done separately for pain, fatigue, nausea, and anxiety.
Reported safety
Quality of life and patient-reported measures
EORTC QLQ · Change in Severity of Chemotherapy-induced Peripheral Neuropathy (CIPN) From Baseline to 3 Months
Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-malignant-appendix-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT04505553
- qol key
- qol-0000
- source section id
- NCT04505553-om-0000
- source outcome index
- 0
- instrument
- EORTC QLQ
- instrument basis
- matched 'eortc' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Change in Severity of Chemotherapy-induced Peripheral Neuropathy (CIPN) From Baseline to 3 Months
- measure definition
- Measured by the European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC)-CIPN 20. Severity of CIPN will be summarized for each treatment arm, and treatment comparisons made via linear regression model with adjustment for baseline severity level. The EORTC QLQ-CIPN20 is a 20-item questionnaire that evaluates CIPN using 3 subscales that assess sensory (9 items), motor (8 items), and autonomic (3 items) symptoms and functioning. The CIPN-20 subscale raw scores are linearly converted to a 0-100 scale such that a high score corresponds to a worse condition or more symptoms. Change in severity was measured by the difference in the converted scores from baseline to three months and the range is -100 to 100.
- time frame
- At 3 months
- analysis role
- primary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- Due to missing patient reported outcomes the overall number of participants analyzed differs from patients that completed the study.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
Patient-reported symptom or function measure · Change in Severity of Pain, Fatigue, Nausea, and Anxiety From Baseline to 3 Months
Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-malignant-appendix-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT04505553
- qol key
- qol-0005
- source section id
- NCT04505553-om-0005
- source outcome index
- 5
- instrument
- Patient-reported symptom or function measure
- instrument basis
- matched 'patient-reported' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Change in Severity of Pain, Fatigue, Nausea, and Anxiety From Baseline to 3 Months
- measure definition
- Measured by patient-reported National Cancer Institute \[NCI\] Patient Reported Outcomes \[PRO\]-CTCAE. The change in severity from baseline to 3 months was calculated and it ranged from -3 to 3. The severity was measured on a 0-3 (0=None, 3=Severe) scale with a higher value representing a worse outcome and a lower value representing a better outcome. This was done separately for pain, fatigue, nausea, and anxiety.
- time frame
- 3 months
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- Due to missing patient reported outcomes the overall number of participants analyzed differs from patients that completed the study.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
Full draft applicability and source-link record
- trial
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-malignant-appendix-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT04505553
- trial label
- Oral Cryotherapy Plus Acupressure and Acupuncture Versus Oral Cryotherapy for Decreasing Chemotherapy-Induced Peripheral Neuropathy From Oxaliplatin-Based Chemotherapy in Patients
- applicability
- narrower
- applicability note
- Linked by condition-string match at the cancer-entity level. The study's eligibility - stage, biomarker, treatment line and prior therapy - has not been reconciled against this page's definition, so its population is narrower than this page in ways not yet recorded. The condition was transformed or resolved through the terminology hierarchy to reach this cancer type, so the link itself is a candidate a reviewer must confirm.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- provenance class
- registry-condition-search
- discovery note
- Found by searching ClinicalTrials.gov for this cancer type, restricted to studies that have posted results to the registry. No FDA notice, FDA label or NCI summary held by this site cites this study. Because the search asked for posted results, studies without posted results were never looked for, so their absence from this page means nothing.
- outcome Count
- 6
- harms Count
- 2
- qol Count
- 2
- outcomes
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-malignant-appendix-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT04505553
- outcome key
- om-0000
- source section id
- NCT04505553-om-0000
- source outcome index
- 0
- endpoint
- Change in Severity of Chemotherapy-induced Peripheral Neuropathy (CIPN) From Baseline to 3 Months
- endpoint definition
- Measured by the European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC)-CIPN 20. Severity of CIPN will be summarized for each treatment arm, and treatment comparisons made via linear regression model with adjustment for baseline severity level. The EORTC QLQ-CIPN20 is a 20-item questionnaire that evaluates CIPN using 3 subscales that assess sensory (9 items), motor (8 items), and autonomic (3 items) symptoms and functioning. The CIPN-20 subscale raw scores are linearly converted to a 0-100 scale such that a high score corresponds to a worse condition or more symptoms. Change in severity was measured by the difference in the converted scores from baseline to three months and the range is -100 to 100.
- time origin
- At 3 months
- analysis role
- primary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Due to missing patient reported outcomes the overall number of participants analyzed differs from patients that completed the study.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-malignant-appendix-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT04505553
- outcome key
- om-0001
- source section id
- NCT04505553-om-0001
- source outcome index
- 1
- endpoint
- Number of Participants With Grade 2 or Higher Chemotherapy-Induced Peripheral Neuropathy
- endpoint definition
- Measured by Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5. Incidences of CIPN (grade 2 or higher), pain, fatigue, nausea, and anxiety will be compared between treatment arms using Chi-squared or Fisher's exact tests as appropriate.
- time origin
- 3 months
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Frequency of Chemotherapy-Induced Peripheral Neuropathy (CIPN)
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-malignant-appendix-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT04505553
- outcome key
- om-0002
- source section id
- NCT04505553-om-0002
- source outcome index
- 2
- endpoint
- Severity of CIPN: Neuropen Assessment of Patients' Perceived Pressure
- endpoint definition
- The Neuropen is used to assess pressure perception. Pressure sensation will be assessed using a 10-g monofilament on the subject's dominant foot at each of the ten different sites recorded as present or absent. The proportion present was calculated for each patient at baseline and at 3 months. The difference between these proportions from baseline to 3 months was calculated for each patient. The mean of these differences was calculated within each arm and the difference of those means was then compared between arms.
- time origin
- 3 months
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Due to missing acupuncture appointments the overall number of participants analyzed differs from patients that completed the study.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-malignant-appendix-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT04505553
- outcome key
- om-0003
- source section id
- NCT04505553-om-0003
- source outcome index
- 3
- endpoint
- Severity of CIPN: Tuning Fork Vibration Sensation Testing
- endpoint definition
- A study-specific 128-Hz tuning fork will be used to assess vibration sensation on the great toe at baseline and 3 months. The time in seconds to loss of vibration sensation was measured. Vibration sensation is lost sooner in CIPN, which means that shorter duration of vibration scores are associated with increased CIPN. The difference from baseline to 3 months in number of seconds to loss of vibration sensation was calculated for each patient. The differences were averaged across patients in each arm. The mean differences were compared between arms.
- time origin
- 3 months
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Due to missing acupuncture appointments the overall number of participants analyzed differs from patients that completed the study.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-malignant-appendix-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT04505553
- outcome key
- om-0004
- source section id
- NCT04505553-om-0004
- source outcome index
- 4
- endpoint
- Proportion of Patients Assigned to the Intervention Arm Who Complete 60% of Acupuncture Treatments
- endpoint definition
- Adherence to acupuncture treatment among patients in the intervention arm will be described as a proportion with 95% confidence interval. Reasons for treatment non-adherence and delivered dose intensity of chemotherapy will be noted.
- time origin
- 3 months
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Summary of Patient Adherence to Acupuncture Protocol Based on 60% Threshold
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-malignant-appendix-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT04505553
- outcome key
- om-0005
- source section id
- NCT04505553-om-0005
- source outcome index
- 5
- endpoint
- Change in Severity of Pain, Fatigue, Nausea, and Anxiety From Baseline to 3 Months
- endpoint definition
- Measured by patient-reported National Cancer Institute \[NCI\] Patient Reported Outcomes \[PRO\]-CTCAE. The change in severity from baseline to 3 months was calculated and it ranged from -3 to 3. The severity was measured on a 0-3 (0=None, 3=Severe) scale with a higher value representing a worse outcome and a lower value representing a better outcome. This was done separately for pain, fatigue, nausea, and anxiety.
- time origin
- 3 months
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Due to missing patient reported outcomes the overall number of participants analyzed differs from patients that completed the study.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- arms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-malignant-appendix-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT04505553
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Arm I (Acupuncture, Acupressure, Cryotherapy)
- regimen
- Patients undergo acupuncture during chemotherapy infusion on day 1 and fluorouracil pump disconnect on day 3 of each biweekly chemotherapy infusion over 12 weeks. Patients also undergo self-administered acupressure over 11 minutes daily for 12 weeks and undergo standard of care oral cryotherapy. Acupuncture Therapy: Undergo acupuncture Acupressure Therapy: Undergo acupressure Oral Cryotherapy: Undergo oral cryotherapy Questionnaire Administration: Ancillary studies Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies
- analyzed count
- 20
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT04505553-om-0000#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-malignant-appendix-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT04505553
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Arm II (Cryotherapy)
- regimen
- Patients undergo standard of care oral cryotherapy. Oral Cryotherapy: Undergo oral cryotherapy Questionnaire Administration: Ancillary studies Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies
- analyzed count
- 27
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT04505553-om-0000#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-malignant-appendix-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT04505553
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Arm I (Acupuncture, Acupressure, Cryotherapy)
- regimen
- Patients undergo acupuncture during chemotherapy infusion on day 1 and fluorouracil pump disconnect on day 3 of each biweekly chemotherapy infusion over 12 weeks. Patients also undergo self-administered acupressure over 11 minutes daily for 12 weeks and undergo standard of care oral cryotherapy. Acupuncture Therapy: Undergo acupuncture Acupressure Therapy: Undergo acupressure Oral Cryotherapy: Undergo oral cryotherapy Questionnaire Administration: Ancillary studies Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies
- analyzed count
- 33
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT04505553-om-0001#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-malignant-appendix-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT04505553
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Arm II (Cryotherapy)
- regimen
- Patients undergo standard of care oral cryotherapy. Oral Cryotherapy: Undergo oral cryotherapy Questionnaire Administration: Ancillary studies Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies
- analyzed count
- 36
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT04505553-om-0001#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-malignant-appendix-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT04505553
- outcome key
- om-0002
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Arm I (Acupuncture, Acupressure, Cryotherapy)
- regimen
- Patients undergo acupuncture during chemotherapy infusion on day 1 and fluorouracil pump disconnect on day 3 of each biweekly chemotherapy infusion over 12 weeks. Patients also undergo self-administered acupressure over 11 minutes daily for 12 weeks and undergo standard of care oral cryotherapy. Acupuncture Therapy: Undergo acupuncture Acupressure Therapy: Undergo acupressure Oral Cryotherapy: Undergo oral cryotherapy Questionnaire Administration: Ancillary studies Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies
- analyzed count
- 21
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT04505553-om-0002#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-malignant-appendix-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT04505553
- outcome key
- om-0002
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Arm II (Cryotherapy)
- regimen
- Patients undergo standard of care oral cryotherapy. Oral Cryotherapy: Undergo oral cryotherapy Questionnaire Administration: Ancillary studies Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies
- analyzed count
- 27
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT04505553-om-0002#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-malignant-appendix-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT04505553
- outcome key
- om-0003
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Arm I (Acupuncture, Acupressure, Cryotherapy)
- regimen
- Patients undergo acupuncture during chemotherapy infusion on day 1 and fluorouracil pump disconnect on day 3 of each biweekly chemotherapy infusion over 12 weeks. Patients also undergo self-administered acupressure over 11 minutes daily for 12 weeks and undergo standard of care oral cryotherapy. Acupuncture Therapy: Undergo acupuncture Acupressure Therapy: Undergo acupressure Oral Cryotherapy: Undergo oral cryotherapy Questionnaire Administration: Ancillary studies Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies
- analyzed count
- 21
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT04505553-om-0003#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-malignant-appendix-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT04505553
- outcome key
- om-0003
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Arm II (Cryotherapy)
- regimen
- Patients undergo standard of care oral cryotherapy. Oral Cryotherapy: Undergo oral cryotherapy Questionnaire Administration: Ancillary studies Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies
- analyzed count
- 27
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT04505553-om-0003#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-malignant-appendix-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT04505553
- outcome key
- om-0004
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Arm I (Acupuncture, Acupressure, Cryotherapy)
- regimen
- Patients undergo acupuncture during chemotherapy infusion on day 1 and fluorouracil pump disconnect on day 3 of each biweekly chemotherapy infusion over 12 weeks. Patients also undergo self-administered acupressure over 11 minutes daily for 12 weeks and undergo standard of care oral cryotherapy. Acupuncture Therapy: Undergo acupuncture Acupressure Therapy: Undergo acupressure Oral Cryotherapy: Undergo oral cryotherapy Questionnaire Administration: Ancillary studies Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies
- analyzed count
- 33
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT04505553-om-0004#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-malignant-appendix-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT04505553
- outcome key
- om-0005
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Arm I (Acupuncture, Acupressure, Cryotherapy)
- regimen
- Patients undergo acupuncture during chemotherapy infusion on day 1 and fluorouracil pump disconnect on day 3 of each biweekly chemotherapy infusion over 12 weeks. Patients also undergo self-administered acupressure over 11 minutes daily for 12 weeks and undergo standard of care oral cryotherapy. Acupuncture Therapy: Undergo acupuncture Acupressure Therapy: Undergo acupressure Oral Cryotherapy: Undergo oral cryotherapy Questionnaire Administration: Ancillary studies Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies
- analyzed count
- 20
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT04505553-om-0005#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-malignant-appendix-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT04505553
- outcome key
- om-0005
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Arm II (Cryotherapy)
- regimen
- Patients undergo standard of care oral cryotherapy. Oral Cryotherapy: Undergo oral cryotherapy Questionnaire Administration: Ancillary studies Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies
- analyzed count
- 27
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT04505553-om-0005#groups/OG001
- harms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-malignant-appendix-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT04505553
- harm key
- EG000
- source section id
- NCT04505553-ae
- event group key
- EG000
- event group label
- Arm I (Acupuncture, Acupressure, Cryotherapy)
- serious affected
- 0
- serious at risk
- 33
- other affected
- 18
- other at risk
- 33
- frequency threshold
- 0
- collection period
- 22 weeks
- event definition
- CTCAE vr. 5 terms used
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-malignant-appendix-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT04505553
- harm key
- EG001
- source section id
- NCT04505553-ae
- event group key
- EG001
- event group label
- Arm II (Cryotherapy)
- serious affected
- 0
- serious at risk
- 36
- other affected
- 26
- other at risk
- 36
- frequency threshold
- 0
- collection period
- 22 weeks
- event definition
- CTCAE vr. 5 terms used
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- quality of life
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-malignant-appendix-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT04505553
- qol key
- qol-0000
- source section id
- NCT04505553-om-0000
- source outcome index
- 0
- instrument
- EORTC QLQ
- instrument basis
- matched 'eortc' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Change in Severity of Chemotherapy-induced Peripheral Neuropathy (CIPN) From Baseline to 3 Months
- measure definition
- Measured by the European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC)-CIPN 20. Severity of CIPN will be summarized for each treatment arm, and treatment comparisons made via linear regression model with adjustment for baseline severity level. The EORTC QLQ-CIPN20 is a 20-item questionnaire that evaluates CIPN using 3 subscales that assess sensory (9 items), motor (8 items), and autonomic (3 items) symptoms and functioning. The CIPN-20 subscale raw scores are linearly converted to a 0-100 scale such that a high score corresponds to a worse condition or more symptoms. Change in severity was measured by the difference in the converted scores from baseline to three months and the range is -100 to 100.
- time frame
- At 3 months
- analysis role
- primary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- Due to missing patient reported outcomes the overall number of participants analyzed differs from patients that completed the study.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-malignant-appendix-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT04505553
- qol key
- qol-0005
- source section id
- NCT04505553-om-0005
- source outcome index
- 5
- instrument
- Patient-reported symptom or function measure
- instrument basis
- matched 'patient-reported' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Change in Severity of Pain, Fatigue, Nausea, and Anxiety From Baseline to 3 Months
- measure definition
- Measured by patient-reported National Cancer Institute \[NCI\] Patient Reported Outcomes \[PRO\]-CTCAE. The change in severity from baseline to 3 months was calculated and it ranged from -3 to 3. The severity was measured on a 0-3 (0=None, 3=Severe) scale with a higher value representing a worse outcome and a lower value representing a better outcome. This was done separately for pain, fatigue, nausea, and anxiety.
- time frame
- 3 months
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- Due to missing patient reported outcomes the overall number of participants analyzed differs from patients that completed the study.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- setting source links
Preserved source evidence · Not medical advice
Triangle