NCT04162873 · STUDY IN CONTEXT
Celecoxib Through Surgery and Radiation Therapy for the Treatment of Advanced Head and Neck Cancer
Draft scope assessment: narrower. Linked by condition-string match at the cancer-entity level. The study's eligibility - stage, biomarker, treatment line and prior therapy - has not been reconciled against this page's definition, so its population is narrower than this page in ways not yet recorded. The condition was transformed or resolved through the terminology hierarchy to reach this cancer type, so the link itself is a candidate a reviewer must confirm. Found by searching ClinicalTrials.gov for this cancer type, restricted to studies that have posted results to the registry. No FDA notice, FDA label or NCI summary held by this site cites this study. Because the search asked for posted results, studies without posted results were never looked for, so their absence from this page means nothing.
Read the full study record and all posted results →
Linked outcomes
The day of surgery will be considered day 0 and the number of days will be counted until the first dose of adjuvant radiation. This outcome measure will report the mean number of days from surgery to the initiation of radiation and adjuvant therapy for the Celecoxib and Placebo Arms.
Assessment of subjective pain scores on the visual analog scale of pain intensity averaged over a week at rest, with a swallow, and with a cough. The subjects rated their pain from 0-10 on the pain intensity scale. Scores are reported as means of the pain score with standard deviation. This outcome is reported scores collected at the post-surgery visit; 9 to 29 days after the start of study treatment.
Patient satisfaction was assessed with a pain control questionnaire. The participants were asked questions about their pain satisfaction over the last seven days. The pain control questionnaire was scored from 0-100, with smaller values indicating poor pain control satisfaction and larger values indicating excellent pain control satisfaction. This outcome was assessed at post-surgery and end of treatment for up to 5 months
Narcotic consumption was assessed in daily total morphine equivalents averaged over a week. This outcome was assessed at 7 days after surgery and 35 days after surgery. Morphine equivalent dose (MED) is the amount of opioid prescription drugs a patient is taking per day. MED is the sum of the total morphine milligram equivalents (MMEs), a common unit for assessing milligrams of morphine, dose per day. The Post-Surgery (1-7 days) time point is MED from 1 to 7 days after surgery. The Post-Surgery (1-14 days) time point is MED from 1 to 14 days after surgery. The Post-Surgery (1-26 days) time point is MED from 1 to 26 days after surgery. The Post-Surgery (1-35 days) time point is MED from 1 to 35 days after surgery. The End of Treatment time point is MED from 1 to 146 days after surgery.
Assessment of current activity level was assessed utilizing Karnofsky Performance Status (KPS) at the following time points: pre-operation, day 14 of adjuvant therapy, and end of treatment (or last assessment). The KPS is a scale used to measure a subject's ability to perform daily tasks from 100 Normal no complaints no evidence of disease, 50 Requires considerable assistance and frequent medical care, and 0 Dead. This assessment was measured at Post-Operation (up to 29 days after surgery), Mid Radiation (up to 112 days after surgery), and End of Treatment (up to 146 days after surgery).
Assessment of current activity level was assessed utilizing Functional Oral Intake Scale (FOIS) at the following time points: pre-operation, day 14 of adjuvant therapy, and end of treatment (or last assessment). FOIS is a standardized scale assessed by the treating investigator to assess the functional level of oral intake in patients with dysphagia. The FOIS measures from 1 (Aspirates saliva, Nothing by mouth),2 (Tube dependent, Nothing by mouth/minimal trials), 3 (Tube dependent, Full trials by mouth), 4 (Total Oral Single, texture trials), 5 (Total Oral, Multiple texture trials), 6 (Total Oral, By mouth/ restrictions Minimal), and 7 (Regular diet, By mouth/ no restrictions). This assessment was measured for up to 5 months. This assessment was measured at Post-Operation (up to 29 days after surgery), Mid Radiation (up to 112 days after surgery), and End of Treatment (up to 146 days after surgery).
Reported safety
Quality of life and patient-reported measures
EORTC QLQ · To Assess the Effect of Celecoxib Therapy on the European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer Quality of Life Questionnaire Head and Neck Module (EORTC QLQ-HN43) Compared to Placebo.
Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-clinical-stage-iv-hpv-mediated-p16-positive-oropharyngeal-carcinoma-ajcc
- nct id
- NCT04162873
- qol key
- qol-0007
- source section id
- NCT04162873-om-0007
- source outcome index
- 7
- instrument
- EORTC QLQ
- instrument basis
- matched 'eortc' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- To Assess the Effect of Celecoxib Therapy on the European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer Quality of Life Questionnaire Head and Neck Module (EORTC QLQ-HN43) Compared to Placebo.
- measure definition
- The EORTC QLQ-HN43 is a 43-question assessment for determining the health-related quality of life of head and neck cancer patients participating in clinical trials. Patients indicate which symptoms/problems they have experienced during the past week, from "1 Not at All" to "4 Very Much". The assessment was scored according to the "EORTC QLQ-C30 Scoring Manual", reporting data as 19 subscales with scores from 0-100. A high scale score represents a higher response level. A high functional scale score (FS) represent a high/healthy level of function and includes body image, social contact, \& sexuality A high symptom scale score (SS) represent a high level of symptomatology/problems and includes anxiety, cough, head and neck pain, swallowing, neurologic problems, senses, speech, social eating, weight loss, problems w/ skin, shoulder, wound healing, dry mouth, opening mouth, neck swelling, \& teeth. This outcome will report the mean score of each subscale.
- time frame
- Up to 29 days after surgery (up to 32 days after initiation of study treatment)
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- One participant on Arm 1 withdrew consent from the study treatment before the Post-Operation visit and was not evaluable for this endpoint.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
Unnamed quality-of-life measure · To Assess the Effect of Celecoxib Therapy on the MDASI-HN Questionnaire Compared to Placebo.
Score direction: Not stated by the study. Direction is never inferred from an instrument name.
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-clinical-stage-iv-hpv-mediated-p16-positive-oropharyngeal-carcinoma-ajcc
- nct id
- NCT04162873
- qol key
- qol-0008
- source section id
- NCT04162873-om-0008
- source outcome index
- 8
- instrument
- Unnamed quality-of-life measure
- instrument basis
- matched 'quality of life' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- To Assess the Effect of Celecoxib Therapy on the MDASI-HN Questionnaire Compared to Placebo.
- measure definition
- This outcome will report the quality of life questionnaire, the M. D. Anderson symptom inventory head neck (MDASI-HN) at the Post-Operation Visit. This was assessed up to 29 days after surgery (up to 32 days after initiation of study treatment). MDASI-HN is a 28-question, 2-part questionnaire for patients with head and neck cancer that assesses the severity of symptoms and impact on daily life. In Part I, subjects indicated how severe their symptoms were from "0 Not present" to "10 As Bad as You can Imagine". In Part II, subjects indicated how symptoms have interfered with their live from "0 Did not Interfere" to "10 Interfered Completely". This assessment was scored according to the The M. D. Anderson Symptom Inventory User Guide.
- time frame
- Up to 29 days after surgery (up to 32 days after initiation of study treatment)
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- One participant on Arm 1 withdrew consent from the study treatment before the Post-Operation visit and was not evaluable for this endpoint.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
Full draft applicability and source-link record
- trial
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-clinical-stage-iv-hpv-mediated-p16-positive-oropharyngeal-carcinoma-ajcc
- nct id
- NCT04162873
- trial label
- Celecoxib Through Surgery and Radiation Therapy for the Treatment of Advanced Head and Neck Cancer
- applicability
- narrower
- applicability note
- Linked by condition-string match at the cancer-entity level. The study's eligibility - stage, biomarker, treatment line and prior therapy - has not been reconciled against this page's definition, so its population is narrower than this page in ways not yet recorded. The condition was transformed or resolved through the terminology hierarchy to reach this cancer type, so the link itself is a candidate a reviewer must confirm.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- provenance class
- registry-condition-search
- discovery note
- Found by searching ClinicalTrials.gov for this cancer type, restricted to studies that have posted results to the registry. No FDA notice, FDA label or NCI summary held by this site cites this study. Because the search asked for posted results, studies without posted results were never looked for, so their absence from this page means nothing.
- outcome Count
- 6
- harms Count
- 2
- qol Count
- 2
- outcomes
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-clinical-stage-iv-hpv-mediated-p16-positive-oropharyngeal-carcinoma-ajcc
- nct id
- NCT04162873
- outcome key
- om-0000
- source section id
- NCT04162873-om-0000
- source outcome index
- 0
- endpoint
- The Number of Days From Surgery to the Initiation of Radiation and Adjuvant Therapy
- endpoint definition
- The day of surgery will be considered day 0 and the number of days will be counted until the first dose of adjuvant radiation. This outcome measure will report the mean number of days from surgery to the initiation of radiation and adjuvant therapy for the Celecoxib and Placebo Arms.
- time origin
- up to 3 months
- analysis role
- primary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Two participants in the Celecoxib Arm did not receive adjuvant radiation therapy and were not evaluable for this endpoint. One other participant from the Celecoxib Arm only received two doses of study treatment and was not evaluable for this endpoint. One participant in the Placebo Arm did not receive adjuvant radiation therapy and was not evaluable for this endpoint.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-clinical-stage-iv-hpv-mediated-p16-positive-oropharyngeal-carcinoma-ajcc
- nct id
- NCT04162873
- outcome key
- om-0001
- source section id
- NCT04162873-om-0001
- source outcome index
- 1
- endpoint
- Assessment of Overall Pain Control and Management for Patients on Celecoxib Compared to Placebo - Visual Analog Scale.
- endpoint definition
- Assessment of subjective pain scores on the visual analog scale of pain intensity averaged over a week at rest, with a swallow, and with a cough. The subjects rated their pain from 0-10 on the pain intensity scale. Scores are reported as means of the pain score with standard deviation. This outcome is reported scores collected at the post-surgery visit; 9 to 29 days after the start of study treatment.
- time origin
- Up to 29 days from the start of study treatment
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- One participant on the Celecoxib Arm withdrew consent from the study treatment before the Post-Operation visit and was not evaluable for this endpoint.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-clinical-stage-iv-hpv-mediated-p16-positive-oropharyngeal-carcinoma-ajcc
- nct id
- NCT04162873
- outcome key
- om-0002
- source section id
- NCT04162873-om-0002
- source outcome index
- 2
- endpoint
- Assessment of Overall Pain Control and Management for Patients on Celecoxib Compared to Placebo - Pain Control Questionnaire.
- endpoint definition
- Patient satisfaction was assessed with a pain control questionnaire. The participants were asked questions about their pain satisfaction over the last seven days. The pain control questionnaire was scored from 0-100, with smaller values indicating poor pain control satisfaction and larger values indicating excellent pain control satisfaction. This outcome was assessed at post-surgery and end of treatment for up to 5 months
- time origin
- post-surgery (up to 29 days from surgery) and end of treatment (up to 5 months from surgery)
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- One participant on the Celcoxib Arm was not evaluable for this endpoint.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-clinical-stage-iv-hpv-mediated-p16-positive-oropharyngeal-carcinoma-ajcc
- nct id
- NCT04162873
- outcome key
- om-0003
- source section id
- NCT04162873-om-0003
- source outcome index
- 3
- endpoint
- Assessment of Overall Pain Control and Management for Patients on Celecoxib Compared to Placebo.
- endpoint definition
- Narcotic consumption was assessed in daily total morphine equivalents averaged over a week. This outcome was assessed at 7 days after surgery and 35 days after surgery. Morphine equivalent dose (MED) is the amount of opioid prescription drugs a patient is taking per day. MED is the sum of the total morphine milligram equivalents (MMEs), a common unit for assessing milligrams of morphine, dose per day. The Post-Surgery (1-7 days) time point is MED from 1 to 7 days after surgery. The Post-Surgery (1-14 days) time point is MED from 1 to 14 days after surgery. The Post-Surgery (1-26 days) time point is MED from 1 to 26 days after surgery. The Post-Surgery (1-35 days) time point is MED from 1 to 35 days after surgery. The End of Treatment time point is MED from 1 to 146 days after surgery.
- time origin
- Post-Surgery (1-7 days) up to 7 days, Post-Surgery (1-14 days) up to 14 days, Post-Surgery (1-26 days) up to 26 days, Post-Surgery (1-35 days) up to 35 days, and End of Treatment up to 146 days.
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- One participant on the Celecoxib Arm was not evaluable for this endpoint.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-clinical-stage-iv-hpv-mediated-p16-positive-oropharyngeal-carcinoma-ajcc
- nct id
- NCT04162873
- outcome key
- om-0004
- source section id
- NCT04162873-om-0004
- source outcome index
- 4
- endpoint
- Assessment of Functional Outcomes for Patients on Celecoxib Compared to Placebo
- endpoint definition
- Assessment of current activity level was assessed utilizing Karnofsky Performance Status (KPS) at the following time points: pre-operation, day 14 of adjuvant therapy, and end of treatment (or last assessment). The KPS is a scale used to measure a subject's ability to perform daily tasks from 100 Normal no complaints no evidence of disease, 50 Requires considerable assistance and frequent medical care, and 0 Dead. This assessment was measured at Post-Operation (up to 29 days after surgery), Mid Radiation (up to 112 days after surgery), and End of Treatment (up to 146 days after surgery).
- time origin
- Post-Operation (up to 29 days after surgery), Mid Radiation (up to 112 days after surgery), and End of Treatment (up to 146 days after surgery)
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- One participant in the Celecoxib Arm was not evaluable for this outcome measure.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-clinical-stage-iv-hpv-mediated-p16-positive-oropharyngeal-carcinoma-ajcc
- nct id
- NCT04162873
- outcome key
- om-0005
- source section id
- NCT04162873-om-0005
- source outcome index
- 5
- endpoint
- Assessment of Functional Outcomes for Patients on Celecoxib Compared to Placebo
- endpoint definition
- Assessment of current activity level was assessed utilizing Functional Oral Intake Scale (FOIS) at the following time points: pre-operation, day 14 of adjuvant therapy, and end of treatment (or last assessment). FOIS is a standardized scale assessed by the treating investigator to assess the functional level of oral intake in patients with dysphagia. The FOIS measures from 1 (Aspirates saliva, Nothing by mouth),2 (Tube dependent, Nothing by mouth/minimal trials), 3 (Tube dependent, Full trials by mouth), 4 (Total Oral Single, texture trials), 5 (Total Oral, Multiple texture trials), 6 (Total Oral, By mouth/ restrictions Minimal), and 7 (Regular diet, By mouth/ no restrictions). This assessment was measured for up to 5 months. This assessment was measured at Post-Operation (up to 29 days after surgery), Mid Radiation (up to 112 days after surgery), and End of Treatment (up to 146 days after surgery).
- time origin
- Post-Operation (up to 29 days after surgery), Mid Radiation (up to 112 days after surgery), and End of Treatment (up to 146 days after surgery)
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- One participant on the Celecoxib Arm was not evaluable for this outcome measure.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- arms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-clinical-stage-iv-hpv-mediated-p16-positive-oropharyngeal-carcinoma-ajcc
- nct id
- NCT04162873
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Celecoxib Arm
- regimen
- Patients received celecoxib PO or via feeding tube BID starting 1 to 7 days prior to surgery and continued until the completion of radiation therapy (up to 6 months in total) in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Celecoxib: Given PO or via feeding tube Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies Questionnaire Administration: Ancillary studies
- analyzed count
- 2
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT04162873-om-0000#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-clinical-stage-iv-hpv-mediated-p16-positive-oropharyngeal-carcinoma-ajcc
- nct id
- NCT04162873
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Placebo Arm
- regimen
- Patients received placebo PO or via feeding tube BID starting 1 to 7 days prior to surgery and continued until the completion of radiation therapy (up to 6 months in total) in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Placebo: Given PO or via feeding tube Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies Questionnaire Administration: Ancillary studies
- analyzed count
- 6
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT04162873-om-0000#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-clinical-stage-iv-hpv-mediated-p16-positive-oropharyngeal-carcinoma-ajcc
- nct id
- NCT04162873
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Celecoxib Arm
- regimen
- Patients received celecoxib PO or via feeding tube BID starting 1 to 7 days prior to surgery and continued until the completion of radiation therapy (up to 6 months in total) in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Celecoxib: Given PO or via feeding tube Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies Questionnaire Administration: Ancillary studies
- analyzed count
- 4
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT04162873-om-0001#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-clinical-stage-iv-hpv-mediated-p16-positive-oropharyngeal-carcinoma-ajcc
- nct id
- NCT04162873
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Placebo Arm
- regimen
- Patients received placebo PO or via feeding tube BID starting 1 to 7 days prior to surgery and continued until the completion of radiation therapy (up to 6 months in total) in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Placebo: Given PO or via feeding tube Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies Questionnaire Administration: Ancillary studies
- analyzed count
- 7
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT04162873-om-0001#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-clinical-stage-iv-hpv-mediated-p16-positive-oropharyngeal-carcinoma-ajcc
- nct id
- NCT04162873
- outcome key
- om-0002
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Celecoxib Arm
- regimen
- Patients received celecoxib PO or via feeding tube BID starting 1 to 7 days prior to surgery and continued until the completion of radiation therapy (up to 6 months in total) in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Celecoxib: Given PO or via feeding tube Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies Questionnaire Administration: Ancillary studies
- analyzed count
- 4
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT04162873-om-0002#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-clinical-stage-iv-hpv-mediated-p16-positive-oropharyngeal-carcinoma-ajcc
- nct id
- NCT04162873
- outcome key
- om-0002
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Placebo Arm
- regimen
- Patients received placebo PO or via feeding tube BID starting 1 to 7 days prior to surgery and continued until the completion of radiation therapy (up to 6 months in total) in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Placebo: Given PO or via feeding tube Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies Questionnaire Administration: Ancillary studies
- analyzed count
- 7
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT04162873-om-0002#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-clinical-stage-iv-hpv-mediated-p16-positive-oropharyngeal-carcinoma-ajcc
- nct id
- NCT04162873
- outcome key
- om-0003
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Celecoxib Arm
- regimen
- Patients received celecoxib PO or via feeding tube BID starting 1 to 7 days prior to surgery and continued until the completion of radiation therapy (up to 6 months in total) in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Celecoxib: Given PO or via feeding tube Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies Questionnaire Administration: Ancillary studies
- analyzed count
- 4
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT04162873-om-0003#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-clinical-stage-iv-hpv-mediated-p16-positive-oropharyngeal-carcinoma-ajcc
- nct id
- NCT04162873
- outcome key
- om-0003
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Placebo Arm
- regimen
- Patients received placebo PO or via feeding tube BID starting 1 to 7 days prior to surgery and continued until the completion of radiation therapy (up to 6 months in total) in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Placebo: Given PO or via feeding tube Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies Questionnaire Administration: Ancillary studies
- analyzed count
- 7
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT04162873-om-0003#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-clinical-stage-iv-hpv-mediated-p16-positive-oropharyngeal-carcinoma-ajcc
- nct id
- NCT04162873
- outcome key
- om-0004
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Celecoxib Arm
- regimen
- Patients received celecoxib PO or via feeding tube BID starting 1 to 7 days prior to surgery and continued until the completion of radiation therapy (up to 6 months in total) in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Celecoxib: Given PO or via feeding tube Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies Questionnaire Administration: Ancillary studies
- analyzed count
- 4
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT04162873-om-0004#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-clinical-stage-iv-hpv-mediated-p16-positive-oropharyngeal-carcinoma-ajcc
- nct id
- NCT04162873
- outcome key
- om-0004
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Placebo Arm
- regimen
- Patients received placebo PO or via feeding tube BID starting 1 to 7 days prior to surgery and continued until the completion of radiation therapy (up to 6 months in total) in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Placebo: Given PO or via feeding tube Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies Questionnaire Administration: Ancillary studies
- analyzed count
- 7
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT04162873-om-0004#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-clinical-stage-iv-hpv-mediated-p16-positive-oropharyngeal-carcinoma-ajcc
- nct id
- NCT04162873
- outcome key
- om-0005
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Celecoxib Arm
- regimen
- Patients received celecoxib PO or via feeding tube BID starting 1 to 7 days prior to surgery and continued until the completion of radiation therapy (up to 6 months in total) in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Celecoxib: Given PO or via feeding tube Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies Questionnaire Administration: Ancillary studies
- analyzed count
- 4
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT04162873-om-0005#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-clinical-stage-iv-hpv-mediated-p16-positive-oropharyngeal-carcinoma-ajcc
- nct id
- NCT04162873
- outcome key
- om-0005
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Placebo Arm
- regimen
- Patients received placebo PO or via feeding tube BID starting 1 to 7 days prior to surgery and continued until the completion of radiation therapy (up to 6 months in total) in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Placebo: Given PO or via feeding tube Quality-of-Life Assessment: Ancillary studies Questionnaire Administration: Ancillary studies
- analyzed count
- 7
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT04162873-om-0005#groups/OG001
- harms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-clinical-stage-iv-hpv-mediated-p16-positive-oropharyngeal-carcinoma-ajcc
- nct id
- NCT04162873
- harm key
- EG000
- source section id
- NCT04162873-ae
- event group key
- EG000
- event group label
- Celecoxib Arm
- serious affected
- 2
- serious at risk
- 5
- other affected
- 5
- other at risk
- 5
- frequency threshold
- 0
- collection period
- Collection of adverse events began on the first dose of study medication until the end of treatment visit (or until a new cancer treatment is initiated). Adverse events were collected for up to 5 months.
- event definition
- Source null
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-clinical-stage-iv-hpv-mediated-p16-positive-oropharyngeal-carcinoma-ajcc
- nct id
- NCT04162873
- harm key
- EG001
- source section id
- NCT04162873-ae
- event group key
- EG001
- event group label
- Placebo Arm
- serious affected
- 1
- serious at risk
- 7
- other affected
- 7
- other at risk
- 7
- frequency threshold
- 0
- collection period
- Collection of adverse events began on the first dose of study medication until the end of treatment visit (or until a new cancer treatment is initiated). Adverse events were collected for up to 5 months.
- event definition
- Source null
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- quality of life
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-clinical-stage-iv-hpv-mediated-p16-positive-oropharyngeal-carcinoma-ajcc
- nct id
- NCT04162873
- qol key
- qol-0007
- source section id
- NCT04162873-om-0007
- source outcome index
- 7
- instrument
- EORTC QLQ
- instrument basis
- matched 'eortc' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- To Assess the Effect of Celecoxib Therapy on the European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer Quality of Life Questionnaire Head and Neck Module (EORTC QLQ-HN43) Compared to Placebo.
- measure definition
- The EORTC QLQ-HN43 is a 43-question assessment for determining the health-related quality of life of head and neck cancer patients participating in clinical trials. Patients indicate which symptoms/problems they have experienced during the past week, from "1 Not at All" to "4 Very Much". The assessment was scored according to the "EORTC QLQ-C30 Scoring Manual", reporting data as 19 subscales with scores from 0-100. A high scale score represents a higher response level. A high functional scale score (FS) represent a high/healthy level of function and includes body image, social contact, \& sexuality A high symptom scale score (SS) represent a high level of symptomatology/problems and includes anxiety, cough, head and neck pain, swallowing, neurologic problems, senses, speech, social eating, weight loss, problems w/ skin, shoulder, wound healing, dry mouth, opening mouth, neck swelling, \& teeth. This outcome will report the mean score of each subscale.
- time frame
- Up to 29 days after surgery (up to 32 days after initiation of study treatment)
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- One participant on Arm 1 withdrew consent from the study treatment before the Post-Operation visit and was not evaluable for this endpoint.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-clinical-stage-iv-hpv-mediated-p16-positive-oropharyngeal-carcinoma-ajcc
- nct id
- NCT04162873
- qol key
- qol-0008
- source section id
- NCT04162873-om-0008
- source outcome index
- 8
- instrument
- Unnamed quality-of-life measure
- instrument basis
- matched 'quality of life' in the study's own wording
- scale title
- To Assess the Effect of Celecoxib Therapy on the MDASI-HN Questionnaire Compared to Placebo.
- measure definition
- This outcome will report the quality of life questionnaire, the M. D. Anderson symptom inventory head neck (MDASI-HN) at the Post-Operation Visit. This was assessed up to 29 days after surgery (up to 32 days after initiation of study treatment). MDASI-HN is a 28-question, 2-part questionnaire for patients with head and neck cancer that assesses the severity of symptoms and impact on daily life. In Part I, subjects indicated how severe their symptoms were from "0 Not present" to "10 As Bad as You can Imagine". In Part II, subjects indicated how symptoms have interfered with their live from "0 Did not Interfere" to "10 Interfered Completely". This assessment was scored according to the The M. D. Anderson Symptom Inventory User Guide.
- time frame
- Up to 29 days after surgery (up to 32 days after initiation of study treatment)
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- higher is better
- Source null
- direction quote
- Source null
- population note
- One participant on Arm 1 withdrew consent from the study treatment before the Post-Operation visit and was not evaluable for this endpoint.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- setting source links
Preserved source evidence · Not medical advice
Triangle