Skip to content
← Colon Cancer

NCT04322539 · STUDY IN CONTEXT

A Study of Efficacy and Safety of Fruquintinib (HMPL-013) in Participants With Metastatic Colorectal Cancer

Draft scope assessment: narrower. Linked by condition-string match at the cancer-entity level. The study's eligibility - stage, biomarker, treatment line and prior therapy - has not been reconciled against this page's definition, so its population is narrower than this page in ways not yet recorded. The condition was transformed or resolved through the terminology hierarchy to reach this cancer type, so the link itself is a candidate a reviewer must confirm. Found because this study's registry identifier is printed in an FDA approval notice, an FDA product label or an NCI summary held by this site. The citing document and the exact position of the identifier inside it are recorded. Being cited is not a statement that the study supports this treatment.

Read the full study record and all posted results →

Linked outcomes

Measures are not ranked. Open each original source section for treatment groups, denominators, units and results.

primary · POSTED

OS was defined as the time (months) from date of randomization to death from any cause. OS was calculated as (date of death or last known alive - date of randomization + 1)/30.4375. Participants without report of death at the time of analysis will be censored at the date last known alive.

ITT population included all randomized participants.

→

secondary · POSTED

PFS was defined as the time (months) from randomization until the first radiographic documentation of objective progression as assessed by investigator using RECIST v1.1, or death from any cause, whichever comes first. More specifically, PFS was determined using all data until the last evaluable visit prior to or on the date of: (i) radiographic disease progression (PD) per RECIST v1.1; (ii) withdrawal of consent to obtain additional scans on study; or (iii) initiation of subsequent anticancer therapy other than the study drugs, whichever was earlier. PD was defined as: at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study, including baseline; an absolute increase of at least 5 mm in the sum of diameters of target lesions; and the appearance of one or more new lesions.

ITT population included all randomized participants.

→

secondary · POSTED

ORR was defined as the percentage of participants who achieved a best overall response of confirmed complete response (CR) or partial response (PR), per RECIST v1.1, as determined by the investigator. PR: At least a 30 percent (%) decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum of diameters. CR: Disappearance of all target lesions. Any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have reduction in short axis to less than (\<)10 millimeters (mm).

ITT population included all randomized participants.

→

secondary · POSTED

DCR was defined as percentage of participants achieving a best overall response of confirmed CR, PR, or stable disease (SD) (for at least 7 weeks) per RECIST v1.1, as determined by the investigator. PR: At least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum of diameters. CR: Disappearance of all target lesions. Any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have reduction in short axis to \<10 mm. SD: Neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for progressive disease (PD), taking as reference the smallest sum on study. PD: At least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study (nadir), including baseline.

ITT population included all randomized participants.

→

secondary · POSTED

DOR was defined as the time (in months) from the first occurrence of PR or CR by RECIST Version 1.1, until the first date that progressive disease is documented by RECIST Version 1.1, or death, whichever comes first. Only those participants with confirmed responses of CR or PR were included in this analysis. DOR was calculated as (date of death or PD or last assessment - date of first occurrence of confirmed CR or PR + 1)/30.4375.

Analysis was performed on subset of participants who had a response. Here, '0' in 'overall number of participants analyzed represents that DOR could only be analyzed in participants who achieved a response. As no participant in the Placebo Plus BSC Group cohort achieved any response, no DOR is available.

→

secondary · POSTED

An adverse event (AE) was any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product and that does not necessarily have a causal relationship with this treatment. An AE was considered a TEAE if the onset date was on or after the start of study treatment or if the onset date was missing, or if the AE had an onset date before the start of study treatment but worsened in severity after the study treatment until 30 days after the last dose of study treatment or a new treatment of anti-tumor therapy, whichever was earlier. After this period, treatment-related SAEs were also considered as TEAEs. AEs with an unknown/not reported onset date were also included.

SP included all randomized participants who received at least 1 dose of study drug.

→

Reported safety

Serious events are not the same as severe events. Compare the original safety groups and their at-risk populations.

Open the study safety table →

Quality of life and patient-reported measures

EORTC QLQ · Change From Baseline in European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer Quality of Life (QOL) Questionnaire Core 30 (EORTC QLQ-C30) Global Health Status/Quality of Life Scale Score

Score direction: Higher is better, according to the source. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.

release id
clinical-indications-draft-1
disease state id
ds-colon-cancer
nct id
NCT04322539
qol key
qol-0011
source section id
NCT04322539-om-0011
source outcome index
11
instrument
EORTC QLQ
instrument basis
matched 'eortc' in the study's own wording
scale title
Change From Baseline in European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer Quality of Life (QOL) Questionnaire Core 30 (EORTC QLQ-C30) Global Health Status/Quality of Life Scale Score
measure definition
EORTC QLQ-C30 contains 30 items across 5 functional scales (physical, role, cognitive, emotional, and social), 9 symptom scales (fatigue, nausea and vomiting, pain, dyspnea, sleep disturbance, appetite loss, constipation, diarrhea, and financial difficulties) and global health status/QOL scale. EORTC QLQ-C30 contains 28 questions (4-point scale where 1=Not at all \[best\] to 4=Very Much \[worst\]) and 2 questions (7-point scale where 1=Very poor \[worst\] to 7= Excellent \[best\]). Raw scores are standardized and converted into scale scores ranging from 0 to 100. For global health status/QOL scale, higher scores represent better QOL. A negative change from baseline value indicates patient condition worsened. Change from baseline in the EORTC QLQ-C30 Global Health Status/Quality of Life Scale scores was performed by visit (i.e., cycle), using a restricted maximum likelihood (REML)-based mixed model repeated measures (MMRM) approach.
time frame
Baseline, Cycle 2, 3 and 4 (Each cycle=28 days)
analysis role
secondary
reporting status
POSTED
higher is better
1
direction quote
higher scores represent better
population note
ITT population included all randomized participants. Here, "Overall Number of Participants Analyzed" signifies those participants who were evaluable for this outcome measure and "Number analyzed" signifies those participants who were evaluable at the specified timepoints.
curation status
draft
reviewed by
Source null
reviewed at
Source null
created at
2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
Open the exact result →
EQ-5D · Change From Baseline in EuroQoL 5 Dimension 5 Level (EQ-5D-5L) Visual Analog Scale (VAS) Score

Score direction: Higher is better, according to the source. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.

release id
clinical-indications-draft-1
disease state id
ds-colon-cancer
nct id
NCT04322539
qol key
qol-0012
source section id
NCT04322539-om-0012
source outcome index
12
instrument
EQ-5D
instrument basis
matched 'eq-5d' in the study's own wording
scale title
Change From Baseline in EuroQoL 5 Dimension 5 Level (EQ-5D-5L) Visual Analog Scale (VAS) Score
measure definition
The EQ-5D-5L is a self-reported health status questionnaire that consisted of six questions used to calculate a health utility score. There were two components to the EQ-5D-5L: a five-item health state profile that assessed mobility, self-care, usual activities, pain/discomfort, and anxiety/depression used to obtain an Index Utility Score and a general VAS score for health status. EQ-5D VAS was used to record participant's rating for his/her current health-related quality of life state on a vertical VAS with scores ranging from 0 to 100, where 0 = worst imaginable health state and 100 = best imaginable health state. The higher the score the better the health status. A negative change from baseline value represents patient condition worsened. Change from baseline in the EQ-5D-5L VAS scores was performed by visit (i.e. cycle), using a REML-based MMRM approach.
time frame
Baseline, Cycle 2, 3 and 4 (Each cycle=28 days)
analysis role
secondary
reporting status
POSTED
higher is better
1
direction quote
higher the score the better
population note
ITT population included all randomized participants. Here, "Overall Number of Participants Analyzed" signifies those participants who were evaluable for this outcome measure and "Number analyzed" signifies those participants who were evaluable at the specified categories.
curation status
draft
reviewed by
Source null
reviewed at
Source null
created at
2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
Open the exact result →
EQ-5D · Change From Baseline in EuroQoL 5 Dimension 5 Level (EQ-5D-5L) Health Utility Index Scores

Score direction: Lower is better, according to the source. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.

release id
clinical-indications-draft-1
disease state id
ds-colon-cancer
nct id
NCT04322539
qol key
qol-0013
source section id
NCT04322539-om-0013
source outcome index
13
instrument
EQ-5D
instrument basis
matched 'eq-5d' in the study's own wording
scale title
Change From Baseline in EuroQoL 5 Dimension 5 Level (EQ-5D-5L) Health Utility Index Scores
measure definition
EQ-5D-5L consisted of 2 components: health state profile and optional VAS. EQ-5D health state profile had 5 dimensions: mobility, self-care, usual activities, pain/discomfort, anxiety/depression. Each dimension has 5 levels: 1= no problem, 2= slight problem, 3= moderate problem, 4= severe problem, and 5= extreme problem. The response levels collected from the EQ-5D-5L five dimensions as a health profile are converted into an EQ-5D-5L index (utility) scores to represent participants' utility value. The range of health utility index score is from -0.285 to 1, where higher value indicates perfect health and a negative value represents a state worse than dead. Change from baseline in EQ-5D-5L health utility index scores was performed by visit (i.e., cycle), using a REML-based MMRM approach.
time frame
Baseline, Cycle 2, 3 and 4 (Each cycle=28 days)
analysis role
secondary
reporting status
POSTED
higher is better
0
direction quote
higher value indicates perfect health and a negative value represents a state worse
population note
ITT population included all randomized participants. Here, "Overall Number of Participants Analyzed" signifies those participants who were evaluable for this outcome measure and "Number analyzed" signifies those participants who were evaluable at the specified categories.
curation status
draft
reviewed by
Source null
reviewed at
Source null
created at
2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
Open the exact result →
Full draft applicability and source-link record
trial
release id
clinical-indications-draft-1
disease state id
ds-colon-cancer
nct id
NCT04322539
trial label
A Study of Efficacy and Safety of Fruquintinib (HMPL-013) in Participants With Metastatic Colorectal Cancer
applicability
narrower
applicability note
Linked by condition-string match at the cancer-entity level. The study's eligibility - stage, biomarker, treatment line and prior therapy - has not been reconciled against this page's definition, so its population is narrower than this page in ways not yet recorded. The condition was transformed or resolved through the terminology hierarchy to reach this cancer type, so the link itself is a candidate a reviewer must confirm.
curation status
draft
reviewed by
Source null
reviewed at
Source null
created at
2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
provenance class
regulator-cited
discovery note
Found because this study's registry identifier is printed in an FDA approval notice, an FDA product label or an NCI summary held by this site. The citing document and the exact position of the identifier inside it are recorded. Being cited is not a statement that the study supports this treatment.
outcome Count
6
harms Count
2
qol Count
3
outcomes
  1. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-colon-cancer
    nct id
    NCT04322539
    outcome key
    om-0000
    source section id
    NCT04322539-om-0000
    source outcome index
    0
    endpoint
    Overall Survival (OS)
    endpoint definition
    OS was defined as the time (months) from date of randomization to death from any cause. OS was calculated as (date of death or last known alive - date of randomization + 1)/30.4375. Participants without report of death at the time of analysis will be censored at the date last known alive.
    time origin
    From date of randomization to death from any cause (up to 22 months)
    analysis role
    primary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    data cutoff
    Source null
    population note
    ITT population included all randomized participants.
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  2. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-colon-cancer
    nct id
    NCT04322539
    outcome key
    om-0001
    source section id
    NCT04322539-om-0001
    source outcome index
    1
    endpoint
    Progression Free Survival (PFS), as Assessed by the Investigator Using Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors (RECIST) v1.1
    endpoint definition
    PFS was defined as the time (months) from randomization until the first radiographic documentation of objective progression as assessed by investigator using RECIST v1.1, or death from any cause, whichever comes first. More specifically, PFS was determined using all data until the last evaluable visit prior to or on the date of: (i) radiographic disease progression (PD) per RECIST v1.1; (ii) withdrawal of consent to obtain additional scans on study; or (iii) initiation of subsequent anticancer therapy other than the study drugs, whichever was earlier. PD was defined as: at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study, including baseline; an absolute increase of at least 5 mm in the sum of diameters of target lesions; and the appearance of one or more new lesions.
    time origin
    From randomization until the first documentation of objective progression or death, whichever comes first (up to 22 months)
    analysis role
    secondary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    data cutoff
    Source null
    population note
    ITT population included all randomized participants.
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  3. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-colon-cancer
    nct id
    NCT04322539
    outcome key
    om-0002
    source section id
    NCT04322539-om-0002
    source outcome index
    2
    endpoint
    Objective Response Rate (ORR) Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST 1.1)
    endpoint definition
    ORR was defined as the percentage of participants who achieved a best overall response of confirmed complete response (CR) or partial response (PR), per RECIST v1.1, as determined by the investigator. PR: At least a 30 percent (%) decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum of diameters. CR: Disappearance of all target lesions. Any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have reduction in short axis to less than (\<)10 millimeters (mm).
    time origin
    From randomization until the first documentation of best overall response (up to 22 months)
    analysis role
    secondary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    data cutoff
    Source null
    population note
    ITT population included all randomized participants.
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  4. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-colon-cancer
    nct id
    NCT04322539
    outcome key
    om-0003
    source section id
    NCT04322539-om-0003
    source outcome index
    3
    endpoint
    Disease Control Rate (DCR) Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST 1.1)
    endpoint definition
    DCR was defined as percentage of participants achieving a best overall response of confirmed CR, PR, or stable disease (SD) (for at least 7 weeks) per RECIST v1.1, as determined by the investigator. PR: At least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum of diameters. CR: Disappearance of all target lesions. Any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have reduction in short axis to \<10 mm. SD: Neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for progressive disease (PD), taking as reference the smallest sum on study. PD: At least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study (nadir), including baseline.
    time origin
    From randomization until the first documentation of best overall response (up to 22 months)
    analysis role
    secondary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    data cutoff
    Source null
    population note
    ITT population included all randomized participants.
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  5. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-colon-cancer
    nct id
    NCT04322539
    outcome key
    om-0004
    source section id
    NCT04322539-om-0004
    source outcome index
    4
    endpoint
    Duration of Response (DOR) Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST 1.1)
    endpoint definition
    DOR was defined as the time (in months) from the first occurrence of PR or CR by RECIST Version 1.1, until the first date that progressive disease is documented by RECIST Version 1.1, or death, whichever comes first. Only those participants with confirmed responses of CR or PR were included in this analysis. DOR was calculated as (date of death or PD or last assessment - date of first occurrence of confirmed CR or PR + 1)/30.4375.
    time origin
    From first occurrence of PR or CR until the first documentation progression or death, whichever comes first (up to 22 months
    analysis role
    secondary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    data cutoff
    Source null
    population note
    Analysis was performed on subset of participants who had a response. Here, '0' in 'overall number of participants analyzed represents that DOR could only be analyzed in participants who achieved a response. As no participant in the Placebo Plus BSC Group cohort achieved any response, no DOR is available.
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  6. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-colon-cancer
    nct id
    NCT04322539
    outcome key
    om-0005
    source section id
    NCT04322539-om-0005
    source outcome index
    5
    endpoint
    Number of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) and Serious TEAEs
    endpoint definition
    An adverse event (AE) was any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product and that does not necessarily have a causal relationship with this treatment. An AE was considered a TEAE if the onset date was on or after the start of study treatment or if the onset date was missing, or if the AE had an onset date before the start of study treatment but worsened in severity after the study treatment until 30 days after the last dose of study treatment or a new treatment of anti-tumor therapy, whichever was earlier. After this period, treatment-related SAEs were also considered as TEAEs. AEs with an unknown/not reported onset date were also included.
    time origin
    From start of study drug administration up to approximately 40 months
    analysis role
    secondary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    data cutoff
    Source null
    population note
    SP included all randomized participants who received at least 1 dose of study drug.
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
arms
  1. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-colon-cancer
    nct id
    NCT04322539
    outcome key
    om-0000
    arm key
    OG000
    arm label
    Fruquintinib + BSC Group
    regimen
    Participants received 5 mg of fruquintinib oral capsule in combination with BSC once daily for 3 weeks of continuous dosing followed by a 1-week break during a treatment cycle (Each cycle length was 28 days).
    analyzed count
    461
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT04322539-om-0000#groups/OG000
  2. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-colon-cancer
    nct id
    NCT04322539
    outcome key
    om-0000
    arm key
    OG001
    arm label
    Placebo + BSC Group
    regimen
    Participants received placebo matched to fruquintinib oral capsule in combination with BSC once daily for 3 weeks of continuous dosing followed by a 1-week break during a treatment cycle (Each cycle length was 28 days).
    analyzed count
    230
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT04322539-om-0000#groups/OG001
  3. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-colon-cancer
    nct id
    NCT04322539
    outcome key
    om-0001
    arm key
    OG000
    arm label
    Fruquintinib + BSC Group
    regimen
    Participants received 5 mg of fruquintinib oral capsule in combination with BSC once daily for 3 weeks of continuous dosing followed by a 1-week break during a treatment cycle (Each cycle length was 28 days).
    analyzed count
    461
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT04322539-om-0001#groups/OG000
  4. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-colon-cancer
    nct id
    NCT04322539
    outcome key
    om-0001
    arm key
    OG001
    arm label
    Placebo + BSC Group
    regimen
    Participants received placebo matched to fruquintinib oral capsule in combination with BSC once daily for 3 weeks of continuous dosing followed by a 1-week break during a treatment cycle (Each cycle length was 28 days).
    analyzed count
    230
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT04322539-om-0001#groups/OG001
  5. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-colon-cancer
    nct id
    NCT04322539
    outcome key
    om-0002
    arm key
    OG000
    arm label
    Fruquintinib + BSC Group
    regimen
    Participants received 5 mg of fruquintinib oral capsule in combination with BSC once daily for 3 weeks of continuous dosing followed by a 1-week break during a treatment cycle (Each cycle length was 28 days).
    analyzed count
    461
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT04322539-om-0002#groups/OG000
  6. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-colon-cancer
    nct id
    NCT04322539
    outcome key
    om-0002
    arm key
    OG001
    arm label
    Placebo + BSC Group
    regimen
    Participants received placebo matched to fruquintinib oral capsule in combination with BSC once daily for 3 weeks of continuous dosing followed by a 1-week break during a treatment cycle (Each cycle length was 28 days).
    analyzed count
    230
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT04322539-om-0002#groups/OG001
  7. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-colon-cancer
    nct id
    NCT04322539
    outcome key
    om-0003
    arm key
    OG000
    arm label
    Fruquintinib + BSC Group
    regimen
    Participants received 5 mg of fruquintinib oral capsule in combination with BSC once daily for 3 weeks of continuous dosing followed by a 1-week break during a treatment cycle (Each cycle length was 28 days).
    analyzed count
    461
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT04322539-om-0003#groups/OG000
  8. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-colon-cancer
    nct id
    NCT04322539
    outcome key
    om-0003
    arm key
    OG001
    arm label
    Placebo + BSC Group
    regimen
    Participants received placebo matched to fruquintinib oral capsule in combination with BSC once daily for 3 weeks of continuous dosing followed by a 1-week break during a treatment cycle (Each cycle length was 28 days).
    analyzed count
    230
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT04322539-om-0003#groups/OG001
  9. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-colon-cancer
    nct id
    NCT04322539
    outcome key
    om-0004
    arm key
    OG000
    arm label
    Fruquintinib + BSC Group
    regimen
    Participants received 5 mg of fruquintinib oral capsule in combination with BSC once daily for 3 weeks of continuous dosing followed by a 1-week break during a treatment cycle (Each cycle length was 28 days).
    analyzed count
    7
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT04322539-om-0004#groups/OG000
  10. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-colon-cancer
    nct id
    NCT04322539
    outcome key
    om-0004
    arm key
    OG001
    arm label
    Placebo + BSC Group
    regimen
    Participants received placebo matched to fruquintinib oral capsule in combination with BSC once daily for 3 weeks of continuous dosing followed by a 1-week break during a treatment cycle (Each cycle length was 28 days).
    analyzed count
    0
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT04322539-om-0004#groups/OG001
  11. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-colon-cancer
    nct id
    NCT04322539
    outcome key
    om-0005
    arm key
    OG000
    arm label
    Fruquintinib + BSC Group
    regimen
    Participants received 5 mg of fruquintinib oral capsule in combination with BSC once daily for 3 weeks of continuous dosing followed by a 1-week break during a treatment cycle (Each cycle length was 28 days).
    analyzed count
    456
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT04322539-om-0005#groups/OG000
  12. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-colon-cancer
    nct id
    NCT04322539
    outcome key
    om-0005
    arm key
    OG001
    arm label
    Placebo + BSC Group
    regimen
    Participants received placebo matched to fruquintinib oral capsule in combination with BSC once daily for 3 weeks of continuous dosing followed by a 1-week break during a treatment cycle (Each cycle length was 28 days).
    analyzed count
    230
    analyzed unit
    Participants
    is comparator
    Source null
    source pointer
    NCT04322539-om-0005#groups/OG001
harms
  1. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-colon-cancer
    nct id
    NCT04322539
    harm key
    EG000
    source section id
    NCT04322539-ae
    event group key
    EG000
    event group label
    Fruquintinib + BSC Group
    serious affected
    173
    serious at risk
    456
    other affected
    446
    other at risk
    456
    frequency threshold
    5
    collection period
    From start of study drug administration up to approximately 40 months
    event definition
    All-Cause Mortality data collected during the study was assessed for all randomized participants. Serious AEs and Non-Serious AEs data were collected based on safety population that included all randomized participants who received at least 1 dose.
    undenominated note
    Source null
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  2. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-colon-cancer
    nct id
    NCT04322539
    harm key
    EG001
    source section id
    NCT04322539-ae
    event group key
    EG001
    event group label
    Placebo + BSC Group
    serious affected
    88
    serious at risk
    230
    other affected
    205
    other at risk
    230
    frequency threshold
    5
    collection period
    From start of study drug administration up to approximately 40 months
    event definition
    All-Cause Mortality data collected during the study was assessed for all randomized participants. Serious AEs and Non-Serious AEs data were collected based on safety population that included all randomized participants who received at least 1 dose.
    undenominated note
    Source null
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
quality of life
  1. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-colon-cancer
    nct id
    NCT04322539
    qol key
    qol-0011
    source section id
    NCT04322539-om-0011
    source outcome index
    11
    instrument
    EORTC QLQ
    instrument basis
    matched 'eortc' in the study's own wording
    scale title
    Change From Baseline in European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer Quality of Life (QOL) Questionnaire Core 30 (EORTC QLQ-C30) Global Health Status/Quality of Life Scale Score
    measure definition
    EORTC QLQ-C30 contains 30 items across 5 functional scales (physical, role, cognitive, emotional, and social), 9 symptom scales (fatigue, nausea and vomiting, pain, dyspnea, sleep disturbance, appetite loss, constipation, diarrhea, and financial difficulties) and global health status/QOL scale. EORTC QLQ-C30 contains 28 questions (4-point scale where 1=Not at all \[best\] to 4=Very Much \[worst\]) and 2 questions (7-point scale where 1=Very poor \[worst\] to 7= Excellent \[best\]). Raw scores are standardized and converted into scale scores ranging from 0 to 100. For global health status/QOL scale, higher scores represent better QOL. A negative change from baseline value indicates patient condition worsened. Change from baseline in the EORTC QLQ-C30 Global Health Status/Quality of Life Scale scores was performed by visit (i.e., cycle), using a restricted maximum likelihood (REML)-based mixed model repeated measures (MMRM) approach.
    time frame
    Baseline, Cycle 2, 3 and 4 (Each cycle=28 days)
    analysis role
    secondary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    higher is better
    1
    direction quote
    higher scores represent better
    population note
    ITT population included all randomized participants. Here, "Overall Number of Participants Analyzed" signifies those participants who were evaluable for this outcome measure and "Number analyzed" signifies those participants who were evaluable at the specified timepoints.
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  2. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-colon-cancer
    nct id
    NCT04322539
    qol key
    qol-0012
    source section id
    NCT04322539-om-0012
    source outcome index
    12
    instrument
    EQ-5D
    instrument basis
    matched 'eq-5d' in the study's own wording
    scale title
    Change From Baseline in EuroQoL 5 Dimension 5 Level (EQ-5D-5L) Visual Analog Scale (VAS) Score
    measure definition
    The EQ-5D-5L is a self-reported health status questionnaire that consisted of six questions used to calculate a health utility score. There were two components to the EQ-5D-5L: a five-item health state profile that assessed mobility, self-care, usual activities, pain/discomfort, and anxiety/depression used to obtain an Index Utility Score and a general VAS score for health status. EQ-5D VAS was used to record participant's rating for his/her current health-related quality of life state on a vertical VAS with scores ranging from 0 to 100, where 0 = worst imaginable health state and 100 = best imaginable health state. The higher the score the better the health status. A negative change from baseline value represents patient condition worsened. Change from baseline in the EQ-5D-5L VAS scores was performed by visit (i.e. cycle), using a REML-based MMRM approach.
    time frame
    Baseline, Cycle 2, 3 and 4 (Each cycle=28 days)
    analysis role
    secondary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    higher is better
    1
    direction quote
    higher the score the better
    population note
    ITT population included all randomized participants. Here, "Overall Number of Participants Analyzed" signifies those participants who were evaluable for this outcome measure and "Number analyzed" signifies those participants who were evaluable at the specified categories.
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
  3. release id
    clinical-indications-draft-1
    disease state id
    ds-colon-cancer
    nct id
    NCT04322539
    qol key
    qol-0013
    source section id
    NCT04322539-om-0013
    source outcome index
    13
    instrument
    EQ-5D
    instrument basis
    matched 'eq-5d' in the study's own wording
    scale title
    Change From Baseline in EuroQoL 5 Dimension 5 Level (EQ-5D-5L) Health Utility Index Scores
    measure definition
    EQ-5D-5L consisted of 2 components: health state profile and optional VAS. EQ-5D health state profile had 5 dimensions: mobility, self-care, usual activities, pain/discomfort, anxiety/depression. Each dimension has 5 levels: 1= no problem, 2= slight problem, 3= moderate problem, 4= severe problem, and 5= extreme problem. The response levels collected from the EQ-5D-5L five dimensions as a health profile are converted into an EQ-5D-5L index (utility) scores to represent participants' utility value. The range of health utility index score is from -0.285 to 1, where higher value indicates perfect health and a negative value represents a state worse than dead. Change from baseline in EQ-5D-5L health utility index scores was performed by visit (i.e., cycle), using a REML-based MMRM approach.
    time frame
    Baseline, Cycle 2, 3 and 4 (Each cycle=28 days)
    analysis role
    secondary
    reporting status
    POSTED
    higher is better
    0
    direction quote
    higher value indicates perfect health and a negative value represents a state worse
    population note
    ITT population included all randomized participants. Here, "Overall Number of Participants Analyzed" signifies those participants who were evaluable for this outcome measure and "Number analyzed" signifies those participants who were evaluable at the specified categories.
    curation status
    draft
    reviewed by
    Source null
    reviewed at
    Source null
    created at
    2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
setting source links

    Preserved source evidence · Not medical advice