NCT00861705 · STUDY IN CONTEXT
Paclitaxel With or Without Carboplatin and/or Bevacizumab Followed by Doxorubicin and Cyclophosphamide in Treating Patients With Breast Cancer That Can Be Removed by Surgery
Draft scope assessment: unclear. Attached because the study's own record names HER2 and names HER2. The study record does not state positive, so it may describe a different alteration of the same gene. The study was not selected for this indication by its sponsor, and its eligibility has not been reconciled against this page in full. Found because this study's registry identifier is printed in an FDA approval notice, an FDA product label or an NCI summary held by this site. The citing document and the exact position of the identifier inside it are recorded. Being cited is not a statement that the study supports this treatment.
Read the full study record and all posted results →
Linked outcomes
Assessment of the difference in percentage of participants with pCR in the breast between regimens that contain carboplatin (arms 3\&4) versus not (arms 1\&2) will use a one-sided chi square test. 95% confidence intervals around the incidence of pCR will also be constructed using exact binomial methods.
Assessment of the difference in percentage of participants with pCR in the breast between regimens that contain bevacizumab (arms 2\&4) versus not (arms 1\&3) will use a one-sided chi square test. 95% confidence intervals around the incidence of pCR will also be constructed using exact binomial methods.
Comparing regimens that contain carboplatin (arms 3\&4) versus not (arms 1\&2).
Comparing regimens that contain bevacizumab (arms 2\&4) versus not (arms 1\&3).
Stage II is (T2,T3, N0, M0) tumor size more than 2 cm but no deep extradermal structure invasion, no regional lymph node metastasis, and no distant metastasis. Stage III is (T4, N0, M0) tumor invasion of deep extradermal structures, no regional lymph node metasis, and no distant metasasis or (Any T, N1, M0) Any tumor size, regional lymph node metastasis, and no distant metastasis.
Assessed by RECIST, each patient will have a pre-therapy baseline radiographic tumor measurement, preferably by MRI, however if logistic or practical or financial issues preclude MRI use, mammogram or ultrasound may be substituted. The longest diameter (LD) of the target lesion at the time of study initiation will be reported as the baseline LD. The baseline LD of the target lesion will be used as reference to further characterize the objective tumor response of the measurable dimension of the disease. Radiographic complete response: Disappearance of the target lesion. Radiographic partial response (PR): At least a 30% decrease in the longest diameter (LD) of the target lesion taking as reference the baseline LD.
Reported safety
Quality of life and patient-reported measures
No linked quality-of-life measure is recorded for this setting and study.
Full draft applicability and source-link record
- trial
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-breast-cancer-phesgo-3acda944
- nct id
- NCT00861705
- trial label
- Paclitaxel With or Without Carboplatin and/or Bevacizumab Followed by Doxorubicin and Cyclophosphamide in Treating Patients With Breast Cancer That Can Be Removed by Surgery
- applicability
- unclear
- applicability note
- Attached because the study's own record names HER2 and names HER2. The study record does not state positive, so it may describe a different alteration of the same gene. The study was not selected for this indication by its sponsor, and its eligibility has not been reconciled against this page in full.
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- provenance class
- regulator-cited
- discovery note
- Found because this study's registry identifier is printed in an FDA approval notice, an FDA product label or an NCI summary held by this site. The citing document and the exact position of the identifier inside it are recorded. Being cited is not a statement that the study supports this treatment.
- outcome Count
- 6
- harms Count
- 4
- qol Count
- 0
- outcomes
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-breast-cancer-phesgo-3acda944
- nct id
- NCT00861705
- outcome key
- om-0000
- source section id
- NCT00861705-om-0000
- source outcome index
- 0
- endpoint
- Pathologic Complete Response (pCR) in the Breast. Defined as the Absence of Residual Invasive Carcinoma in the Breast (ypT0/is).
- endpoint definition
- Assessment of the difference in percentage of participants with pCR in the breast between regimens that contain carboplatin (arms 3\&4) versus not (arms 1\&2) will use a one-sided chi square test. 95% confidence intervals around the incidence of pCR will also be constructed using exact binomial methods.
- time origin
- At the time of definitive surgical removal, up to 28 weeks
- analysis role
- primary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- All patients who began protocol neoadjuvant therapy and are assessable for pCR endpoint (N=433).
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-breast-cancer-phesgo-3acda944
- nct id
- NCT00861705
- outcome key
- om-0001
- source section id
- NCT00861705-om-0001
- source outcome index
- 1
- endpoint
- Pathologic Complete Response (pCR) in the Breast. Defined as the Absence of Residual Invasive Carcinoma in the Breast (ypT0/is).
- endpoint definition
- Assessment of the difference in percentage of participants with pCR in the breast between regimens that contain bevacizumab (arms 2\&4) versus not (arms 1\&3) will use a one-sided chi square test. 95% confidence intervals around the incidence of pCR will also be constructed using exact binomial methods.
- time origin
- At the time of definitive surgical removal, up to 28 weeks
- analysis role
- primary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- All patients who began protocol neoadjuvant therapy and are assessable for pCR endpoint (N=433).
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-breast-cancer-phesgo-3acda944
- nct id
- NCT00861705
- outcome key
- om-0002
- source section id
- NCT00861705-om-0002
- source outcome index
- 2
- endpoint
- Pathologic Complete Response (pCR) in the Breast and Axilla. Defined as the Absence of Residual Invasive Carcinoma in the Breast (ypT0/is) Plus the Absence of Any Tumor Deposit >0.2 mm in Sampled Axillary Nodes (ypT0/isN0).
- endpoint definition
- Comparing regimens that contain carboplatin (arms 3\&4) versus not (arms 1\&2).
- time origin
- At the time of definitive surgical removal, up to 28 weeks
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-breast-cancer-phesgo-3acda944
- nct id
- NCT00861705
- outcome key
- om-0003
- source section id
- NCT00861705-om-0003
- source outcome index
- 3
- endpoint
- Pathologic Complete Response (pCR) in the Breast and Axilla. Defined as the Absence of Residual Invasive Carcinoma in the Breast (ypT0/is) Plus the Absence of Any Tumor Deposit >0.2 mm in Sampled Axillary Nodes (ypT0/isN0).
- endpoint definition
- Comparing regimens that contain bevacizumab (arms 2\&4) versus not (arms 1\&3).
- time origin
- At the time of definitive surgical removal, up to 28 weeks
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-breast-cancer-phesgo-3acda944
- nct id
- NCT00861705
- outcome key
- om-0004
- source section id
- NCT00861705-om-0004
- source outcome index
- 4
- endpoint
- Pathologic Stage in the Breast and in the Breast Plus Axilla as Measured by American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) Tumor Node Metastasis (TNM) Staging Criteria (Version 6)
- endpoint definition
- Stage II is (T2,T3, N0, M0) tumor size more than 2 cm but no deep extradermal structure invasion, no regional lymph node metastasis, and no distant metastasis. Stage III is (T4, N0, M0) tumor invasion of deep extradermal structures, no regional lymph node metasis, and no distant metasasis or (Any T, N1, M0) Any tumor size, regional lymph node metastasis, and no distant metastasis.
- time origin
- at definitive surgery, up to 28 weeks
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-breast-cancer-phesgo-3acda944
- nct id
- NCT00861705
- outcome key
- om-0005
- source section id
- NCT00861705-om-0005
- source outcome index
- 5
- endpoint
- Radiographic Response Assessed by Tumor Measurement
- endpoint definition
- Assessed by RECIST, each patient will have a pre-therapy baseline radiographic tumor measurement, preferably by MRI, however if logistic or practical or financial issues preclude MRI use, mammogram or ultrasound may be substituted. The longest diameter (LD) of the target lesion at the time of study initiation will be reported as the baseline LD. The baseline LD of the target lesion will be used as reference to further characterize the objective tumor response of the measurable dimension of the disease. Radiographic complete response: Disappearance of the target lesion. Radiographic partial response (PR): At least a 30% decrease in the longest diameter (LD) of the target lesion taking as reference the baseline LD.
- time origin
- Baseline; at completion of neoadjuvant therapy
- analysis role
- secondary
- reporting status
- POSTED
- data cutoff
- Source null
- population note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- arms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-breast-cancer-phesgo-3acda944
- nct id
- NCT00861705
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Factor A: Carboplatin
- regimen
- Factor A is the addition or not of carboplatin: the experimental regimens included carboplatin (Arms 3 \& 4).
- analyzed count
- 221
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00861705-om-0000#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-breast-cancer-phesgo-3acda944
- nct id
- NCT00861705
- outcome key
- om-0000
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Factor A: No Carboplatin
- regimen
- Factor A is the addition or not of carboplatin; the control regimens did not include carboplatin (Arms 1 \& 2).
- analyzed count
- 212
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00861705-om-0000#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-breast-cancer-phesgo-3acda944
- nct id
- NCT00861705
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Factor B: Bevacizumab
- regimen
- Factor B is the addition or not of bevacizumab: the experimental regimens included bevacizumab (Arms 2 \& 4).
- analyzed count
- 215
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00861705-om-0001#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-breast-cancer-phesgo-3acda944
- nct id
- NCT00861705
- outcome key
- om-0001
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Factor B: No Bevacizumab
- regimen
- Factor B is the addition or not of bevacizumab: the control regimens did not include bevacizumab (Arms 1 \& 3)
- analyzed count
- 218
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00861705-om-0001#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-breast-cancer-phesgo-3acda944
- nct id
- NCT00861705
- outcome key
- om-0002
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Factor A: Carboplatin
- regimen
- Factor A is the addition or not of carboplatin: the experimental regimens included carboplatin (Arms 3 \& 4).
- analyzed count
- 221
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00861705-om-0002#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-breast-cancer-phesgo-3acda944
- nct id
- NCT00861705
- outcome key
- om-0002
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Factor A: No Carboplatin
- regimen
- Factor A is the addition or not of carboplatin; the control regimens did not include carboplatin (Arms 1 \& 2).
- analyzed count
- 212
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00861705-om-0002#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-breast-cancer-phesgo-3acda944
- nct id
- NCT00861705
- outcome key
- om-0003
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Factor B: Bevacizumab
- regimen
- Factor B is the addition or not of bevacizumab: the experimental regimens included bevacizumab (Arms 2 \& 4).
- analyzed count
- 215
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00861705-om-0003#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-breast-cancer-phesgo-3acda944
- nct id
- NCT00861705
- outcome key
- om-0003
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Factor B: No Bevacizumab
- regimen
- Factor B is the addition or not of bevacizumab: the control regimens did not include bevacizumab (Arms 1 \& 3)
- analyzed count
- 218
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00861705-om-0003#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-breast-cancer-phesgo-3acda944
- nct id
- NCT00861705
- outcome key
- om-0004
- arm key
- OG000
- arm label
- Arm 1 (Pac --> ddAC)
- regimen
- Patients receive paclitaxel (pac) IV over 60 minutes once weekly in weeks 1-12. Patients then receive dose-dense doxorubicin hydrochloride IV over 5-10 minutes and cyclophosphamide IV over 5-30 minutes (ddAC) once in weeks 13, 15, 17, and 19. doxorubicin hydrochloride: Given IV paclitaxel: Given IV cyclophosphamide: Given IV
- analyzed count
- 107
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00861705-om-0004#groups/OG000
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-breast-cancer-phesgo-3acda944
- nct id
- NCT00861705
- outcome key
- om-0004
- arm key
- OG001
- arm label
- Arm 2 (Pac + Bev --> ddAC + Bev)
- regimen
- Patients receive pac and ddAC as in arm 1. Patients also receive bevacizumab (bev) IV over 30-90 minutes in weeks 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15, and 17. doxorubicin hydrochloride: Given IV paclitaxel: Given IV cyclophosphamide: Given IV bevacizumab: Given IV
- analyzed count
- 105
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00861705-om-0004#groups/OG001
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-breast-cancer-phesgo-3acda944
- nct id
- NCT00861705
- outcome key
- om-0004
- arm key
- OG002
- arm label
- Arm 3 (Pac + Carboplatin --> ddAC)
- regimen
- Patients receive pac and ddAC as in arm 1. Patients also receive carboplatin IV over 30 minutes once in weeks 1, 4, 7, and 10. doxorubicin hydrochloride: Given IV paclitaxel: Given IV cyclophosphamide: Given IV carboplatin: Given IV
- analyzed count
- 111
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00861705-om-0004#groups/OG002
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-breast-cancer-phesgo-3acda944
- nct id
- NCT00861705
- outcome key
- om-0004
- arm key
- OG003
- arm label
- Arm 4 (Pac + Carboplatin + Bev --> ddAC + Bev)
- regimen
- Patients receive pac and ddAC as in arm 1, bev as in arm 2, and carboplatin as in arm 3. doxorubicin hydrochloride: Given IV paclitaxel: Given IV cyclophosphamide: Given IV bevacizumab: Given IV carboplatin: Given IV
- analyzed count
- 110
- analyzed unit
- Participants
- is comparator
- Source null
- source pointer
- NCT00861705-om-0004#groups/OG003
- harms
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-breast-cancer-phesgo-3acda944
- nct id
- NCT00861705
- harm key
- EG000
- source section id
- NCT00861705-ae
- event group key
- EG000
- event group label
- Arm 1 (Pac --> ddAC)
- serious affected
- 15
- serious at risk
- 108
- other affected
- 107
- other at risk
- 108
- frequency threshold
- 0
- collection period
- Source null
- event definition
- Out of the 454 participants, 443 began treatment. Six participants were not evaluable for adverse events due to site non-compliance (2 in Arm 2 and 4 in Arm 3). Therefore, adverse events data are available for 437 participants (108 in Arm 1, 108 in Arm 2, 109 in Arm 3, and 112 in Arm 4).
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-breast-cancer-phesgo-3acda944
- nct id
- NCT00861705
- harm key
- EG001
- source section id
- NCT00861705-ae
- event group key
- EG001
- event group label
- Arm 2 (Pac + Bev --> ddAC + Bev)
- serious affected
- 27
- serious at risk
- 108
- other affected
- 104
- other at risk
- 108
- frequency threshold
- 0
- collection period
- Source null
- event definition
- Out of the 454 participants, 443 began treatment. Six participants were not evaluable for adverse events due to site non-compliance (2 in Arm 2 and 4 in Arm 3). Therefore, adverse events data are available for 437 participants (108 in Arm 1, 108 in Arm 2, 109 in Arm 3, and 112 in Arm 4).
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-breast-cancer-phesgo-3acda944
- nct id
- NCT00861705
- harm key
- EG002
- source section id
- NCT00861705-ae
- event group key
- EG002
- event group label
- Arm 3 (Pac + Carboplatin --> ddAC)
- serious affected
- 21
- serious at risk
- 109
- other affected
- 106
- other at risk
- 109
- frequency threshold
- 0
- collection period
- Source null
- event definition
- Out of the 454 participants, 443 began treatment. Six participants were not evaluable for adverse events due to site non-compliance (2 in Arm 2 and 4 in Arm 3). Therefore, adverse events data are available for 437 participants (108 in Arm 1, 108 in Arm 2, 109 in Arm 3, and 112 in Arm 4).
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- release id
- clinical-indications-draft-1
- disease state id
- ds-breast-cancer-phesgo-3acda944
- nct id
- NCT00861705
- harm key
- EG003
- source section id
- NCT00861705-ae
- event group key
- EG003
- event group label
- Arm 4 (Pac + Carboplatin + Bev --> ddAC + Bev)
- serious affected
- 39
- serious at risk
- 112
- other affected
- 109
- other at risk
- 112
- frequency threshold
- 0
- collection period
- Source null
- event definition
- Out of the 454 participants, 443 began treatment. Six participants were not evaluable for adverse events due to site non-compliance (2 in Arm 2 and 4 in Arm 3). Therefore, adverse events data are available for 437 participants (108 in Arm 1, 108 in Arm 2, 109 in Arm 3, and 112 in Arm 4).
- undenominated note
- Source null
- curation status
- draft
- reviewed by
- Source null
- reviewed at
- Source null
- created at
- 2026-09-10T00:00:00Z
- quality of life
- setting source links
Preserved source evidence · Not medical advice
Triangle