NCT03067610 · STUDY IN CONTEXT
Involved Field Elective Volume De-Intensification Radiation Therapy for Head and Neck Cancer
Draft scope assessment: narrower. Linked by condition-string match at the cancer-entity level. The study's eligibility - stage, biomarker, treatment line and prior therapy - has not been reconciled against this page's definition, so its population is narrower than this page in ways not yet recorded. The condition was transformed or resolved through the terminology hierarchy to reach this cancer type, so the link itself is a candidate a reviewer must confirm. Found by searching ClinicalTrials.gov for this cancer type, restricted to studies that have posted results to the registry. No FDA notice, FDA label or NCI summary held by this site cites this study. Because the search asked for posted results, studies without posted results were never looked for, so their absence from this page means nothing.
Read the full study record and all posted results →
Linked outcomes
The crude risk of 2-year solitary elective volume recurrence will be calculated among all patients who are followed for at least 2 years. Patients who die before 2 years without an SEVR will be included in the denominator.
Quality of life (QOL) patient-reported outcomes (PRO) for overall number of participants following treatment with elective volume and dose de-escalation, using European Organization for the Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) Quality of Life Questionnaire (QLQ-C30), EORTC HN35, which is specific to head and neck cancer, and composite MD Anderson Dysphagia Inventory (MDADI). EORTC QLQ-C30 and QLQ-H\&N35 are scored on a 4-point categorical scale ranging from 1 "not at all" to 4 "very much". This scale is then linearly transformed to a 0-100 scale, where a higher score represents a higher response level. A high score for a functional scale represents higher level functioning, a high score for quality of life represents a high quality of life, and a high score for a symptom scale represents worse symptoms. MD Anderson Dysphagia Inventory (MDADI) questionnaire: Possible score ranges from 0-100, with higher score indicating higher functioning.
Only adverse events (grade 3-5) assessed to be definitely, probably, or possibly related to protocol treatment up to 2 years post-treatment will be considered. This was measured according to NCI's CTCAE v4.0 toxicity criteria.
The prevalence of gastrostomy use up to 2 years will be described.
The average patient utilities (derived from EQ-5D) from baseline up to 2 years from the end of treatment will be described. Changes in patient utility will be analyzed using generalized estimated equations (GEE).
Overall survival will be calculated from the initiation of treatment using the Kaplan-Meier method.
Reported safety
Quality of life and patient-reported measures
EORTC QLQ · Quality of Life (QOL) Patient Reported Outcomes (PRO)
Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-head-and-neck-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT03067610
- qol key
- qol-0001
- source section id
- NCT03067610-om-0001
- source outcome index
- 1
- instrument
- EORTC QLQ
- instrument basis
- matched 'eortc' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Quality of Life (QOL) Patient Reported Outcomes (PRO)
- measure definition
- Quality of life (QOL) patient-reported outcomes (PRO) for overall number of participants following treatment with elective volume and dose de-escalation, using European Organization for the Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) Quality of Life Questionnaire (QLQ-C30), EORTC HN35, which is specific to head and neck cancer, and composite MD Anderson Dysphagia Inventory (MDADI). EORTC QLQ-C30 and QLQ-H\&N35 are scored on a 4-point categorical scale ranging from 1 "not at all" to 4 "very much". This scale is then linearly transformed to a 0-100 scale, where a higher score represents a higher response level. A high score for a functional scale represents higher level functioning, a high score for quality of life represents a high quality of life, and a high score for a symptom scale represents worse symptoms. MD Anderson Dysphagia Inventory (MDADI) questionnaire: Possible score ranges from 0-100, with higher score indicating higher functioning.
- time frame
- 12 months
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
EQ-5D · Patient Utilities
Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-head-and-neck-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT03067610
- qol key
- qol-0004
- source section id
- NCT03067610-om-0004
- source outcome index
- 4
- instrument
- EQ-5D
- instrument basis
- matched 'eq-5d' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Patient Utilities
- measure definition
- The average patient utilities (derived from EQ-5D) from baseline up to 2 years from the end of treatment will be described. Changes in patient utility will be analyzed using generalized estimated equations (GEE).
- time frame
- 2 years
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- Collected data were not considered valid due to software limitations as it was not available to auto-calculate the data as proposed by our EMR
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
Full draft applicability and source-link record
- trial
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-head-and-neck-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT03067610
- trial label
- Involved Field Elective Volume De-Intensification Radiation Therapy for Head and Neck Cancer
- applicability
- narrower
- applicability note
- Linked by condition-string match at the cancer-entity level. The study's eligibility - stage, biomarker, treatment line and prior therapy - has not been reconciled against this page's definition, so its population is narrower than this page in ways not yet recorded. The condition was transformed or resolved through the terminology hierarchy to reach this cancer type, so the link itself is a candidate a reviewer must confirm.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- provenance class
- registry-condition-search
- discovery note
- Found by searching ClinicalTrials.gov for this cancer type, restricted to studies that have posted results to the registry. No FDA notice, FDA label or NCI summary held by this site cites this study. Because the search asked for posted results, studies without posted results were never looked for, so their absence from this page means nothing.
- outcome Count
- 6
- harms Count
- 1
- qol Count
- 2
- outcomes
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-head-and-neck-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT03067610
- outcome key
- om-0000
- source section id
- NCT03067610-om-0000
- source outcome index
- 0
- endpoint
- Number of Patients With Solitary Elective Volume Recurrence
- endpoint definition
- The crude risk of 2-year solitary elective volume recurrence will be calculated among all patients who are followed for at least 2 years. Patients who die before 2 years without an SEVR will be included in the denominator.
- time origin
- 2 years
- analysis role
- primary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-head-and-neck-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT03067610
- outcome key
- om-0001
- source section id
- NCT03067610-om-0001
- source outcome index
- 1
- endpoint
- Quality of Life (QOL) Patient Reported Outcomes (PRO)
- endpoint definition
- Quality of life (QOL) patient-reported outcomes (PRO) for overall number of participants following treatment with elective volume and dose de-escalation, using European Organization for the Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) Quality of Life Questionnaire (QLQ-C30), EORTC HN35, which is specific to head and neck cancer, and composite MD Anderson Dysphagia Inventory (MDADI). EORTC QLQ-C30 and QLQ-H\&N35 are scored on a 4-point categorical scale ranging from 1 "not at all" to 4 "very much". This scale is then linearly transformed to a 0-100 scale, where a higher score represents a higher response level. A high score for a functional scale represents higher level functioning, a high score for quality of life represents a high quality of life, and a high score for a symptom scale represents worse symptoms. MD Anderson Dysphagia Inventory (MDADI) questionnaire: Possible score ranges from 0-100, with higher score indicating higher functioning.
- time origin
- 12 months
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-head-and-neck-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT03067610
- outcome key
- om-0002
- source section id
- NCT03067610-om-0002
- source outcome index
- 2
- endpoint
- Number of Participants With Definite, Possible, and Probable Protocol-related Toxicities (Grade 3-5)
- endpoint definition
- Only adverse events (grade 3-5) assessed to be definitely, probably, or possibly related to protocol treatment up to 2 years post-treatment will be considered. This was measured according to NCI's CTCAE v4.0 toxicity criteria.
- time origin
- 2 years
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-head-and-neck-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT03067610
- outcome key
- om-0003
- source section id
- NCT03067610-om-0003
- source outcome index
- 3
- endpoint
- Total Number of Participants With Gastrostomy Dependence
- endpoint definition
- The prevalence of gastrostomy use up to 2 years will be described.
- time origin
- 2 years
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-head-and-neck-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT03067610
- outcome key
- om-0004
- source section id
- NCT03067610-om-0004
- source outcome index
- 4
- endpoint
- Patient Utilities
- endpoint definition
- The average patient utilities (derived from EQ-5D) from baseline up to 2 years from the end of treatment will be described. Changes in patient utility will be analyzed using generalized estimated equations (GEE).
- time origin
- 2 years
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Collected data were not considered valid due to software limitations as it was not available to auto-calculate the data as proposed by our EMR
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-head-and-neck-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT03067610
- outcome key
- om-0005
- source section id
- NCT03067610-om-0005
- source outcome index
- 5
- endpoint
- Overall Survival
- endpoint definition
- Overall survival will be calculated from the initiation of treatment using the Kaplan-Meier method.
- time origin
- 2 years
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Reported the percentage of the total patient population who survived to 2 years post-treatment.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- arms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-head-and-neck-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT03067610
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Radiation Therapy
- regimen
- Intensity modulated radiation therapy (IMRT) with or without chemotherapy (if given, either cisplatin, cetuximab, or carboplatin-paclitaxel) Intensity Modulated Radiation Therapy: The radiotherapy plan wil be delivered in 2 sequential courses. The first course involves 20 fractions of 2 Gy per fraction to the entire volume (gross disease and elective). The second course involves 15 fractions (thus, total of 35 fractions), at either 2 Gy (gross disease) or 1.6 Gy (microscopic disease and suspicious node) per fraction. chemotherapy: chemotherapy (if given, either cisplatin, cetuximab, or carboplatin-paclitaxel) per physician discretion
- analyzed count
- 72
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT03067610-om-0000#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-head-and-neck-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT03067610
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Total Cohort Baseline
- regimen
- Intensity modulated radiation therapy (IMRT) with or without chemotherapy (if given, either cisplatin, cetuximab, or carboplatin-paclitaxel) Intensity Modulated Radiation Therapy: The radiotherapy plan wil be delivered in 2 sequential courses. The first course involves 20 fractions of 2 Gy per fraction to the entire volume (gross disease and elective). The second course involves 15 fractions (thus, total of 35 fractions), at either 2 Gy (gross disease) or 1.6 Gy (microscopic disease and suspicious node) per fraction. chemotherapy: chemotherapy (if given, either cisplatin, cetuximab, or carboplatin-paclitaxel) per physician discretion
- analyzed count
- 72
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT03067610-om-0001#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-head-and-neck-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT03067610
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Total Cohort 3 Month
- regimen
- Total cohort
- analyzed count
- 57
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT03067610-om-0001#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-head-and-neck-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT03067610
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG002
- arm label
- Total Cohort 6 Month
- regimen
- Total cohort
- analyzed count
- 44
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT03067610-om-0001#groups/OG002
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-head-and-neck-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT03067610
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG003
- arm label
- Total Cohort 12 Month
- regimen
- Total cohort
- analyzed count
- 43
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT03067610-om-0001#groups/OG003
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-head-and-neck-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT03067610
- outcome key
- om-0002
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Radiation Therapy
- regimen
- Intensity modulated radiation therapy (IMRT) with or without chemotherapy (if given, either cisplatin, cetuximab, or carboplatin-paclitaxel) Intensity Modulated Radiation Therapy: The radiotherapy plan wil be delivered in 2 sequential courses. The first course involves 20 fractions of 2 Gy per fraction to the entire volume (gross disease and elective). The second course involves 15 fractions (thus, total of 35 fractions), at either 2 Gy (gross disease) or 1.6 Gy (microscopic disease and suspicious node) per fraction. chemotherapy: chemotherapy (if given, either cisplatin, cetuximab, or carboplatin-paclitaxel) per physician discretion
- analyzed count
- 33
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT03067610-om-0002#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-head-and-neck-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT03067610
- outcome key
- om-0003
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Radiation Therapy
- regimen
- Intensity modulated radiation therapy (IMRT) with or without chemotherapy (if given, either cisplatin, cetuximab, or carboplatin-paclitaxel) Intensity Modulated Radiation Therapy: The radiotherapy plan wil be delivered in 2 sequential courses. The first course involves 20 fractions of 2 Gy per fraction to the entire volume (gross disease and elective). The second course involves 15 fractions (thus, total of 35 fractions), at either 2 Gy (gross disease) or 1.6 Gy (microscopic disease and suspicious node) per fraction. chemotherapy: chemotherapy (if given, either cisplatin, cetuximab, or carboplatin-paclitaxel) per physician discretion
- analyzed count
- 72
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT03067610-om-0003#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-head-and-neck-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT03067610
- outcome key
- om-0004
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Radiation Therapy
- regimen
- Intensity modulated radiation therapy (IMRT) with or without chemotherapy (if given, either cisplatin, cetuximab, or carboplatin-paclitaxel) Intensity Modulated Radiation Therapy: The radiotherapy plan wil be delivered in 2 sequential courses. The first course involves 20 fractions of 2 Gy per fraction to the entire volume (gross disease and elective). The second course involves 15 fractions (thus, total of 35 fractions), at either 2 Gy (gross disease) or 1.6 Gy (microscopic disease and suspicious node) per fraction. chemotherapy: chemotherapy (if given, either cisplatin, cetuximab, or carboplatin-paclitaxel) per physician discretion
- analyzed count
- 0
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT03067610-om-0004#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-head-and-neck-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT03067610
- outcome key
- om-0005
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Radiation Therapy
- regimen
- Intensity modulated radiation therapy (IMRT) with or without chemotherapy (if given, either cisplatin, cetuximab, or carboplatin-paclitaxel) Intensity Modulated Radiation Therapy: The radiotherapy plan wil be delivered in 2 sequential courses. The first course involves 20 fractions of 2 Gy per fraction to the entire volume (gross disease and elective). The second course involves 15 fractions (thus, total of 35 fractions), at either 2 Gy (gross disease) or 1.6 Gy (microscopic disease and suspicious node) per fraction. chemotherapy: chemotherapy (if given, either cisplatin, cetuximab, or carboplatin-paclitaxel) per physician discretion
- analyzed count
- 72
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT03067610-om-0005#groups/OG000
- harms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-head-and-neck-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT03067610
- harm key
- EG000
- source section id
- NCT03067610-ae
- event group key
- EG000
- event group label
- Radiation Therapy
- serious affected
- 35
- serious at risk
- 72
- other affected
- 65
- other at risk
- 72
- frequency threshold
- 0
- collection period
- 30 months
- event definition
- Source null
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- quality of life
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-head-and-neck-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT03067610
- qol key
- qol-0001
- source section id
- NCT03067610-om-0001
- source outcome index
- 1
- instrument
- EORTC QLQ
- instrument basis
- matched 'eortc' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Quality of Life (QOL) Patient Reported Outcomes (PRO)
- measure definition
- Quality of life (QOL) patient-reported outcomes (PRO) for overall number of participants following treatment with elective volume and dose de-escalation, using European Organization for the Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) Quality of Life Questionnaire (QLQ-C30), EORTC HN35, which is specific to head and neck cancer, and composite MD Anderson Dysphagia Inventory (MDADI). EORTC QLQ-C30 and QLQ-H\&N35 are scored on a 4-point categorical scale ranging from 1 "not at all" to 4 "very much". This scale is then linearly transformed to a 0-100 scale, where a higher score represents a higher response level. A high score for a functional scale represents higher level functioning, a high score for quality of life represents a high quality of life, and a high score for a symptom scale represents worse symptoms. MD Anderson Dysphagia Inventory (MDADI) questionnaire: Possible score ranges from 0-100, with higher score indicating higher functioning.
- time frame
- 12 months
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-head-and-neck-neoplasm
- nct id
- NCT03067610
- qol key
- qol-0004
- source section id
- NCT03067610-om-0004
- source outcome index
- 4
- instrument
- EQ-5D
- instrument basis
- matched 'eq-5d' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- Patient Utilities
- measure definition
- The average patient utilities (derived from EQ-5D) from baseline up to 2 years from the end of treatment will be described. Changes in patient utility will be analyzed using generalized estimated equations (GEE).
- time frame
- 2 years
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- Collected data were not considered valid due to software limitations as it was not available to auto-calculate the data as proposed by our EMR
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- setting source links
Preserved source evidence · Not medical advice
Triangle