NCT00105443 · STUDY IN CONTEXT
A Phase III Study of Sorafenib in Patients With Advanced Hepatocellular Carcinoma
Draft scope assessment: narrower. Linked by condition-string match at the cancer-entity level. The study's eligibility - stage, biomarker, treatment line and prior therapy - has not been reconciled against this page's definition, so its population is narrower than this page in ways not yet recorded. The condition was transformed or resolved through the terminology hierarchy to reach this cancer type, so the link itself is a candidate a reviewer must confirm. Found because this study's registry identifier is printed in an FDA approval notice, an FDA product label or an NCI summary held by this site. The citing document and the exact position of the identifier inside it are recorded. Being cited is not a statement that the study supports this treatment.
Read the full study record and all posted results →
Linked outcomes
Overall Survival was defined as the time from date of starting treatment to death due to any cause. Subjects still alive at the time of analysis were censored at their last date of last contact.
Overall Survival was defined as the time from date of starting treatment to death due to any cause. Subjects still alive at the time of analysis were censored at their last date of last contact.
TTSP was defined as the time from randomization to the first documented symptomatic progression.
TTP was defined as the time from randomization to disease progression (radiological only). Subjects without tumor progression at the time of analysis were censored at their last date of tumor evaluation.
The DC is defined as the number of subjects with a best response rating of complete response (CR), partial response (PR), or stable disease (SD) that is maintained at least 28 days from the first manifestation of that rating. Definitions: CR = disappearance of all clinical and radiological tumor lesions; PR = at least 30% decrease in sum of the longest diameters of tumor lesions; SD = neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase for progressive disease.
PRO is a disease-specific measure, developed as symptom-focused approach in HCC and measured by the response rates for the PWB and FWB subscales of the 45-item Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy-Hepatobiliary (FACT-Hep) questionnaire. The FACT-Hep response rate was based on the number of subjects who achieved the 8-point minimally important difference (MID) for this subscale. FACT-Hep total score ranges from 0 to 180, where the highest score represents a maximum achievable quality of life (QoL) value.
Reported safety
Quality of life and patient-reported measures
FACT · Patients Reported Outcome (PRO) by Use of the FACT-Hep Questionnaire
Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT00105443
- qol key
- qol-0004
- source section id
- NCT00105443-om-0004
- source outcome index
- 4
- instrument
- FACT
- instrument basis
- matched 'fact-hep' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Patients Reported Outcome (PRO) by Use of the FACT-Hep Questionnaire
- measure definition
- PRO is a disease-specific measure, developed as symptom-focused approach in HCC and measured by the response rates for the PWB and FWB subscales of the 45-item Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy-Hepatobiliary (FACT-Hep) questionnaire. The FACT-Hep response rate was based on the number of subjects who achieved the 8-point minimally important difference (MID) for this subscale. FACT-Hep total score ranges from 0 to 180, where the highest score represents a maximum achievable quality of life (QoL) value.
- time frame
- from randomization to end of treatment up to the data cutoff date approximately 19 months after start of enrollment
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- In this study, the PRO was a tertiary efficacy variable assessed for the ITT population at Cycle 3 day 1 or, for those discontinuing prior to that visit, at end of study. It was summarized as number of patients with change from baseline \<8 or ≥8 points for each treatment group up to the cutoff date of 17 Oct 2006
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
FACT · Patients Reported Outcome (PRO) by Use of the FACT-Hep Questionnaire
Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT00105443
- qol key
- qol-0009
- source section id
- NCT00105443-om-0009
- source outcome index
- 9
- instrument
- FACT
- instrument basis
- matched 'fact-hep' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Patients Reported Outcome (PRO) by Use of the FACT-Hep Questionnaire
- measure definition
- PRO is a disease-specific measure, developed as symptom-focused approach in HCC and measured by the response rates for the PWB and FWB subscales of the 45-item Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy-Hepatobiliary (FACT-Hep) questionnaire. The FACT-Hep response rate was based on the number of subjects who achieved the 8-point minimally important difference (MID) for this subscale. FACT-Hep total score ranges from 0 to 180, where the highest score represents a maximum achievable quality of life (QoL) value. At the cut-off date for this analysis, one more patient data has been gained.
- time frame
- from randomization to end of treatment up to the data cutoff date approximately 23 months after start of enrollment
- analysis role
- post-hoc
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- In this study, the PRO was a tertiary efficacy variable assessed for the ITT population at Cycle 3 Day 1 or, for those discontinuing prior to that visit, at the end of study. It was summarized as number of patients with change from baseline \<8 to ≥8 points for each treatment group up to the cutoff date of 09 Feb 2007.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
Full draft applicability and source-link record
- trial
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT00105443
- trial label
- A Phase III Study of Sorafenib in Patients With Advanced Hepatocellular Carcinoma
- applicability
- narrower
- applicability note
- Linked by condition-string match at the cancer-entity level. The study's eligibility - stage, biomarker, treatment line and prior therapy - has not been reconciled against this page's definition, so its population is narrower than this page in ways not yet recorded. The condition was transformed or resolved through the terminology hierarchy to reach this cancer type, so the link itself is a candidate a reviewer must confirm.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- provenance class
- regulator-cited
- discovery note
- Found because this study's registry identifier is printed in an FDA approval notice, an FDA product label or an NCI summary held by this site. The citing document and the exact position of the identifier inside it are recorded. Being cited is not a statement that the study supports this treatment.
- outcome Count
- 6
- harms Count
- 5
- qol Count
- 2
- outcomes
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT00105443
- outcome key
- om-0005
- source section id
- NCT00105443-om-0005
- source outcome index
- 5
- endpoint
- Overall Survival
- endpoint definition
- Overall Survival was defined as the time from date of starting treatment to death due to any cause. Subjects still alive at the time of analysis were censored at their last date of last contact.
- time origin
- from randomization to death due to any cause until an average 8.5 months later up to the data cut-off date approximately 23 months after start of enrollment
- analysis role
- post-hoc
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- The OS data (ITT population) are descriptive only (no p-values) from the date of randomization to the date of death due to any cause. For patients alive at the time of analysis, time to death was censored at the date of last follow-up or at the data cutoff date of 09 Feb 2007 when subjects were given the option to crossover to sorafenib treatment
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT00105443
- outcome key
- om-0000
- source section id
- NCT00105443-om-0000
- source outcome index
- 0
- endpoint
- Overall Survival (OS)
- endpoint definition
- Overall Survival was defined as the time from date of starting treatment to death due to any cause. Subjects still alive at the time of analysis were censored at their last date of last contact.
- time origin
- from randomization to death due to any cause until an average 7.2 months later up to the data cut-off date approximately 19 months after start of enrollment
- analysis role
- primary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- In this study the overall survival was measured for the ITT population from the date of randomization until the date of death due to any cause. For patients alive or lost to follow-up at the time of analysis, time to death was to be censored at their last date of follow-up, or at the data cut-off of 17 Oct 2006.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT00105443
- outcome key
- om-0001
- source section id
- NCT00105443-om-0001
- source outcome index
- 1
- endpoint
- Time to Symptomatic Progression (TTSP)
- endpoint definition
- TTSP was defined as the time from randomization to the first documented symptomatic progression.
- time origin
- from randomization to the first documented symptomatic progression until an average 4.8 months later up to the data cut-off date approximately 19 months after start of enrollment
- analysis role
- primary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- This analysis was for the ITT population. For subjects who had not progressed symptomatically at the time of interim analysis, TTSP was censored at the date of their last Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy (FACT) Hepatobiliary Symptom Index (FHSI-8) questionnaire assessment.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT00105443
- outcome key
- om-0002
- source section id
- NCT00105443-om-0002
- source outcome index
- 2
- endpoint
- Time to Progression (TTP)
- endpoint definition
- TTP was defined as the time from randomization to disease progression (radiological only). Subjects without tumor progression at the time of analysis were censored at their last date of tumor evaluation.
- time origin
- from randomization to disease progression based on radiological assessment until an average 2.8 months later up to the data cut-off date approximately 19 months after start of enrollment
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- The primary analysis of TTP for the ITT population was based on the independent radiological review for the interim analysis. The cut-off date chosen for the analysis of radiological progression events was 12 May 2006
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT00105443
- outcome key
- om-0003
- source section id
- NCT00105443-om-0003
- source outcome index
- 3
- endpoint
- Disease Control (DC)
- endpoint definition
- The DC is defined as the number of subjects with a best response rating of complete response (CR), partial response (PR), or stable disease (SD) that is maintained at least 28 days from the first manifestation of that rating. Definitions: CR = disappearance of all clinical and radiological tumor lesions; PR = at least 30% decrease in sum of the longest diameters of tumor lesions; SD = neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase for progressive disease.
- time origin
- time from randomization to end of treatment up to the data cutoff date approximately 19 months after start of enrollment
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- In this study, the DC for the ITT population was determined by independent radiological review and also by investigator assessment (both by using response evaluation criteria in solid tumors \[RECIST\])
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT00105443
- outcome key
- om-0004
- source section id
- NCT00105443-om-0004
- source outcome index
- 4
- endpoint
- Patients Reported Outcome (PRO) by Use of the FACT-Hep Questionnaire
- endpoint definition
- PRO is a disease-specific measure, developed as symptom-focused approach in HCC and measured by the response rates for the PWB and FWB subscales of the 45-item Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy-Hepatobiliary (FACT-Hep) questionnaire. The FACT-Hep response rate was based on the number of subjects who achieved the 8-point minimally important difference (MID) for this subscale. FACT-Hep total score ranges from 0 to 180, where the highest score represents a maximum achievable quality of life (QoL) value.
- time origin
- from randomization to end of treatment up to the data cutoff date approximately 19 months after start of enrollment
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- In this study, the PRO was a tertiary efficacy variable assessed for the ITT population at Cycle 3 day 1 or, for those discontinuing prior to that visit, at end of study. It was summarized as number of patients with change from baseline \<8 or ≥8 points for each treatment group up to the cutoff date of 17 Oct 2006
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- arms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT00105443
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Sorafenib (Nexavar, BAY43-9006)
- regimen
- Sorafenib 400 mg was administered orally at a dose of 400 mg (2 x 200 mg tablets) twice daily; 2 dose reductions to predefined levels of 400 mg once daily (OD) and 400 mg every other day were permitted for adverse events related to study treatment. Follow-up / Open Label phase: Subjects on sorafenib who continued the study, continued on the same dose of sorafenib as during the double-blind study.
- analyzed count
- 299
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00105443-om-0000#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT00105443
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Placebo
- regimen
- Sorafenib-matching placebo tablets were orally administered twice daily (bid). Follow-up / Open Label phase: Subjects on placebo who chose to switch to sorafenib, received an oral dose of 400 mg (2 x 200 mg tablets) bid; similar to the double-blind study.
- analyzed count
- 303
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00105443-om-0000#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT00105443
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Sorafenib (Nexavar, BAY43-9006)
- regimen
- Sorafenib 400 mg was administered orally at a dose of 400 mg (2 x 200 mg tablets) twice daily; 2 dose reductions to predefined levels of 400 mg once daily (OD) and 400 mg every other day were permitted for adverse events related to study treatment. Follow-up / Open Label phase: Subjects on sorafenib who continued the study, continued on the same dose of sorafenib as during the double-blind study.
- analyzed count
- 299
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00105443-om-0001#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT00105443
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Placebo
- regimen
- Sorafenib-matching placebo tablets were orally administered twice daily (bid). Follow-up / Open Label phase: Subjects on placebo who chose to switch to sorafenib, received an oral dose of 400 mg (2 x 200 mg tablets) bid; similar to the double-blind study.
- analyzed count
- 303
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00105443-om-0001#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT00105443
- outcome key
- om-0002
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Sorafenib (Nexavar, BAY43-9006)
- regimen
- Sorafenib 400 mg was administered orally at a dose of 400 mg (2 x 200 mg tablets) twice daily; 2 dose reductions to predefined levels of 400 mg once daily (OD) and 400 mg every other day were permitted for adverse events related to study treatment. Follow-up / Open Label phase: Subjects on sorafenib who continued the study, continued on the same dose of sorafenib as during the double-blind study.
- analyzed count
- 299
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00105443-om-0002#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT00105443
- outcome key
- om-0002
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Placebo
- regimen
- Sorafenib-matching placebo tablets were orally administered twice daily (bid). Follow-up / Open Label phase: Subjects on placebo who chose to switch to sorafenib, received an oral dose of 400 mg (2 x 200 mg tablets) bid; similar to the double-blind study.
- analyzed count
- 303
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00105443-om-0002#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT00105443
- outcome key
- om-0003
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Sorafenib (Nexavar, BAY43-9006)
- regimen
- Sorafenib 400 mg was administered orally at a dose of 400 mg (2 x 200 mg tablets) twice daily; 2 dose reductions to predefined levels of 400 mg once daily (OD) and 400 mg every other day were permitted for adverse events related to study treatment. Follow-up / Open Label phase: Subjects on sorafenib who continued the study, continued on the same dose of sorafenib as during the double-blind study.
- analyzed count
- 299
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00105443-om-0003#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT00105443
- outcome key
- om-0003
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Placebo
- regimen
- Sorafenib-matching placebo tablets were orally administered twice daily (bid). Follow-up / Open Label phase: Subjects on placebo who chose to switch to sorafenib, received an oral dose of 400 mg (2 x 200 mg tablets) bid; similar to the double-blind study.
- analyzed count
- 303
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00105443-om-0003#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT00105443
- outcome key
- om-0004
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Sorafenib (Nexavar, BAY43-9006)
- regimen
- Sorafenib 400 mg was administered orally at a dose of 400 mg (2 x 200 mg tablets) twice daily; 2 dose reductions to predefined levels of 400 mg once daily (OD) and 400 mg every other day were permitted for adverse events related to study treatment. Follow-up / Open Label phase: Subjects on sorafenib who continued the study, continued on the same dose of sorafenib as during the double-blind study.
- analyzed count
- 174
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00105443-om-0004#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT00105443
- outcome key
- om-0004
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Placebo
- regimen
- Sorafenib-matching placebo tablets were orally administered twice daily (bid). Follow-up / Open Label phase: Subjects on placebo who chose to switch to sorafenib, received an oral dose of 400 mg (2 x 200 mg tablets) bid; similar to the double-blind study.
- analyzed count
- 178
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00105443-om-0004#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT00105443
- outcome key
- om-0005
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Sorafenib (Nexavar, BAY43-9006)
- regimen
- Sorafenib 400 mg was administered orally at a dose of 400 mg (2 x 200 mg tablets) twice daily; 2 dose reductions to predefined levels of 400 mg once daily (OD) and 400 mg every other day were permitted for adverse events related to study treatment. Follow-up / Open Label phase: Subjects on sorafenib who continued the study, continued on the same dose of sorafenib as during the double-blind study.
- analyzed count
- 299
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00105443-om-0005#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT00105443
- outcome key
- om-0005
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Placebo
- regimen
- Sorafenib-matching placebo tablets were orally administered twice daily (bid). Follow-up / Open Label phase: Subjects on placebo who chose to switch to sorafenib, received an oral dose of 400 mg (2 x 200 mg tablets) bid; similar to the double-blind study.
- analyzed count
- 303
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00105443-om-0005#groups/OG001
- harms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT00105443
- harm key
- EG000
- source section id
- NCT00105443-ae
- event group key
- EG000
- event group label
- Sorafenib (Nexavar) Arm Double-Blind Phase (Interim Data Only)
- serious affected
- 153
- serious at risk
- 297
- other affected
- 275
- other at risk
- 297
- frequency threshold
- 5
- collection period
- Reporting Group (RG) 1 + 2: Data for Interim Analysis, cut-off Oct 17, 2006; RG 3: Data during and after unblinding (until Nov 21, 2008); RG 4: Data prior to date of unblinding (Feb 9, 2007); RG 5: Data after unblinding (Open Label; until Nov 21, 2008)
- event definition
- RG 1 + 3 description: All subjects randomized to Sorafenib treatment; RG 2 + 4 description: All subjects randomized to Placebo before unblinding (when they were on Placebo, before they had the opportunity to switch to Sorafenib treatment); RG 5 description: All placebo subjects who switched to Sorafenib treatment after unblinding occurred.
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT00105443
- harm key
- EG001
- source section id
- NCT00105443-ae
- event group key
- EG001
- event group label
- Placebo Arm Double-Blind Phase (Interim Data Only)
- serious affected
- 164
- serious at risk
- 302
- other affected
- 259
- other at risk
- 302
- frequency threshold
- 5
- collection period
- Reporting Group (RG) 1 + 2: Data for Interim Analysis, cut-off Oct 17, 2006; RG 3: Data during and after unblinding (until Nov 21, 2008); RG 4: Data prior to date of unblinding (Feb 9, 2007); RG 5: Data after unblinding (Open Label; until Nov 21, 2008)
- event definition
- RG 1 + 3 description: All subjects randomized to Sorafenib treatment; RG 2 + 4 description: All subjects randomized to Placebo before unblinding (when they were on Placebo, before they had the opportunity to switch to Sorafenib treatment); RG 5 description: All placebo subjects who switched to Sorafenib treatment after unblinding occurred.
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT00105443
- harm key
- EG002
- source section id
- NCT00105443-ae
- event group key
- EG002
- event group label
- Sorafenib (Nexavar) Arm Complete (Incl. Open Label Phase)
- serious affected
- 191
- serious at risk
- 297
- other affected
- 281
- other at risk
- 297
- frequency threshold
- 5
- collection period
- Reporting Group (RG) 1 + 2: Data for Interim Analysis, cut-off Oct 17, 2006; RG 3: Data during and after unblinding (until Nov 21, 2008); RG 4: Data prior to date of unblinding (Feb 9, 2007); RG 5: Data after unblinding (Open Label; until Nov 21, 2008)
- event definition
- RG 1 + 3 description: All subjects randomized to Sorafenib treatment; RG 2 + 4 description: All subjects randomized to Placebo before unblinding (when they were on Placebo, before they had the opportunity to switch to Sorafenib treatment); RG 5 description: All placebo subjects who switched to Sorafenib treatment after unblinding occurred.
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT00105443
- harm key
- EG003
- source section id
- NCT00105443-ae
- event group key
- EG003
- event group label
- Placebo Arm, Complete Double-Blind Phase
- serious affected
- 185
- serious at risk
- 302
- other affected
- 271
- other at risk
- 302
- frequency threshold
- 5
- collection period
- Reporting Group (RG) 1 + 2: Data for Interim Analysis, cut-off Oct 17, 2006; RG 3: Data during and after unblinding (until Nov 21, 2008); RG 4: Data prior to date of unblinding (Feb 9, 2007); RG 5: Data after unblinding (Open Label; until Nov 21, 2008)
- event definition
- RG 1 + 3 description: All subjects randomized to Sorafenib treatment; RG 2 + 4 description: All subjects randomized to Placebo before unblinding (when they were on Placebo, before they had the opportunity to switch to Sorafenib treatment); RG 5 description: All placebo subjects who switched to Sorafenib treatment after unblinding occurred.
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT00105443
- harm key
- EG004
- source section id
- NCT00105443-ae
- event group key
- EG004
- event group label
- Subjects Switching From Placebo to Sorafenib (Open Label Only)
- serious affected
- 26
- serious at risk
- 47
- other affected
- 43
- other at risk
- 47
- frequency threshold
- 5
- collection period
- Reporting Group (RG) 1 + 2: Data for Interim Analysis, cut-off Oct 17, 2006; RG 3: Data during and after unblinding (until Nov 21, 2008); RG 4: Data prior to date of unblinding (Feb 9, 2007); RG 5: Data after unblinding (Open Label; until Nov 21, 2008)
- event definition
- RG 1 + 3 description: All subjects randomized to Sorafenib treatment; RG 2 + 4 description: All subjects randomized to Placebo before unblinding (when they were on Placebo, before they had the opportunity to switch to Sorafenib treatment); RG 5 description: All placebo subjects who switched to Sorafenib treatment after unblinding occurred.
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- quality of life
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT00105443
- qol key
- qol-0004
- source section id
- NCT00105443-om-0004
- source outcome index
- 4
- instrument
- FACT
- instrument basis
- matched 'fact-hep' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Patients Reported Outcome (PRO) by Use of the FACT-Hep Questionnaire
- measure definition
- PRO is a disease-specific measure, developed as symptom-focused approach in HCC and measured by the response rates for the PWB and FWB subscales of the 45-item Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy-Hepatobiliary (FACT-Hep) questionnaire. The FACT-Hep response rate was based on the number of subjects who achieved the 8-point minimally important difference (MID) for this subscale. FACT-Hep total score ranges from 0 to 180, where the highest score represents a maximum achievable quality of life (QoL) value.
- time frame
- from randomization to end of treatment up to the data cutoff date approximately 19 months after start of enrollment
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- In this study, the PRO was a tertiary efficacy variable assessed for the ITT population at Cycle 3 day 1 or, for those discontinuing prior to that visit, at end of study. It was summarized as number of patients with change from baseline \<8 or ≥8 points for each treatment group up to the cutoff date of 17 Oct 2006
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-liver-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT00105443
- qol key
- qol-0009
- source section id
- NCT00105443-om-0009
- source outcome index
- 9
- instrument
- FACT
- instrument basis
- matched 'fact-hep' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Patients Reported Outcome (PRO) by Use of the FACT-Hep Questionnaire
- measure definition
- PRO is a disease-specific measure, developed as symptom-focused approach in HCC and measured by the response rates for the PWB and FWB subscales of the 45-item Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy-Hepatobiliary (FACT-Hep) questionnaire. The FACT-Hep response rate was based on the number of subjects who achieved the 8-point minimally important difference (MID) for this subscale. FACT-Hep total score ranges from 0 to 180, where the highest score represents a maximum achievable quality of life (QoL) value. At the cut-off date for this analysis, one more patient data has been gained.
- time frame
- from randomization to end of treatment up to the data cutoff date approximately 23 months after start of enrollment
- analysis role
- post-hoc
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- In this study, the PRO was a tertiary efficacy variable assessed for the ITT population at Cycle 3 Day 1 or, for those discontinuing prior to that visit, at the end of study. It was summarized as number of patients with change from baseline \<8 to ≥8 points for each treatment group up to the cutoff date of 09 Feb 2007.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- setting source links
Preserved source evidence · Not medical advice
Triangle