NCT01730937 · STUDY IN CONTEXT
Sorafenib Tosylate With or Without Stereotactic Body Radiation Therapy in Treating Patients With Liver Cancer
Draft scope assessment: narrower. Linked by condition-string match at the cancer-entity level. The study's eligibility - stage, biomarker, treatment line and prior therapy - has not been reconciled against this page's definition, so its population is narrower than this page in ways not yet recorded. The condition was transformed or resolved through the terminology hierarchy to reach this cancer type, so the link itself is a candidate a reviewer must confirm. Found because this study's registry identifier is printed in an FDA approval notice, an FDA product label or an NCI summary held by this site. The citing document and the exact position of the identifier inside it are recorded. Being cited is not a statement that the study supports this treatment.
Read the full study record and all posted results →
Linked outcomes
An event for overall survival (OS) is death due to any cause. Survival time is defined as time from randomization to the date of death or last known follow-up (censored). Rates are estimated by the Kaplan-Meier method. Analysis was to occur after 153 deaths were reported.
Progression (failure) is defined as any of the following events: new tumor thrombosis, progression of hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) within liver excluding tumor thrombosis status, progression of distant metastases that were present at study entry, new HCC within the liver including tumor thrombosis, and vascular thrombosis events=progression-new enhancing tumor thrombosis/progression-Increase in the volume of enhancing portion of thrombosis. Time to progression was measured from the date of randomization to the date of first failure, death (competing risk), or last follow-up (censored). Progression rates are estimated by the cumulative incidence method. The protocol specifies only that the distributions of failure times be compared between the arms, which is reported in the statistical analysis results. Two-year estimates are provided as a summary of the distributions.
Failure for progression-free survival (PFS) include death, new tumor thrombosis, progression of hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) within liver excluding tumor thrombosis status, progression of distant Mets that were present at study entry, new HCC within liver including tumor thrombosis, and vascular thrombosis events =progression-new enhancing tumor thrombosis/progression-Increase in the volume of enhancing portion of thrombosis. PFS time is defined as the time from randomization to the date of first failure, date of death, or last known follow-up (censored). PFS rates are estimated by the Kaplan-Meier method. The protocol specifies only that the distributions of failure times be compared between the arms, which is reported in the statistical analysis results. Two-year estimates are provided as a summary of the distributions.
Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (version 4.0) grades adverse event severity from 1=mild to 5=death. Summary data is provided in this outcome measure; see Adverse Events Module for specific adverse event data.
The FACT-Hep total score measures quality of life in patients with hepatobiliary cancer. Possible scores range from 0 to 180, with higher scores indicating a better outcome. Improvement in FACT-Hep total score is defined as an increase from the baseline to 6-month score of at least 5 points.
Complete response: Complete resolution of thrombosis, with recanalization of vessel. Partial response (PR): * Partial recanalization (if prior complete blockage) * Unequivocal reduction in the maximal girth * Unequivocal reduction in the volume, or elimination, of arterial enhancing portion Progressive disease (PD): any unequivocal, unambiguous * New enhancing tumor thrombosis * Increase in the volume of enhancing portion * Unequivocal progression of thrombosis (non-measurable disease), the increase in overall tumor burden (enhancing thrombosis) must be comparable to the increase required for the Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumor 1.1 definition of PD of measurable disease (e.g. ≥ 73% increase in volume, which is similar to 20% increase in diameter, and at least a 5 mm absolute increase). Stable disease: * No/small changes that do not meet the above criteria for PR or PD * Increase in the volume of non-enhancing thrombosis * New bland non-enhancing thrombosis
Reported safety
Quality of life and patient-reported measures
FACT · Percentage of Participants With Improvement in the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Hepatobiliary (FACT-Hep) Total Score 6 Months After the Start of Treatment
Score direction: Higher is better, according to the source. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01730937
- qol key
- qol-0004
- source section id
- NCT01730937-om-0004
- source outcome index
- 4
- instrument
- FACT
- instrument basis
- matched 'fact-hep' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Percentage of Participants With Improvement in the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Hepatobiliary (FACT-Hep) Total Score 6 Months After the Start of Treatment
- measure definition
- The FACT-Hep total score measures quality of life in patients with hepatobiliary cancer. Possible scores range from 0 to 180, with higher scores indicating a better outcome. Improvement in FACT-Hep total score is defined as an increase from the baseline to 6-month score of at least 5 points.
- time frame
- Baseline and 6 months
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- 1
- direction quote
- higher scores indicating a better
- population note
- Eligible participants who consented to the quality of life component and had data at baseline and six months.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
EQ-5D · Quality Adjusted Life Years
Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01730937
- qol key
- qol-0006
- source section id
- NCT01730937-om-0006
- source outcome index
- 6
- instrument
- EQ-5D
- instrument basis
- matched 'eq-5d' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Quality Adjusted Life Years
- measure definition
- Quality adjusted life years is calculated as the weighted sum of the number of years spent in different health states. The weight value is a utility score between 0 (worst health state) and 1 (best health state) derived from the EQ-5D-5L questionnaire, designed to describe and value health based on mobility, self-care, usual activities, pain/discomfort, and anxiety/depression.
- time frame
- The EQ-5D-5L is administered at baseline, six months and one year.
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- The protocol states that this endpoint would be addressed if and only if the primary endpoint supports the primary hypothesis, therefore data is not reported.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
Full draft applicability and source-link record
- trial
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01730937
- trial label
- Sorafenib Tosylate With or Without Stereotactic Body Radiation Therapy in Treating Patients With Liver Cancer
- applicability
- narrower
- applicability note
- Linked by condition-string match at the cancer-entity level. The study's eligibility - stage, biomarker, treatment line and prior therapy - has not been reconciled against this page's definition, so its population is narrower than this page in ways not yet recorded. The condition was transformed or resolved through the terminology hierarchy to reach this cancer type, so the link itself is a candidate a reviewer must confirm.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- provenance class
- regulator-cited
- discovery note
- Found because this study's registry identifier is printed in an FDA approval notice, an FDA product label or an NCI summary held by this site. The citing document and the exact position of the identifier inside it are recorded. Being cited is not a statement that the study supports this treatment.
- outcome Count
- 6
- harms Count
- 2
- qol Count
- 2
- outcomes
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01730937
- outcome key
- om-0000
- source section id
- NCT01730937-om-0000
- source outcome index
- 0
- endpoint
- Overall Survival
- endpoint definition
- An event for overall survival (OS) is death due to any cause. Survival time is defined as time from randomization to the date of death or last known follow-up (censored). Rates are estimated by the Kaplan-Meier method. Analysis was to occur after 153 deaths were reported.
- time origin
- From randomization to last follow-up: weekly during SBRT, post-SBRT/pre-sorafenib, monthly during sorafenib, and overall, from study entry: every 3 months for 2 years, then every 6 months. Maximum follow-up at time of analysis was 7.6 years.
- analysis role
- primary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Eligible participants
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01730937
- outcome key
- om-0001
- source section id
- NCT01730937-om-0001
- source outcome index
- 1
- endpoint
- Time to Progression
- endpoint definition
- Progression (failure) is defined as any of the following events: new tumor thrombosis, progression of hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) within liver excluding tumor thrombosis status, progression of distant metastases that were present at study entry, new HCC within the liver including tumor thrombosis, and vascular thrombosis events=progression-new enhancing tumor thrombosis/progression-Increase in the volume of enhancing portion of thrombosis. Time to progression was measured from the date of randomization to the date of first failure, death (competing risk), or last follow-up (censored). Progression rates are estimated by the cumulative incidence method. The protocol specifies only that the distributions of failure times be compared between the arms, which is reported in the statistical analysis results. Two-year estimates are provided as a summary of the distributions.
- time origin
- From randomization to last follow-up: weekly during SBRT, post-SBRT/pre-sorafenib, monthly during sorafenib, and overall, from study entry: every 3 months for 2 years, then every 6 months. Maximum follow-up at time of analysis was 7.6 years.
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Eligible participants
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01730937
- outcome key
- om-0002
- source section id
- NCT01730937-om-0002
- source outcome index
- 2
- endpoint
- Progression-free Survival
- endpoint definition
- Failure for progression-free survival (PFS) include death, new tumor thrombosis, progression of hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) within liver excluding tumor thrombosis status, progression of distant Mets that were present at study entry, new HCC within liver including tumor thrombosis, and vascular thrombosis events =progression-new enhancing tumor thrombosis/progression-Increase in the volume of enhancing portion of thrombosis. PFS time is defined as the time from randomization to the date of first failure, date of death, or last known follow-up (censored). PFS rates are estimated by the Kaplan-Meier method. The protocol specifies only that the distributions of failure times be compared between the arms, which is reported in the statistical analysis results. Two-year estimates are provided as a summary of the distributions.
- time origin
- From randomization to last follow-up: weekly during SBRT, post-SBRT/pre-sorafenib, monthly during sorafenib, and overall, from study entry: every 3 months for 2 years, then every 6 months. Maximum follow-up at time of analysis was 7.6 years.
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Eligible participants
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01730937
- outcome key
- om-0003
- source section id
- NCT01730937-om-0003
- source outcome index
- 3
- endpoint
- Number of Participants by Highest Grade Adverse Event Reported
- endpoint definition
- Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (version 4.0) grades adverse event severity from 1=mild to 5=death. Summary data is provided in this outcome measure; see Adverse Events Module for specific adverse event data.
- time origin
- From randomization to last follow-up: weekly during SBRT, post-SBRT/pre-sorafenib, monthly during sorafenib, and overall, from study entry: every 3 months for 2 years, then every 6 months. Maximum follow-up at time of analysis was 7.6 years.
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Eligible, started treatment, and were assessed for adverse events.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01730937
- outcome key
- om-0004
- source section id
- NCT01730937-om-0004
- source outcome index
- 4
- endpoint
- Percentage of Participants With Improvement in the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Hepatobiliary (FACT-Hep) Total Score 6 Months After the Start of Treatment
- endpoint definition
- The FACT-Hep total score measures quality of life in patients with hepatobiliary cancer. Possible scores range from 0 to 180, with higher scores indicating a better outcome. Improvement in FACT-Hep total score is defined as an increase from the baseline to 6-month score of at least 5 points.
- time origin
- Baseline and 6 months
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Eligible participants who consented to the quality of life component and had data at baseline and six months.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01730937
- outcome key
- om-0005
- source section id
- NCT01730937-om-0005
- source outcome index
- 5
- endpoint
- Best Vascular Thrombosis Response up to the Time of Progressive Disease (if Applicable)
- endpoint definition
- Complete response: Complete resolution of thrombosis, with recanalization of vessel. Partial response (PR): * Partial recanalization (if prior complete blockage) * Unequivocal reduction in the maximal girth * Unequivocal reduction in the volume, or elimination, of arterial enhancing portion Progressive disease (PD): any unequivocal, unambiguous * New enhancing tumor thrombosis * Increase in the volume of enhancing portion * Unequivocal progression of thrombosis (non-measurable disease), the increase in overall tumor burden (enhancing thrombosis) must be comparable to the increase required for the Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumor 1.1 definition of PD of measurable disease (e.g. ≥ 73% increase in volume, which is similar to 20% increase in diameter, and at least a 5 mm absolute increase). Stable disease: * No/small changes that do not meet the above criteria for PR or PD * Increase in the volume of non-enhancing thrombosis * New bland non-enhancing thrombosis
- time origin
- From randomization to last follow-up. Imaging occurs every 3 months for two years then every six months. Maximum follow-up at time of analysis was 7.6 years.
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Eligible participants who had vascular thrombosis at study entry
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- arms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01730937
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Sorafenib Alone
- regimen
- 400 mg sorafenib by mouth twice a day for 28-day cycle. Continue up to 5 years in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
- analyzed count
- 92
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01730937-om-0000#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01730937
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- SBRT Followed by Sorafenib
- regimen
- 27.5 Gy to 50 Gy stereotactic body radiation therapy (SBRT) in 5 fractions 24-72 hours apart over 5-15 days followed within 1-5 days by one cycle of 200 mg sorafenib by mouth twice a day. Starting with second cycle, if tolerable, increase to 400 mg sorafenib by mouth twice a day. Continue up to 5 years in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
- analyzed count
- 85
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01730937-om-0000#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01730937
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Sorafenib Alone
- regimen
- 400 mg sorafenib by mouth twice a day for 28-day cycle. Continue up to 5 years in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
- analyzed count
- 92
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01730937-om-0001#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01730937
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- SBRT Followed by Sorafenib
- regimen
- 27.5 Gy to 50 Gy stereotactic body radiation therapy (SBRT) in 5 fractions 24-72 hours apart over 5-15 days followed within 1-5 days by one cycle of 200 mg sorafenib by mouth twice a day. Starting with second cycle, if tolerable, increase to 400 mg sorafenib by mouth twice a day. Continue up to 5 years in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
- analyzed count
- 85
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01730937-om-0001#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01730937
- outcome key
- om-0002
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Sorafenib Alone
- regimen
- 400 mg sorafenib by mouth twice a day for 28-day cycle. Continue up to 5 years in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
- analyzed count
- 92
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01730937-om-0002#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01730937
- outcome key
- om-0002
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- SBRT Followed by Sorafenib
- regimen
- 27.5 Gy to 50 Gy stereotactic body radiation therapy (SBRT) in 5 fractions 24-72 hours apart over 5-15 days followed within 1-5 days by one cycle of 200 mg sorafenib by mouth twice a day. Starting with second cycle, if tolerable, increase to 400 mg sorafenib by mouth twice a day. Continue up to 5 years in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
- analyzed count
- 85
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01730937-om-0002#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01730937
- outcome key
- om-0003
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Sorafenib Alone
- regimen
- 400 mg sorafenib by mouth twice a day for 28-day cycle. Continue up to 5 years in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
- analyzed count
- 88
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01730937-om-0003#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01730937
- outcome key
- om-0003
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- SBRT Followed by Sorafenib
- regimen
- 27.5 Gy to 50 Gy stereotactic body radiation therapy (SBRT) in 5 fractions 24-72 hours apart over 5-15 days followed within 1-5 days by one cycle of 200 mg sorafenib by mouth twice a day. Starting with second cycle, if tolerable, increase to 400 mg sorafenib by mouth twice a day. Continue up to 5 years in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
- analyzed count
- 83
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01730937-om-0003#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01730937
- outcome key
- om-0004
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Sorafenib Alone
- regimen
- 400 mg sorafenib by mouth twice a day for 28-day cycle. Continue up to 5 years in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
- analyzed count
- 20
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01730937-om-0004#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01730937
- outcome key
- om-0004
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- SBRT Followed by Sorafenib
- regimen
- 27.5 Gy to 50 Gy stereotactic body radiation therapy (SBRT) in 5 fractions 24-72 hours apart over 5-15 days followed within 1-5 days by one cycle of 200 mg sorafenib by mouth twice a day. Starting with second cycle, if tolerable, increase to 400 mg sorafenib by mouth twice a day. Continue up to 5 years in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
- analyzed count
- 17
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01730937-om-0004#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01730937
- outcome key
- om-0005
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Sorafenib Alone
- regimen
- 400 mg sorafenib by mouth twice a day for 28-day cycle. Continue up to 5 years in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
- analyzed count
- 66
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01730937-om-0005#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01730937
- outcome key
- om-0005
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- SBRT Followed by Sorafenib
- regimen
- 27.5 Gy to 50 Gy stereotactic body radiation therapy (SBRT) in 5 fractions 24-72 hours apart over 5-15 days followed within 1-5 days by one cycle of 200 mg sorafenib by mouth twice a day. Starting with second cycle, if tolerable, increase to 400 mg sorafenib by mouth twice a day. Continue up to 5 years in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
- analyzed count
- 62
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT01730937-om-0005#groups/OG001
- harms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01730937
- harm key
- EG000
- source section id
- NCT01730937-ae
- event group key
- EG000
- event group label
- Sorafenib Alone
- serious affected
- 20
- serious at risk
- 88
- other affected
- 88
- other at risk
- 88
- frequency threshold
- 5
- collection period
- From randomization to last follow-up: weekly during SBRT, after SBRT and before starting sorafenib, monthly during sorafenib, and overall from study entry: every 3 months for 2 years, then every 6 months. Maximum follow-up at time of analysis was 7.6 years.
- event definition
- All-cause mortality was assessed in eligible participants. Adverse events were assessed in eligible participants who started protocol treatment, and were assessed for adverse events.
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01730937
- harm key
- EG001
- source section id
- NCT01730937-ae
- event group key
- EG001
- event group label
- SBRT Followed by Sorafenib
- serious affected
- 19
- serious at risk
- 83
- other affected
- 83
- other at risk
- 83
- frequency threshold
- 5
- collection period
- From randomization to last follow-up: weekly during SBRT, after SBRT and before starting sorafenib, monthly during sorafenib, and overall from study entry: every 3 months for 2 years, then every 6 months. Maximum follow-up at time of analysis was 7.6 years.
- event definition
- All-cause mortality was assessed in eligible participants. Adverse events were assessed in eligible participants who started protocol treatment, and were assessed for adverse events.
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- quality of life
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01730937
- qol key
- qol-0004
- source section id
- NCT01730937-om-0004
- source outcome index
- 4
- instrument
- FACT
- instrument basis
- matched 'fact-hep' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Percentage of Participants With Improvement in the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy - Hepatobiliary (FACT-Hep) Total Score 6 Months After the Start of Treatment
- measure definition
- The FACT-Hep total score measures quality of life in patients with hepatobiliary cancer. Possible scores range from 0 to 180, with higher scores indicating a better outcome. Improvement in FACT-Hep total score is defined as an increase from the baseline to 6-month score of at least 5 points.
- time frame
- Baseline and 6 months
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- 1
- direction quote
- higher scores indicating a better
- population note
- Eligible participants who consented to the quality of life component and had data at baseline and six months.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT01730937
- qol key
- qol-0006
- source section id
- NCT01730937-om-0006
- source outcome index
- 6
- instrument
- EQ-5D
- instrument basis
- matched 'eq-5d' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Quality Adjusted Life Years
- measure definition
- Quality adjusted life years is calculated as the weighted sum of the number of years spent in different health states. The weight value is a utility score between 0 (worst health state) and 1 (best health state) derived from the EQ-5D-5L questionnaire, designed to describe and value health based on mobility, self-care, usual activities, pain/discomfort, and anxiety/depression.
- time frame
- The EQ-5D-5L is administered at baseline, six months and one year.
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- The protocol states that this endpoint would be addressed if and only if the primary endpoint supports the primary hypothesis, therefore data is not reported.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- setting source links
Preserved source evidence · Not medical advice
Triangle